How much power does your fridge use?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:10
ThreadID: 74192 Views:14948 Replies:20 FollowUps:64
G'day all,

I am interested in reading through the various threads to get an idea of people's estimates for fridge power consumption. There seems to be some wild variation in the estimates and I am interested to see if anyone has bothered to monitor actual (vs theoretical) power consumption for their fridge?

We have a Waeco CF50AC and I measured its daily consumption over a period of 6 months travelling. The average daily consumption was 26AH, with the best being 13AH and the worst 39AH on a given day. Temperature setting typically around 2-3 Deg C. The fridge was in a transit bag and over that time we experienced a reasonable range of weather conditions from 40 Deg + down top single digit temperatures. During this trip, the fridge was in the gull wing box of the KK and its hardest time was when travelling as it sat in the full sun, in an enclosed steel box with only a small fan to circulate air.

Now I understand there are a huge range of factors that will affect consumption, but like most we try to keep it reasonably full, in the shade where possible, cool beer in the air overnight, stop the kids from going in and out 100 times a day, etc. We didn't run it as a freezer at all.

The other thing I note from reading others input and manufacturer's specs is that there seems to be quite an exponential increase in power consumption once the fridge gets over the 40-50 litre mark. Any truth to that?

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:16

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:16
Matt

In the scheme of things i.e. 'Life, the Universe and Everything'....does it matter?

LOL!

AnswerID: 393798

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:18

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:18
42 Willem.

Surely cold beer matters?

No, you're righ, it probably doesn't.
FollowupID: 661888

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:28

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:28
Cold beer doesn't matter to Willem. I think he is a sophisticated old gentleman & only drinks scotch, & a bloody good one at that. LOL
FollowupID: 661891

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:34

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:34
Matt...It is evident that you and I are travelling along the same plane....:-)

Barry...Spot on!!!

FollowupID: 661892

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:20

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:20
Hi Matt

The physics of fridges indicate that bigger fridges use proportionally less power.

I.E. a 50lt fridge doesn't not use twice as much as a 25Lt , this is because volumne increases at a greater rate than surface area.

P.S. My own little CF25 uses approx 18AH per day

AnswerID: 393800

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:14

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:14
OK Robin. So your comment and Neils observations below blow my 'big fridge' theory out of the water. In fact the reverse would seem to be true.

FollowupID: 661919

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:32

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:32
We have a Waeco 220 litre fridge / freezer and my observations says that it uses between 40 and 50 amp hrs each 24 hours. I have packed insulation around the outside of the fridge which I believe dropped the top end down to 50 from 60 amp hours.
I have installed a shunt to accuately measure my power consumption as I run mostly on solar power.

Neil
AnswerID: 393803

Follow Up By: Marty-VIC - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 17:35

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 17:35
Your shunt is incorrectly installed on the negative line. Waeco 220 litre fridge uses approximately 90Ah at 25C. 220 litre Waeco in 35C plus gets over 105Ah.
FollowupID: 661897

Follow Up By: Neil & Pauline - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 18:24

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 18:24
Hi Marty
I do have the shunt on the negative as per the instructions. I am sure we don't use 90 to 105ah because if that were the case I would have run out of battery power when I have the bus under cover and had no charging for a day.
What is the reason for suggesting using the positive for the shunt?

Neil
FollowupID: 661902

Follow Up By: Marty-VIC - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 19:33

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 19:33
I know you have the shunt on the negative that is why it is reading incorrectly. The way your system is wired is wrong. You may not choose to believe me however can assure you it is. Negative regulation and shunt systems are dinosaur technology from the days of Alexander Bell. Majority of negative regulation and shunt systems read incorrectly.

