Rotors for Troopy

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:30
ThreadID: 74318 Views:4461 Replies:10 FollowUps:26
My Troopy (TD 2004) needs new front Rotors and possibly pads, yet too look. Where is the best place to source these and should I replace the pads at the same time? Also, is everyone else who owns a Troopy annoyed with the braking performance, or lack of it I should say. The brakes have been woeful since new. I mentioned this to Toyota and they said they checked and everything was fine. One stealer in response to my query looked at the car and said “mmm, lot of gear bolted on to it” And he is correct, it is heavy. This is the 3rd Troopy I have owned and all of them have had poor braking, this one the worst possibly because it has the most stuff on it. Any suggestions? Are there softer pads around? Sure they might chew out quite but they might work in the meantime?
Cheers Lyndon
Ps. I don’t think I could “lock” it up on a road after an oil spill! ?
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

Reply By: Member - RobnJane(VIC) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:47

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:47
Hi Lyndon,

Pads should definately be replaced whenever new rotors are fitted. Can't help with your queries re brake performance.

It may be worth following through with one of the obsvervations made and have the rig weighed just to see how heavy it is and then discuss further with the Dealer or others.

Rgds,

Rob.
RobnJane

AnswerID: 394533

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:52

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:52
Err, not sure if my conscience will allow me to keep driving on the road if I get it weighed :-)

FollowupID: 662857

Reply By: Fatso - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:55

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:55
DBA (I think that is short for Disc Brakes Australia), if they are available for your model, make a pretty good rotor. Usually a lot cheaper than genuine & near the quality.
QFM ( Queensland Friction materials) produce nice soft pads for quite a few vehicles. Have to check with them for your model.
Most cabs run DBA rotors & up our way they all run QFM pads.
AnswerID: 394534

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:59

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:59
Thanks Skinny :-)

FollowupID: 662858

Follow Up By: Fatso - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:18

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:18
Been a long time since I was called skinny
FollowupID: 662864

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:19

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:19
Lol

FollowupID: 662865

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:17

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:17
lyndon,
If you change the rotors make sure you put slotted rotors on.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 662877

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 08:21

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 08:21
Why is that Dave?

FollowupID: 662909

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 11:04

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 11:04
Slotted rotors have better stopping power and disperse the heat better, As brakes heat up they don't stop as good as they should. If your truck is as heavy as mine then your brakes would be working very hard and possibly getting very hot quickly.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 662936

Follow Up By: Catfish - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:48

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:48
Hi Lyndon,

I can vouch for QFM pads, I have them on my Patrol and my Hilux and they are great.

Good pedal feel, excellent stopping ability, no noise, no dust and bugger all rotor wear!

Best of luck

Chris.
FollowupID: 663022

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:25

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:25

Do Troopies have a proportioning valve on the rear diff? I know most utes have one . On my GU trayback I was annoyed by the lack of braking and ajusted the valve right up and locked it on and now have half decent brakes.
Before , the front brakes were doing all the work. Still not perfect but at least now the rear drums get warm.

Cheers Teza
AnswerID: 394539

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:35

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:35
Good thinking, I think It might. Had them do all that about three times when I first got the car :(

FollowupID: 662869

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 00:03

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 00:03
all of them have them. After putting up with really crappy brakes on my 80 a near miss had me looking a bit further to find the rear discs were rusting through lack of use.....................
after the rear proportioning valve was replaced it went from zero to hero in the stopping stakes - probabally the best braking vehicle I have owned
FollowupID: 662901

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 08:23

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 08:23
Rear pads wore out in 40k so i'm guessing they are working

FollowupID: 662910

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:44

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:44
Yep weigh it brakes are built to stop standard ones not weighing half a ton over weight.

Perhaps a full brake upgrade would be in order.

Failing that marine stores sell anchors of varying weights and efficiency LOL.

Probably get a Nissan grenade that has gone off and would do the job

AnswerID: 394541

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:56

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:56
covs here in the west have a special on dba rotors this month
FollowupID: 662872

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:08

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:08
Lyndon, check out ebay as they have slotted rotors for sale on there, supposed to give better braking performance... I haven't tried them yet, will be replacing my rotors shortly though. Just a thought. If you do fit them, can you let us know if there is any performance gain? Good luck. John

AnswerID: 394546

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 14:06

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 14:06
will let you know how I go John. I need to do the bearings and adjust the hand brake so may as well do the whole lot at once.
Cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 663263

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:42

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:42
Supercheap have the DBA slotted rotors on special this week for $89 each.
You'll need DBA790SL and DBA790SR for the fronts, and
DBA794SL and DBA794SR for the rears. I'll see about getting some myself tomorrow!

