Not all Generators are Equal - Be Warned!
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 14:43
Member - Stephen L (Clare SA)
It was brought to my attention at work this morning a very special point about
Portable Fridges and Generators. One of our technicians was working on an Engel Fridge that was fairly new and not working on 240 volts. The Technician performed the usual test to make sure the cables were not at fault and discovered that the 240 volt power supply was cactus. Knowing that these power supplies are very reliable and do not just stop working like that, we contacted the customer and was informed the fridge was working fine until he connected it to a cheap generator set, end of story and warranty.
It is most important that anyone that is thinking of buying a generator, do not go on price, as it may cost you a lot more in the long run. I am no technician, but ours recommended that the minimum for any generator should be AVR type and if possible, an Inverter Generator. What the cheaper generator did was have a power voltage spike in excess of 400 volts, causing the power supply to die, but saving the rest of the fridge. The inverter type generators are the best, supplying a constant 240 volts to the appliances connected to it. The cost of about $300 for a new power supply + labour, as the power supply died from receiving over 400 volts is not covered by warranty, so be warned.
So please bare this in mind if thinking of running those special appliances from a non AVR or inverter generator.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 14:59
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 14:59
You would have to wonder why people are not using a surge protection device (and an earth leakage switch for that matter) between the Genny and the device being powered??
Seems like cheap and easy insurance to me??
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:14
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:14
Hi John
It was one of those real cheap ones and he thought it was a real bargain. As this caused the fault and not a faulty power supply, his cheap generator has now cost him a lot more than he bargained. He is now insisting the fridge is at fault. We contacted Engel, and their very helpful technicians have informed us that their power supplies will die when they receive in excess of 400 volts - not a fridge problem in anyone's language.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:28
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:28
Stephen I understood what you said but a simple surge or spike protection device may have been enough to smooth out the spike and prevent possible damage.
I would have continued to run the fridge off the batteries and used the Genny to power a charger supplying the batteries.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:05
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:05
I don't have any confidence in standard surge protectors - the devices in them are simply too small to be effective.
Anyway, the problem here is not a surge - these cheap generators put out high voltages continuously.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:44
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:44
Hi Mike,
You hit the nail on the head, it was the constant high voltage that caused this problem.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 01:02
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 01:02
In that case it should be very simple for you guys to show the customer that his generator is putting out80% higher voltage than it should?
Just a multimeter and fire it up.
Surely that would clear up all arguments?
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 01:10
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 01:10
sorry forgot to ad
" Knowing that these power supplies are very reliable and do not just stop working like that, we contacted the customer and was informed the fridge was working fine until he connected it to a cheap generator set, end of story and warranty."
that really doesnt seem to be a very scientific basis for fault finding?
Just because they "are very reliable" and he used a "cheap generator", Im afraid on that basis I too would dispute it. As I said above, why not ask him to bring it in and show him its running at 400 volts plus??
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 07:54
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 07:54
fish064
The generator was tested, that is why we know it was outputting over 400 volts, and was unregulated.
Like stated in other replies, buy a good quality generator, preferably one with an inverter output and it will give a constant 240 supply.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 15:14
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 15:14
No worries, you hadnt explained that before and it sounded very summary and a little dismissive as originally put.
" Knowing that these power supplies are very reliable and do not just stop working like that, we contacted the customer and was informed the fridge was working fine until he connected it to a cheap generator set, end of story and warranty."
Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:10
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:10
There is probably more to that story Stephen.
all fridges should be able to withstand a spike by design.
I wouldn't want to own a fridge that didn't have a simple spike protection circuit in it and let its $300 supply go down instead.
Maybe the gennie was faulty and ran for a few seconds before its speed control cut in , delivering 300 Vac or similar to the supply which failed by a thermal mechanism ?
Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:15
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:15
Yes agreed.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:18
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:18
Hi Robin
A 400 volt power spike is not good for any modern day appliances. If it was an inverter generator, he would have had no problems.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:45
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 15:45
Almost all 240vac Switchmode power supplies are required by standards to withstand spikes Stephen.
Typically 3750vac from input to output.
1500Vac Input to ground
500 v output to ground.
Follow Up By: robertbruce - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:18
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:18
could this have happened if he had left the power-lead in on start-up or shut-down even...
maybe was running the fuel out as
well??
Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:26
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:26
If the poor fella'a honesty made him lose his warranty! then why have the $300.00 power supply replaced surley there are other suitable power supplies for 50 Bucks.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:38
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:38
Like I have stated above, I am no technician. Regardless of what electrical appliance that was connected to this very cheap generator, either Engel, Waeco, or computer, the same problem would have happened. Like our technician said, anyone that used a generator with an unregulated power supply is just asking for trouble. So many of the appliances that we use today have sophisticated electronics than can be damaged very easy with the wrong power supply. As for loosing his warranty, this was not the case. The fridge is still covered by the 3 year warranty, but as the power supply was damaged by using the cheap generator which caused the problem, it is not a fault of the fridge.
The point that I am making is if someone is in the market for a generator, pay the extra dollars and buy a good quality one and you will have no problem running any of the above type appliances. Engel do have a generator that is made for them by Honda, is a full inverter type generator and supplies a pure 240 volts, meaning you can safely run your fridge, TV, computer etc knowing that you have a safe power supply.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:05
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:05
Stephen the information you have provided cannot lead to the logical conclusion that the problem was caused by the generator - it may
well have been hence the first few words in my reply post , but what is contained in your post is unproven speculation and opinion.
Electronics today are actually better protected than they ever have been and power supplies comply with high tolerances as per figures I have given.
If it was my unit , subject to getting the full facts of course, (including that the gennie wasn't faulty) and including any reasonable qualifications in the Engel manual , I would probably be going after the fridge manufacturer on the basis of not making a product of consumable quality.
I have provided expert witness input on these sorts of things before and suspect that Engel would loose (subject to qualifications above)
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:25
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:25
Hi Robin
Like I said, I am no technician and admit that I have no technical knowledge on this matter. It is just common knowledge that any electrical product that is run for long periods on over 400 volts will fail, no questions asked. If our household power was supplied with the same voltages as that supplied by the cheap generator, we would all be loosing our electrical appliances in our houses left right and centre. When any manufacturer makes a product, it is designed to run on a stable power supply, not from an unregulated power supply generator.
Fair being fair, any expert witness would agree that constant excess volt of over 400 volts has caused this problem. As for saying that the fridge manufacturer is not making a product of consumable quality, you show me where any product will safely run on nearly a 70% increased power variation.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 07:49
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 07:49
Hi Stephen
Thats better , your statement (repeated in followup 2 ) was that a power spike caused the problem, this is what I objected to, a constant 400v is quite a different thing , I would be the first to say that a constant 400v or a wave shape that gave a greater average voltage would be an issue.
Perhaps for non-technical guys it was a loose term but to us igin-ears a spike is a spike and it has a sharp point of short duration.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:10
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:10
Stephen,
If I was the owner of the fridge I'd be making you prove it was the genny at fault!....not saying your wrong, but, how can one say it was the genny without at least testing the genny and or checking the fridge power supply for actual cause of failure.... a burnt-out PCB (even when it shows signs of blackness) would not in my opinion prove its failure was due to external causes of the printed circuit board....not with out checking every component on the board for reasons of possible failure...
"we contacted the customer and was informed the fridge was working fine until he connected it to a cheap generator set, end of story and warranty."
Have you seen the genny...what type is it.....
could his so called "cheap" genny be a EU20i....just because he told you stuck it on a cheap genny does not mean the damge may have been caused by the HONDA genny
One other point...if the PCB definitely shows signs on being burnt-out then he might be able to claim the cost of repair on his house (fusion) insurance
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:12
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:12
oops..just read this...."we tested" etc ec
Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:31
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:31
Hi there. On this topic, I found thread 73822 very interesting, in discussing why a 'normal' surge protector may not be effective against the erratic voltage and frequency of a cheap generator.
Follow Up By: Member - Kevin B1 (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:59
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:59
All this is old news to me. I know of 5 caravans and 2 fridges, now 3 that have burnt out transformers/ power supply's using cheap Gensets. I have checked the voltage with a good quality voltmeter and it jumps all over the place, only good for running light globes. I know there are people on this
Forum who will disagree with the above and that's OK by me,use them at your own peril. You may get away with it, then again you may not, you do get what you pay for in this regard.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:19
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:19
It's not just the voltage - it's the waveshape.