These are Waeco figures-
HDC-220 25C 18 hours / 75% 60 watts 5A when running 90Ah (or 90A for 24 hour period) 3.75A avg amps per hour.
These Waeco figures are correct. The Waeco CR140 140 litre which is T rated to European standard at 43C uses 50Ah at 32C.
30 years experience in remote refrigeration and low voltage systems.
FollowupID: 661911

Follow Up By: greybeard - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:57

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:57
marty,
Could you please expand a little ( or point me to some other info ) on the issue with having the shunt on the negative?
eg a cct or description where the shunt is located ( between the panels and reg or battery and fridge )?
thanks
Rod
FollowupID: 662001

Follow Up By: Marty-VIC - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 13:54

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 13:54
Rod they use nasty solar regs that regulate on the negative. Renders it difficult to impossible to keep everything above earth. What happens part of the current flows through the shunt and rest comes via earth because the system has been installed and wired incorrectly. Reason you can never trust data with negative regulation systems with shunts in the negative line. Not having the system correctly earthed on the negative creates a lot of other bad issues. Negative regulation solar regs are cheap junk sold at high prices. Negative regulation is bad outdated dinosaur technology.
FollowupID: 662017

Follow Up By: greybeard - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:17

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:17
thanks Marty
thought i was having a basic electrical issue but it's a wiring issue. the old multiple current path to earth syndrome ;)
all clear now.
rod
FollowupID: 662023

Follow Up By: Neil & Pauline - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 17:23

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 17:23
Thanks for the info Marty. One question though. If the shunt is connected to the battery negative terminal is it still inaccurate?
Neil
FollowupID: 662046

Follow Up By: Marty-VIC - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 20:05

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 20:05
Neil the unit will still be inaccurate with the shunt directly on the negative terminal if the negative terminal of the battery is grounded as it should be. With the way your system is incorrectly wired is unlikely you will easily bring the negative system above ground. There is a penalty lifting the negative above ground with electrolysis and corrosion caused by spurious currents. Hot water systems corrode with electrolysis or hot water system anodes last a short time being the start of the troubles. Negative regulation regulators are promoted by journalists who receive commissions or gratuities from suppliers and manufacturers. The general public without knowledge on the subject purchase on the journalists bad advice. In other countries there are laws to prevent this happening. Journalists have to declare commissions or gratuities in articles and books. Not so in Australia.
FollowupID: 662061

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 09:26

Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 09:26
negative regulation causes electrolysis to alloy cylinder heads and radiators. why cars switched to negative earth and positive regulation. If you have m/h check regularly and fit zinc block.
FollowupID: 662118

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:47

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 15:47
I have a Waeco 40 litre which wa sin the car last weekend in the 38 degree heat. Some days it didn;t cool down until 10.00 at night.

I covered the windows as much as possible on the sunny side and left the windows open a couple of cm to allow some air circulation.

Nothing was put in it, I opened it a couple of times a day to take things out.

It used 5 amphours at night and 20 amphours during the day !
AnswerID: 393804

Reply By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 16:20

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 16:20
We have a waeco CF50 and when running it uses 3.6 Amps - so I'd guess at 32 - 40 AH per day - Although after 3 days of 36 plus near Mt Isa we got the battery 100aH battery down to 50% even with an 80 watt panel - But the fridge was in the back of the Jeep in 50 plus degrees ..

Rgds

Mandrake
AnswerID: 393807

Reply By: Member - John G- Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 17:02

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 17:02
G'day Matt

If you can get hold of a copy, have a look at Collyn Rivers The Camper Trailer Book Chapter 10, also chapters 6-9. He also has some related stuff on www.campertrailers.org. at the end of Tech Tips.

I live in Macgregor ACT, so if all else fails, you can borrow my copy. I read it, sometimes I understand it, I don't do advice!

AnswerID: 393811

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 17:33

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 17:33
I've had my 'power hungry' liemack 50 Lt f/f independently tested by the 12v shop in Perth over a period of 3 days, 2.8 ah.

My newer Reefer 70 Lt f/f runs a bit more efficiently even thought it draws ~10 Amps max.

