Suggestions for a tow vehicle & caravan combo

Submitted: Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 18:13
ThreadID: 73947 Views:5499 Replies:10 FollowUps:20

Related Pages

I'm looking into my options for both a tow vehicle and caravan. Currently have a 06 Subaru Liberty with a tow capacity of 1200kg (it's the 2.0L variety), and the only 4 berth caravan I've come across that it could tow is the Adria Altea. Problem being that the 3rd and 4th beds are the converted dining area and really only suitable for children. My 2 little ones are very young still, but they'll outgrow that bed in a few years as they have my tall genes. So I think I need to upgrade the tow vehicle.

I need:

- caravan with 4 adult berths (bunks would be great!)
- caravan with a modern interior
- tow vehicle with basic AWD/4WD ability (not the serious stuff!)
- tow vehicle with curtain airbags (safety nut!)
- tow vehicle with automatic transmission

I don't really have a budget in mind but want to spend as little as possible, so whether that means spending less on the caravan, more on the tow vehicle or vice versa, I'm open to suggestions!

Some other thoughts I've been considering - keep the car and get lightweight caravan + OzTent extension. Also open to these types of suggestions.

garbage

Reply By: garbage - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 18:19

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 18:19
I forgot one other requirement - a quick setup caravan. Nothing like those Jayco camper trailers that take an hour to set up.
AnswerID: 392341

Follow Up By: tazbaz - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 08:54

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 08:54
I've a Jayco Eagle camper trailer - it takes at most 10 minutes to set up.
FollowupID: 660352

Reply By: Racey - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 18:39

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 18:39
Hi Garbage,

You paint with a very broad brush. I guess the basic question is what is your budget? Once we solve that we can look at the alternatives.

Racey
AnswerID: 392345

Follow Up By: garbage - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:45

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:45
I don't really have a set budget but am trying to determine whether it's something I can do now or whether I should wait a couple years for more vehicle options to become available/affordable. My own research is pointing towards something like a Volvo XC70 3-6 years old (<$30k) and a 10 year old Windsor Rapid.
FollowupID: 660314

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 19:36

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 19:36
garbage
A Concept caravan with double bed one end and bunks the other, new would set you back $45-$50,000, would be less if second hand, you would then need a vehicle with tow capacity of some 2- 2.75 ton, so be looking at Nissan Patrol or Toyota Landcruiser type vehicle.
Happy hunting.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 392347

Follow Up By: jomahk - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 19:56

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 19:56
Or a Grand Cherokee, or a Pathfinder, or a Sorrento, or one of the many Utes with a 3000kg tow rating. If you dont want to spend the big bucks ; dont overbuy on the vehicle. Many hundreds of caravanners using any or all of the above listed vehicles and are happy doing so. As far as vans go perhaps you could look at the expanda range. Q/S bed each end & heaps of room inside.
FollowupID: 660294

Follow Up By: garbage - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:47

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:47
The key here is the side curtain airbags - not many of the 4WD's come with that even as an option. The Pathfinder I know has it but only in the top spec model, and I'm guessing the Landcruiser would have it in the range, but that's a lot more than I'm wanting to spend. The current Sorrento would have them, but not the previous model.
FollowupID: 660316

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 20:17

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 20:17
How much is as little possible? Every purchase starts with a budget
AnswerID: 392359

Follow Up By: garbage - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:49

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:49
The cheapest combination I've come up with from my own research is a Volvo XC70 (3-5 years old) and a 10 year old Windsor Rapid. So anything cheaper than this (that also has the curtain airbags) would be a bonus.
FollowupID: 660317

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 22:03

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 22:03
Your comment with regards to the cheapest and a Volvo XC70 scares me. I think you need to think more about the vehicle itself, Volvo's are not the safest as many people seem to think. A safer vehicle is the vehicle that handles and performs better in all emergency scenarios, not the one that gets its reputation from crash simulation ratings. I also note there is no budget but you mention cheapest so I would assume you want to spend less rather than more. The Volvo XC70 has aweful resale value and would be on the bottom of any of my lists.
FollowupID: 660324

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 22:06

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 22:06
Would also not be the best to get any parts once you leave the cities.

Dont think there is a Volvo dealer in Alice for instance.

Wouldnt be on any list of mine.

