which gps is better for a round oz trip

Submitted: Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 18:51
ThreadID: 74110 Views:6685 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
hi people need a little help deciding which gps is better as i do want the offroad maps as well as normal road driving

hema or vms?? or is the any others that are recomended

crackr

Reply By: KennyBWilson - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 20:31

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 20:31
Garmin
AnswerID: 393292

Follow Up By: Member -Paintar - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 23:22

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 23:22
Hi KBW
Garmin is about as good as a hip pocket in a singlet, there internet downloads cost $$$$$$$ and there I.T. support are about the same, i know i own one.
FollowupID: 661380

Follow Up By: KennyBWilson - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 23:37

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 23:37
The Garmin Topo Aus has to be better than the Route 66 program that Hema has got.
Nothing wrong with ozi Explorer maps but they don't Auto Route and really how good are the maps in Northern Territory

I would never download from the net , best to buy a CD so you can view the roads on the laptop

Come on Dougy back me up ...lol

I have had many Garmins in the last 9 years and i know what you mean about paying for updating the maps and they still aren't up to date or 100% correct.

FollowupID: 661384

Follow Up By: KennyBWilson - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 23:46

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 23:46
Don't forget the VMS is about $2850 installed, you can buy a New Nuvi 5000 and just update the Topo maps every few years
FollowupID: 661386

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 04:05

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 04:05
KennyBWilson

You got it .

FollowupID: 661398

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 12:24

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 12:24
VMS for auto routing use NavNiGo iGo8 software which is fantastic for turn by turn and changing their mapping to OziExplorer makes a great combo if you want to use a standalone screen application. They aren't expensive.

The in the dash one i great if you want to include radio, DVD, iPod, USB , Bluetooth and everything else. Just do the 500 VMS for ease and flexibility.
FollowupID: 661425

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 14:26

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 14:26
The Garmin Nuvi 5000 is a top unit, have one myself. What makes them even better value now, is they have had a $200 price drop. The Topo Australia is good in most situations, but still has a lot to be desired. You would be better to wait and buy the new release Topo Australia next year, as Garmin are well aware of issues and are trying their best to fix the situation.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 661443

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 20:36

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 20:36
the VMS with oziexplorer & hema maps is cheaper than the Hema Navigator, and does the same job. Mate has the VMS500... am impressedwith it.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 393293

Reply By: kingswoodwagon - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 20:49

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 20:49
crackr,

This doesnt address your question but

The days of buying an expensive GPS Nav system to mount in your car might soon be over.

The new Motorola Droid phone (released this month) comes with FREE Turn by Turn Google Maps GPS Nav System. Google Maps is preloaded.

As one review I read quoted "Its not going to be a Merry Christmas at Garmin this year"

Im not sure when these will be available in OZ, they are not expensive phones, but the fact that a phone will offer free map data to the Google standard is a good sign of things to come.

have fun

disclaimer : I have an iPhone that does NOT have Free Turn by Turn Google Nav :(
AnswerID: 393294

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:19

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:19
For the "off road" maps you will need a system running OziExplorer software.
Either set up your own (as described above) or use a laptop, or buy the HEMA. The have a new model about to be released. It comes with all maps loaded, and you can add any others that you aquire too.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 393299

Follow Up By: crackr - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:48

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:48
sounds good but the thing that i don't like bout the hema is it runs route 66 which i current gps has and it is'nt a very good program so was leaning towards the vms but still are very interested about everyones opinion

cheers crackr
FollowupID: 661363

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 22:11

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 22:11
Forget a dedicated GPS that has just one or 2 functions. Start looking at some of the new phones on offer. The HTC Touch for example has a 3.6 " high res screen, 3G reception, Video, music player, camera, internet, bluetooth & operates on the Windows mobile 6.1 platform. This allows you to run turn by turn IGO voice navigation along with Oziexplorer. In fact it's even possible to run them similtaniously effectively giving you voice navigation over the top of any map :-)
We used one this year as our sole GPS to central Oz including sections of cross county driving. A brilliant all in one tool.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 393314

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 04:03

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 04:03
Crackles
I have a Next G phone, that's all it is with all other functions blocked,
I don't need a phone camera, I have a $1000 Nikon , Internet costs too much on a phone,
My Garmin Nuvi has Bluetooth, Plays MP3s, warns of revenue raising Cameras, has a Calculator, conversion program, My maps will zoom right down to 100 m - and still keeps focus, Ozi won't ,
I think I'll stick with Garmin,

FollowupID: 661397

Follow Up By: Member - John D, Wandong (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 07:28

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 07:28
Ditto, I'm with you on this one Doug, the Nuvi 765 is an excellent product!
FollowupID: 661404

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 12:30

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 12:30
Crackles, I have a new Nokia E71 that has good mapping and a failed HTC. That stopped the phone, lost my contacts and has 10 months of contract to run. It impressed me for a while but when they told me the board change would cost more than a new phone, I turned away from HTC. Sorry, I couldn't help myelf, HTC lost me, I am more inclined to have options and backups of systems now.
FollowupID: 661427

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 16:45

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 16:45
"My maps will zoom right down to 100 m - and still keeps focus, Ozi won't "

- if you think this means Garmin maps are more detailed or more accurate, you're wrong.

