What does Happy Hour mean to you?

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:51
ThreadID: 74004 Views:4426 Replies:21 FollowUps:6
Hi, researching the subject of Happy Hour for a document I'm producing on the RV lifestyle.

Would really appreciate your thoughts on Happy Hour - what are the magic ingredients of a great happy hour, what it means to you, why you enjoy it, what makes it work etc.

(Photographic enthusiasts - also see Happy Hour ad in Trader section)

Really appreciate your comments. Thanks for sharing.

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:59

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 23:59
Well a real Happy Hour means cheap grog.

But the Happy Hour your talking about, i think is all about good company and great yarns. Actually sitting down and relaxing and enjoying it after slogging it out for years working and bringing up kids etc.

I think for alot of fellas out there its also a good excuse to crack a coldie and spin a yarn. Never let the truth get in the way of a good yarn, i have heard some ripper stories at these Happy Hours while listening from afar.
AnswerID: 392647

Reply By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 00:47

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 00:47
I reckon this could be a good thread and look forward to seeing what respoce you get.

To me Happy hour is the time when we have done our day, whatever it might have been and time to relax have a wine or beer in hand and feel relaxed enough to talk and descuss things. This could be how we feel about how our life is going and what we feel in ourselves it then extends into a casual meal and finaly to be together in our little A'Van and enjoy the moment of being together.

If we are with A'Van Club, it is the freindship and comradeship and relax feeling of being in good company and good yarns to share.
There is no better Happy hours spent than those when I am spending time camped somewhere in our gret country

AnswerID: 392650

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 01:18

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 01:18
You know you are getting old when happy hour is a nap!- something I do quite often when I am camped in the bush or on a beach and there is peace and serenity.

Tony
The rig

AnswerID: 392652

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 06:02

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 06:02
1. Happy hour is anywhere away from the populace

2 Happy hour is the solitude of the deserts

3. Happy hour is taking a Nananap

4. Happy hour is when the neighbour's kids turn their doof doof music off!!

:-)))

AnswerID: 392653

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 23:53

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 23:53
Hi Willem,
Yours should be a poppynap. The good lady's is a nannanap.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 660793

Reply By: handy - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 07:17

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 07:17
happy hour for me goes all night sometimes, no stop button.
hairy and gregf know what i mean.
AnswerID: 392658

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 18:49

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 18:49
Hahahahaha....Too bloodyright we do!
FollowupID: 660721

Reply By: Mick O - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:09

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:09
The hour at the end of the day when the camp is up, the fire set, the flies gone and you are sitting in your chair facing west, refreshing beverage in hand, and watching the last rays of the sun depart in a spectacular horizon.

Now that's happy hour!

AnswerID: 392661

Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 19:40

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 19:40
Bloody Spot on there Mick.cheer's GDImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 660729

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:55

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:55
Spot on Mick and a great sunset to boot and I would liked to be a fly on the wall the evening Greendog took either one of his shots.

Pual & Fiona

Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 660785

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:19

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:19
Right at home

For a different twist. Not the one your are looking for but:

The hour before sunrise. Peaceful, crisp and clear. Best time of the day.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 392663

Follow Up By: ob - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 11:55

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 11:55
Wim Yeah, may not be what Right at home is after but your sentiments got my vote. Memories of camping at a little place in the SW of WA called Walpole.
Birdsong, cool morning air and peace.

Cheers ob
FollowupID: 660677

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:34

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 08:34
I think the broadest definition of Happy Hour would mean the time at the completion of the day's endeavours when people who have shared (or had similar) the daytime experience get together and unwind, invariably with a drink.

The term most often applies to workers, but could also apply to travellers, or campers.

'Happy' implies that the experience leading up to the 'hour' may have been 'unhappy'. But in the case of travellers and campers it probably means either 'more happy' or disinhibited by the sensible use of alcohol.

In a commercial sense the term has been hijacked by pubs/wine bars to mean discount drinks, in which case 'hour' means two hours, and 'happy' means s--- faced.
AnswerID: 392667

Reply By: HGMonaro - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 09:15

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 09:15
in van parks I've never heard it called 'happy hour', it's called something else usually, can't think of what I though! Someone else might chime in.
AnswerID: 392670

Reply By: signman - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 09:48

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 09:48
If it means that quiet beer (or wine) after a big day...
can also be referred to as a 'Sundowner"....

AnswerID: 392676

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 14:52

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 14:52
Yes we sit on the deck and call it Sundowner Time, nothing like it, the Cook and I with a Drink, lifes good.Image Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 660683

Reply By: brushmarx - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 09:58

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 09:58
Maybe we need further clarification of what "Happy Hour" means.
I saw a TV show a week or so ago, that indicated that Happy Hour was at 4:30, when travellers in the caravan parks got together for a wine or two, and discussed like minded subjects.
Is the research required for personal Happy Hours, or group Happy Hours?
AnswerID: 392677

Reply By: Member - Dalb (SA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 13:51

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 13:51
"Happy Hour" knows no boundaries, but is always scheduled to begin at "Half Past".

Cheers Dalb
Cheers, Dalb

AnswerID: 392701

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 14:48

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 14:48
The sun is just on the rise,
All that can be heard is a crackle from the fire and a Kookaburra in the distance,
Fresh coffee just made, you lean back in the chair and light your first ciggy,

COUGH YOUR GUTS UP AND WAKE THE MISSUS.

Recipe for a great happy hour.......Dont take the missus.......hahaha.

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 392708

Reply By:- Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 15:50

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 15:50
G'day Right at home. The term "Happy Hour" may have been used to describe the one hour drinking sessions at pubs when they were only allowed to open on Sundays between 12noon and 1pm and 5pm and 6pm and no takeaways were allowed. Other terms such as Midday Swill and 5 o'clock swill also evolved. Since then, it seems in general terms to mean a gathering of people to socialise over evening drinks for an hour. Happy Days. Pauper.
AnswerID: 392714

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 17:23

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 17:23
After many years of camping with 4wd clubs happy hour has nearly always been a gathering at the end of the day or when we got back to camp, with a table or two of different nibbles etc and everyone with there favourite beverage and much chatter about what ever, and the kids roaring through eating and then off out and about doing what kids do.

Pesty
AnswerID: 392724

Reply By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:16

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:16
I think happy hour is for the Publican he is happy your there, it will increase his profits.
AnswerID: 392764

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:36

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:36
It's when us old f#@$s get together at a camping area or caravan oark, and tell lots of lies, drink too much of the demon brew,eat all the beaut things that our doctors have told us to avoid,and generally enjoy each others company!!!Happy Hour can be had at any time, day or night, 7 days a week. Cheers.

Roger B....
AnswerID: 392784

Reply By: Ken65 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:53

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:53
Happy hour???

For Me:
The hour I spend reading through this site!

For the bride:
The hour before I get home!

Waiting for the next time I am up the beach. I too can enjoy the hour in the morning at the beach fishing.

AnswerID: 392789

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 02:42

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 02:42
Happy Hour is an international term used by Bars and Pubs to attract patrons at slower times of business or before dinner time with cheaper drinks usually 50%.

Thats the only common use I know of.

gmd

AnswerID: 392803

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 10:17

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 10:17
Aside from enjoying beverages at sunset, when we are fishing we refer to happy hour as the hour before and after sunset. It can be a very productive time if you fish a little further up the beach from wherever my line is.
AnswerID: 392850

Reply By: Fab72 - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 12:53

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 12:53
It's that one hour on a Saturday and Sunday when I get up and the kids and missus are still asleep. No traffic noise, kookaburras laughing and the hum of the pool pump running. Best enjoyed in summer of course.
AnswerID: 392888