Squeaky Leaf Springs

G'day All

Springs on the back of my 75 tray back which are only a year old have been squeaking for quite some time now and starting to get a bit annoying, I had the back wheels off the other day checking the brakes on the back and thought i would investigate. Couldnt see anything abnormal so i sprayed the leafs with Lanolin spray.

I put the wheels back on and finished doing what i was doing and went for a drive and it was magic!! not a sound came out of them, this only lasted about 2 weeks though as they are starting to do it again

What do you recommend i do or put on them to try eliminate this noise for a longer period or for good??

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:29

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:29
Wind the windows up and turn up the stereo. Hahaha
AnswerID: 394240

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:48

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:48
Kroozer
Thats a silly answer mate, LOL

A. He has no stereo it's a 75
B. Wind the windows up (without A/C) is not an option ether with the Tojo.

HeHeHe, Colin.

FollowupID: 662483

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:52

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:52
OK so he's got a Kenwood after market Stereo, no need to wind up the windows then. Not so silly after all. LOL
FollowupID: 662485

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:58

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:58
She has a perfectly good air con and more than enough noise comes out of the 7x10's

didnt jump on here to give you's two something to laugh about. Dont make me run over the top of that prado Kroozer ya cheeky dog

I did get one sensible answer by the looks of it

FollowupID: 662487

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:17

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:17
HAHAHAHA poor fella.
You sure its not your spine squeaking from the harsh ride.
Dont have that problem with coils.

My guess is its the rubbers squeaking, or crap between the leaves maybe.

Try spray them with some silicone spray or try and get some graphite powder in there. See how that goes, doing only one section of leaf at a time. That way you can narrow it down to which part is causing the squeak.
FollowupID: 662490

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 20:54

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 20:54
Sorry Tukka mate, it was just your turn to have a dig at, no hard feelings eh.

Hope you sort your noise out Tukka, that can be very annoying.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 662499

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:55

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:55
Nah no hard feelings, I must have to get the car on an angle to open the springs up to get the graphite powder in i spose. Got told not to use silicon spray because it only attracts more dust.

Need to take her for a dip in an oil bath
FollowupID: 662566

Reply By: dedster - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:46

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:46
G'day Tukka,
Spraying with lanolin or any other wet/moist lubricant is going to be a bigger problem down the track as dust will stick to it and it will create a lapping effect. Your best bet would be to apply graphite as it is in dry form and it does not allow dust and other foreign particles to stick to it. Good luck with it.
Dedster
AnswerID: 394246

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:46

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 18:46
You might have to get them pulled apart and replace the plastic spacers in between the leaves.
While you re there ,you may as well do the bushes
AnswerID: 394247

Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:29

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:29
They squeek , dont worry about it . The springs on my troopy squeek and clang around corners .
AnswerID: 394253

Reply By: Serendipity (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:39

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:39
Hi Tukka

I had this problem with my old cruiser ute. What makes them squeak for my guess is those little u shaped brackets that align the leaf springs. Things to check are the U bolts over the diff. Were they changed with the new leaf springs - they usually are.

The real problem is if your car is crabbing a bit. the squeaking is the rear diff realigning all the time and the brackets squeaking. You could try insulating those brackets and see how the noise is then.

Also check the measurements from front diff to rear. Measure from the U bolts to U bolts.

Some of the older utes get a bit of a twist in the chassis and there is just not much you can do - the back axle will crab a bit.

Just my knowledge from experience. Give it a go.

AnswerID: 394256

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 20:04

Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 20:04
Did they put NOLATHANE bushes in when they replaced the springs.

They are the worlds worst things for squeaking known to man.

Had some in a taxi once and they drove me mad so put the old rubber ones back.

AnswerID: 394264

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 00:22

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 00:22
Leaf springs rely on the friction between the leaves for much of their self damping.
If you lubricate them you run a serious risk of breaking leaves.
Dinkum!

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 394317

Follow Up By: trainslux - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 10:20

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 10:20
Thats surprising to hear, as most new spring packs come pre lubed between the leaves from the factory.
Ive come across some with graphite type coating, slipper pads with grease nipples and greased with moly grease.

Yes the leaves by their action, do some self damping, however to say that they will break if they are lubed is a comment I am not so sure of.

Common practice to open up an older leaf pack, and clean, and re grease them and the car drives far better, ride height may be improved relating to uneven ride height etc.

Trains
FollowupID: 662568

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 12:03

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 12:03
True, a (very) few are greased new (mostly old pommy stuff?), but if they were not, don't, is my advise.

FollowupID: 662589

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 12:04

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 12:04
Toyotas don't have greased spring leaves as far as I know....

FollowupID: 662590

Reply By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:57

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 09:57
Thanks for the feed back all.

Thats given me a bit more of an idea but i spose if not, ill just have to put up with it

AnswerID: 394346