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 393812

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 17:58

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 17:58
Out of interest Matt what device do you use to measure amps over time?
Everyone's results of course can be nothing but different depending vastly on the exact temp the fridge is set at, the number of times it's opened. the amount of warm food put in to be chilled & of course the ambient temperature. Your best & worst figures being over 150% different I think confirms this.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 393813

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:05

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:05
Crackles,

Should have mentioned that. The fridge runs off the outlet from my solar regulator (Steca 2020) which keeps a record of power out. Not sure how accurate that is (Mainey might have a better idea) but it is the only appliance that runs through the regulator, rest (lights, etc) directly from the battery.

matt.
FollowupID: 661914

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 18:33

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 18:33
5+ years of running the Waeco 80 lt, freezer at max =-18c + fridge section = 2 /4 c and dairy at 7/8c .. power avg @ 64amp hrs per 24hrs , 15lt Engle over same time frame yrs set at constant 2deg c =42amp hrs per 24hrs , Ambient temp variations over 5yrs use from -5c to +55c .
AnswerID: 393818

Reply By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 18:38

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 18:38
Hi Matt, 4WD Action did a fridge comparo a few issues back which included power consumption. http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/tips_fridge.php

TJ...
AnswerID: 393821

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:12

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:12
Thanks TJ
FollowupID: 661917

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 19:12

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 19:12
I am intrigued how people are measuring or determining the ampere-hour consumption of their fridges.

Do you have ampere-hour meters connected?

Or do you have ammeters connected which log at frequent intervals to your computer and integrate the readings?

Or are you observing the amps and keeping careful record of running time over the 24 hour period?

All of the expressions are in unqualified expressions of ampere-hours not expressed as "approximately" or as a single instantaneous reading extrapolated out to 24 hours.

How on earth do you determine these explicit ampere-hour figures?

AnswerID: 393822

Follow Up By: briann532 - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 19:18

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 19:18
Allen, I use a combination of incllement ozonic stratospheric pressure meters combined with an altilogarihydrocalipro meter.

You know the same ones we use to test the efficiency of a double hiclone setup.

LOL :)

I grab a beer from the fridge. ifs it cold, I'm happy. If its not, I get it fixed.
FollowupID: 661907

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 19:19

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 19:19
As stated, mine was done by the 12v Shop in Perth on a data logger

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 661908

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 19:27

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 19:27
So Mainey, Did the 12v Shop tell that "over a period of 3 days, it used only 2.8 ah.' in total?

On that basis it would run for over a month on a 100ah battery......wow!

FollowupID: 661910

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:16

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:16
Allan,

As I mentioned in one of the replies above, I run my fridge through the solar regulator which keeps track of power out. Not sure how accurate it is though.

FollowupID: 661921

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:59

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:59
briann532,

You're the only one talking sense in this whole thread LOL

FollowupID: 661931

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:15

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:15
Allen,
they advised me it was running @ 2.8 amphours when tested over a 3 day period
( not total Amps )

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 661938

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:29

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:29
"they advised me it was running @ 2.8 amphours when tested over a 3 day period "

Mainey, does that mean something to you because I doubt it means anything to anyone else.
FollowupID: 661941

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:36

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:36
Lex,
too bad :-)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 661943

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:46

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:46
Mainey, I just asked a simple question. Pity you chose not to answer it.
FollowupID: 661945

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:55

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:55
Lex,
Ok,
I'll play your silly game, what's the "simple question" you are referring to ??

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 661948

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:26

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:26
Mainey,

I believe that you have a lot of experience with solar systems and I respect that.
I offer the following with full respect to you and honestly I am not having a shot at you. However.............

You really do need to learn about the units of measurement judging by many of your posts. You keep confusing amps and ampere-hours.

AMPS is the indication of the current being drawn at the moment. It is the RATE OF FLOW but does not define the QUANTITY over a period of time. Its a bit like how fast you are driving..... " I'm doing 100k per hour"

AMPERE-HOURS however is the accumulated quantity of energy achieved over a specified period of time. That is, it is the Amps multiplied by the Time. It is like specifying how many kilometres travelled in a specified time....... "I travelled 2400k in 24 hours" (100kph X 24 hrs)

If a fridge draws 4 amps when it is running but only runs for 1 minute then stops for 3 minutes, in an hour it has only run for 15 minutes, (1/4 of an hour). So in 24 hours it has only run for 6 of those hours. So 6 hours X 4 amps = 24 ampere-hours has been consumed.

Your "3 days, 2.8 ah" equates to "72 hours, 2.8 ah" so 2.8ah divided by 72 hours = 0.03888 amps that the fridge is drawing. An impossibly low current!

