Holden Colarado Overheating.

Submitted: Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:16
ThreadID: 74247 Views:19648 Replies:15 FollowUps:4
I am posting for another party that has the problem explained below. Was wondering if anyone could provide advice re this issue for him. The vehicle is a auto 2008 Holden Colarado about 50k on clock.
Thanks Alan.

We picked up our new (second hand 6 mths old) Jayco Sterling 23' on Wednesday and travelled from Brisbane to Woodgate Beach on Thursday. All went well and we averaged 13.2ltr/100klms. Friday we left and drove home to Bouldercombe (near Rockhampton) and averaged 16.2ltrs/100klms. It was a very hot day temps about 35 and the terrain was quite hilly. I noticed the temp needle rising from just under half way to about 3/4 to hot. It often cooled down to halfway on the flatter parts of the trip and then got hotter as we went through hills again. We sat on about 85-95 on the hills sometimes getting down to 75klms, but able to sit on about 90-100 on the flatter parts. Is this normal? the van didn't have much loaded inside and the water tanks were empty.

Reply By: westozal - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:37

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:37
The car has the Turbo diesel motor.
Alan.
AnswerID: 394111

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:45

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 20:45
Tell your mate to look in his ownwers manual or ring his dealer. the manual will say it is normal for the temperature gauge to move towards the high end when driving in hot weather, up hills or when towing which are your mates symptoms.

regards peter
AnswerID: 394113

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 21:28

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 21:28
Does he have anything obstructing the airflow into the radiator, like dinner plate sized spotlights?

Check the obvious stuff like so physical obstruction to the radiator. Check the cooling fans are working and that the drive belt isn't slipping. And of course check the coolant level.

If all of that is OK, I'd suggest making thermostat billy tea. Remove the thermostat and place in a saucepan with water on the stove top and heat it up. The thermostat should be fully open before the water boils. If it doesn't - replace it. If that's ok, then I suggest going to a radiator specialist who has an inductive thermometre and get them to measure the coolant temp around the heater tap, radiator hoses etc. Check for hot spots which may indicate a blockage/partial obstruction in either a hose of coolant port in the head/block.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 394122

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 21:42

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 21:42
Hi there. We must all assume that the 'new' caravan brakes were not dragging (ie either jammed on , or even the handbrake left on). Just a thought - it wouldn't be the first time.
AnswerID: 394129

Reply By: westozal - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 21:54

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 21:54
Being honest I have a personal interest in the relies as I have just brought a new D-max to tow a smaller caravan. Was hoping this is an isolated case not a case of them all overheating.
I had not read anything regards overheating prior to his problem with either the Isuzu or the Holden.
thanks Alan
AnswerID: 394134

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 22:11

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 22:11
Hi. Just looked up the stats, and the van has a nominal Tare of about 2.2 tonnes. Add a few bits (battery, awning etc.) and 2.5 tonnes isn't far away. So 95 kph uphill on a hot day is a fair load, just waiting for a small extra problem as has been suggested.
FollowupID: 662358

Reply By:- Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 22:14

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 22:14
G'day westozal, given the driving conditions you have described I would not be surprised to see the variations in engine temperatures. No doubt the aircon was on as well. My suggestion to help with engine heat dispersion is to turn off the aircon, open all the towing vehicle windows and turn on the heaters with fan assist. The engine water passing through the heater core helps lower engine temperature. Happy Days. Pauper.
AnswerID: 394139

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 22:52

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 22:52
When it heats up whilst towing I would change down a gear and take the revs up to around 3000rpm. I found with the ZD30 Patrol that would always reduce the exhaust gas temps by ~50 degrees.

My new D-MAX hasn't had a chance to be tested out yet ;-) 2390km and climbing ...

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 394143

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 09:24

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 09:24
Found the same thing on the pajero once I put in an EGT.

Used to drive it at 2000 to 2500 rpm, just above maximum torque, on full throttle up hills towing.

