OT - Some people just don't get the message!

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:33
ThreadID: 73926 Views:4480 Replies:6 FollowUps:23
A 19yo hoon driver had his car crushed recetly, then got caught again last week driving another car while under suspension - that's been confiscated for 28 days, now he gets caught again!
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2009/11/22/2749895.htm

What a drop kick!

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:39

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:39
I think you will find the he is sending a different message joc - one that makes him a hero amongst his own group and aided by inappropriate law enforcement.

So I wonder , who it is that hasn't got the real message.

AnswerID: 392229

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:54

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:54
Gidday Robin

I think it's a bit rough you blame the coppers on the street. I have a fair amount to do with these blokes, and woulded have their job for quids.

Seems to me the fathers of these young fellars need to get back to old fashion attidude adjustment!!!!

Kim
FollowupID: 660130

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:55

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:55
Hi Robin, you're prob right, but sooner or later he's gonna run out of money! (or freedom)

cheers,
Gerry

FollowupID: 660131

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:13

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:13
Hi Kim / Joc

I don't think I would isolate out the coppers, they are part of a system that seems to promote confrontation as a response rather than an approach which tackles the problem by removing the credence the these people get from there actions.

I get involved with some in this age group and type and its very instructive to see the view from the other side and its easy for them to build a case for injustice which in turn generates disrespect based on a whole raft of near nonsense traffic and other regulations.

FollowupID: 660132

Follow Up By: Ray - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 10:14

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 10:14
Perhaps if the media had not given this bloke any attention he would not be a "hero"
A lot of this stuff is encouraged by the media. I think a lot of these "people" like to see themselves on TV and if they were not they may not be so keen to do it.
FollowupID: 660199

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 12:32

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 12:32
With regard to Robin Miller's reply to Kim & Joc, WTF? Coppers promote confrontation? I thought there was proactive & reactive policing Robin!! By the way it's police training that PROMOTES "A successful operation is based on Minimal force & confrontation" Robin let me explain something to you which is a fact of life....when people are in trouble/danger they pray to God...When he/she doesn't help, then they call the coppers!!! If the laws are a raft of injustice & near nonsense Robin why may I ask do YOU obey them? Or maybe I am jumping to a conclusion or an assumption?
FollowupID: 660237

Follow Up By: Out of here - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 17:17

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 17:17
OREJAP - I agree with you - The law is the law and you should obey it - if not anarchy abounds.

Its easy to pick on people that have to police a law within set guidelines.
FollowupID: 660271

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 17:53

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 17:53
Hi Oreap

You have changed my words a little and the meaning is not the same, but I
will assume we all have the same intention of achieving a harmonious
society and expand on my comment.
I restrict my reply to car things so its a bit on topic for this website.

I said above that police are "part of a system that creates confrontation" in the context of one of the more extreme cases of a Hoon driver.

In Victoria laws have been made such you can be either a Hoon or a law abiding citizen depending on wether your cars clock is out by 1 minute and you drive thru a school zone at a different speed, (an extreme but real case).
Along with this goes massive feelings of injustice and increasing disrespect for the systems that create and enforce a situation in which they feel no guilt.

You may know,as I do, that some within that system are disgusted by a regime which promotes this - we then even get leading officals fronting to a media conference - you can hear their macho words before they speak - "I make no apology for zero tolerance approach towards XYZ law etc etc ".

Is this not a classic role model for confrontation ?

Well 86,000 Victorians lost there licenses last year due to camera points.

In the words of a former premier-> "If that many break the law then maybe the law is wrong"

86,000!

A wide spectrum of reactions occur as a result - from those who accept and promise not to do it again, to those who loose their jobs, girlfriends, get depressed and take it out on themselves or others.

Its been as easy as a slight flick of the wheel into the path of an oncoming car.
FollowupID: 660279

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:40

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:40
joc45,

sad hey, thats why these types of Laws don't work.... they may make a sensible person re-think what they are about to do.. but to others it's like a red rag to a bull..

AnswerID: 392230

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:19

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:19
I wonder where he would be right now if he did the same in the USA.
AnswerID: 392252

Reply By: Off-track - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:37

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:37
I kinda agree with Robin on this FWIW. There seems today to be far too many rules and people ready to whinge and dob anyone in for anything that resembles a bit of fun and extroversion. Now I'm not refering to this story in particular as it may be a bit extreme but generalising on the subject of teenagers having a bit of adventure at the expense of the law...to a point.

