Rewiring from USA to Australian

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 19:41
ThreadID: 73971 Views:13055 Replies:13 FollowUps:32
I am looking at bringing a caravan from US to Aus. Does anyone know if I would have to rewire the whole van to comply with Australian standards?

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 20:01

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 20:01
Check wit your local MVA. The colour coded wiring will be different. Your biggest problem might be having to move the door to the opposite side of the van. Again, check with your local MVA. I'd do a lot of research before buying.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 392481

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 20:06

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 20:06
Forgot to mention: If its not all 12volt wiring, yes you will have to rewire. 110 Volt US wiring is not acceptable for 240Volt Aus Standards
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 660430

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 20:01

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 20:01
Are you talking about clearance/blinkers/stop lights or internal power points and lights?
AnswerID: 392482

Follow Up By: kemulvak - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 20:05

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 20:05
Hi Shane,
Talking about internal power points and lights..
FollowupID: 660429

Reply By: Faulic_McVitte - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 20:20

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 20:20
A US caravan would have to be 100% rewired to comply to Aus regs. Gas would need to be completely refitted. US gas and electrical appliances do not comply to Aus certification. You cannot get individual appliances certified for gas or electrical. US axles and brakes dont normally comply and will need changed. Tubular/pipe axles in Aus don't comply. Under the new laws that came into effect this month will make it difficult to impossible to import into Aus caravans, trailers, 5'vers and motorhomes. US caravans are real crap compared to Aus caravans. The likes of Salems and others dont handle our roads well. Other issue is no replacement parts for the crap plastic sinks and taps used in US caravans.
AnswerID: 392485

Follow Up By: chevypower - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:26

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:26
Oh please, Australian caravans are not better made than US RVs.
FollowupID: 660562

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 00:02

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 00:02
I can show you a Supreme Caravan made in Melbourne Australia that is Crap and if someone can make something worse then this then Good On Them.. :-((
FollowupID: 660630

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 21:09

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 21:09
The biggest problem you will have is the appliances fitted in the van. We have lots of problems at work, people buying electrical goods from the USA, plug them in and bang. All USA Appliances run on 110 volts, where as here in Australia we run 240 volts.

Be very careful, it could be a very expensive exercise.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 392491

Follow Up By: Ray - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 08:41

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 08:41
Also they have 60htz. compared t our 50htz.
FollowupID: 660479

Follow Up By: chevypower - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:25

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:25
Well not all appliances in the US run at 110v. (I live in the US), my dryer is 220v/60Hz/30amp. I think so is my range. They both have a 4 prong plug. The only way appliances like that would work in Australia is if they were hardwired in to the wall. But most appliances here are 110v. Some RVs may accept the 220v/60Hz/30amp input, but I am not sure.
FollowupID: 660561

Follow Up By: Damian007 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:02

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:02
Chevypower> Your Dryer is 220v/60hz/30amp?. That wouldn't be allowed to be plugged into an Australian Power point let alone an American one. Who are you trying to kid?

30 amps? Have you got any idea what 30 amps is? 220v X 30 amps is 6600 watts... ROFLOL

All American Appliances would run on 110volts because 110 volts is the American Standard for a start. A lot of appliances would run on 110 volts through to 240volts as this is the norm nowadays for Elctronic goods and small appliances like Shavers, Hair Dryers, Mobile Phone Chargers etc. But Something that draws 30amps, that would be better run from 3 phase. I don't know of any Houshould appliance that would draw 30amps at 220 volts

If you can find me the spec, please, by all means, link it to me.

Standard Houshold Power Points In Australia Are Active, Neutral and Earth Arrangement with a maximum Rating Of 10 Amps. Special Wiring And Points For 15Amps.
You Can Have A 240volt, 20 Amp Outlet for Specialised Equipment like Welders.
FollowupID: 660767

Follow Up By: Damian007 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:20

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:20
I may owe ChevyPower an Apology. For some reason I was under the impression he was talking about a Hair Dryer. I dunno why. All I could picture in my small mind was a huge hair dryer. It never occured to me it could've been a clothes dryer. You know, talk about RV's etc. Clothes Dryer's don't fit.

Anyhow, We hardwire our Heavy Current Draw appliances into the Circuit. Other Countries obviously have High Current Outlets For their Huge Hair Dryers.