FollowupID: 660327

Follow Up By: garbage - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 22:17

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 22:17
Not many options when you want AWD/4WD with side curtain airbags unfortunately. I agree that the resale is pretty bad, but I'm planning to buy something 3-5 years old. I also tend to stick to the coastal routes.
FollowupID: 660331

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 22:42

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 22:42
A Toyota Kluger would be a better option if you could afford it. The Volvos are notorious for various problems because of the design and the spare parts pricing is not favourable. The Kluger would tow better and be safer whilst towing IMO, yes the Volvo has great safety features for when you are in a collision, but the Kluger makes the XC70 look wrong for so many reasons.

The Kluger wins re-sale value so even if you have to spend more to get it, it'll cost you less in the long run.

FollowupID: 660333

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 23:00

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 23:00
Some XC70 owner reports lifted from a reliability ratings site:

I've got a 2004 XC70 which is starting to run up some pretty sizeable service bills. I'm thinking about getting a 2009, I know it's not the best car out there but I just happen to like the dealer, the service, the car itself (previously also had a 1998 V70). I find that I tend to keep a car between 5 and 6 years, and have always purchased, not leased. I put somewhere between 12K and 14K annually on the car. What would you recommend: purchase or lease?

have a 2008 and I've wasted too much time at the dealer, the dealer people are nice, no question about it, but I cannot be there every other week, my recommendation is stay away from this car for a couple years until they can improve it, see reliability at consumerreports or even the editors score at edmunds, they failed pretty badly with this model. I am like you, I like the car inside and out but too many problems that are not worth the money, evn when they are giving almost $7500 rebate away, that should tell you that they are not selling this car, not just becuase the recession but because people are realizing that is not worth the headache. I can wait to december 24th to return mine and be free again.
Good luck with your decission, if you want a list of all the problems I´ve had I will be more than happy to give it to

If I were you I would not even consider to get a Volvo, read my postings from before the 2008 XC70 is just a pool of problems, I get something new every other week and of course Volvo US or the dealership could care less. I imagine their sales are down so badly due to quality and reliability issues that they have to put the 5 year Complimentary Maintenance Program but unless you are willing to go to the shop every other week and suffer your car experience throughout your lease term I would not purchase a Volvo. Check Consumer reports or Edmunds and you will see what I am talking about.

There are plenty more but I think this is enough to get the message across.
FollowupID: 660335

Follow Up By: garbage - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 14:21

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 14:21
I think only the current Kluger has curtain airbags, which would limit me to buying a 1 year old one.

TerraFirma - thanks for the info on the XC70. I'm aware that they're not perfect cars, but I've owned two Volvos in the past. One was flawless until it reached about 300k, the other I had some issues with. The main attraction for me is the towing capacity and general weight of the car as well as the comfortable Volvo seats. It tows more than a Rav4/Forester/Outback and is still reasonably priced.

One other option I'm considering is a 2006 Hyundai Santa Fe as it tows 2000kg and takes a 150kg towball weight and has the required safety features. This would tow most Windsor Rapids.
FollowupID: 660381

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 20:44

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 20:44
Maybe something like this van on eBay Item No. 270488573334 Bob
AnswerID: 392365

Reply By: Eric Experience - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:23

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:23
Garbage.
If you are serious about safety you would not go for a caravan. If a Roo jumps out in front of you when towing a van you are going to drive into it or swerve and risk losing the lot. The safest way to travel with your family is in an ex ambulance. The Sprinter has side and curtain air bags ,electronic stability control that will allow you to swerve around a Roo without tipping the vehicle over. The Sprinters are available at auction for about $15K . Electronic traction control is standard so they are reasonably capable on bush tracks, 10Litres /100K. The down side is when you get one you have to spend many hours pulling out all the junk that is installed in them. The vehicle will have done 200+ K but that is ok as they are kept in top condition. Worth a look. Eric
AnswerID: 392369

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:33

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:33
The main downside is every time you want to go sightseeing you have to pack up camp and unpack when you get back.

Have only had one Roo jump out in front of me in 29,000k of towing up the centre and down the west.

Would like to see one at Steep point or Cape Peron or Lost City all worthwhile places to visit.. LOL.

FollowupID: 660311

Follow Up By: garbage - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:51

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:51
I have seen a couple of people going around in those ex ambos. Are they likely to be able to sleep 4 adults though? :D
FollowupID: 660318

Follow Up By: Eric Experience - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:59

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:59
Garbage.
4 Adults would be a bit tight. the space behind the seats is 1.7m x 3.5m Eric.
FollowupID: 660320

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 08:49

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 08:49
I agree Graham,
After 3 yrs on the road and 83,000 kms we only had 1 roo jump out which was taken out by the trailer. I don't swerve!!! That's what the bullbar is for lol. We did a fair bit of night driving and never had any trouble with animals. Funny you mention steep point cause it was on the way out from there that we hit it as we reached the main road. Just goes to prove we should have stayed on the dirt lol.

