My fuel not so economical anymore!

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:27
ThreadID: 74001 Views:3931 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Hey yo all!
Hope all and sundry are well!

Well after the paj got had a head rebuild just recently I was kinda looking forward to some mild increase in the fuel economy. ha ha ha ha.... tell me I'm dreamin!

The subject is a 93 V6 petrol Pajero 80Lt tank.

When I was running the A/T's (what was still on the vehicle when I bought it in 05) I got 10Lt per hundred k's, 800km to one tank of fuel. Brilliant it was...

Then, new tyres required, put on muddies and my fuel consumption dropped to 560km's per tank of fuel And that was including the driving with 2 burnt out valves).. Big loss but I feel much safer on the muds than AT's.

Then into the shop for a head rebuild recently, you beauty!!! yeh I am still running with the muds on but surely my fuel consumption should get a little better.

Ahhhhh.....No!
I have just finished running my 3rd full tank since the rebuild.. Total km's achieved per tank... 460km.
Friggin hell! I knew I would not get back to the 800k's while still running the muds, but geez, thought I would at least get a bit more mileage or at least break even at the 560 with her actually running properly and efficiently on all 6 cylinders again!
I expect that I use a bit more fuel now with running the air con all the time because of constantly driving from home to the hospital, back home,(and any stop in between requiring more driving) then back to hospital and home 6 hours later to pick Mark up, round figures I am doing 200km every 2 days but sheeshhhh... Definately gonna get some AT's back on her asap!

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:37

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:37
Jo,
Are the muddies larger tires and did you calculate the speedo difference, Only asking because a lot of people forget to compensate for the reading on there speedo when fitting larger tires.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 392631

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:53

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:53
G Day Dave! how's the boy?

Yeh the muds are larger and I did calculate speedo difference when I put them on. I expected less fuel economy when the muds went on. They got put on when we had the West Kunderang gathering!
FollowupID: 660602

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:17

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:17
Yeah he's doing good, Muddies shouldn't make that much difference. Ya haven't been doing Trevor's trick and trying to get it to go like a V8 LOL.
Wish I new your Patrol was sale a couple months ago would of been perfect for the young bloke.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 660613

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:23

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:23
I sold the commodore first, the patrol is still for sale!
FollowupID: 660616

Reply By: dbish - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:49

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 21:49
Would be interesting to hookup an exhaust gas oxygen sensor tester to see if its running rich when at cruising speed. Or the exhaust gas oxy sensor may have failed & this will cause excess fuel consumption. These sensors can be damaged by using the wrong type of silicon sealant on gaskets. When ever a vehicle came in with exess fuel consumption this was the first sensor i checked.
AnswerID: 392634

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:11

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 22:11
I understand I am using more fuel with the constant hospital driving which includes stop start for lights, then freeway etc.. but didn't expect to go less than 560.
I do plan to mention it to my mechanic when he wants the car back for an oil change and check over.
Still love her tho...
FollowupID: 660609

Reply By: qubert - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:17

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:17
check valve clearances
AnswerID: 392641

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 10:22

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 10:22
I shall mention that to my mechanic when he has her back for a 3thou check up!
FollowupID: 660662

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 09:18

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 09:18
Even with muddies it should be using less fuel than when it ran on 5cyl's as long as the timing, valve clerances, filters, injectors are all ok.

Also as it is running on 6 cyl's now it will feel like an 8 compared to 5 cyl's even if it is off tune so imagine how it will go when the adjustments are made.

Did they clean or replace the injectors? the one in the cyl that wasnt firing may have gunk built up on it still allowing fuel thru but not properly for a complete burn if you know what I mean. If they have never been cleaned/ serviced now would be a good time.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 392671

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 10:17

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 10:17
Hey mate..

Oh yeh! when I left my mechanic on the day I picked her back up it was so bizarre driving her running on all 6 again! the idle staying stable and having some kick in her! I had gotten so use to her running rough and thinking is was because she was just starting to get tired and had run her course.
The injectors were replaced. My mechanic was more than happy with her when he had the car back on 500ks but he wants it back in 3000 for an oil change and another full check over.
FollowupID: 660659

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 10:01

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 10:01
Jo

Take it easy with that lead foot :)
AnswerID: 392678

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 10:21

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 10:21
no chance of lead foot with the muddies on! but she is certainly going a lot quicker now than she was!
Hope you are all well!
FollowupID: 660661

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 10:37

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 10:37
haha

I get about 600 out of about 120 so you are still doing alright :)

We are doing well bub is growing up fast. I am itching for a little 4x4 trip out somewhere!
FollowupID: 660666

Reply By: Madfisher - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 13:47

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 13:47
G day Jo,
Mate out old Paj never done better then 600ks to a tank with road tyres on it, and it only had 98000ks on it when we sold her. We put 10r lts on it and it dropped back to about 550 (not allowing for larger tryre size.
AnswerID: 392700

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 17:56

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 17:56
Wow!

I know I was very lucky that I originally would get 800k's to one tank of fuel... best fuel economy I ever had out of any of my cars!.
How did your wife go?
FollowupID: 660708

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 18:25

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 18:25
Hi Jo,
Will send you a mm
Thanks Pete
FollowupID: 660717

Reply By: Damian007 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 18:16

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 18:16
G'day..

I have never seen a petrol Pajero get 800 k's out of a tank of fuel. I have serviced and repaired a lot of 'em too.

Could I suggest that the reason that you got 800 k's is that you may of had a very bad vacuum leak and that may have also been the reason for your Burnt out valves?

90-95 model Petrol Pajero's were lucky to get 500 too 600k's to a tank a fuel no matter how you drove them.

Diesel Pajero's on the other hand were another story. One of the most powerful and most economical in their class for that era.

I have owned eight Pajero's. I currently own a NP Exceed Petrol. I'm lucky to get 600k's out of tank in that. If I do most of my driving around town, I get around 450k's to the tank. You would think the NP would be much more economical than the 93 model NH Pajero considering I have the 5 speed auto.

I love Pajero's, I wouldn't drive anything else except, maybe, my Diesel Jeep.. lol
AnswerID: 392734

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 18:39

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 18:39
There must have been something not quite right for me to get 800 to a tank.... not that I would argue then about it cause I just had great economy for my money!
My mechanic asked me if the Paj started running rough all of a sudden, or over time. It was definately over time. Below is a pic of one of the valves....
I don't ever expect her to go back to getting 800k's out of a tank, but I did think I would get better fuel economy with her now fixed!
Ah well... she's still my ride!

FollowupID: 660719