Anyhow, If you were talking about a Clothes Dryer, Then I apologise for my Comment. If you were talking about a Hair Dryer that pulls 6600 watts, I wanna see it...lol
FollowupID: 660772

Follow Up By: chevypower - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 03:26

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 03:26
LOL, if there were a 220v/60Hz 30amp hair dryer, my wife would be asking for it for Christmas!!! haha - I actually don't use a hair dryer :)
We have the Whirlpool Duets 9600 front loader washer/dryer set. Most electric dryers here use that higher voltage and amperage. Dryers that use a gas heater, use a standard 110V plug to turn the drum. I believe there are some 110v elec dryers, but people don't like them because they take too long to dry, and you end up using more electricity in the end. Some of the larger RVs here will accommodate a washer and dryer, though not sure if the dryers run on 110v or 220v.
220v/30amp outlets are popular in America for ranges and dryers as I mentioned. Sorry, not popular, pretty much standardized. Older plugs had a large 3 prong (looks like a large version of the Australian outlets), the newer ones have a 4 prong plug. It's not a standard single-phase, but it's not really 2 or 3 phase. They call it split-phase. You will notice that everything is double from the regular power outlet. Instead of 110v/15amp (which is most power points in the home) - it is 220v/30amp. Though the Alternating Current is still at 60Hz, not 120 :-) There is always one in the kitchen for the range, and one in the laundry for the dryer.
I actually asked an electrician friend in Australia what it would take to get my dryer working in Australia, since I am going to recommend family in Australia get one here and ship it over, seeing they don't sell clothes dryers as powerful there. He said it could be hard wired in through the wall and made to work. Yep I can dry a full load of towels in 40-60 mins :-)
FollowupID: 660799

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 20:40

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 20:40
Please note: 220 volts in the USA is three phase !
FollowupID: 661351

Follow Up By: Jacob O - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 22:41

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 22:41
No, 220v in the USA is not 3 phase, but rather split phase. They split a single phase so you can have what appears to be '2 phase power' From one phase to neutral you get 110v, or between both you get 220v. 3 phase in america is 207v.
FollowupID: 663651

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 21:30

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 21:30
Whats the advantage of a USA van?? From what i remember, most are really ugly?? Is it better to buy something local,, miles of choice, possibly cheaper and no hassle.. Michael
AnswerID: 392492

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 21:58

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 21:58
With imported American boats, a lot of people just fit a big 240v to 110v converter.

AnswerID: 392497

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 23:06

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 23:06
Hi Shaker
I think you mean "transformer"
While this will correct the voltage problem there could be trouble with things like motors ,fluoro, Battery charger [if fitted]
This due to US supply frequency, if my memory is correct, being 60cycle.
The output from the transformer will be our 50cycle, this will mean that any equipment with iron cores etc will draw more current ,may overheat & burn out.
The transformer would have to be installed by a qualified electrician, would need some rewiring from inlet .
Then you have the problem of sourcing 110v gear if any needs replacing.
FollowupID: 660450

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 23:38

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 23:38
I actually meant converter, you can see HERE that either term is correct.

110 volt appliances can be purchased quickly & cheaply via the WWW.
As I said, many large imported boats are just using 'transformers'.

FollowupID: 660459

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 23:41

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 23:41
This is more the type that they are using 4000 Watt USA
FollowupID: 660460

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 07:29

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 07:29
motors running on 50 cycles just run a bit slower than those on 60 cycles
frequency is not the problem...its the voltages

the yanks do a lot of what we would call "shonky" wiring....but in their land its the norm, and some of it wont get passed by our authorities

FollowupID: 660473

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 08:30

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 08:30
Shaker
The main problem is it the appliances but boats fitted with ProMariner chargers (and some others) are international acceptance voltage and will run on 240V anyway.

Por Mariner chargers are fully approved for Australia so replacing one here is not a problem.

The caravans may only be fitted with a DC power supply not a charger as we know them as yanks do not seem to free camps like Aussies and end up on power supplies in trailer parks and that brings to light the problem of 5th wheelers and their inadequacy to free camp without often expensive modification.

ian
FollowupID: 660477

Follow Up By: Faulic_McVitte - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 10:00

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 10:00
thankfully dont get many boats in here with Promariner charges as they fail. Changed over probably 10 Promariner on visiting yachts and boats to Xantrex Truecharge and Truecharge2. Xatrex Truecharge2 are the worlds ultimate battery charger. With Aus $ high landed in Aus 20A $350
FollowupID: 660486

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 10:39

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 10:39
Faulic_mcvitte

Gee I know another charger that claims to be the worlds best charger so who can you believe.