I'm sure you understand what you mean but if you don't express it properly then you blow your credibility.

FollowupID: 661963

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:34

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:34
Matt,

Of course...... some solar regulators register ampere-hours...... I hadn't thought of that! But is that how everyone is deriving the amp-hour consumption?

No reason to suspect its inaccuracy. Should be reasonable.

FollowupID: 661964

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:38

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:38
briann532,

Isn't that more commonly known as an "Oxometer"? (:-))

FollowupID: 661967

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:44

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:44
Hi Allan,
I can't answer for the others but I used a paperless programmable recorder, this one: Paperless Recorder

And got these sorts of trends,

I used an ammeter shunt to get the current, directly fed the voltage to an input and used the maths functions to derive Amp Hours as well as Watts.

Apart from the above I just used, "a combination of incllement ozonic stratospheric pressure meters combined with an altilogarihydrocalipro meter" and the other bits I guessed.

At the end I sold my Waeco CF110, it was just plain too bloody hard on batteries both aectodally and mathematically.

FollowupID: 661968

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:54

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:54
Allan,
my original post stated:
"I've had my 'power hungry' liemack 50 Lt f/f independently tested by the 12v shop in Perth over a period of 3 days, 2.8 ah. "

That tells me the fridge was independantly tested over a period of 3 days with the end result being 2.8 AmpHour power consumption, definately not 2.8 Amps.

The fridge draws ~10 Amps on a 33% duty cycle.
do the maths and it is correct

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 661969

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:57

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:57
Hi Geoff,

I'm amazed at the gear some of you have access to, however if you borrowed briann532's incllement ozonic stratospheric pressure meters and his altilogarihydrocalipro meter then I would not trust the accuracy of the readings. He has not had them back to me for calibration since I sold them to him on the 1st April 1998.

FollowupID: 661970

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 01:07

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 01:07
Mainey,

"10 Amps on a 33% duty cycle for 3 days"

OK, lets do the maths............

10A X 33% X 72 hours = 237.6 ampere-hours. Where the hell do you get 2.8ah from?

FollowupID: 661973

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 01:10

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 01:10
Ahh Mainey, now we decipher the mixed values and descriptions!

"That tells me the fridge was independantly tested over a period of 3 days with the end result being 2.8 AmpHour power consumption, definately not 2.8 Amps.

The fridge draws ~10 Amps on a 33% duty cycle.
do the maths and it is correct"

What you are really telling us is the 12 Volt Shop said the fridge draws 2.8 AHrs/Hr a wonderfully derived sales figure.

Which based on your original numbers of 2.8 AHrs, 3 days and 33% Duty Cycle would give a real value of: 72 Hours * 0.33 * 2.8 = 66.528 AHrs for the duration of the test.

A very impressive value (great fridges the Liemack) and thoroughly misleading for sizing a charging regime.

FollowupID: 661974

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 01:14

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 01:14
Hi Allan,
Just read your post and cracked up!

I was too kind and conservative, once again on electrical issues Mainey has opened his mouth to change feet!

PS, I've got no idea where my two Photobucket images went form my original post!

FollowupID: 661975

Follow Up By: outsider - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 02:43

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 02:43
I saw this device on ebay, it looks like it counts the amps, was thinking of getting one for my campervan.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330383246694&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT
FollowupID: 661977

Follow Up By: briann532 - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 09:02

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 09:02
Allen, sorry to take the wind out of your sail, but you are such a fraud!!!!!!!

You claimed I needed to get my meter calibrated every 6 months and your the only one who can do it.
What a rort.
I took it to the NSW police service and they said its fine as long as its used for safety not revenue!!!!!

Must be true, the government told me so!!!

Cheers and have a good weekend
FollowupID: 661986

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 09:58

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 09:58
The fridge draws ~10 Amps on a 33% duty cycle

per hour this equates to ~2.8 ah (Amps PER HOUR)

over the 3 (or even 300) days it's still ~2.8 ah (Amps PER HOUR)

Maîneÿ . . .

FollowupID: 661990

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:26

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:26
Mainey
why is it so hard?

Ah is Amphour. That's current drawn (amps) by time (hours).

