Nissan patrol 05 model 3.0l turbo intercooler

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 19:43
ThreadID: 74297 Views:7677 Replies:8 FollowUps:28
Hello im looking at buying a 2005 model nissan patrol 3.0 liter turbo intercooler.

Can anyone give me some information on them please. EG, reliablity,fuel consumtion,mechanical reliability and so forth would be great.

Thanks Wayne.

Reply By: Member - Kevin B1 (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:12

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:12
Have a look at post 74281 below. Another grenade explodes.
AnswerID: 394419

Reply By: oldpop - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:14

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:14

Dont do it see earlier thread

Oldpop
AnswerID: 394421

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:18

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:18
Do a search Wayne, there is a million things on here about that engine.

1. Reliability = woeful, they CAN blow up, ANY YEAR model with a variable vane turbo linked to a MAF sensor is suspect. The only 3ltr that has yet to blow up is the current Common Rail engines.
2. Fuel cons. Pretty good
3. Mechanical other that engine exellent

Look also on the patrol forum for 3ltr problems you will find enough reading for a year or two.
Cheers, Colin.
AnswerID: 394422

Reply By: PatrolBen - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:50

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 20:50
Wayne, the best thing if you want to find out about the 3.0l ZD30 motor is to join patrol4x4.com and do some extensive searching and reading on the topic.

There have been cases of engine failure but a massive decline after 2002. There is only two cases I am aware of 05 models; 1 within 2000kms ownership of buying it secondhand (so service history cant be assured) and another used as a sales reps car (which I am very sure got maintained by the book - not).

There are mandatory modifications to be done to the engine; mainly an EGT (Exhaust Gas Temperature) gauge for $300 and a few other $40 things, and these are explained in great reason and justification on patrol4x4. On the post referred to above the engine has been run above reccomended levels (a pyro temp of 550C) in what I believe to be a too low set boost level. You run any motor with a too hot combustion temp and you will get many nasty things happen.

With a chip, exhaust and a few simple mods the ZD30 will put out approx 140kw / 420Nm and will have a very long life giving many benefits over the old clunkers.

My reccomendation would be to head on over to patrol4x4.com where you will get a more informed response. I do not own a ZD30 patrol but unlike owners of other engine type GUs I do not bury my head firmly in the sand and hysterically scream everytime I hear 3.0l. :)
AnswerID: 394424

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:45

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:45
Ben, it is good to see someone give good sound advice. Well submitted.
FollowupID: 662698

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:57

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 21:57
Shouldnt have to watch gauges and crap on a factory turbo vehicle.

FollowupID: 662700

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 22:03

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 22:03
Buy an Autometer EGT gauge and sensor for $148 plus postage $41 here

www.atlanticspeed.com Good to deal with gets here in a week

send message to Pete he looks after you.
FollowupID: 662702

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 22:06

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 22:06
Make sure you ge a metric version

A 5744M is a white face Phantom and is what I have

Look in my Profile for pics of how its mounted in car
FollowupID: 662703

Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 22:16

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 22:16
"Shouldnt have to watch gauges and crap on a factory turbo vehicle"

Ok we will take that philosophy and delete your fuel gauge (thats what a fuel light is for), we will delete the temp gauge (who looks at that anyway), dont need the tacho (thats what ears are for), the handbrake light (jeez should be able to tell when thats on), those indicator lights are simply there for decoration as well. Those little lights on the dash telling you where your auto trannys at, optional extras in your view.

All new electronic diesels should have an ECU linked pyrometer, but as they dont we have to take precautions.

Technology has its vices, but they are controllable, and I will take technology (withs its superior output, economy and NVH) over the old style motors.

To me the 1HZ, 2H, TD42 (and variants), the 200Tdi and 300Tdi where all obselete from launch. GM Detroit had the edge with its 53 Series 2 strokes until common rail came onto the scene.

And yes they had gauges too.

FollowupID: 662713

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 23:53

Wednesday, Dec 09, 2009 at 23:53
What a stupid reply.

Just face the fact that the ZD30 is a piece of crap and an absolute disaster for Nissans reputation. Most people wouldnt even use them for an anchor.
FollowupID: 662745

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 00:01

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 00:01
Also while your fitting the EGT gauge, your best fitting Gearbox,Diff and Transfer Case temp gauges, tyre pressure monitors, weather station, rain gauge, oil temp gauge, windscreen washer temp and pressure gauges, air conditioning gas level gauge, inclinomtetre, fuel temp gauge, anxiety gauge, fatigue gauge and most importantly a Decibel gauge so when it does go bang you can say exactly how loudly it went.
FollowupID: 662747

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 02:35

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 02:35
"...anxiety gauge,..."

you're on the money with this one, I reckon.....................

