When camping or caravaning, do you like to rise early & have a good brekky?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:34
ThreadID: 74197 Views:4779 Replies:13 FollowUps:23
Last holiday we went away with inlaws, everything was ok except in the mornings!, I like to get up early have a look around then cook up a big breakfast. The others where opposite!, sleep in & when finally decide to face the world , have a cup of coffee only!. Each to their own i suppose, but it sure caused hell at times between the dear wife and myself!..lol.

Reply By: stumbly1 - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:44

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:44
yeah, I'm with you Axle. Reasonably early to bed, up early for a fish and see the best bit of the day, back to camp and a big brekky cook up then off for a bit of exploring. A little nanna nap in the arvo then a another fishing session or a couple of refreshments before dinner.
After 25 years of shift work early mornings don't bother me but I do like my siesta!
Then again, each to their own eh?

Cheers, Keith
AnswerID: 393834

Reply By: Gramps - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:44

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:44
"cook up a big breakfast"

Yuk, cannot handle big breakfasts. Stuffed for the rest of the day.

AnswerID: 393835

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:46

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:46
Gramps

its called old age there mate :-)
FollowupID: 661925

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:52

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:52
LOL too many of you lot have a big breakfast and spend half the day sleeping it off.

FollowupID: 661928

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:54

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:54
G/Day Gramps

Sure its not the early rise that causes the problem? :)))))).

FollowupID: 661929

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:07

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:07
Axle,

LOL we better not go there if we want this thread to stay intact :)))

Always up early when we're away. Toast or cereal for brekkie and too much fresh air for nanna naps. Unless some mongrel visitor leads me astray with the Devil's beverages.

FollowupID: 661934

Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:36

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:36
Way back when........................ I rise at dawn or thereabouts, roll out of the swag, go for a short walk with the trusty shovel, back to camp, wash F&H after short walk with shovel and put billy on fire. Roll a smoke, make a coffee and perhaps a slice of toast, sit and enjoy smoke and coffee and plan the day. Fishing, exploring, beach combing walk or just relaxing round the shady tree me swag is under?, have another smoke and go fishing for a couple of hours, clean,cook and eat the catch if any or cook up eggs and bacon. That will keep me going till mid afternoon. Tidy everything up and sit and relax with a beer or two. Cook evening meals as sun sets, roll into swag, have a smoke and contemplate the stars. Heaven on earth.

Now........... I still rise at dawn, go to the inbuilt toilet, turn on the gas to make coffee..........."why are you making all that noise, I'm trying to sleep", get the coffee and step outside towatch the sun rise, just like I did before but all I can see is caravans as far as the eye can see, I don't even have the satisfaction of a smoke now but that was my choice. Sit and watch everyone else stirring, all conscious of making too much noise, as the caravan park comes to life, Have breakfast, cereal and skim milk, wholegrain toast and low fat jam.
She gets up, "what are we doing today" Well I'd like to go fishing for a while. "Oh, I thought that we could go into (your choice of town) because I need to get some things for the grandkids, some material for the quilt I have to have finished next week or I need new clothes and so do you, your T shirt is too old to be wearing round in public.

So we go to town, I look for a tackle shop or a car yard with a 4wd or two and we agree to meet at 12.30 for lunch.
But that ends up being around 3.00pm and i'm all grumpy and she can't work out why.
By the time we get back to caravan park the wind is blowing a gale so fishing is a non event today. Might as well sit and have a beer or three and try to plan tomorrow to suit ME. Then tea is ready, TV is on and i can't use the computer to go on line to check up on all the exploroz doings.

It's better than working,...........But not much.

Disco.
FollowupID: 661966

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:46

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:46
Yeah mate...I like a Dingo's Breakfast! :-)

AnswerID: 393836

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:56

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:56
LoL.. That would be you!!.

FollowupID: 661930

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:11

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:11
Good one Willem...can't beat a Dingo's or Drover's Dog's Brekky aye :0)
FollowupID: 661936

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:13

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:13
A dingo's breakfast.
Yuck!!!!! Our dingo's obviously eat differently to yours.

FollowupID: 661995

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:48

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:48
Hey Hairy

I didn't know you had a Dingo. I thought you had a bear or something similar.You know, the one that sticks his nose into your crotch when you are sitting down and your mind goes into overdrive....:-)
FollowupID: 661999

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:57

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:57
Geez!!!
I thought I taught Max better than that. LOL

FollowupID: 662002

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:40

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:40
A dingo's breakfast????

What's that? Little babies????

FollowupID: 662008

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 13:14

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 13:14
Now your getting a bit carried away.....
Get it? Carried away???? Hahahahahahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 662011

Reply By: Outnabout.. - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:47

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:47
I am with you Axle.
The way I look at is you work 48 weeks of the year to get four weeks off or 5 days to get 2 days off. Beats me why people want to waste half those days off sleeping in especially when we have gone ooutdoors to get away from it all. Now if one wants to have a little kip after lunch and a few days then 40 winks is OK
AnswerID: 393837

Follow Up By: Outnabout.. - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:48

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 20:48
should have spell checked should have been a few beers and not days!
FollowupID: 661926

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:00

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:00
Outnabout
maybe a few Zzzzzzzzz would help more than a few days oooops Beers, LOL

Yeah Axle, early rise and beat the flies, to your brekkie that is.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 661932

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:49

Friday, Dec 04, 2009 at 21:49
Hi Axle,
Getting up early is the best time of the day. Watching those first rays of the sun breaking over the distant horizon is one sight that you never get sick of. As for breakfast, I have a very big breakfast - cereal and it lasts me most of the day.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 393845

Reply By: Wilk0 - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:25

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 00:25
Hi Axle
I guess it depends what time you go to bed, But I like to get up and get goin whether that fishing , travelling or doing nothing i always get u early.