There is no such thing as amps PER hour.

If you can't get the units right how can you expect anyone to accept you figures?
FollowupID: 661996

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:48

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:48
Lex,

My fridge draws ~10 Amps and runs @ 2.8 ah

Maîneÿ . . .

FollowupID: 662028

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 22:01

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 22:01
Mainey

So what you really mean is your fridge draws ~10 Amps and runs @ 2.8 ah per hour.
FollowupID: 662066

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:37

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:37
We run an Engel 60L as a fridge (15 deg) .........Using the PL20 readouts we average around 80 ah in 24 hours.......that is in ambients of low to mid 30's C

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 393833

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:40

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:40
half my post went missing!!!!! Engel fridge 60L (less than 5 deg) + Engel as a freezer 40L (around -15 deg) = 80 ah in 24 hours on the PL 20 readouts
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 661923

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 22:03

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 22:03
ie 80 amps in 24 hours.........
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 661950

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 22:28

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 22:28
Hi Mainy

"they advised me it was running @ 2.8 amphours when tested over a 3 day period "( not total Amps]

I dont want to get involved in arguements BUT terminology is wrong.
I think what they ,you mean is it average 2.8amps draw.
2.8amps x72hrs=201.6 amphrs
or2.8x24hrs =67amphrs
FollowupID: 661952

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 22:47

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 22:47
Just to clear up the terminology.

Amps is an instaneous value you read it on an ampmeter It only readswhwn devise is running ,drawing current/amps.

Amphrs is a usage over time ie amps by hrs in use, Including cycling off time.
FollowupID: 661954

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:35

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:35
Waeco cf50verb set at 2 degrees opened approx once per hour .
On fridge slide in bag in trayback ute under aluminium roof and canvas sided canopy in Brisbane late spring as recorded by current measuring datalogger.

Usage about 25Ah per day.

Testing done to ascertain size of required solar capability.
AnswerID: 393842

Reply By: swampy66 - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 01:29

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 01:29
And i thought the Overclockers forum was full of geeks.

are you all single?

now fancy that!!
AnswerID: 393852

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 01:40

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 01:40
Yair, your right Swampy.......I'm going to bed!

FollowupID: 661976

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 09:09

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 09:09
Good Morning all,

After a good night's sleep I reconsidered Matt's original question...............

"How much power does your fridge use?"

Does it really matter in the vast scheme of things?

You already own the damn thing.
You already have an energy source for it.
Does it keep the beer cold?

That's it. End of story.

The only value I can see in comparing the numerical energy consumption of fridges is to determine their relative value before purchase. And any such comparison would need to be performed under identical operating conditions. Not independent field conditions.

So I am led to ask you Matt.......... Why did you ask the original question? And did the responses satisfy?

AnswerID: 393869

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:02

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:02
Allan,

Yep, I think most of the responses are broadly consistent with my experience. As I noted in the original question, I am often surprised at some of the estimates for fridge power consumption.

These usually come up in the rough calculations people give in response to questions about charging and battery options they should pursue. So in that regard I guess it is relevant. Typically someone's comes on the forum and says, I have fridge X, two lights, water pump, etc, etc. What size solar panel, battery, etc do I need? my question stemmed from surprise at some of the estimates of power consumption for fridges that arise in answering these questions. I have heard some respondents allow for 60+ AH per day for a fridge about the same size as mine. Given that my fridge has never even got close to this type of consumption, I wonder where some of those estimates come from.

I dunno, maybe some real world experience (vice manufacturers specs) will help someone in planning battery capacity, charging options, etc for a fridge they already own. Yep, cold beer is the outcome, but I would rather know when my beer is going to warm up rather than wait for it to happen.

I'm sorry that the thread had no relevance for you.

FollowupID: 661993

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:47

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:47
Hi Matt,

No, no, don't mis-understand me. The thread did have relevance for me and certainly did interest me.

Its just that having spent a lifetime making electrical measurements and considering the outcomes, now that I am retired and enjoying pastimes I can't be bothered with all that unless it is really necessary and if my battery system and fridge keeps the beer cold then I simply don't care about measuring the numbers.

