Vehicle maintenance
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 15:22
Hairs & Fysh (NSW)
With the holiday season just about upon us, I had thought I might change the Oil/Filter. I wasn't yet ready for one, but I had thought that since the old girl had a good slug out to
St George for the gathering, and back I might as
well do one before Christmas and the hotter months ahead, besides thought she was getting a bit sluggish of late and puffing a bit more smoke that usual.
Well today I changed the Fuel filter, only been 8000k's since it was done last. Boy, What a mess it was.
What fell out of the filter onto the Garage floor when the filter was unscrewed from the Sensor, A gel substance, sorry the picture isn't the best.
It sure pays to be on the game when it comes to maintenance.
Just to add, the diesel I put in the old girl is all ways from either
Caltex or preferably BP. I don't fill up at small low volume stations.
Might have to rethink that I reckon.
Anyway, Just thought I would remind travelers that it pays to check, especially with the hot weather of late. Hate to hear of anyone stopped on the side of the road in these hot conditions.
Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 17:12
Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 17:12
I have a CAV filter adaptor on my 1HZ which has a glass bowl, so I can see instantly any issues with dirty fuel or
water contamination. Hope that stuff didn't get past your filter. I am not an expert but is it diesel algae which can grow inside the fuel
tank???
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 17:56
Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 17:56
Hi Mike,
Hmmm, It's looking like you maybe right about the diesel algae. Did a bit of Google and a search on here and it's looking like it could be.
Damn, bugger.
I've use Chemtec Diesel power fuel additive with every fill up, I would of thought it would of helped to prevented this from happening.
So what's the best method of attack to deal with this nasty?
Do I need to remove both tanks or is there a you beaut additive I can pour in the tanks that will kill this sucker?
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 23:32
Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 23:32
Jon,
If you use Chemtec every time you fuel up the algae hasn't grown in your
tank, You have picked up a load of crap fuel from the last servo you fueled up at. I'd try double the dose of Chemtec That should kill the algae.
Cheers Dave...
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 14:01
Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 14:01
Hi Dave,
I did as you suggested and then took the old girl for about a 40k drive around, using diesel from both tanks. Unscrewed the tap at the bottom of the filter and collected what came out into a glass jar.
All looks good so far. I'll check it every day until the next fill up.
Phil below has posted an excellent BP information link. I've learnt a few things in the day or so about diesel/
water and additives.
Cheers mate.
Reply By: Phil and Sue - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 17:29
Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 17:29
So that I can look at one for our car what are your cars?
I am not that all familiar with all of them yet. We have 100 series LC, 2005 model turbo diesel auto.
Follow Up By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:03
Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:03
The CAV filter adaptor is an aluminium billet made to fit the relevant fuel filter head. AFAIK you can buy one for most vehicles. The other advantage is the cheap cost of the replacement filters. I bought
mine from 4WD Systems mail order. (08) 8369 0033)
Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:50
Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:50
Thanks Mike
I know they mention diesel further down in the thread but I am still not 100% on the fuel type this is all about.
Is it diesel or petrol?
Sorry for being perdantic but I need to be sure.
Also what does CAV stand for?
Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:52
Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:52
Then again are we talking about a filter for the engine oil and not the fuel?
Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:25
Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:25
I think it needs special cleaning by pros to remove diesel algae. Not absolutely positive but, maybe it could have something to do with that additive even. Definitely some sort of scum, the inside of bulk storage tanks are always covered in this type of scum. Not that hard to clean off, we used to use fire hoses and it came off easily enough. Might need some sort of steam or industrial cleaning though beacuse of all the nooks and crannies. I wonder how many of our tanks have this crap in them. Hope it hasnt reached the injectors/injector pump.
Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 20:36
Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 20:36
I don't really know much about diesel algae, I believe it grows in the interface between the diesel and
water. It is more of a problem in large marine tanks. I guess the secret is to remove any
water. In my boat (which uses petrol), I find that if the
tank is not filled, the air inside expands during heat then contracts, drawing in moist air, the moisture then condenses inside the
tank. The secret to this is to keep the
tank full, and put a splash of metho in. Any
water absorbs into the metho and that is absorbed into the petrol and eventually burned.
Sorry not really relevant, but might give you some ideas.
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:41
Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:41
GDay Mike
How much METHO do you use per litre ?
Follow Up By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 14:26
Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 14:26
At a guess a cup per 100 litres, which I think is 0.25% which is about a teaspoon per litre.
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 11:34
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 11:34
Thanks Mike
Reply By: Super (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 13:17
Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 13:17
Hi there, BP have a web site -
http://www.bp.com/sectiongenericarticle.do?categoryId=9012404&contentId=7018003 - which discusses a number of things, algae in diesel fuel amongst them. For those of you unfamiliar with this site it seems to be a good place to learn about things like algae, alpine diesel and so on. I recommend it to ExplorOz forumites.
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 13:38
Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 13:38
Hi Phil,
What a great source of information there.
Thanks for the link, That will be handy to keep in my bookmarks.
I think I may have caught it before it was able to to any damage. I did as Dave suggested and gave both tanks a good double dose of Chemtec. I than went for a 40k drive around town and back, using diesel from both tanks. Then I checked the colour of the diesel by undoing the tap at the bottom of the filter and filling up a glass jar. The colour was right and there wasn't any crap in it.
I will
check the diesel each day until the next fill up.
Here's to fingers crossed that I got it in time, and how lucky is that?
Vehicle maintenance is such an important part of owning a 4WD or any other vehicle for that matter. It pays to
check things even if they are not due for inspection or replacement.
Thanks for every bodies input.