Common advice I've heard is to use slotted rotors with the Bendix 4wd pads. But others seem to like the factory pads.
AnswerID: 394549

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 09:06

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 09:06
G'day Phill

Don't know if you'll get those part no.s for those prices, but if you do, it's a steal

FollowupID: 662912

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 17:18

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 17:18
Gday Steve,
Its store stock only. I got a pair of fronts for $89 each from Supercheap Kilkenny. They didn't have rears in stock - would have been about $180 each to get them in. So I'm pretty happy with the fronts. Big shed day coming up in the new year! Its not my favourite store, but that was a good price for quality parts.
FollowupID: 662983

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:32

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 18:32
Phil,
I went around and checked at the disc rotors at the Penrith Supercheap store.

They had the rotors for $89:00 each, but only had right hand side and because it is floor stock at that price, the left hand side would have been full price.

FollowupID: 662997

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 22:45

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 22:45
Wayne,
Thats a pity. The first Supacheap I went into (thebarton) had two lefts and no rights, but they rang up the Kilkenny store who put aside a right and left for me. Normal price is $129.

I'm off to the Vic High Country first thing tomorrow - looking forwrad to a break!

phil
FollowupID: 663052

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 23:35

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 23:35
Phil,

I was down that way a couple of weeks ago. Tracks are open although progress was slow because of a few trees across the track. The rivers are not too high but the water is cold and flowing quick.

I will be back down that way after Christmas through until the middle of January.

FollowupID: 663057

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 07:09

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 07:09
Thanks wayne,
That's good to know.
FollowupID: 663068

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 17:37

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 17:37
I just got a pair of fronts from supercheap in Darwin for $89 a piece, so thanks for putting me on to that one! They said the rears are never carried as floor stock. Quoted $156 each for the rears.
cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 663439

Reply By: ctaplin - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:51

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:51
Having had the pleasure of trying to snatch your troopy out of bottomless mud, I know how heavy that sucker is!
After that trying to lift each corner up out of the mud with a high lift jack was near impossible even with a 100kg bloke (me) putting all his weight on the jack handle!

I think it might be the weight, mate!!!

This is the reason that manufacturers have gone to larger diameter wheels so that larger disc rotors can be fitted to try and get acceptable braking performance from heavy 4WDs.

AnswerID: 394551

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 08:29

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 08:29
If I remember correctly it to two of us on the high lift jack on one corner! What's this 100 kg?? To much walkabout food Chris???? :-) I myself am down to 84 kg :-)
Lyndon
Ps, did you get the "heavy duty" ladder option on your roof top tent to allow for this expansion?

FollowupID: 662911

Follow Up By: ctaplin - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 23:16

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 23:16
Nah, it's probably the TEDs mate!

Although at this time of year, I reckon I'll drop a few kg's as the sweat just pours out of you all day if you're working outside!

Last time I weighed, I was in the low ninety kilo range with boots & all.

BTW: The ladder has has it's welds tested by several of our staff, not that they could lift their likely 140kg weight up more than a rung or two...

FollowupID: 663054

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 22:01

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 22:01
Lyndon on my previous Troopy I changed the rear pads to a softer compound and it did help to a degree.
I agree with the view its weight related, the buggers are pretty heavy when fitted out.

Would also be interested to see if changing to slotted rotors makes a difference, keep us posted on the results.

AnswerID: 394552

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 22:53

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 22:53
Lyndon,
Somewhere sometime I was told the calipers off a 105 Series wagon will fit a Troopy and offer more pistons per corner than standard.

Please research this before jumping in as it was my great aunts cousins sisters canary that told the budgie about this one!

Get my drift?

How many k's has your Troopy got on the rotors?

AnswerID: 394558

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 14:12

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 14:12
Thanks Geoff, 69K. About 45k of that towing a 2 ton unbraked trailer.
Cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 663264

Follow Up By: Fatso - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:31

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:31
Lyndon, 2 tonne unbraked. No wonder you can't pull up (lol)
FollowupID: 663332

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 01:57

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 01:57
2 tonne unbraked trailer? I think you should be off the road altogether. One would think you have no consideration for the safety of others. Add the weight of your truck and i am pretty sure you could wear the label of ''Hazard''.

FollowupID: 663370

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 15:15

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 15:15
Well I won't completely disagree with you. However I never ran up anyone's backside in towing it in city traffic for 13 years. Glad not to be pulling it around anymore though! And no, the poor braking performance is not with the trailer on the back :-)

FollowupID: 663584

Reply By: Haza - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 22:58

Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 22:58
You could try these guys, I brought some gear from them and found them good, offered good postage rates.

http://www.4h.com.au/

I have no affliation with them just a happy customer.
AnswerID: 394560