What is also amazing to me in your statement is your claim about failure and it must be common in Xantrex also as I have just landed a deal with a major outlet in Queensland due to failures in the Xantrex range that they have now dropped.

Stick to saying you have a good product and dont knock others as the market will not buy them if they are no good and your statement does not enhanse your credability.

FollowupID: 660488

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 13:34

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 13:34
"Shaker posted:
I actually meant converter, you can see HERE that either term is correct"

Hi Shaker ,
Not trying to be dogmatic, BUT whilst they convert from one voltage to another,the correct term as you can see from the link is "TRANSFORMER"
Not A big deal but correct terminalogy can be important.
They are referred to as "transformers" in the electrical industry,
FollowupID: 660507

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 13:47

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 13:47
Member No 1 posted:
motors running on 50 cycles just run a bit slower than those on 60 cycles
frequency is not the problem...its the voltages ""

Hi True
The obvious thing is they will run about 15% slower.
Not so obvious IS that they will draw MORE current.
Due to less core material .
Running slower= poorer fan cooling,+ more amps ,IF been used near max load overheating can occur.
Also as you have pointed out voltage is 110v We have up to 240/250v more amps= more heat again
FollowupID: 660509

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:04

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:04
Can't edit so 2 changes to previous posts
BUT when they convert from one AC voltage to another AC voltage,the correct term as you can see from the link is "TRANSFORMER"

Also as you have pointed out voltage is 110v We have up to 240/250v. Unless requested otherwise the transformer will produce that.
More amps= more heat again
FollowupID: 660524

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 18:31

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 18:31
Funny, but I don't see the word 'transformer' any where
HERE

I agree that transformer is also correct!

A voltage converter changes the voltage of an electrical power source and is usually combined with other components to create a power supply. ...
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voltage_converter

FollowupID: 660567

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:08

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:08
Hi Shaker
Perhaps you have eyesight problems. EACH of those products are titled Step up /Step down "TRANSFORMERS."
Are you an electrician or work in the electrical field?
Sometimes a little knowledge may lead to false conclusions.
Are those things that sit on poles or in substations called converters????
In Aus & most of the world they are called "transformers ".
Look up any electrical catologue , Dick Smith, Jay car, etc you WILL find them listed under "TRANSFORMERS"
Another section "CONVERTERS" is for DC voltage changers
But if you want to call them converters go ahead .
Just be carefull that people know to what you really are referring to are "AC transformers".
Although with qualified people,you need not use "Ac" they KNOW by the word "Transformer" it is AC"
FollowupID: 660608

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:23

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:23
Hi Shaker
A further point
An AC to dc devise is called a rectifier [or a " converter ' by some but not usually by trade people' ]
They may have additional circuitry for regulation & be referred to by some as a power supply.[A poor but simple term @ the best because any thing that supplies power is a power supply] It does not really define what it is.
FollowupID: 660615

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:28

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:28
I don't have eyesight problems, either term, or both is applicable!

FollowupID: 660626

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:31

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:31
Forgot to mention, our marine electronics technician said to show you this SITE, no mention of transformer, he also said that they are more often called converters in the States.

FollowupID: 660627

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:53

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:53
Hi Shaker
I thought we where in Australia ??
Ask A Qualified electrician what they are.
But as i said call them what YOU like but do not confuse others.
There is too much confusion already on most forums by unqualified people using incorrect terminology.

From your original link

VC100W

100W Step UP / DOWN Voltage Transformer
Model No. VC100W

100 Watt Voltage Transformer (VC100)

Listed one after another all sizes "TRANSFORMERS"
FollowupID: 660628

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 07:45

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 07:45
"The obvious thing is they will run about 15% slower.
Not so obvious IS that they will draw MORE current.
Due to less core material .
Running slower= poorer fan cooling,+ more amps ,IF been used near max load overheating can occur.
Also as you have pointed out voltage is 110v We have up to 240/250v more amps= more heat again"

oldtrack,.....Frequency makes it draw more amps????...frequency changes its core material?????.....running slower makes it draw more amps???...i dont agree!!!

a motor has a rated FLA at any speed...and thats its maximum...not any more as then thats when overheating begins to occur......incidently a device designed to run specifically on 110v cannot be used on 240V.

