CORDLESS DRILL
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 20:41
OREJAP
Sending off a letter to Santa because I would really like a cordless drill for Christmas however I have a problem. I don't know what brand to ask for. I am just a household handy man & therefore probably don't need a super dooper drill but I don't want a 9 volt either. Can someone suggest a good brand. Suggestions would be much appreciated.
Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 20:44
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 20:44
bosch or hitatchi
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:05
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:05
Bunnings have a 14.4volt Ryobi with 2 batteries for sale @ $69.
Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:14
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:14
I am not familiar with that particular one but something along those lines is fine, I have the 18volt Ryobi as my weekend warrior unit but we use better quality gear for work which is probaly not warranted in your case.
You will more than likely find that the batteries will pack it in before the drill does and replacement batteries will cost more than buying a whole new kit.
I would look for one with two batteries and a reasonably fast recharge time, nothing is more anoying than to be sitting around waiting for your batteries to recharge before you can get back at it.
Follow Up By: Muddie - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 22:15
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 22:15
I use Hitachi 18-Volt Lithium Ion
tools at work but they cost heaps, Ryobi is easily the best of the low end good value home gear.
Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 13:51
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 13:51
hi anytime you need new power tool batteries try this site www.globebatteries.com.au
they quiet often have specials
ps i dont have any personel connections with the company only as a happy customer
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 16:04
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 16:04
Apparently Bunnings have the exclusive rights to sell Ryobi now, so up here in the sticks I can't get one of these you-beaut 18 volt drills.
I currently have a Metabo 12 volt. It cost me a bomb and it goes
well, but doesn't have the same torque that a 18 volt jobbie would have.
I can't seem to see where Bunnings have any sort of on-line
shop that i can order from either....bugga!!
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 17:39
Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 17:39
Sent off an on-line enquiry to bunnings a couple of days ago about why they don't seem to have an on-line
shop (except for ordering gift cards), even though their site has info about terms and conditions for ordering stuff on-line. Anyway, i got an automated response to my email almost immediately (as you do), which stated somebody would be in touch with me within 24 hours.
Hmmm, that was 48 hours ago.
Anyway stiff-chit to them...... I just bought a new 18 volt Makita hammer drill + 3 L-ION batteries + a 120 volt charger off ebay from the states for $400-.
NOTE: I already have a stepping transformer for my Drill Doctor (also from the states).
Damn some Aussie sites want about $200- just for ONE additional battery....
Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:16
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:16
Bunnings - 18V Ryobi One Plus (
Ryobi ONE + ) with two batteries for $99. Once you have the drill, you can buy a range of other
tools such as a grinder, small powersaw, sanders, planer, etc. All the batteries are interchangeable. Great around the house and very handy in the outback. 240V Charger can be used outback with a small inverter plugged into the cigarette lighter.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:23
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:23
Spot on Mick,
We thrash the living daylights out of Ryobi 18 volt stuff in an industrial environment. Our stuff would do more work in a week than the average home handy man would do in five years. We get about 18 months to two years out of each tool and then pitch it out.
It's very good quality, robust stuff.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 23:02
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 23:02
Hi you two,, I took your advice and went out a got me a Ryobi 18V hammer drill 2 speed , 2 battery's and charger $149.00 at Bunnings.... It's cool I think I will never need the 240v drill again :-)
Reply By: Top End Explorer - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:37
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:37
I just bought these see link.
Hitachi 18V cordless
I have the DS18Vf3 drill on page 3, the G18vDL(HL) on page 3, and the WR18VDL(HD) on page 5.
The drill came with 2 batteries and charger, the Impact wrench and the Grinder didn't come with batteries they would have been extra, but seeing as the drill came with 2 it didn't matter.
They are fantastic, we even used the impact wrench on the OKA.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Top End Explorer - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:46
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:46
PS: they were not cheep the drill was $258 with the batteries.
The impact Wrench was $268 without.
The Grinder was $158 without.
But you get what you pay for.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: Member - Robert R1 (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:57
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 21:57
Make sure you get one with a 13mm chuck and hammer if possible.
Reply By: gbc - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 22:00
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 22:00
I'd suggest lithium ion batteries for whatever you buy - they are great.
I run panasonic lithium ion cordless gear, and highly recommend it, but probably a bit exxy for non trade usage.
A lot of stuff is rebadged now, so there are some real bargains to be had if you know what you're looking for.
eg- the ozito sabre saw is a rebadged milwaukee for $80 odd dollars.
We are also running a couple of ozito hammer drills which have outlasted a couple of name brand ones (the 4kg ones $100 odd). They install guardrail, so approx 80 m20 x 150mm holes at a time.
I'd suggest maybe having a look at some of the cheaper brand lithium cordlesses - if they have a bit of weight to them it'd probably be worth a roll of the dice. They generally have great warranty too.
If you can get a drill/impact driver combo you'll never look back - I can't remember being a builder without a cordless impact driver.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 23:41
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 23:41
Ive got a Hitachi DV 18DL Impact driver drill 2 speed 22 clutch settings.
