Nullabor Fuel Prices

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 00:41
ThreadID: 73975 Views:5702 Replies:11 FollowUps:7
Have done a search and cant find the thread that told which place TO BUY and NOT to buy

Am heading East from Norseman next week and wondered where to buy.

Have 185 litres on board and usually get 5.7kpl

Also where to stop for a night thats reasonable

Thanks in advance.

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 00:54

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 00:54
If you stop at Penong when going west and Norseman going east they will give you the gen on up to date prices. (In Norseman use the service station in town near the info station.)

Regarding stopping places for overnight - very few of them are far from the road. Probably the only ones that are, are a couple at the cliff top look outs on the SA side of the border. If you get yourself a copy of Camps Australia Wide they are listed complete with co-ordinates. Feed these into Google Earth or Google Maps and have a look at them.

AnswerID: 392513

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 01:12

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 01:12
Thread 72182 is fairly recent (Sept)

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 392514

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 06:21

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 06:21
Graham, if you see a light gold coloured 200 series towing a Bushtracker, sing out on CH40.

I'm presently in NSW but will be leaving Temora on Monday after the airshow and heading thru Hay, Mildura, Port Augusta etc.

AnswerID: 392516

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 11:08

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 11:08
K will do We are in a white 100 with a white bug screen on front with a Coromal hopefully still on the back

Leaving Norseman wed or thur next week

Apparently was in the high 40s yesterday out there somewhere.

FollowupID: 660491

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 08:46

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 08:46
Graham,

Just been over(currently in Port Wakefield heading in to adelaide). We filled up in Noresman at the shell in town. (these are all diesel)

Noresman Shell 129.4
Nundroo SAFF 126.9
Port Augusta Caltex 124.9

Balladonia was 161.9
Madura was 169.9

Matt

AnswerID: 392521

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 08:56

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 08:56
Mundrabilla cheaper by 20c in October. Avoid the rest. All the paid camps are
fairly ordinary, better off to bush camp. As suggested see Camps Book....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 392525

Follow Up By: madcow - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 11:16

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 11:16
And Eucla was the same price when we crossed about 2 months ago. Eucla was worth 2 nights stop I reckon. Go for a fish and explore the tracks on the SA side of the border running parallel with the coast.
FollowupID: 660493

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 13:30

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 13:30
Been a year, but as stated above, Eucla had the same price as Mundrabilla for diesel.
The C. park at Eucla is good, with magnificent views, and the showers have desal water, unlike most places out there. The pet goat was a bit too friendly tho.
Otherwise, there are plenty of places off the road to camp away from the noise of trucks thru the night. Keep an eye out for the old microwave towers, and follow the access road in a few km and camp. I found the official off-road campsites noisy and the dunnies not worth using.
Gerry

FollowupID: 660506

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 10:37

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 10:37
Came across ourselves 2 weeks back. Norseman Shell usually has the best fuel price there - Penong usually at least matches Ceduna outlets but more likely to undercut them - only thing is that when we went through, the Penong servo diesel pumps were occupied by large trucks filling up - and endorsement of their pricing I guess. The 'lady of the expeditions' made the following observations -Caiguna 164c, Cocklebiddy was 167c, Mundrabilla 152c, Nullabor 154c, Ceduna 127c. Water is an issue across there as usual - take as much as you can, and pray for mild weather - our heatwave was 'character building'.
AnswerID: 392536

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 11:12

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 11:12
Thanks folks it was diesel I should have said.

Obviously very hot across there at the moment over 40 yesterday apparently.

With a tail wind I have about 800km of fuel capacity.

AnswerID: 392546

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:48

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:48
It doesn't matter which way you're travelling on the Nullarbor, you'll always have a headwind!!
FollowupID: 660551

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:58

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:58
So where do the two headwinds meet Should be an intersting place

FollowupID: 660554

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:13

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:13
I've proven it in the past; as soon as you enter the Nullarbor (doesn't matter from which end) the wind will immediately change and blow against you!
FollowupID: 660559

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 14:55

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 14:55
hi graham
just read my 2005 diary to source this imfo that might be of help to you and others
there is a good off road parking area 502km east of norseman on the left as you go east suitable for caravans it's about 20km past turn off on left to moonera station
when i stayed there it was'nt big enough for roadtrains etc to get in there so hopefully still the same it's an old camp ground/ access to gravel pit out the back where the road gang stayed when they did the rd there is small mallee tres and bush rounda-bouts and bays

there is also an overnight area just down the track that goes to cape arid nation park/point demster opposite balladonia garage but not sure if it's big enough for larger rigs
there was at that time : may 2005 a very interesting history room/display at the balladonia servo/resturant of the local area history and early day pioneers i found interesting
may be of interest to you /others

just as a matter of interest

in early may 2005 diesel prices::
were norseman bp 129.9caltex 122.9
mundrabiila 126.9
border village 154.9
port augusta 116.9

as far as the heat goes that you may or may not experience on the nulla and the head /cross or hopefully tail winds what ever will be will be and once your out there there's b/all you can do about it some people are lucky and have an enjoyable trip and some never stop telling others what a bugger of a trip it is was
wish all a happy one
i crossed the nulla 3 times with a caravan 1 with camper trailer and 3 times in 4wds and only had 1 hot trip in feb 1971 and that was when a dam lot of the road was just a rough dirt track streaky bay rd is the nices trip if you not in a hurry and follows the coast to port lincoln
so good luck and cheers

AnswerID: 392578

Reply By: Damo1970 - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:09

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:09
We did the trip last week.

Norseman Shell 129.4
Mundrabilla 152.0
Ceduna BP 126.9

The other roadhouses we stopped at (but didn't buy fuel) were 166.9 & 168.9

AnswerID: 392640

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 04:23

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 04:23
thats odd, Mundrabilla is usually around the same as Norse and Ceduna, but now its 23 cents dearer??
FollowupID: 660801

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:35

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:35
Thanks folks will fill up at Norseman and work it out from there

We have the van tanks full and 40 litres of water in the car so have about 180 litres.

Thanks a lot.

AnswerID: 392644

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 22:36

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 22:36
Well we are across and prices were

Norseman 1.30 Asked prices Reply dont know only been here a few days DUH

Cocklebiddy $1.68 Heaps of trucks there at halfway point apparently.

Madura $1.64

Eucla $1.54 Filled up there

Ceduna $1.25.9

So had a side tail wind all the way to just before Penong.

535 k from Eucla 104.75 litres towing 2850kg 5.1kpl.

Scrubbed the edges of inside of one and outside of other back tyre holding the rig into the wind.

Had a side wind all the way from Kalgoorlie to Esperence and across the Nullabor.

AnswerID: 393934