But that is not to say that I don't think other people should take my attitude. I am really interested in what they do and what they observe. Like you I am often surprised at some of their expressions of performance and power consumption which is why I asked how they were measuring their consumptions. There may have been something there for me to learn.

The only ones I take issue with are those who cannot get their measurement units or mathematics right. Ya know what I mean, nod, nod, wink, wink.

Yep, cold beer IS the outcome, but as I tend to not camp for long my vehicle charging system seems to manage that OK.

FollowupID: 661998

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 10:52

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 10:52
I have a 60ltr Waeco that runs at 0deg ( ice just forming on top of beer sometimes ) and it runs off 6 batts in the KK ( but lives in the rear of the 4wd )..

After a 4 day weekend ( say 32deg ) the batts are down to approx 12.1V....so when I get home I whack them back on charge....

I don't give a rats what the a/h's are, because the setup I've got is what I've got and apart from adding solar, ain't gonna change, so apart from glancing at the voltmeter a couple of times a day, I usually do what I went camping for.....relaxing ( and maybe with a coldie in my hand ).......
AnswerID: 393881

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:51

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:51
Gronk, my sentiments exactly.

In fact I have not even gotten around to installing the voltmeter I bought!

FollowupID: 662000

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:26

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:26
OK Mainey, I'll give this one last shot.............

Please do try to master the difference between Amperes (A) and Ampere-hours (Ah)

Clearly the 12Volt Shop tested your fridge over a period of 3 days and reported that its effective averaged running current was 2.8 Amps. If in fact it was running at 33% duty cycle (that is running for a third of the time, say 1 minute on and 2 minutes off) then when actually running it would be drawing 8.4 Amps (2.8 X 3)

But regardless of the numbers, clearly the reported 2.8 refers to Amps NOT Amp -hours. Sure, if it is runs at an effective 2.8 Amps for an hour then it will have consumed 2.8 Ampere-hours, or if it runs for 2 hours it will have consumed 5.6 Ampere-hours and so on.

But just consider what you have said..... "the fridge was independently tested over a period of 3 days with the end result being 2.8 AmpHour consumption, definitely not 2.8 Amps". If it was only "2.8 AmpHour consumption" in a 3 day period then you could run that fridge on a handful of AA alkaline batteries.

With your solar/battery setup you MUST be aware that your fridge is going to consume a helluva lot more than 2.8 Amp-hours if it runs for 3 days, otherwise you would hardly need your 200watt solar and 2x 100Ah batteries unless you have some helluva other loads.

Now honestly, I'm not trying to arm-wrestle you. I really would like you to fully grasp the meanings of Amps and Ampere-hours and if what I have explained does not do it then to go on would be simply futile.

All the best mate.

AnswerID: 393886

Follow Up By: Jethro T - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:17

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:17
Thanks Allan,
I was getting bloody confused reading this whole thread.
Might go put some green tins in the Waeco and do my own independent test.
FollowupID: 662006

Follow Up By: Glenndini - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:17

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:17
Maybe Mainey's got soem kind of electrical hiclone connected to his fridge. A fridge using 2.8 a/h over 3 days makes about as much sense as a hiclone saves you fuel.
FollowupID: 662007

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:07

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:07
hi
if anyone reading this thread was confused about power consumption and the calculation of before

well now their minds have probably exploded with the back and forth banter on this subject that has gone on for over a 21hrs/ 2 day period
some of it makes good fundamental sense but it's working out which pieces that will cause the confusion ---- lol
go have a beer and think about it or be like an aussie and who gives a sh-------
FollowupID: 662020

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:12

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:12
ps - hi
i have down loaded a copy of these threads and will put it my file
of how not to be confused by eo members advice!! ---lol
FollowupID: 662022

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:22

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:22
OK Barry, deconfuse me................

What the hell is "QUEBBAMBIDDYBUMTAL"?

FollowupID: 662025

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:46

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:46
hi
do you have a guide dog because the answer to your question is written beside the phrase
FollowupID: 662027

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:59

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:59
Well I thought I asked nicely enough but never mind....SIUYA

FollowupID: 662029

Follow Up By: Jethro T - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 15:54

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 15:54
I put 6 green tins in the Waeco three hours ago which are now cold and my meter says 3.2 Amphours.
I'm about to drink the green tins so any further information may be unreliable.