When we were young there was much more opportunity to hoon around in your V8 cruising the main drag, the occasional drag off the lights or head out of town to see "how the old girl goes doin' the (imperial) ton" and dropping a patch of rubber. From what I recall we already had instilled at least a little nouse to know not to hoon in suburban streets or where you could lose it in to a flock of pedestrians but nonetheless there seemed to be less do-gooders around to dob you in for a bit of (mostly) harmless fun.

Kids of today generally do not have the opportunities to seek raw adventure and to develop their own sense of responsibility that we had, but instead are told not to even try it out because it's risky. I believe there are too many reasons to list why this has come about because it is a comples issue. We are de-evolving into a non-risk taking people. It appears that if it involves a hazard or risk, lets remove it or make laws to prevent people from trying it. This I again believe causes young males particularly to reach a point that they buck the law and the rules and the do-gooders and go a bit mental. They dont have the life-tools like we developed over many years of busted bones and busted egos.

On a recent trip to France and parts of Europe I was surprised to see that there appeared to be less rules, laws and whingers than here in Oz. A couple of examples; in the streets there were lots of motorised scooters parked up on the footpath near shops and pubs and even the occasional car with two wheels up. No one cared, there was mutual respect and responsibility. Do that here and watch the whingers. On the highways many people flouted the speed limit, sometimes by a LOT. No one cared and in fact made sure to pull to the left lane to let them through. Mutual respect and responsibility. Try that here. You can by alcohol anywhere and drink it pretty much anywhere, but I didnt see any morosely drunk people or fights etc. Mutual respect and responsibility. Try that here.

This country evolved from a convict beginning that snubbed their noses at authority and to dob someone in was just about a hangable offense. It was also a frontier society that would 'give it a go'. It seems that over the last decade or so that conformity is the new black and more people are wearing it. Our nation is turning into sheep. Sheep without mutual respect, personal responsibility, sense of adventure or patience.
AnswerID: 392256

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:47

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:47
You have it in one!! Michael
FollowupID: 660155

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:56

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:56
Well said !
(couldn't have put it better meself;-))

As for the "anti-hooning" laws...

A bit of "circle work" (in an out-of-the-way environment) is the one thing more than any other (IMO) which will give these young drivers that seat-of-the-pants experience, and actually teach them how to HANDLE the vehicle, and to recognise when the vehicle's handling limits are about to be breached....

Too many bl@@dy Fuddy-Duddies about these days....

Flak-jacket on...

;-)
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 660156

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 23:06

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 23:06
Well Ed beat me there too, exactly how I learnt to, it's handy to know what a car feels like when the rear end breaks traction and how to correct when it's deliberately applied , not when it happens unexpectedly

FollowupID: 660158

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 08:59

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 08:59
Sims metal would have made a fortune out of me if todays laws and attitude were applied back in my teens.
A foot up the backside by a copper and then again by your dad gave you some respect.
Police verbals might have stopped but verbals the other way and legislation makes them helpless to a great extent and doesnt gender respect.
FollowupID: 660183

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 09:24

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 09:24
Well I am going to disagree with you guy,s, the 20 year old kid 2 houses from me has a SS Commodore, It goes from 0 to 100 by the time he gets past my place every time he drives it most times at 2 / 3 am dropping his friends home after a session, that's right when he is Drunk and the police are asleep.

He has 1 point left on his license and 1 warning left to have his car impounded under the hoon laws, this doesn't seem to worry him, what worries me is my young kid has a new bike he rides to school, how long before this goose hits him is any ones guess.

Yes I had my share of V8s when younger, we also had a club and a legal drag strip to have fun on, this is still in place today, so no excuse.

Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 660191

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 09:28

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 09:28
I had noticed the black marks on the street in front of your house when I called in in the truck, I thought you'd done them with one of the OKA's..

FollowupID: 660192

Follow Up By: Member - Lia H (SA) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 11:15

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 11:15
I'm with Steve on that point, but also agree with everyone else. I live on a busy street, with a school crossing out the front. The amount of people who do not stop for the crossing, who speed through the street when there are alot of both kids and the elderly and just generally pay no attention to anyone but themselves...is getting out of hand.

