"HEAVY DUTY" Rear Wheel Bags.

Submitted: Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:09
ThreadID: 74105 Views:5723 Replies:15 FollowUps:22
Over the past few years I have been trying to perfect a large capacity rear wheel bag for carting rubbish and the likes on extended trips. Many I’ve seen and used haven’t been up to the task or had very small carrying capacities. I had a sit down and design session with Klaus from Infront Canvas who made me a few prototypes, the latest versions having been tested on this years Great Sandy Expedition. They performed really well and after some final feedback to Klaus, he has gotten off his butt and listed them on his website. I know a few people have been waiting for them so have a look at his site.

No affiliation with Infront other than approaching him for custom stuff. You would be amazed at just how many things Klaus has made for Exploroz members that have become mainstream items in his catalogue.

Don’t know about the name though! - HEAVY DUTY BAG

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:43

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:43
"HEAVY DUTY BAG" just have to be careful about who you are with when you say it hahaha, make good campfire dribble subject !
Sounds the ducks guts in heavy rubbish bags, now all i need is somewhere to hang it !!

Pesty
AnswerID: 393240

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:00

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:00
I have a whole new respect for Mrs Pesty now LOL. I'm always very careful around the Vikk the Pocket Rocket at this end. Mind you, it'd fit her....no don't go there!

FollowupID: 661322

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:44

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:44
Hi Mick,
if it fits .... It fits.... lol.
They want to be real good for the price. The smaller ones look better value for money. Must be able to fit a whole camel into two of the large ones...
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 393241

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:07

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:07
Mate I saw one at the leisure and camping show recently that was nearly twice the price. Just cant recall the name of it. It was only half the size as well. A lot heavier canvas, zips and webbing in the big ones. Trying to get away from the camels. You need a chainsaw to dress them LOL.

FollowupID: 661323

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:45

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:45
Hi Mick, looks good but at $100 less the V2 version looks a better option for us as we seem to not accumulate too much rubbish over mostly shorter trips than your epics. Have you tried the V2 - feedback pls??

AnswerID: 393242

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:51

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:51
Hi John,

Yes I have owned the V2 and given several of them as gifts to fellow travel companions. Great rubbish bag as long as you watch the weight in them. The webbing is not as thick as the Maxi’s. My issue was that if you’re out for a few weeks, you can build up a fair bit of weight in rubbish alone. Like most travellers these days. I’m philosophically opposed to leaving any form or rubbish behind. If it can’t be burnt, it’s carried out and when you drink as much scotch as me, this can cause some issues ;-) Many bags, are not designed to carry big weights and once they have a bit in them, the added pressures put on them by hard travel (the constant hummocks of the Simpson for example) can take it’s toll. Downward forces from sudden drops can make 5 kgs a lot heavier ofr a few seconds and put a lot more pressure on the bag.

Not everyone does prolonged trips like me but I needed something to cater for my needs so these bags have much heavier canvas, much bigger zips, with a protective flap and are fully supported by the webbing (which is also much wider). As a result they are much stronger than the V2 and are intended to be so. I use one bag for fire implements and hoses so it contains the jaffle iron, billies, hooks, 5 litre pump sprayer for under vehicle fires, tyre pump bottle (full of soapy water), shower hoses, ropes and a few other odds and ends. A bit of weight but nothing excessive (probably 12 kgs with the bottles full of water).

The V2 is not designed for this sort of weight. They are a great bag though and for general outback travel with light loads are fine. If you want to put heavy stuff in, I’d go the larger bag. For short bursts, the Maxi is also great for shoving full of firewood prior to setting up camp. They’ll take 20 plus kgs of firewood no worries but I would not travel all day with that sort of weight in them (Not good for the rear wheel carriers either).

Another thing I found with travelling outback is that dust will cause webbing to go brittle and break more readily. That iron rich red dust of the Pilbara is notorious for it. It was a constant issue on the camper trailer in 06. The thicker webbing combats this to a large degree. Zips also get chewed out pretty quickly by dust so the larger the better. I always travel with a can of silicon spray though and give the zips a good go every week or so, not just the bags, the tent, awning, everything with a zip that gets dust affected.