FollowupID: 662036

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 16:01

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 16:01
Hi Geoff,

6 tins in 3.2 Amphours....... thats 0.53 Amphours per tin. Now that's the first piece of really important information on this thread!

Mind you, Mainey can do it in just 2.8 Amphours in the same time!!!! LOL

FollowupID: 662038

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 16:10

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 16:10
And the record for number of replies goes to

Allan B from Queensland.

Congratulations
FollowupID: 662040

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 16:16

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 16:16
Thankyou.....thankyou.....thankyou very much. <(:o)))

FollowupID: 662041

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 08:26

Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 08:26
To record Amphours I use a WattsUp Meter - keeps a record of everything including Maximum Current/Power, Minimum Voltage etc.

It goes in line between Battery and Load using Anderson 30 Amp Powerpoles
AnswerID: 393958

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 09:35

Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 09:35
WattsUp meter available here posted to Aus
Great bit of gear for price.
FollowupID: 662120

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 10:26

Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 10:26
Just don't be fooled by its ability to display current up to 100 amps. The wire is way too thin for that - it can indicate 100 amp peaks.

I'm looking at connecting it to some decent cable with an external shunt that's the same resistance as the internal one, just capable of higher current.
FollowupID: 662127

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 10:28

Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 10:28
Also keep in mind it can only detect current flowing in one direction.

If you're using it to measure battery discharge, then you'll have to reverse it to measure charging current - dead-easy using Anderson connectors.
FollowupID: 662128

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 10:17

Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 10:17
Me thinks some of you guys have way to much time on your hands, My waeco 110 uses about 4.8 amp when running, it runs about 50% of the time in cool weather, and about 90 - 100% of the time in the hot weather which equates to a heap of power, 120 amps +, I feed it and everything else with 400ah's of batteries, I monitor it all on a digi volt metre, and when it gets down a bit i charge it up, thinks thats as technical as I need to get.

But hell i need one of these "incllement ozonic stratospheric pressure meters so I can check on my "altilogarihydrocalipro meter , so i can check the power used to drive BOTH my hiclones?

Lighten up guys, when it all comes down to it, we need to keep the snags cold alongside the beer's and wine !

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 393964

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 10:23

Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 10:23
"which equates to a heap of power, 120 amps +, "

- Whoa, that's one hell of a lot of power !!! 1500 watts !
FollowupID: 662126

Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 16:51

Sunday, Dec 06, 2009 at 16:51
Have run my Explorer DC65 fridge/freezer today with both thermostats set on 5. Thermostats go from 1 warmest to 7 coldest. 5 setting is about as cold as I can take it without risking freezing stuff in the fridge. It took 6.5 hours to draw a spare 24AH battery pack down to the 50% charged state. That is 12.1 volt reading when fridge was cycled off. Ambient temperature today is around 30 degrees. The fridge was running from 240 volt prior to this "test" so all the battery power has just been to maintain the fridge/freezer temperature.

So very roughly, assuming that the battery pack was really 24AH and that it was discharged to the 50% point then about 12 amp hours were used over the 6.5 hours. Now dividing 12 by 6.5 gives 1.85. So on average at 30 degrees using my preferred setting of 5 on the thermostats it uses a little under 2 amps on average.

There are whole heap of assumptions here, granted, but I think the 2 amp figure is relevant for calculations of what sized battery do I need as I am now getting a dual battery setup.

I may repeat this "test" on a thermostat setting of 4 to see if consumption drops much. 4 is probably what I will run it on when vehicle is parked overnight and 5 when on the move.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 393993

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:30

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:30
Did another run with the thermostats set on 4. It took 10 hours to drop to 12.0 volts, which is about 45% remaining. Ambient temperature same as yesterday about 30. Doing the arithmetic the power consumption was around 1.33 amps. Same assumptions as made above. Very rough.

So going from setting 4 to 5 increases consumption from 1.33 to 1.85 amps, roughly 40% more, a pretty big difference.

Flynnie

FollowupID: 662479