Shaker...what does it say on the picture of the magic box...forget the text in the advert where it says converter...but look the photo..."stepup & down transformer"
on this point i must agree with oldtrack ...when we change voltages up or down a c - ac or Dc - DC we call them tranformers...as applicable.
FollowupID: 660641

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 09:42

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 09:42
Hi Member #1

""oldtrack,.....Frequency makes it draw more amps????...frequency changes its core material?????.....running slower makes it draw more amps???...i dont agree!!!

a motor has a rated FLA at any speed...and thats its maximum...not any more as then thats when overheating begins to occur......incidently a device designed to run specifically on 110v cannot be used on 240V""

Equipment designed for 60cycle has less iron in the ,be it motors or transformers etc
Iron core acts as a choke on ac .Higher freq less current lower freq more current .
Differance in amount of ironis not so noticable with equipment designed for small differances , but becomes vary obviouswith say a transformer designed for 25cycle to one for 50 cycle
A 25 cycle transformer used on 50 cycle will not have the output [lower , cannot draw same current
Use a 50 cycle transformer on 25 Cycle & it will have a very high manetizing current [standby]l & limited output before overheating.
In the case of motor it's not the running slower that makes it draw more curent ,it is the same as for transformers less iron lower freq more current. Differance between 50& 60cycle is small [16%] & mayl only be a problem if the motor is required to run @ it's max designed capacity,HP in old terms [will draw more than it's rated ,running slower less efficient cooling from fan.

Of course correct equipment can only be used on voltage it is designed for , my point is the need to make sure The transformer was 50 cycle & 240>110v not yank 220 > 110 60 cycle
FollowupID: 660653

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 00:45

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 00:45
Regarding the change of door. Importers were getting away with just an escape door in the past and the owners were still using the main door. In future the new door will have to be a fully functioning door and not the token one they installed previously.

AnswerID: 392511

Reply By: nsngood - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 00:49

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 00:49
most importantly check the width of the van if over 2500 mm in width it will not get regoed in aus
AnswerID: 392512

Follow Up By: Dion - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 07:42

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 07:42
It will pass rego, no problems.
Just it will need to fall into line with oversize vehicle restrictions. Will need Oversize signs on front and back, hi-viz flags, amber cloured flashing lights (x2) on the tow vehicle, a mountain of paperwork and only permitted to be towed between sun up and sun down.

Dion.
FollowupID: 660475

Follow Up By: nsngood - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:04

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:04
my point exactly
FollowupID: 660621

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (Sunshine Coa - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 08:09

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 08:09
The Federal Govt has just this week issued a Press Release to the Industry advising that all Imports and locally built units will have to comply with a range of revised regulations and rules prior to registration. Particular emphasis on ensuring imports meet the required ADR,s. Suggest you check thoroughly.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 392518

Reply By: blueriderwa - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 09:11

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 09:11
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Advertising/Self-Promotion Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 392526

Reply By: kemulvak - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 18:16

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 18:16
Thanks everyone for your knowledgeable replies! Though there is a huge price difference in buying a unit here or in US, (about $60,000) it looks like it could be a huge nightmare! I thought with the favourable AUD$ at the moment it might be a viable option...

Thanks again, this forum is great, really helpful :)
AnswerID: 392602

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 19:39

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 19:39
Are you looking new or second hand? I know someone that brings in 5th wheelers and has the wiring done to 240v by builder. Only brings in with rear door and has all gas pipe put in walls but not connected. It take about two weeks to finish wiring and about the same for gas fittings.
I don't know about the new rules but he has never had to change any suspension components.
cheers shane.
FollowupID: 660576

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:23

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:23
Shane
Under 4.5T it would be fitted with electric brakes but the big problem with a 5th wheeler the weight can be misrepresented and necessitates them to be fitted with air brakes over 4.5T in Australia.

Playmor and King of the Road was one of the first certified to meet all the regulations here as they are built to Australian Standards and I believe fitted here with Australian Appliances.

I also believe that some of the other long time importers comply correctly to Australian Standards although some may still not and its only time before they are caught out.

I am also told that state authorities will now start weighing and measuring for reregistration and non compliant units may fail to be reregistered and if that is the case it will be sad for the owners as they may become the loser and the meat in the sandwich.
AnswerID: 392666

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 23:05

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 23:05
Mate,
The simple answer is the caravan, motorhome, 5th wheeler or camper trailer 240V wiring must comply with AS3001.

If it doesn't it's illegal to connect to our local supply.

The best thing to do is find someone familiar with the above standard and get them to comment on what's being supplied.

AnswerID: 395226