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 662754

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 06:52

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 06:52
Then the late model slab sided jobbie I was following on the highway east of Fitzroy Crossing when it grenaded eariler this year was a figment of my imagination?
It was towing a van and the driver already had his satphone out ringing Nissan by the time I stopped. Huge cloud of smoke, blue/black then white, then no more.
FollowupID: 662758

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 07:38

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 07:38
Peter you DID see one go, that's exactly what happens, from an observers perspective out side the vehicle.

The only thing you would not have noticed as it's too quite to hear from the outside was the "tinkle" noise of the piston expiring, it sounds just like a chandelier rattling, then comes the smoke as described perfectly by you.

No you must have seen it, it was no illusion.

Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 662764

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 08:05

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 08:05
The 'funny' part about it was that the owner wasn't at all perturbed by it expiring, was just of the view that "oh well it's gone boom, move on"
FollowupID: 662766

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 18:15

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 18:15
Kroozer is dead right

You shouldnt have to worry about looking at extra gauges!!

Only thing you should have to worry about in a 'real car' is watching the fuel gauge going down and keeping an eye on the temp

PatrolBen there is no need to carry on and say delete indicator lights and temp gauges.
FollowupID: 662841

Follow Up By: Damian007 - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 23:12

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 23:12
Kroozer is absolutely right. Shouldn't have to fit a pyrometer on this type of vehicle. It's in fact not necessary anyway. What are you gonna do with the pyrometer fitted? What? Fitting a pyrometer to a Nissan is going to stop it from Disintergrating? I doubt it. When I was working on these Nissans, they were pulling the pin at any time. Some at 5,000kms, Some at 50,000kms. Nothing will save one of these Nissans. They're a poor design to start with and that's all there is to it.

Only way to fix a Nissan is to replace it with a Pajero... LOL...

FollowupID: 662898

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 23:51

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 23:51
the 1HD FTE is a far superiour engine to the ZD30 in all respects, power, fuel consumption, reliability and its not common rail and is far less complex than ZD30.
FollowupID: 663495

Reply By: OREJAP - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 10:40

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 10:40
I agree with the idea of reading posts & forum comments on the vehicle you are considering. I am very fortunate in that the job I have I drive many different 4X4 vehicles. They all have their good & bad points. I decided on the Pajero because I did not want to fit extra gauges, chips or other performance components, the vehicle goes exceptionally well and meets my requirements. I have driven two T/D Jackaroos when they decided to "Grenade" not my vehicle owned by the company but not a nice feeling especially when the vehicle was travelling at the speed limit ,NOT towing or under any strain & with an excellent service record....I am sorry Jack owners, you just wouldn't buy one. I can recall a 4WDOTY test by a popular 4WD Magazine a few years ago. The best vehicle tested (Up to the water crossing) was the Disco 3 T/D. It was way ahead of the mighty T/D Cruiser, Patrol, Pajero & Rangie until a minor creek crossing nth of Townsville. All vehicles were properly prepared for the water with a cover over the front of the vehicle with the water depth up to nearly the top of the wheels. Every vehicle made it through then all of a sudden the Disco trembled and shuddered, the suspension dropped to highway mode,dash lights flashed & the vehicle stopped & could not be restarted even after numerous phone calls to Land Rover. The vehicle was $87.500 worth!!! Imagine buying a vehicle that for no real reason just stops enroute to cape York with your camper trailer on the back & your family on board for the trip of a lifetime. NO THANKS. Insurance....don't buy a vehicle that has a bad history....Cruisers & Pajero's for me especially the new DiD Common rail NT.....I couldn't afford the V8 Turbo Cruiser but value for $$$$ the Pajero is a winner in my honest opinion & SWMBO loves it....happy wife = happy life.
AnswerID: 394478

Reply By: ajd - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 14:28

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 14:28
I don't normally post on this website, as it usually results in a tirade of abuse from various members, but being a Patrol owner I usually read the posts regarding Nissan vehicles.

One thing I have noticed is that most people who post replies in the Patrol/Nissan threads seem to be Toyota owners.

Curious.

AnswerID: 394497

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 16:20

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 16:20
Toyota owners just have more time on thier hands because they have no problems eh!
FollowupID: 662826

Follow Up By: anglepole - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 16:48

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 16:48
You are so right. It is interesting that the most criticism comes from a Prado owner mmmm.

Probably suffering from ''cognitive dissidence"
FollowupID: 662828

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 17:18

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 17:18
anglepole, I know i can jump in my Prado and drive off into the sunset without having to watch gauges and with total piece of mind. ZD30 owners cant say the same. The proof is in the pudding, enough said.
FollowupID: 662833

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 18:11

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 18:11
Only because we love getting a kick out of hearing these things explode and carry on

Keep up the good threads
FollowupID: 662840

Follow Up By: jamesw - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:28

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:28
Jump into your Prado and drive off into the sunset. That's a good idea. Then we wouldn''t have to read the " I drive a Toyota and that makes me better than you" rubbish all the time.
FollowupID: 662880

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 04:18

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 04:18
Come on jamesw im not trying to start a Toyota/Nissan war, just stating the facts about the ZD30. I would go a 4.2 Nissan anyday at the right price, but i wouldnt touch a ZD30 no matter how many k's, gauges, precautions were taken. does anyone know the failure rate of these engines, i dare say it wouldnt be anywhere near that of the Nissan 4.2 or Nissan RB30 etc. Major failure. Give me a Toyota or Nissan anyday over anything else. But like i said, the proof is in the pudding. Now, to catch that sunset.....
FollowupID: 662904

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 17:11

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 17:11
I was going to make a constructive comment in this thread - seeing I was the one PatrolBen mentioned at 2000km - but I just can't stand the bickering between you all.

