Yankee Method

Submitted: Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 09:13
ThreadID: 74234 Views:3645 Replies:8 FollowUps:18
We were out playing hard in muddy overgrown forresty tracks this weekend with some competition grade Rangies and little tracks everywhere and the guys were telling me about using the Yankee method of convoy procedure.

Never really used it and wondering what other peoples experience may have been?

Like most things there are pluses and minuses I guess.

Normal Convoy proceedure is that there is a lead vehicle and at each junction it waits until the next car gets their then takes off.

Yankee convoy proceedure is when the first car at a junction stops and remains at a junction and all the following cars drive straight thru , the second car to a junction hence becomes the leader, and the original leader becomes tail end charlie.

Apparently this method is a lot faster, and competition guys use it exclusively.

Obviously it would rely on the first arrival at a junction to be able to
correctly indicate the correct direction for the next track section.

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 09:26

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 09:26
"Obviously it would rely on the first arrival at a junction to be able to
correctly indicate the correct direction for the next track section. " meaning that the "assumption is" that everyone in the convoy knows exactly where they are going..... and the person holding the intersection doesn't assume all are through and take off leaving someone behind....

Interesting concept though. Agree that it probably would be quicker; but do you need to be in such a hurry and miss all the scenery, wildlife etc.....
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 394043

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:33

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:33
Hi Fred

I think there are some little pracitcal adjustments they use , like a car who doesn't know the way not taking the lead , but your second point could be of concern in that all would have to know exactly who is in the convoy and remember that they passed by , not good in an ad-hoc convoy.
FollowupID: 662249

Follow Up By: DesF - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 16:59

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 16:59
Hi, We have been using that method for years on our bike trips and rides and 4x4 trips, the leader places the first rider/ driver) to come along on the corner and he must not leave it till the sweep bike / vehicle catches up,
It works good as then you can zip along as fast as you like untill you catch up to the next vehicle , with the bikes you can pass ( when safe ) and zip along up to the front where you will get another corner or gate,
Works well for us . it is called 'The Cornerman System"
Cheers Des.
FollowupID: 662304

Reply By: Serendipity (WA) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 09:33

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 09:33
The convoys in our little group tend to rely on having the one out front who has the best eyesight as the others cannot read the signs until they are passing them.

AnswerID: 394044

Follow Up By: Welldone WA - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 17:26

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 17:26
The convoys in our group tend to put the one that likes to take a sticky-beak down random tracks in search of magical mystical places that no-one has been down in eons, as the leader as everyone can follow and maintain contact. On the rare occasions when the traditional convoy leader has found himself at the "tail-end-charlie" position we've end up separated and swearing because tail-end charlie has gone off on a bit of a tangent and decided to "explore" some disused, long forgotten , overgrown track that winds its ever narrowing way to a deadend that requires a 57 point turn to get out of! And the situation is even more interesting if trailers are involved!!

Welldone
FollowupID: 662311

Follow Up By: Serendipity (WA) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:17

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:17
LOL and so true...

Some of the best places are found through some random rambling.

FollowupID: 662334

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 09:35

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 09:35
Gday Robin
Little Wes and I get lost without any help from others.We have been lost so many times it's not funny.
So off we go at Christmas to get lost again.

AnswerID: 394046

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:03

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:03
I'm in the same boat.......but I never admit to having been lost or taking a "wrong" turn.

I prefer to say to those who might be following me (and question why we have ended up where we did), that I have chosen to take the scenic route to make the trip more interesting.....hahahaha

Now, back to the original post.......

The problem I see with this "Yankee" method is that it is imperative that EVERYBODY in the convoy knows the route you are trying to take right from the start. For example, if the 3rd car in the convoy doesn't know the track or is (like me) "geographically challenged", then once the first 2 cars have peeled off at their respective corners (making me the lead vehicle), there is a better-than-even chance that I will miss the turn that I'm supposed to pull-up at to make a turn. This will result in me and the next how-ever-many cars taking a wrong track, until finally someone (maybe in the 5th car) says: "hang-on, we are supposed to be turning at that corner there, but everybody's going straight on". Now you've got a situation of "Houston! We have a problem!!!"

No, I firmly believe it is better for one car/person in the convoy to do the research and stay in charge of the lead-vehicle responsibilities!!!

FollowupID: 662243

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:10

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:10
Roachie,
Getting lost is something that never happens to me as others on here can testify.
I do however,all to frequently take mystery trips.
Well thats my excuse anyway.
FollowupID: 662244

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:25

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:25
Dasher Des,
Yes, we all know about your mystery trips mate. That 50 series of yours has been to places that it was never intended to be at. I wish it could talk; it's stories would be worth listening to, that's for sure. hahahaha

Must be something about toymota blandcruiser drivers and scenic routes.....young Pesty also has a propensity for taking the least direct method (I'm being very kind with that description) of getting from point A to point B. hahahaha

FollowupID: 662247

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:41

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:41
If you have a choice Muzbry , get lost near Dargo over Xmas ,we will be there.

Hi Roachie

I think one of the little things that tends to make it work is that a following car has to actually pass the stationary car so at least they might all get "lost to-gether".
Whereas I have had people waiting just beyond and intersection and as soon as they see the following car in their mirror they take off, making the assumption that the follower also saw them , which isn't always the case.