So in answer to your question, yep I've got two of the V2's and use them for light trips of short duration. For big trips, a bloke needs a big bag LOL.

FollowupID: 661308

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:33

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:33
Hi John,
I've so got to agree with this statement of Mick's:

"So in answer to your question, yep I've got two of the V2's and use them for light trips of short duration. For big trips, a bloke needs a big bag LOL."

I have a couple of the V2 bags as well, they are terrific for weekends and day trips.

I've been half heartedly looking around for something a bit more substantial and the Mick O Maxi certainly looks the goods to me!

I'm sure it will be built to Klaus' usual high standard as well.

FollowupID: 661313

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:42

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:42
Thanks guys. And for the extra tips Mick.

Re the glass, I always tx my spirits into heavy duty clear plastic drink containers. They're light as...

I manage to just about burn everything else incl the ali cans but they do depend on having good coals which probably aren't always available in the desert.

I avoid glass like the plague and shift down to bulk winecasks.

Cheers. J.
FollowupID: 661327

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:48

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:48
"MAXI MICK'O"

See you alway knew you would be famous :-))

AnswerID: 393243

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:23

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:23
Yeah, have to watch that waist-line won't I LOL. At least it'll give me somewhere to store the powdered milk!

FollowupID: 661301

Reply By: PradOz - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:57

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 13:57
Hi Mick O

Not long ago I was able to put a "face to your name" from one of your pics on EO. Now you are putting your name to a, um ah "RUBBISH BAG" - sorry no nice way of putting it really ;)

Ah well, at least when you are gone to the big EO site in the sky they will have something to remember you by hey :))

Its always great to have a good idea come to something, so well done Mick O. I just hope the royalties pay you well and not by kilo of rubbish thats collected.

cheers Mick S (aka PradOz) ....
AnswerID: 393244

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:06

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:06
hi
what about naming it the -mick o- recycling wellhung rear waste bag
FollowupID: 661298

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:53

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:53
Fair go now Mick, it's got other uses you know. No royalties but perhaps I could hit him up for a bottle of the Black Douglass for next years trip. Knowing my luck Kevin 24/7 would show up demanding his third LOL.

FollowupID: 661318

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:00

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:00
I just got an email from Klaus,

Also i have placed 2 new items on today
1. Flax Water bag 7Lt
2. Maxi Mick'O Rubbish bag HUGE capacity

You're going viral on the net, Mick O and his rubbish bag will be the new face of the Internet!

AnswerID: 393246

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:43

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:43
It really needs a screen printed face of "Mick O" on it to really finish it off LOL.

FollowupID: 661303

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:09

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:09
John,
That should cure tail gating on the highway as well!

FollowupID: 661310

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:37

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:37
Mick now people can heap rubbish on you without fear of retribution. LOL.

Got the email from Klaus and wondered if it was named after you, WELL DONE. I have his older style bag and on the last trip the buckles broke and the zip decided to split and even though it's the self fixing nylon type it still splits. Might have to get me a Mick'O

AnswerID: 393248

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:57

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:57
Thought I might go for a teflon model next, that way nothing will stick LOL. You're a man who's not averse to a long safari Dunc so it'd be a good investment. As mentioned above, I use one primarily for the cooking impliments and fire equipment. Easy and quick to get at.

Cheers Mick.

FollowupID: 661321

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:55

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:55
Maxi Mick'O eh...

Could have a tendency to make ones back end look rather large........rotflmao

Michael
AnswerID: 393253

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:50

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:50
No, surely not. Do you mean that 285/75R16 really did nothing for me in the fashion stakes. I believe you may have had one of Klaus's V2 bags on your rear as well fella! Best you get one of the big fellas with all the food you carry in that Troopy LOL.

FollowupID: 661316

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:26

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:26
Now we know you're full of c**p, LOL ;-))
AnswerID: 393258

Reply By: equinox - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:09

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:09
Good one Mick,

It must give you some personal satisfaction - To go from helping design something to see it available for general sale whilst accommodating something that you love doing!!

Great stuff!!

