bt 50 Vs colorado

Submitted: Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 20:17
ThreadID: 74055 Views:5092 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
i know its all been asked before but im stuck between the two looking at the diesel auto if any one has any info i would love it i will be towing a 16 ft van 5,6 times a year and im a bit of a lead foot so good bad let me know thanks

Reply By: westozal - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:05

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:05
HI,
Just to add to your confusion, check the Isuzu D-Max (Basically the same as the Colorado) as well.....I have just purchased one myself and so far very happy. The D_max won the dual cab ute of 2009 award from 4WD Action magazine, the Colorado and Mazda equal second. Whichever of these you go for I think you will be buying a good value vehicle. All are practicle and economical.
You may get a better deal if you include different dealers/brands and play them off against each other.
Regards Alan.
AnswerID: 392950

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:51

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:51
Have a read in the manual for the BT50. They don't recommend towing while running in. There is some wording in there regarding the transmission and warranty if towing. There is also something in there about it being built for carrying heavy loads not towing. My sister has one and tows the horse float no worries. I thought of changing the old girl for one until I read the info. Any how have a look at the book to confirm this.
AnswerID: 392964

Reply By: landed eagle - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 23:14

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 23:14
Look at the Triton too. If you're going to have people in the back seat the Triton will flog all the others for comfort.

I've just done a 9000+ kms trip with mine towing a 16' Expanda and it performed faultlessly. Heaps of grunt and comfy to drive.
Not a single complaint from the the teens in the back seat either! And I wasn't arriving at our next destination tired at all.
AnswerID: 392969

Reply By: johntoyo - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 23:58

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 23:58
Looked at the BT50 and then went for the Ford Ranger. Essentially same vehicle from same Thai factory but more bang for your buck.

Yes, did not tow for first 5k as per hand book, but after that no issues. Pulled my 16ft Freedom without knowing it was there.

Now pulls a 21ft Sterling again without issue, except now I know it's there. I went for the 5s manual, with the 3ltr common rail TD which is a nice little unit and pulls like a tractor.

Good luck in your choice.
AnswerID: 392971

Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 13:30

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 13:30
We bought the last of the holden rodeo and are really happy with it.

You need to upgrade the suspension on whatever you buy IMHO but from memory the holden had a greater tow capability 3,000kg.

Anyway no real complaints about the rodeo / Colorado
AnswerID: 393021

Reply By: rocco2010 - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 14:25

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 14:25
Gidday

Another vote for the Ford Ranger ... I think you get some more equipment for maybe slightly less money but that will depend on the deal you negotiate I guess.

some think the Mazda has a slightly better look if that matters to you

Rocco

AnswerID: 393025

Reply By: gbc - Sunday, Nov 29, 2009 at 05:57

Sunday, Nov 29, 2009 at 05:57
I don't think you'll go wrong either way with the autos. I've got the Colorado auto and it's been flawless thus far, I know the ford fairly well too through our fleet and it's going fine as well.
AnswerID: 393086

Follow Up By: Gdad - Sunday, Nov 29, 2009 at 07:46

Sunday, Nov 29, 2009 at 07:46
i test drove the colorado and it seemed a little under powered and turbo lag was very noticeable or am i just being picky
FollowupID: 661096

Follow Up By: gbc - Sunday, Nov 29, 2009 at 08:32

Sunday, Nov 29, 2009 at 08:32
I know the colorado's have torque and power reductions for the auto box, I don't know if the ford/mazda does.
The ford's definitely get off the line better when empty and I've no reason to suspect they wouldn't be quicker off the line whilst towing.
I have noticed, however that the engine in the holden/isuzu seems a lot more linear once past 1400 odd rpm, and delivers seamless power right through the rev range to the red line where the ford/mazda seems a little more 'peaky', which is fine if you keep it in the right rev range, but not always possible towing in the real world.
I don't know if the colorado has variable valve timing, but under load in second and third gear it feels like a second turbo kicks at about 3000 rpm and it really starts pulling where the others seem to run out of puff as the revs climb. This is especially noticeable in 'traffic light derbies' with other tradies in other brand utes - they come out of the gate quick, but then the colorado reels them back in. (That was about the best analogy for the power delivery I could come up with....)
I tow a builder's trailer, and 18 ft glass boat, and a trakshak (not all at once) - so not really near the tow limits of the car (boat is about 2T). The auto box will hold the torque converter for a long time at 100 kph which makes for relaxed towing without the box 'hunting' - My last auto hilux drove me insane with it's inability to hold a gear at highway speeds.
I did tow a 680 patriot for a few hundred kays from Bris to Hervey Bay(3+ tonne probably overloaded) the car did it, but there's better chassis' around for playing those games - My uncle's 3l patrol blew up (surprise) and we weren't about to leave a boat full of fishing/diving gear on the side of the highway.
Please note the above is real nit picking - either would do the job, but they are just a couple of my observations over the last 40 000 kms. If manufacturers would publish torque curves our jobs would be a lot easier, rather than seat of the pants reviews from the likes of me..... :)
FollowupID: 661103

Follow Up By: Gdad - Sunday, Nov 29, 2009 at 10:11

Sunday, Nov 29, 2009 at 10:11
thanks for that its good to have some real world feedback give me some things to go through
FollowupID: 661123

Follow Up By: Gdad - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 18:55

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 18:55
well i test drove both models over the last few days and the bt 50 is so much more responsive it felt like it had more power as it had no lag so i think its the way to go
FollowupID: 661337