The score so far with my BFG AT's

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 20:53
ThreadID: 74024 Views:5751 Replies:18 FollowUps:11
As you would know I got new BFG At's not long ago and got the raised white lettering to the inside. Well I have to report that it has let me down.

I picked up a 50mm chipboard screw in the rear drivers side tyre and it is need of repair :( The tyres have only just done 2500km so not impressed.

The mate who got BFG's the day before with the white lettering to the outside is still driving around with no flats as yet but has only done just over 1000kms.

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:08

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:08
Kev
get out of the car b4 you enter the hardware store in future to avoid the screws...hahahahahaha
AnswerID: 392762

Reply By: pmk03 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:15

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:15
On mt thrid set & never had a puncture..... Desert trips ........ Sand..... Gibber...... Stakes............... Even done the Finke road littered with rail spikes......... high country Oh! & bitumen.....
Not really sure why. Might have something to do with tyre pressures & how I drive to the conditions.
Oh! & I have the white lettering facing out..... If that makes any diff?

PMK
AnswerID: 392763

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:23

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:23
So what pressures would you drive around building sites with then??

Builders and delivery workers who seem to drop screws on the ground instead of using them as they were designed are to blame for this ;)

FollowupID: 660755

Follow Up By: pmk03 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:29

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:29
I Don't take mine on building sites, but I can see how this would be a problem.
Funny that......... You Probably wouldn't get any puntures in the bush Hey!
We really only use the 4wd for trips & have a car for all other running around.
So that might help keep the puncture ratio down a bit too. :-)

PMK

FollowupID: 660759

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:18

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:18
Kev
I've got the writing on the inside also, done 80000 so far and no punctures so it does pay off.

Murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 392765

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:26

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:26
I am a firm believer of the RWL on the inside as well. On my future site inspections I'll use the bosses car LOL

FollowupID: 660756

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:18

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 21:18
Did your tyre guy not tell you that BFGs with the lettering on the inside will always go flat on the bottom, whereas those with the lettering facing out go flat at the top, meaning you don't need to change tyres.

Your very wise mate has probably picked up a host of chipboard screws, but his tyres are holding up because the lettering is on the outside.

Honestly ... makes me wonder how some people are let loose on the road.

: )

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 392766

Reply By: Fatso - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:06

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:06
I picked up a 50mm chipboard screw in the rear drivers side tyre and it is need of repair :( The tyres have only just done 2500km so not impressed.

The mate who got BFG's the day before with the white lettering to the outside is still driving around with no flats as yet but has only done just over 1000kms.
Kev,
Maybe your mate is a very attentive driver & drives around these sort of obstacles.
AnswerID: 392781

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:13

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:13
Hi Sir Kev (and Darkie!),

I have a small machine shop. I clean my driveway/loading dock area with a magnetic roller.

Message being, if you come to my place and get a flat tyre, you can be sure it is stainless steel...lol

AnswerID: 392783

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 17:34

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 17:34
Or aluminium!
FollowupID: 660910

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:48

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 22:48
Want to buy a Cooper?

One owner, low mileage, poodle delivery.

AnswerID: 392787

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 23:43

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 23:43

be careful there mate....freight costs will be murder if that keeps up :-)
FollowupID: 660790

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 01:11

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 01:11
Hi Kev

Screw it in tighter to stop the leak!

We picked up a screw in a caravan tyre and goodness knows how long it had been there when we noticed it. Tyre held pressure well. Three servos wouldn't do a repair saying if it is holding, don't touch it. A retired truckie said "If it starts to leak, screw it in tighter - that's what we used to do". Two - three weeks later we got someone to do a puncture repair in case the head wore off in some remote place.

I don't think you can do better than BFG ATs. Surely you aren't saying that yours are the only brand that will be punctured by a screw? Shouldn't you be blaming the screw not the brand of tyre?

Or are you just having a boring night?

AnswerID: 392802

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 06:42

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 06:42
MH,

I am blaming people dropping screws etc on the ground LOL

The head of the screw has snapped off so I need to get it sorted today as well go away for the weekend tomorrow.

The crappy Coopers I had got a roofing screw in Innamincka so sometimes you just can't win ;)

FollowupID: 660811

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 09:43

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 09:43
Ha Ha Ha...it must be all the builders that youv'e peeved off following you around...lol

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 660837

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 03:36

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 03:36
Kev
We did all our trip with BFG-- AT's
Think 15,000 total, and tyres now have 30,000 on them.
Very impressed, 1 puncture, scored at Wynjana gorge.

Gotta love'm.

Not sure what mileage we will get, total that is, as we chopped them up a bit. Mind you we were on the worst roads in Oz,so I expected some damage.