I cant let my 8yo cross the road by herself, as people often do not stop. AT the crossing!

I grew up in the country, where we had competitions for burnouts, circlework etc. B&S balls, local paddocks, drag strips... were the outlets for what all kids want to do in their car - and it taught the young ones how to handle themselves. It also meant that there was generally a good level of respect when driving in the town.

If the young (and young at heart!) have somewhere legal to go, to let off their steam, show off, win prizes legally - rather than get the prestige from doing it illegally - I think we would see some improvement.
FollowupID: 660212

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 12:15

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 12:15
It's a fine line between being an old fuddy duddy (dobbing in some bloke for doing the wrong thing), and just letting other people do there own thing.

Here in the country town where we live, we are on the edge of a new estate. There's a family living nearby. The father doesn't work, the mother is a nurse of some sort. They have 4 young kids (under 10). The youngest is a girl of about 3. The father and 3 sons are all into motor bikes and often see their names in the local rag as having done very well at the local dirt bike races etc.

Now, the drop-kick father is often observed riding one of his kids bikes around the bitumen roads....no skid lid....and often has the little girl sitting in front of him; also no helmet. He's probably only doing about 30 to 40k/h, but that would be fast enough to do some serious damage if he came off or if somebody in a Chev-powered Patrol (as an example) happened to come around a corner into the estate (which is where we are building our new house).

I don't want to spoil his fun, but I would sooner do that than splatter him and his daughter all over the nice new tarmac in front of our nice new house.!!!!
FollowupID: 660232

Follow Up By: Out of here - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 17:24

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 17:24
Off Track - I think you are a bit off track there - Yes we were hoons when we were young but think back how many times we were very lucky still to be here.

There are more cars (and a lot more powerful than our v8's) and more people in the streets etc etc

The the road rules are trying to make it safer for us all - I do not agree with them all either but I can not change them. Cheers
FollowupID: 660272

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 00:06

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 00:06
Yes we were lucky but again IMHO I put a lot of that down to thinking about our actions and the possible ramifications that may result if we stuffed it up. Life hurt and we also knew that you may not make it out alive. Yeah of course we also did some very dumb and dangerous things but for my part and most I saw around me everyone had years of life experience behind them even as a teenager to know cause and effect.

Our cars may not have been as powerful as today but we had crap rubber, spongy suspension, feeble brakes and safety devices consisted only of a lap belt.

It's true yes that there are more people on the streets now but it is still possible to find somewhere out of the way to test your skill, or lack thereof.

I have been to countries that have much less and even next to no road rules and I feel safer driving there than in this country where many drivers operate their cars by observing instructions from one sign to the next.

It really is such a complex issue and maybe there are no right or wrong answers to it. It's not just about teens driving but how we wrap our kids in cottonwool through their childhood before they get to do what is the most dangerous thing that most people do.
FollowupID: 660338

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 07:39

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 07:39
Thats an important point Off-Track, our cars in nett, are massively safter and this is the only verifiable reason why roll toll has been dropped to 1/3 over the last 30 years.

Its a bit early, but the worry trend is that data is tending to show that our over regulation is actually slowing down the improvement over what some other countries are achieving.
FollowupID: 660347

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 09:20

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 09:20
I am always a bit wary of the misty eyed 'good old days' line I must say.

I also grew up in a small town on a horror stretch of the Pacific Hwy. Plenty of chances to try your hand in a car or motorbike, no speed cameras, no red light cameras, a kick up the bum from the local copper when you got caught and a quiet word from the local cop with the old man saw you grounded for a bit. Lesson learnt? Generally yes.

BUT, I also had a number of friends who I never got to grow up with because they were the unlucky ones who got caught by the road rather than the copper. Some of them as drivers, some as passengers. I am not sure if their families and friends remember the 'good old days' with the same fondness some of the rest of us do and I'd be willing to bet that those families would have wished for a bit more regulation as they paid a pretty heavy price for my lessons learnt.

FollowupID: 660354

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 11:31

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 11:31
Well in my 68 years i have never had a ticket for speeding and when I was

young couldnt afford a car till was about 19 anyway.

I had an Austin A70 which wasnt a car you could hoon in anyway.

I learnt car control in a 34 V8 in wet paddocks.

