2009 Hilux TD fuel economy

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 18:43
ThreadID: 74316 Views:5925 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
G'Day,

Just wanted to know how others are finding their latest model Hilux (2005 on)3.0 TD fuel economy works out?

Mine is almost new and works out to approx 10.8l per 100kms empty & not hauling anything.

Does that sounds right?

Supertramp

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:58

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:58
BIL said when his had 20,000kms he could get 700k on the highway, which equates to 10L/100km with no load. That was with the standard H/T 15'' wheels.

He recently changed to 265/65R17 A/T and on way back from Perth other day he was only just getting 600kms out of a tank. I thought that was pretty poor and might be something more then just the wheels giving this. I would think thought there would have been minimal difference if any. Bigger wheel= less revs.
AnswerID: 394535

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:12

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:12
G'day Kroozer. They will also show less mileage on the odometer for the same distance travelled. Dont think it would equate to 100 klm though. Bob.
FollowupID: 662862

Reply By: Fatso - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:41

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:41
Supertramp, you obviously passed maths & know how to work out your fuel economy.
I don't own a 3L hilux, but you would be pretty close to the norm I reckon.
One of the problems I have found with people stating their fuel economy is that 9 out of 10 either don't know how to accurately work it out or just bull bleep .
If on a good downwind run on good fuel at a good speed they get a good economy that will become their stated economy from then on irregardless of the economy upwind on bleep fuel at high speed.
My Patrol has got up to just on 10L/100 on its best ever run. It has also been down to 20L/100. I tell people it gets between 12.5 & 14L/100 which is more the norm.
This "so much on a tank" way of stating economy is about the second most inaccurate way you could work out economy unless you completely emptied the tank. The most inaccurate would have to be "so much on half a tank". Both not worth taking notice of.
AnswerID: 394540

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:01

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:01
Isn't that just the truth Fatso!

Try to tell people to record all fuel that goes into a car , with little notes as correction for other wheels , load, high wind or out of normal speeds and only then over the long term does your data become real.
FollowupID: 662873

Follow Up By: Serendipity (WA) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 22:34

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 22:34
All too true there Fatso

I often find some unbelievable numbers people quote.

To get around the math difficulties I purchased a scan gauge and now it gives me my fuel economy readings. One is real time as I drive and the other is average over the trip I am on at the time. And the other reading is average per tank full. And my fuel seems to be some what like what you get Fatso.

FollowupID: 662894

Reply By: Wilk0 - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 22:46

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 22:46
Hi Supertramp,

I'll ask a mate who's got one and does some loaded up travelling.

FYI I get between 11.5 unloaded goin very easy to 14-15lt loaded for my rodeo.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 394556

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 09:48

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 09:48
I've got 10 -11 out of mine for the last 70,000km, no load or towing on 225 r 16's.

I reakon it could be better if I had the other 2 faulty injectors replaced.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 394581

Reply By: nickoff - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 10:31

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 10:31
Similar vehicle,

2007 2 x 4 Ford Ranger,manual. 40K on the clock. Heavy fibreglass canopy, no load.

Average around town about 9.4L/100Km. Have been as low as 8.75 L/100Km.

Fuel reciepts, and scan gauge.

One thing the scan gauge has taught me, is that I was changing into 5th gear too early.

Anything below 80 KpH and I was using more fuel (About 1.5 L/100Km) more in 5th that 4th.

Also, highway cruise, best speed for economy by the scan gauge 95 KpH. Again, 105 KpH added about 1.5 L/100Km usage.

Scan Gauge, best investment I ever made, and as a bonus, it tells me trouble codes, and allows me to clear them too.
AnswerID: 394593

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 17:52

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 17:52
Interesting differences in consumption. We have the Mazda BT50 equivalent, twin cab, 07 model, 4x2 manual, canopy & 39000 on the clock. These vehicles have a 3 Litre CRD intercooled turbo donk.

When I check fuel consumption I fill up, zero the trip meter & note Litres when next filling & then calculate litres used per 100 K. I am not a believer in so many ks to the tank method.

Around town empty the best I can manage is 11.5 to 12 Litres per 100 K & on the expressway at 100 to 110 KMH about 9.5 to 10 Litres 100 K.

Towing an 18 foot pop top with a loaded weight of app 1800Kg & travelling at 80 to 85 KMH and in fourth we consistently return 12.5 to 13 Litres per 100 K and travelling at 95 to 100 KMH we consistently return 14.5 to 15.5 litres per 100K. Head winds & hills don't seem to make much difference, particularly at the slower speeds. Cheers
FollowupID: 662986

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 01:11

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 01:11
how does the scan gauge hook up? are they hard to install?
FollowupID: 663854

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 10:51

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 10:51
I have the 2005 Auto Turbo Diesel and after replacing my injectors I get 700KM's on the highway , with the fuel warning light on. (I have around 6-8 litres of fuel left in the tank so I believe 750KMs highway is achievable)

I have 17" ROH Wheels with Pirelli Scorpion ATR Tyres and a Steinbauer Power Module Dual Cab Automatic with no load. 660 Around town stop start with 6-8 litres left in the tank.
AnswerID: 394598

Reply By: loanarranger - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:52

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:52
I have recently returned from a trip Newcastle to Broome and return in a Hilux t/d auto pulling a 7 x 4 trailer set up with a shippeshape roof top tent on the trailer. Rear tray was full of gear. Trailer was carrying a light load, two spares and 2 fuel containers. Fuel consumption was usually around 12.5l per 100km's. Interestingly, the closer I got to home, say, from St George on , economy improved to approx 11 to 11.5 l/100km. A run from Broome to Barn Hill of approx saw economy in the vicinity 9.5km / 100km. Cruise control was set on 100km which equated to 92km actual using GPS.
With mixed driving conditions, you should be happy with 10.8l /100kms.
Now all I have to do is to work out how to get my 200 series t/d to return these figures pulling 2 tonne Evernew caravan.
AnswerID: 395347

Reply By: Stu-k - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 08:41

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 08:41
I get 10.5 pretty much all the time, drive it fairly hard empty and a bit nicer when loaded. Its an 07 auto
AnswerID: 395382