Vivien C, and Ray, who were with us most of the way, did not have a puncture at all. They too have BFG---AT's..

We have the lettering on the inside, no posers here ( hehehehehe) !
Cheers Mate
bucky

AnswerID: 392806

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 06:51

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 06:51
i'm running coopers on my td, with lettering to the outside...not a puncture in 73K and dont look like getting any for at least another 10K

they were the only decent looking things around when they went to 17inch tyres
AnswerID: 392808

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 10:12

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 10:12
Quote: "and dont look like getting any for at least another 10K"........

Nudie..... sorry mate but I reckon you just jinxed ya-self!!!!! hehehehe

FollowupID: 661010

Reply By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 08:47

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 08:47
Morning Kev,
I have the writing to the inside and damned if I can get a screw. Do you think if I turn them around my luck might change?

Noel K.
AnswerID: 392828

Reply By: Rockape - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 09:26

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 09:26
Kev,
I believe your BFG AT's are overrated.

I have a set of $7 Chinese double pluggers that have never had a flat in 30,000
foot miles. Although I have picked up numerous stakes on the back tracks, they have never had a flat. I believe this is partly due to the lettering being on the underside, thus protecting them.

There is a bit of wear and scuffing of the tread, otherwise no chipping or cracking is evident.

I have notice a strong odour coming from them, but so far this hasn't detracted from their performance.

They are excellent in mud and sand but lack a bit in rocky country. They a a bit slippery in the wet, but I overcome this with foot control.

For me, go the pluggers any day.

Have a good one.

AnswerID: 392838

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 10:12

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 10:12
Double pluggers for $7!!!

That's amazing.

Where did you get them?

FollowupID: 660843

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 10:45

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 10:45
Yep it's true, you can purchase them on special Woolies tyre shop.
They will even through in a survival carton of your choice and a backup chook if you don't get 100,000 foot miles out of them (conditions apply).
FollowupID: 660847

Reply By: signman - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 09:43

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 09:43
All comments noted...and will be entered into the data base..
Still no response to my application for a Govt Grant to investigate..

AnswerID: 392840

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 09:46

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 09:46
I have the lettering on the outside of my BFG KM2 muds (only because I was too slow telling the tyre fitters to put it on the inside..D'oh) and no flats yet.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 392842

Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 15:44

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 15:44
White letters on the inside huh . Maybe you were running them inside out .
AnswerID: 392904

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 16:45

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 16:45
Sure the lettering isn't turning the wrong way on the inside?

Bet one side doesn't get punctures.
AnswerID: 392915

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 20:41

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 20:41
One of the best tyres around in its class Kev, my set are only 8 years old with about 30,000k on them and I mainly used them as a reference set to compare others with but now its getting time to run them out as rubber is getting harder.
There pattern gives them more bite than 694's etc and noise is up a little as a result but its an evenly distributed sound that doesn't get noticed much.

White lettering is on inside of mine on the prinicpal of not attracting attention.
AnswerID: 392944

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 21:04

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 21:04
Robin,

Due to being virtually brand new I got it repaired by the Pro's today and got it rebalanced as well, there was a 5g weight on it before now there is a 10g one.

I had a great run out of the set I had on the Triton so will hopefully achieve many miles on this set and hopefully this is the last puncture I get :)

FollowupID: 660942

Reply By: Member - COLIN D (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 07:42

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 07:42
I have had 4 sets of Hankook tyres on 2 troup carriers, over the years , and done thousands of ks no prblems at all , not even a puncture , excellent tyres at a good price , at the start of October i needed new tyres for a trip to the centre up binns track etc , couldnt buy the New Hankooks that had been released for 6 weeks , so i bought the BF A/Ts , (white writing to the inside ) , SPLIT RIMS , i didn't make it home before all of the wheel weights came off , went back , they fitted different type of weights , i had one weight on the lh front wheel by the time i had arived at Mildura , this problem went on the whole trip , they lasted longer after mildura as i stuck them on with sillicone , i ended up going to a tyre dealer and buying a hand full of weights and banging them on myself on the old marks , 7700 km and 50 wheel weights , i now have the stick on ones on the inside of the rims , i also had a puncture on the hwy between Renmark & Mildura on the way home tube blew out , the cause of the wheel weight coming off is the huge step or ridge near the bead against the edge of the rim , as the wheel is turning the ridge on the tyre pushes the weight of the rim .
I was letting my tyres down in the dirt to 28psi rear loaded up , 25psi front , the rear tyres are very chopped up and split tread , this didn't happen with the Hankooks at all ,
i'll persist with the BFS , but will be back with the Hankooks next time
Colin
AnswerID: 392985