Certainly taught you to hang onto it and didnt pose a threat to anyone.

I lived for several years at the end of 79 miles of corrugated gravel which also

taught me how to handle the old Austin with its narrow tyres and lovely

English technology, NOT.

Was interesting to say the least to have the tail hanging out on corners etc.

Sad to think the guy I sold it to rolled it on a straight bit of tar seal LOL.

Part of the trouble today is the youg have too much money and treat the cars

with contempt

I broke an axle on the Austin ( quite a common thing) and had to leave it on

the side of the road till payday.

After that I treated it a bit more gently.

AnswerID: 392309

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 12:23

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 12:23
Yes the good old days or were they? We can all talk about the past & probably use our experiences to the way in which we live now. Yes, we can all whinge, blame the coppers, the pollies or whoever but the bottom line is WE are, You are, I am responsible for my actions I know what is right & wrong & if someone commits an act that they know is wrong or illegal don't whinge when you get caught and punished. People whinge about speed cameras (The Government call them safety cameras) well, if everyone drove at the maximum limit posted ie...60k/pH there would be no revenue but because we exceed the limit for whatever reason there is another "donation" to the state Govt. I have a message for people who don't like our country or it's laws. leave. You don't have to stay. To all the do gooders who believe that someone has turned bad because they were beaten or treated poorly as a child stop & think of ALL the people that have lived their lives & are living their lives doing the right thing and being a real Australian and who also were probably mistreated too. What is a real Australian? someone who is fair dinkum not a pretender or a sook who gets out there and has a go & lives a good christian life & that does not mean you have to go to church every day either. This country is an easy "touch" especially when it comes to charity. We welcome new people to our country & most of them are grateful to be here but sometimes you just cannot satisfy everyone. Sometimes WE treat this country like it belongs to someone else!! My last statement. Live a good & decent life. Treat others as you would like to be treated & you cannot go wrong.
FollowupID: 660234

Follow Up By: ob - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 17:33

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 17:33
No, No, No Orejap you've got it all wrong. You do whatever you want and if you hurt yourself or anyone else you sue the government, the pollies, the coppers, the easter bunny and Santa for not stopping you. Remember it's NEVER YOUR FAULT, NO MATTER HOW THICK YOU MAY BE.

lol x100

Cheers ob
FollowupID: 660273

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 19:27

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 19:27
Yes, you are so right ob, it's always easier to blame someone else.
FollowupID: 660289

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 20:59

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 20:59
One intelligent thing I heard from one of our indigenous Aussies was along the lines of

The land is not ours, it is for us to use and look after while we are here and hopefully leave it better than when we arrived.

Something to be thought about and life in general..

In NZ they have whats called Accident Compensation Commision.

This looks after you if you have an accident at work or in sport etc.

They have just brought it in that you receive nothing if the accident happens whilst commiting a crime.

Got brought in when several Maoris broke out of prison and broke anklles jumping a wall. Got $23,000 payout each.

Big uproar, change of law results.

Should be the same here for crims suing when they get whacked by a homeowner when burgling the place.

FollowupID: 660304

Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 22:23

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 22:23
I have no answer and no clue on what to do to fix the problem. Just some comments. It is not just the young at fault.

It's real easy to be a boring old fart (self confessed) and knock the hoons and advocating crushing their cars etc. Yeah maybe we are too old to remember we were young once and did as bad or worse. How some of us survived still amazes us. Of course we are now such perfect drivers with unblemished records and short memories that we can smugly point out the faults of others and advocate ever more draconian and punitive measures for "them" especially if they are young.

When I drive to work each day I pass at least 3, it could be more, of those roadside memorials where a young bloke met his end at very high speed. Not that far from one I notice fresh burnout marks and think "How can they afford to pay for the tyres?" I keep driving and come to a stop sign. There is only one on the way to work.Well I stop. Hardly anyone else does. At least four out of five cars plough straight through. These are not young hoons they are of the age groups that are older and should have more sense. In the fullness of time unfortunately there will be another fatality at this intersection. It does not have stop signs for nothing! Oh we will hear the usual. "It was not my fault. He came out of nowhere. My brakes failed etc etc".

I think we could all improve our driving. See safety as an "us" thing and not a "them" thing. They may be young and reckless and we may be older and careless. All part of the same problem.

Flynnie

AnswerID: 392499