FollowupID: 662250

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:46

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:46
Roachie, you might well panda to the asperations of your Missan but just remember that the 50 has always got me along those mysterious tracks and got me home again. for some reason, I just cant seem to forget a photo of someone's pride and joy sitting on a flat top waiting to be sent home. Don't recall that it was pesty either.
FollowupID: 662251

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 11:19

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 11:19
Gday Roachie
Come with us and blend in ,, no problems

Thanks Robin
I dont think that we can get lost that far North.We are supposed to be near the Avon river for a couple of days.
Murray

FollowupID: 662256

Reply By: Phil and Sue - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:44

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 10:44
I recently went with a group in convay and was quite disgusted at the lack of concern for following vehicles. Tail end charlie stopped and let them through but the next vehicles didn't bother. And there were plenty of places where one or two cars could stop briefly. There was a rucus when the leader finally pulled over and we all stopped and they went past. Some of the cars blasted us. And rightly so. We were well below the spped limit. I will not try to diagnose the look on the bus drivers face. Not right. Thats how we get bad names. I am waiting to see how it goes on the Australia day weekend when we are out with the same mob. All the way from Mount Hotham down to Harrietville at around 20K less than the speed limit.

I used to run "loose" convoys between the Rockhampton Army training area and Ennogera in Brisbane. All drivers had the option to pull over and let anyone through. Following vehicles including convoy vehicles were also allowed to pass those stopped. But tail end charlie always stayed in the rear.

Whats wrong with letting them through. Are we so god damned perfect that we have the right to antagonise other users.

No I am sorry. Not fair. Its our reputation at stake here guys. Whats wrong with having "meeting points" with detailed instructions how to get there. Or letting them through.

My 2 cents worth.

AnswerID: 394050

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 11:23

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 11:23
Thanks for reminding me why I dont go in convoys.
They always degrade to the lowest common denominator.
FollowupID: 662258

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 12:27

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 12:27
I know what you mean. Try coming up behind a series of caravans and then getting past. We met a a mob travelling together heading north from Broome. All doing 80Km with the speed limit at 130. No one could get past they were so close. A gentle winding road didn't help. Heaps of shoulder to stop or even drive on. Nope - Bugger you lot it seemed to us. Tried calling them on the grey nomad channel and now one would recognise us. You could hear them chartting though. You should have heard what the truckie in front of us was saying. And they all slowed down at a single lane bridge to 40Km. Oops may fall off. Beats me.

We gave up in the end and stopped and made a cuppa. Its was a nice cuppa as well.

I just do not understand the mentality of some travellers. We used to pull a van aroound and always stuck with the traffic. If anyone was having trouble getting past we either kept way left or pulled over. A rare occasion. But that what common sense told us.

Convoys are okay provided the members don't take the attitude of "Whats the hurry? You can stay there".

Boy oh boy did I get going there. Sorry about that. As a ex convoy leader I believe I have the right to say these things anyway.

Have a top day. Please caravanners this it may not be directed at you. You will know in your heart if it does. Okay!!

FollowupID: 662271

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:32

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:32
I was under the distinct impression that vehicles over a certain length had to leave a fairly large gap between each to allow following traffic to leapfrog through a convoy like that.

Im sure a van rig would be in that category.

Cant believe how inconsiderate some are and not being on the truckies channel is lunacy.

Just my wee rant
FollowupID: 662336

Reply By: Grizzle - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 11:32

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 11:32
When I used to ride dirt bikes the lead rider would got through the junction and the second rider would wait with bike pointing in the direction of travel. When the sweep rider came through the rider would rejoin in front of the sweep. This meant that each rider would take a turn at waiting at the junction. This was a very fast way of doing it and the point rider was the guy who knew where he was going. Also you always had the same sweep so you knew when every other bike had come through.

AnswerID: 394054

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:04

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:04
In this system it looks like you wouyld need to know your team well and perhaps tick off the others as they pass you !
FollowupID: 662332

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 09:08

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 09:08
Incorrect, you always have the lead rider and sweep as the same people. The person sitting at the junction is waved on by the sweep. i have been on rides where there are 20-30 riders. The person sitting at the junction is only there to show direction of travel. The sweep rider is always last.

FollowupID: 662400

Reply By: ruafrood - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 14:34

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 14:34
I have been on a few convoy trips where this “rolling” method has been used.

However the Trip Leader has always retained the lead and it is the second vehicle that stops and then resumes as either “Tail End Charlie” or as “second last” vehicle depending whether the Trip Leader wants to retain the same TC throughout the trip.

Not sure whether it speeds things up but certainly does share the dust more evenly throughout the convoy, LOL.

Ron
AnswerID: 394076

Follow Up By: ruafrood - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 15:07

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 15:07
Oops should have said those “convoy trips” were 4WD Club trips in the Victorian High Country and Desert areas.

Ron
FollowupID: 662289

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:01

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:01
Must admit it sounds strange to change the leader , buts thats what they seem to do!
FollowupID: 662331

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 16:46

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 16:46
G/Day Robin

We have been in several Convoy situations over the years, and it reminded me of one particular group who would organise an outing, and at the end of the trip we would be discussing the days events and the drivers who whinged the most regarding getting lost or missing a turn-off or detour arrow, would receive a Large Rubber Dummy,with a card saying The Winner Of The Dummy Spit Award, needless to say the Cook and I got heaps of them over the years.

AnswerID: 394083

Reply By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 22:12

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 22:12
On our convoys it was LR LR then 6WD International Tractor, then LR LR followed by 6WD all the way down the line, each 6WD protected by LR machine-guns.
When in occupied territory we always sent gunner Mc in his 6WD on point, because he was single and no great loss, you have to use proper bait sometimes which also included mine-fields, many hundreds of dollars rode on gunner Mc's journeys and we were quite surprised that he manage to return home safely.
AnswerID: 394138

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 07:47

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 07:47
We have been playing with a Hummer lately and they are also good for that duty.
FollowupID: 662394