AnswerID: 393261

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:22

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:22
Alan the good thing about Klaus & Lyn at Infront is how easy they is to deal with.
Nothing is to much trouble and he will go right out of his way to help you design a product that suits you personal needs.

He did a bag years ago for me to carry a pile of those 600 x 600mm PVC floor mats that clip together, I did see it on his web site awhile back.

Earlier this year he made me a bag for my laptop that would allow it to hang behind the passenger seat, worked perfectly and always at a price that I thought was to cheap but he insisted that it was correct and would not take any more money.

Terrific service and quality from a small husband and wife team that is not seen to often these days by bigger operations.

Just a very satisfied customer.

FollowupID: 661325

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:39

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:39
Cheers Al. Klaus has been pretty good dealing with my custom needs. The wind protector for the cobb and the thermal cover are all things we put together. Wanted him to do some work on a gearbeags of various sizes that would hang on the cargo barriers on the Patrol. I'm sure I'll have plenty of ideas to plague he and Lynn with when the new beast arrives (19th December whoo hoo!).

Mick

FollowupID: 661358

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 23:40

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 23:40
Hi Mick

I've had mine now for 6 years 1st one anyway 5, for second, well made WA product. But I'm not allowed to advertise on this site... LOL

The older one is on the right which is the better on in my opinion (worth nothing :) and like you say, are great to have and use.

We use 1 as dirty clothes and one for rubbish, (our diet is not as good as yours re. Blogs) so less rubbish. and we don't wash or change clothes much ether.

ours are Michelle's Sacs.. now MSA Products

But yours looks good,

AnswerID: 393323

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 09:55

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 09:55
Hey Mick, thanks heaps for the thread and the link. I'll be collecting a few goodies from here and they look a damn site cheaper than I have been paying so far.
Rob G
AnswerID: 393346

Reply By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 13:23

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 13:23
Just bought one!!!

AnswerID: 393371

Reply By: ExplorOz - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 16:27

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 16:27
If they're that good Mick, get Klaus to give us a call and we can discuss having this "merchandised" with EO logo to sell on ExplorOz! I am serious... better to have something practical you'll use than a pretty pen or desk calendar!

Michelle,
ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

AnswerID: 393389

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 17:45

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 17:45
That could be a good move to improve the product exposure of Infront.

FollowupID: 661478

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 18:40

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 18:40
Hey I'm seeing the beginnings of an entrepreneurial opportunity here (jeez didn't that word give spell check a heart attack!).

"Sick of all the camp crap? - How about the Maxi Mick for all your bleep !"

I reckon that'd have what it takes to make it into 4x4 Action LOL.

On the serious side it would be a good exposure for both I/F and E/O.

FollowupID: 661483

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 19:43

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 19:43
Even better if it has your face on it also :-)

FollowupID: 661491

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 10:42

Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 10:42
I don't think they are intended to deter Tailgaters John ;)

FollowupID: 661554

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 15:52

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 15:52
Just received mine today. Very happy. i have bought stuff from Klaus before and has always been good. Bag is well made and feels strong. i like little touches like the drain hole at the bottom. Also bought canvas wash bowl and fluoro light bag.

The only thing the rubbish bag needs is a ripcord we can pull from inside the car to dump the rubbish when no-one is looking!!!!

FollowupID: 662294

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 21:15

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 21:15
Grizzle,

if I can offer a piece of advice. I cut a piece of ply just a little smaller than the dimensions of the bottom of the bag. I rounded the corners and then put a few thicknesses of gaffer tape right around the edges to pad it. This provides a platform at the bottom of the bag and stops it sagging in the middle and prevents anything heavy wearing through the bottom of the bag from the inside. The padding on the edges also prevents wear.

Just a little tip. Cheers Mick

FollowupID: 662339

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 09:10

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 09:10
Great idea and I happen to have some 3ply sitting in my shed. Job for the weekend.

Cheers Graham

FollowupID: 662403

Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 10:24

Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 10:24
just ordered 2 std sized bags... going to give one to the father-in-law!
AnswerID: 393460

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 09:29

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 09:29
got mine last week... very speedy service!
FollowupID: 662409