Josh
FollowupID: 660349

Reply By: John and Lynne - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 09:01

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 09:01
You are making your life difficult! Yes it takes a while to really sort your needs and priorities and, of course , budget. It is always a compromise. If your children are still very young it will be a while before you can safely take the small van plus tent option unless you all sleep in the tent. This option will work well with older kids who may love the tent.
Setting up effort may seem to be be an issue but only if you plan to move camp every day. With littlies you may prefer longer stays and less travelling. The best way to get plenty of space and reasonable comfort on a low budget would seem to be a good camper trailer with a hard floor and decent kitchen set up. I know people who have travelled for months very happily with one of these and two toddlers.
There are many good makes around and lots of good secondhand buys as people often upgrade to a caravan as kids leave home. People quickly get very smart at putting these up and kids love to help.
Such a trailer may not be your first choice now but could give you a better value buy than a 10 year old caravan that could be heading to expensive maintenance. It would enable you to keep your current car and try out the whole lifestyle before spending too much. Camper trailers are also easy to store at home.
Good luck! Lynne
AnswerID: 392406

Follow Up By: garbage - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 14:13

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 14:13
Hi Lynne, thanks for the reply. I tend to spend about 4-5 nights at each location, so I tend to prefer something with very minimal effort to set up, and more importantly, pack away in the rain. The kids are 1 and 4 now and we've been camping in a touring tent for 4 weeks at a time since they were virtually newborns. I'm not sure if the camper trailer would be any quicker from what I've observed of others setting up and packing up.
FollowupID: 660380

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 09:03

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 09:03
Re: airbags.

They have a limited life span, generally 10 years, and up to 15 years, depending on the manufacturers specification.

Just been through the exercise with my son buying an older peugot. Basically when the car is about 12 years old he has to through it away, since the cost of replacing the airbags will be more than the car is worth.

Me, I would rather go for primary safety such as built in good handling (tyre and suspension maintenance included) and structure, a driver training course, then ABS and traction and stability control if available. Airbags come last on my list of safety features. Have seen a few cases where they don't go off, reason being they will only deploy when the vehicle is hit in a particular way.

Safety is a budget item and hence a compromise, even travelling at slower speeds (more reaction time) and less often can lessen the need for airbags and other "must have" safety features the car makers try and sell us.
AnswerID: 392407

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 09:08

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 09:08
Spell checker didn't pick up that one, the peugot gets thrown away, not through. :O)
FollowupID: 660353

Reply By: ozjohn0 - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 10:13

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 10:13
Don't forget the local Ford Territory in both 2WD & AWD.
They are building themselves a good reputation as a medium weight tow vehicle (Up to 2300kg). Many families are singing their praises for expanda style vans that offer the best of both worlds. Compact, yet real van space when the ends are folded down. More versatile than Jayco style Camper trailers and at a realistic price that is affordable to young families.
ozjohn.
AnswerID: 392415

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 14:04

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 14:04
i thguoth FT' where rather heavy on juice??
FollowupID: 660378

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 18:10

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 18:10
robertbruce... they are. VERY!!!! My sister and hubby have one (only 2WD version) and they're cursing it.

Not only that, but the third row of seats is either all or nothing. They can't be split, one up and one down.
FollowupID: 660413

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 19:43

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 19:43
OHHH YESSSSSSSS, i was right about something...chi.chi.chi.jig.jijg.jig....lol...

OMG, BUT.....

if you can afford an expanda i guess your not worrying about the fuell that much... I8)
FollowupID: 660426

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 20:18

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 20:18
If I remeber correctly there was a well publicised court case in Gt Britain a year or two ago where a driver sued the manufacturer because he had a prang and the airbags didnt go off.

Im fairly sure it was Volvo

They didnt and couldnt go off because he ROLLED it

Airbags are designed to go off when the vehicle is hit in a specific way and rolling isnt one of them.

I would be more interested in INTRUSION bars than bags.

Its fairly unlikely that out on the highway you will get T boned and need the side bags anyway.

I got hit on the front R/H pillar once and pushed 34 ft sideways and into a concrete wall. No airbags at all and all I got was a cut finger.

Wrote both cars off and the passenger in the other car stuck his head thru the windscreen No seatbelt. Their fault Speeding.

I think you are rather over worrying

AnswerID: 392750