Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 19:09
Scottx
G'day there
Sitting at a set of traffic lights yesterday and the indicators stopped working. No worries Repco not far away, went in and asked for a flasher unit to suit a 91 model troopy, bloke said "no listing, have to go genuine". Called in to Ashdowns and got the same reply but as he said he knew what he was doing he sold me a flasher unit that would do the job. Put it in when I got home and it would blow fuse as soon as indicators turned on. Bummer, have to go genuine, Toyota wanted $126 for the flasher unit.
I went past the local auto electrician to check if they had one to suit, "yeah mate got the exact one to suit" $30 no worries, all good now.
Question is if Repco and Ashdowns don't stock or list these flasher units I'm wondering where the sparky orders it from. I didn't want to ask him cause I don't know him
well enough, I'm not after saving a few bucks either but I'm was curious thats all.
Scott
Reply By: mowing - Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 23:23
Tuesday, Dec 08, 2009 at 23:23
Scott, You are not asking him for a date!
If you want to know, tell him the truth and just say how good his price is and how does he do it. In other words make him feel that he is a great bloke. If he doesn't want to tell you then he won't.
Reply By: Simon C - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 14:53
Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 14:53
I need to repalce one in a 80 series landcrusier wagon....( i know not a troopy as in the subject line), but Toyota wanted $135.00, and I called in to SUNSHINE STATE SPARE PARTS (QLD) at Archerfield (
Brisbane), and he had them on the shelf for $25.00. I did have the number written down somewhere, but since got rid of the 80 series...
Simon C