Cheers Wilko

AnswerID: 393850

Reply By: Phil and Sue - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 07:21

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 07:21
I like the early mornings. It always seems clean and fresh - ready for another go at it - whatever that is. Moody as far as a full brecky is concerned. Sometime I like one of those extra special cups of tea. You know the one. The one where just after the last mouthful you say "That was a good cuppa". No - not full of alcohol!!! Just a good one.

Only had trouble with one relative and her husband and that was only on the first day. It was mentioned the night before that up and at em was the go. Got up put the bacon and eggs on. Packed up the tent while they were cooking and was ready to move after eating breakfast. The others stuck their heads out and looked bleary eyed so I said "We are ready come on you lot". I even started the car to warm it up. They didn't even have breakfast. Just a cold drink as we drove off. I was tough but for the rest of the week - everyone was up early. Worked a treat.

City folk and we chuckled about it all day. Ha

But the problem is I have to rest several times. Seems some stupid protein is taking up too much space in my blood and stops the blood getting its full charge of oxygen. But in the morning it has taken all night to get fully charged and I am full of beans. That is why the mornings are special. Its the only time of day that I feel fit and ready to enjoy life to the full. Downhill from then.

Luckily I like the mornings hey.

AnswerID: 393860

Follow Up By: Ray - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 08:54

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 08:54
Yes its great here in W.A. Bright in the mornings and good fresh air. I'm glad that our clocks have not been fiddles with this year.
FollowupID: 661984

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 09:18

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 09:18
Whats great is not wearing a watch. The battery went flat in 2005 (I think).

Haven't worn one since.
FollowupID: 661987

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:15

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:15
No need for a watch if you've usually got a phone with you.

FollowupID: 662004

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 15:10

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 15:10
ha

Thats another plus for me. I always seem to "forget" the mobile. Hate the damned thing. Its where it belongs in the drawer at home. Put $30 on it a few years ago and it still has that amount on it. I never told anyone the number either. I cant even remember it now. If its important then they will find me. You younger ones really do not realise how peacefull it is being able to really get lost.

But my point is that I really do not care what time it is. If I miss something then it was meant to be missed.
FollowupID: 662031

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 15:37

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 15:37
"You younger ones " hahahahaha thanks for the compliment. When I'm bush the phone is off and stays that way until I need it or until we get back to the rat race :)))

FollowupID: 662035

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 10:23

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 10:23
Camping.....whether its a weekend or 2 weeks......means RELAXING......

When no big days of driving are involved, then the morning is for sleeping in.....whether thats to 7am or 9am....depends on the night before !!!!

Thats the other thing about camping.........a few ales ( or maybe a lot )....a campfire.....some idle chit chat ( or a lot of dribble !! ) and RELAXING..............thats why I go nearly every 2nd weekend.....to RELAX....

Don't get me wrong.....I'd like to get up early just once to see what all the fuss is about, but I just don't get the time !!!! lol !!!
AnswerID: 393878

Reply By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:06

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:06
I am not very good at sleeping in and become particularly cranky if I don't eat food at least three times a day :) So breakfast is a requirement.

I can't eat a cooked breakfast every day though- camping brekky is usually weet-bix, vegemite toast, a fruit box and a coffee. We have bacon on occasion but it's usually the weet-bix.

My partner is much better at surviving without breakfast, or eating something totally random. He is also able to sleep in!
AnswerID: 393883

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:13

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 11:13
All depends on the night before?
AnswerID: 393884

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:07

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:07
as above combined with the resultant pressure exerted on the bladder is the major determinator of time of departure from the sack.
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 662003

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:16

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 12:16
Hahahaha...sort of go hand in hand hey?
Woops...its getting worse LOL
FollowupID: 662005

Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:18

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 14:18
And the resultant pressure on the bladder is caused by a fair supply of beverage, which although it may need relieving early in the morning, the head may be saying to go back to bed for some more sleep !!!!! lol !!
FollowupID: 662024

Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 16:18

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 16:18
Does someone help you out of bed or do you get up yourself in the morning .
AnswerID: 393903

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 22:57

Saturday, Dec 05, 2009 at 22:57
I think the issue you had was far more basic then rising times and breakfast/no breakfast

I have heard of and seen more than a few trips go a bit awry due to incompatability of travelling partners
- Just the way it is when living in closer proximity to others with different habits.
sometimes it the best thing can be to part ways before the trip is ruined for both partys
AnswerID: 393939

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 08:17

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 08:17
yer right there, Davoe
FollowupID: 662236

Reply By: Member - Jo Q (NSW) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 15:08

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 15:08
Can't sleep in with a 7 year old - even if I wanted too! Breakfast for her is weetbix & juice. Breakfast for me is a cigarette & nice hot cup of straight black coffee!

AnswerID: 394077