Vector maps inherently have sharp detail at any zoom - but tells you nothing about the accuracy of what you're looking at.

The problem with your Ozi maps is that they don't have suffficent detail in the image - Ozi can take maps with ANY resolution, even down to 1millimetre if you like - but it'll still be limited to GPS accuracy, just like the Garmin maps.
FollowupID: 661464

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 17:02

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 17:02
Must be good mushrooms,
Do you own a Garmin with Garmin Topo, T4A, &CN 2010 installed, Your comments about the accuracy of Garmin GPS amuses me, I notice it shows the icon at Intersections very accurate , and I mean out on tracks away from large towns, I found the Topo spot on across Arnhem Land . So if you don't use it, don't have a mapsource program on your PC then I don't think you have the knowledge to make unfounded comments.

FollowupID: 661466

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 17:14

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 17:14
Garmin are good off road maps. I know Bonz can never be on the road driving to our place. The road is located 150m from actual. Great data set they use. It is even wrong close to town.

I have T4A on my desktop and it has partially correct maps only. Shonky similar too, it would be good to get Shonky off a recent quality map. I know NRE maps are in some areas out of date in Victoria, but at 25,000:1 you are much more likely to find it than 100,000:1
FollowupID: 661468

Reply By: HGMonaro - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 22:42

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 22:42
where do you get reception for these phone based suggestions?
AnswerID: 393315

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:42

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:42
They are a regular GPS with an inbuilt antennae, the same satellite reception as any Garmin or Magellan unit. The phone service is separate of course being limited to available 3G towers. Internet reception is anywhere there is free wireless connection.
Even in remote Aboriginal communities we often found a wireless connection to check emails :-)
Cheers Craig.................
FollowupID: 661507

Reply By: Phil and Sue - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 08:20

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 08:20
We have just completed our first week long trip with the VMS indash unit. Took a bit getting used to but now we wouldn't swap it for anything. The price is quite rich but together with the full version of Oziexplorer at home for planning it is really worth it. Very hard to steal also as it is actually fitted into the dash of our Landcruiser. Maps are unlimited if you want to get more into it as the software at home will load anything. Even a scanned centerfold. Exploring Hmmmm.

We do not carry a computer in the car. One hobby already destroyed by the incorporation of computers and I am damned if I am going to let this off-road one be ruined likewise.

Yep a good buy.
AnswerID: 393338

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 12:14

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 12:14
The $500 -$1000 you may spend on a GPS and mapping is hardly worth it. 99% of roads are signposted or are marked on day to day road maps which you can buy at a servo. For special trips you can buy good paper maps with excellent detail.

GPS' and other electronic crap are just toys. Half the time you struggle to see much detail on the 3-4inch screens. They are only worth their salt in offtrack situations.

AnswerID: 393359

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 13:47

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 13:47
Hey Willem. Did we hit a nerve mate!! Dont knock the GPS stuff. And this is from a once was sceptic - me.

We recently had to change plans mid trip when rained out in the VIC high country.Miles too wet. Cancelled that trip and went for a run along the Murray to Tocumwal and Echuca through the Barma Park. The Hema map that came with the unit was extreemly detailed and made it easy to follow the nicely muddy and boggy tracks on both sides of the river. The maps in the local tourist places did not show the tracks that we followed. We turned around at Echuca and went back up the northern bank to Jinjelic. Then through the bush to north of Kiandra and over the mountains into Canberra. The beauty we found was that every conceivable map from Hema was in it and with the large sized screen it was easy to follow and gave you heaps of more time to look at what you are passing through instead of burying our heads in a map and missing what was around us.

My point is that we can store all the Hema maps in the unit and just go and enjoy ourselves. Because it runs Windows CE we allso have Oziexplorer running to display these maps and any plans we set up before we go. We still have enought room for another 4GB of extra detailed maps.

We still use the UBD when needed for city driving.
FollowupID: 661438

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 19:27

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 19:27
Hey Phil. No, you didn't hit a nerve. You missed the mark completely. I was just having a dig at the nonsense that we are led to believe we NEED these days to get around. It almost seems like mass hysteria that you will not be able to drive anywhere unless you have a GPS device.

I bought my first GPS in 2002. Run it via a Laptop in Ozi. Later the laptop died and so I went for a PDA. I run NatmapRaster Mosaic in the PDA. Also have Tom Tom and some other stuff I never use. Replaced the Laptop with a little'e for writing notes and storing pics.

GPS and Digi-Mapping is really useful in cross country drivibg and it is also useful to check whar speed you are doing as most speedos on cars are off the pace one way or the other

Somewhere in another thread today a fella is asking for the GPS co-ordinates for a caravan park......go figure....LOL
FollowupID: 661488

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 19:55

Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 19:55
I do recall you telling me a bit about your GPS kit when I was looking for one. I didn't want to get hooked up installing laptops etc. The ham radio hobby is basically destryoed because of computers. Every damned time I fired it up someone would ask me about something to do with computers. I started working on computers in 1970 and finished (thank god) when I retired in 2005. No more thanks. So I wanted a bigger one that I could see with plenty of storage for all the Aussie maps I would possible need. The VMS one suits me. Not interested in what it has for the city as the Toyota is garaged and not used at home.

Next they will want the coordinates for the loo.

Catchyalatr
FollowupID: 661493