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 394643

Follow Up By: westozal - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 23:14

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 23:14
HI Malcom,
Us Isuzu D-Max owners must have more commonsense than these guy's. We just know we are perfect....
Oh yes had a 2004 3 Ltr Patrol and had absolutely nil problems with it. But in saying that didnt like living with the potential for problems either.
Alan.

Seasons Greetings to All.
FollowupID: 663357

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 11:52

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 11:52
G'Day Alan

I originally had a 2003 ZD30 auto and did 50K in it (100K->150K). Didn't even know there was a problem with them until I bought the 2005 lemon.

The D-MAX is going great. 2600km on the clock now ;-) At least I can trust it.

Seasons Greetings also.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 663397

Reply By: howesy - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 23:36

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 23:36
Granted its not the ZD30 itself but an associated part that causes the catastrophic failures but at the end of the day it only takes one 20 cent part to give an engine a bad name and a reputation for unreliability. Like I said the other day a prominent workshop I went to laughed and said these Nissans keep us in business.

EGT guages and boost guages are all good sound advice but they too are only going to give you early warning that your sensors are causing havoc and putting your engine at risk which is good because you can get to a service centre before damage occurs but if these guages tell you you have a problem half way accross the simpson your stuffed you have no choice but to complete your journry and possibly blow the sucker up. Personally I would never even consider a ZD30 If your a gambler by all means otherwise Go the 4.2.
just my opinion no doubt others will disagree and there are also ones that have behaved perfectly. My mates ran like clockwork he drives it like a baby had 160 on the clock and just cost him $10,000 for the rebuild.
AnswerID: 394958

Follow Up By: whitiepatrol4x4 - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:27

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:27
howesy, 99% of the time that the 3ltr fails is due to a faulty MAF sensor which is a real shame because engine damage can be avoided. The ECU does not have an EGT sensor feeding back to it that the MAF is telling porkies so it does what it is told and fuels the motor according to the MAF.

As said before, Nissan is not alone with this design however the remedy is quite simple - for less than the price of moving the spare wheel to the rear bumper on a cruiser one can install boost and EGT gauges which will protect the motor from owners unknowingly driving them past their operational limits.

Regarding having a faulty MAF in the bush, I would have thought that we could take a bit of personal responsibility here. If you are heading out to a remote place, it is expected that you have some basic knowledge of your vehicle and that you have taken adequate spares.

With a modern vehicle, one of the spares in the kit has to be a MAF and IMHO this is regardless of manufacturer.

In this computer age it is too simple to jump onto your relevant vehicles forum and ask what spares should be taken for an extended or remote trip - it would surprise me greatly if the people in the know did not suggest that you include a MAF in the kit.

Whitie
FollowupID: 663424

Follow Up By: howesy - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 19:30

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 19:30
See what ya saying but realistically how many people think to carry a spare MAF and its not 100% proven that is the problem and the guages whilst I too recommend them are not protection merely a warning device to give the driver an opportunity to avoid damage.

My self I wouldnt take any of these electronic mine fields out in the middle of no where.
I looked at the new V8 cruiser ute. Goes great with a knock sensor over each cylinder and more ancillary electronics than the space shuttle. If I ever took one of them out to remote parts I reckon you would have to take a lap top a trailer full of spares and your electronics engineers certificate to be safe.

Its the way of the future thats why I chose to stick with the old girl , might be a tad slower but its a simple engine with next to stuff all electrics.
FollowupID: 663456

Follow Up By: whitiepatrol4x4 - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 22:23

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 22:23
Believe it or not, I am reasonably comfortable to take the trol out remote bush with the gauges and a MAF as the electronics are still quite basic. If you are going to go swimming, thats another story - water and electronics do not mix.

There have been very few real mechanical issues with the motor from the series III onwards (ones not caused by the MAF) and even with the rest of the electronics. The next biggest show stopper is problems with the injection pump due to bad fuel which effects all motors.

Enjoy the old girl as I am sure when next you are in the market for a new turbo diesel it will have three times the sensors than the current motors have and the sensors / ECU will be much harder to fool.
FollowupID: 663484

Follow Up By: howesy - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 22:29

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 22:29
Yeah its just a personal preference I guess thats what makes us buy the trucks we end up with it comes down to personal preference.
Take care and have a safe xmas.
FollowupID: 663487