Comes in a hard case with two lithium batteries which last for ages also has a fan cooled charger..
I paid $275 for it off a guy who hadnt used it when I was in
Kununurra. In August.
The retail at the time was $528 Dont know if they are cheaper now but are a bl**dy good drill.
Have had Green Hitachi commercial stuff before and are excellent stuff.
Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 13:53
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 13:53
hi graham
sounds like it might have fell off a truck???? lol
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 13:47
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 13:47
the case looked like it had But drill was good.
He was a contractor that had bought it for a job that didnt come off.
His story anyway.
Think it might have paid for a few more slabs. LOL
Reply By: Rosco - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 09:32
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 09:32
Go to Bunnings and have a look at the Triton drill. I've got one. It was recommended by a carpenter. I can't fault it.
Rosco.
Reply By: WBS - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 09:36
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 09:36
Bunnings - Bosch 18v lithium ion. Kills my other Ni Cad battery powered ones. Not cheap @ $249 but very powerful & quick recharge.
WBS
Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 11:47
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 11:47
Second that
Reply By: OREJAP - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 10:02
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 10:02
Thanks everyone fpr the reply & advice
Reply By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 10:09
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 10:09
I bought a $119 14v Ryobi with 2 batteries, was using it to drill a hole through some a piece of supporting metal beam for a hole to hang a climbing rope from for my kids.
Ran the battery dead not getting too far, though I'd try to finish it off with the small 240v Ryobi industrial hand drill. Using the same drill bit it shocked me that it went through like butter.
Moral I suppose is, you get what you pay for, now I know why some drills cost $600 and some cost $100. Wouldn't touch one under $100 unless you are basically drilling balsa wood.
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 11:45
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 11:45
Here's a thought: get one that can run off a car battery ie 14.4 or 12 Volts. There are several advantages: 1. When going on a trip you could leave the batteries at home and save weight, 2. If the batteries run flat you don't need to recharge them, and 3. When the batteries finally die you can use the unit in the vehicle without the need to buy costly replacement batteries.
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 12:36
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 12:36
I have a Makita it's getting onto about 7 years now and still going strong....good quality
Reply By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 13:18
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 13:18
Does not really matter if you are a tradie or home handy man. Most die because they have been burnt out. Have a think about what you may use it for and then get one that produces sufficient torque. In general you will not go wrong with Hitachi, Matabo, Bosch. They are mid range price wise and usually reliable. If you really want to faint look at a DeWalt. Any drill will normally be ok as long as you don't overload it. If you think you have been pushing it, run the drill for a minute or so with no load. Helps disperse the heat. The most common story is "It was fine when I used it but now it doesn't work". The damage was done at last use and finished off by the heat buid up.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 07:19
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 07:19
"If you really want to faint look at a DeWalt"...and Millwauke
3 in 1 (or is that 4 in 1) kits are the best way to buy Dewalts...but this costs more again as you are getting more than just 1 tool
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 18:18
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 18:18
Over the years I've had 4 cheapish cordless drills - 2 Ryobis and 2 Arlec. None of the batteries lasted for more than 12 months. I repacked them with sub-c NiMh and they'd go a bit longer, but those batteries cost more than the drills. And two of the drills had their motors replaced. Then the 2 speed Ryobi broke its gearbox.
So I splurged out 12 months ago, got a new 18V Makita with twin Lithium batteries and a flash quick charger. Cost almost $400. I have to say that when you hold one, it feels like a real drill; the chuck is quality - it holds the drills better, and is so much easier to change the bits. Got 1/2 inch, hammer and torque and reversing and variable speed and 2 speed gearbox, so it does the lot. I'm sure there are lots of other quality ones out there, but my last Makita tool was my 240V hammer drill that I've owned now for 25 years.
You get what you pay for!
Reply By: Dunedigger - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 20:01
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 20:01
I just got a 18 Volt Lithium drill from Super crap. it even has an indication of the amount of power left. Has a 2 year Guarantee. Can't beat that !
Being Lithium you can recharge it as often as you like unlike the old NiCad batteres
dunedigger
Follow Up By: OREJAP - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 09:11
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 09:11
Dunedigger, What price was the drill at S C?. Does it have two batteries & what is the recharge time on the battery pls
Follow Up By: Dunedigger - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 15:18
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 15:18
Hi OREJAP,
It was about $148, Only 1 battery and I have only charged it once an seemed like 2 or 3 hours to charge.
Dunedigger
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 08:09
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 08:09
Five years ago I bought a GMC 18volt kit with two batteries - everything is still working well.
With NiCd batteries the secret to long life is to discharge the batteries AT LEAST once every three months - virtually impossible unless you have two batteries.
Keep using the batteries until the drill slows down - DO NOT finish the cut/hole after that you will damage the battery.
Reply By: Rod - Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 16:56
Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 16:56
One with a Li-ON battery not NiCd
Reply By: OREJAP - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 10:39
Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 10:39
Thanks everyone your advice is much appreciated.