Now change down a gear and sit on 3000 rpm and back off to 3/4 to 7/8s throttle and the EGT temp drops at least 50 deg. Almost the same speed.
FollowupID: 662404

Reply By: Dion - Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 23:06

Monday, Dec 07, 2009 at 23:06
Alan,
another thing worth checking is that the cooling fins on the radiator aren't clogged, especially if the vehicle has been fjording.
I had this on a RA Rodeo, I thought I had hosed the radiator out well enough, but still used to climb on stinking hot days. I removed the radiator and cleaned all the dry mud from the radiator fins, when re-installed, have not had the problem since.

Dion.
AnswerID: 394146

Reply By: Roughasguts - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 00:27

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 00:27
I be thinking your mate is driving the vehicle a bit hard!!! bloody near flat out I would think. Slow down to 80 K's and enjoy the scenery and let the motor work easier.

If that doesn't help then test for a leaking head gaskett!!

AnswerID: 394152

Follow Up By: Out of here - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:22

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:22
The motor has the capacity to tow that weight in the cool with ease and I know it does so.

Problem is the cooling capacity I feel is not enough when the weather gets hot. So yes then it is time to slow down.

I tow 2 tons 350 k regularly through the hills and can sit on 100k most of the time except when you hit the large inclines - providing the weather is cool.

This is by no means anywhere near the peak of the motors pulling power.

FollowupID: 662477

Reply By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 07:23

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 07:23
I agree with all the above posts and also believe that the towing capacity of 3 ton on all of the new diesel utes is a bit much, especially when it is hot. Anyway does the Colorado have an oil cooler on the auto transmission? if not that's the first thing I would be fitting. And yes slow down a bit when in those conditions.
AnswerID: 394162

Follow Up By: Out of here - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:16

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:16
I agree - more then a bit much in fact - In the summer 2 tons would be the most I would like to pull and the poor motor would be running hot for most of it. Cheers
FollowupID: 662475

Reply By: Out of here - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:12

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:12
westozal - Yes it is normal for towing with these motors. I Have the 2007 Rodeo with the common Rail Turbo.

I have posted on the overheating issues in hot climates with this motor in the past. I tow a 2 ton boat 1 & 1/4 hrs to the coast and 1 & 1/2 hrs back up the range.

The owners manual will tell you all you need to know. The engine will remain at normal operating temperature while not under load. As soon as you start pulling the load the temperature will rise above 1/2 way, continue pulling hard and the temperature will rise to 2/3rds.

I find if you back off when this is happening you can keep it below the 2/3rds.

Trick is to tow in 4th gear any time the load starts to pull, you should not tow in 5th. I only use 5th when cruising on the flat or down hill. Towing in 4th will not change the fuel consumption, and what you have quoted is normal while towing.

I sit on 100ks when I am able and the hills I climb here I now back off and do them in 3rd at 60-70k. The car will do them in 4th but that is when the temperature really climbs. So basically you just have to slow a bit when it is hot. Winter is no problems - I can keep the power on and no heating issues - only a lot more fuel :-)

AnswerID: 394238

Reply By: gbc - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:34

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:34
My Colorado temp guage moves too. It's a good thing. It means it has useful graduations, unlike the bloody toyota ones I always had which never moved intil two secs before the motor blew.
Like others have said, read the manual - there is no redline at two thirds, and the engine is NOT OVERHEATING - it is running hotter because it is working harder - all engines do it, just most guages LIE about it.
AnswerID: 394242

Reply By: westozal - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:36

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:36
Thanks for replying.
AnswerID: 394254

Reply By: Gronk - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 00:55

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 00:55
May help if you got a scangauge....tells you exactly what the temp is ( among a lot of other useful information )
AnswerID: 394319

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 06:58

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 06:58
Another case of manufacturers/dealers not being entirely truthful. They say "Yes you will be able to tow your van, no worries" but they do not explain all the provisos before you part with your hard earned cash. If they say it can tow so many kg, then it should do that in ALL conditions.
AnswerID: 394320