Anything other than a sinewave means energy in higher frequencies and those higher frequencies will overheat iron transformers.
Reply By: dbish - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:32
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:32
Its been
well known for years never run an Engel of older syle generators. Far safer to run them of 12V & use a charger for the battery of the older generators.
Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:56
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 17:56
Stephen,
I agree with what you have said about the cheap gensets and uncontrolled voltage.
I have one of those 750w cheap 2 stroke gensets ($99) and, surprise surprise, the fairly thin instruction manual actually states in bold print "Do NOT use this machine to power any appliance with electronic componentry".
So I don't.
I use it to supply lighting only, when
bush camping in isolated
places, judiciously in inhabited areas and as a backup light source for the frequent power blackouts at
home (via extension cord and a couple of lamps).
It is never used to backfeed into the house supply to power other appliances.
It is now 6 years old, still starts second pull and has never caused any problems with the stuff I plug into it
Probably because I read the instruction book first.
Disco.
Follow Up By: OREJAP - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 19:34
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 19:34
About seven years ago I saw a sticker on a friends Engel, which, at that time was the latest model 40 ltr. On the lid the sticker proclaimed Generator Compatible. I took that to mean ANY Generator. My children purchased a GMC 2 stroke Genny from Bunnings...$99. On looking at the Genny I noticed nothing stated about surge or spiking or Sine wave etc...I phoned Engel & spoke to a tech. who louding stated "Do not run the fridge off a 2 stroke what ever you do...I have a dozen or so here on the w/
shop floor damaged by gennerators. I told him about the sticker I saw on a brand new Engel & he told me that was a mistake & put on by marketting because another company had highlighted the fact that their producet could be run off a generator. I run my Engel off a four stroke with sine wave protection. In finishing I would like to post this question...when we all experience surges,spikes or a rush/drop of electricity at our homes/offices/factories why is there no protection from this action?. It does occur & when we confront the power company I am told to claim it on my insurance!!! I have had more dramas with household power than with my generator. Score so far household surges 3....genny NIL
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:25
Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:25
I have only had one appliance fail - that was a Router connected to a Cable Modem.
The problem was more voltage differential between Cable and Mains, rather just a surge on the mains. Obviously the Modem had good surge protection so the surge passed through it with no damage.
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 16:57
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 16:57
Easy fixed, do as i do, run fridge on 12v ALWAYS and use honda gen to run 25 amp charger for batteries.
Only need to run gen a bit each day, not all the time.
Pesty
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:46
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:46
Hi Steve
If you are using a Honda, I would say that it would probably be an inverter type, but I could be wrong.
Reply By: Damian007 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:32
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:32
Thought I'd put my 2 cents worth in...
I'm an Auto Electrician by trade and I like to look at these type of problems. I did do a
test a while back with a GMC 850 watt Generator. They cost anywhere from $99.00 to $199.00.
I started this generator and after warming it up and letting it settle down, I mesured the voltage with no load and it was sitting at 276 volts. I hooked up the Oscilscope and the waveform was all over the place. 50 HZ, yeah right.
So, I loaded the generator with a 150 watt Portaflood and the Voltage went to 246 and up to 256 then back to 225 and so
forth. I grabbed the 500 watt Power drill and plugged it in. Turned it on and at start up of the drill, when the most curent is drawn, the voltage dropped to 190 volts and as the Generator revved up to maintain the voltage it went as high as 277 volts!
I then plugged a Computer Switchmode Power Supply that I had lying around, Joined the Green and Black wire together so the power supply would start. I then plugged the Power supply into the generator and it Promptly blew the Switching Transistors and Filtering Capacitors. The Switchmode power supply blew up because the frequency of the generators output was wrong. Most Phone Chargers are Switchmode as
well.
Surge Protectors will not protect your equipment. Surge protectors are designed to clamp voltages in an Earth,Active Neutral Circuit. Most Earth Circuits are missing in a Generator, Caravan Setups
So Do NOT use these Cheap Gennies for anything but Light Bulbs and Boat Anchors. If you want to un generators for sensitive Elctronic equipment, Invertor Generators are the only ones to use.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:44
Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:44
Hi Damian
When our Technician checked out the poor quality generator, he to could not believe the readouts that he was getting. He also pointed out that he would personally use nothing less than a good quality inverter type generator.