You out there Hairy?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 19:18
ThreadID: 74335 Views:4879 Replies:11 FollowUps:11
I read the Alice Springs News last night http://www.alicespringsnews.com.au/ and was horrified when I learnt you bunch of Red necks in Scrubby town were going to cull the cute furry Camels. Heavens above man have you no soul!

Just because you wake up one morning with three hundred Camels in your back yard, every one get’s hysterical. Be a decent bloke and give them a cuddle and reassurance.

The next thing I’d do is contact Centre Link and give the Camels water payments, administered by the newly formed Department of Camel Rights and Tree Hugging Protection (DCRTHP).

Fair Dinkum, the older I get, the sillier this country becomes!

PS a Merry Chistmas to you and the family

Kim

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 22:12

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 22:12
Kim

"Fair Dinkum, the older I get, the sillier this country becomes"

you sure you got that the right way round? LOL

AnswerID: 394689

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 23:05

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 23:05
Well you might think they're are all nice and fluffy and in need of a hug Kim but I beg to differ.

I've seen it first hand; they are quite literally destroying the environment out there. They need to be stopped, and not only at Docker River either and it certainly is not a laughing matter - maybe to you.

Kill them, kill them all, and bring some equilibrium back to the outback.

AnswerID: 394697

Reply By: Member - Effie C (NT) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 23:42

Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 23:42
Hardly in Alice, almost on the WA border quite a distance from here and they defintely don't need a cuddle
Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

AnswerID: 394705

Follow Up By: handy - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 07:37

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 07:37
i lived and worked at hermannsburg for a couple of years and there is a few around there, one of the best steaks i ve had was fresh eye fillet off a young one.
FollowupID: 663373

Reply By: Off-track - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 00:39

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 00:39
Err, methinks Kim has tongue firmly planted in cheek...
AnswerID: 394709

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 02:51

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 02:51
Kim... works for the government........ ;-() Tongue maybe planted in different cheek... LOL
FollowupID: 663063

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:03

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:03
Gidday

Tongue in cheek it was. Some of the blokes on here need to get a sense of humour!

But, if you want me to get serious.....

I fully support the proposed culling of Camels which are reported to be between 700,000 and 1,000,000 throughout NT, WA and SA.

They are another introduced animal and need to be controlled.

Some ‘experts’ suggest the population will double within the next nine years which is of great concern to graziers, particularly in WA.

Kim
FollowupID: 663304

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:40

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:40

What exactly is your problem? Half the time when I put a post on here, you have a go, be it humorous, Informative or whatever.

Your negative comments aren’t appreciated and I’m getting a bit aggravated by your attitude.

You’ve been on this site long enough to know that Hairy and I take the bleep out of each other regularly, but still talk in a manner that’s respectful.

I don’t take lightly to your comments that I’m a council worker, and by definition, I’m a drop kick. When is the last time you put in 60 hours a week for a meagre pay?

So drop it!

Kim
FollowupID: 663339

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 00:00

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 00:00
Sorry Kim.

Didn't realise I has doing that. and didn't know you where just a council worker, I read somewhere on this site that you worked for the government.. must have read it wrong. sorry

ps. the rest was an attempt at humor...LOL
FollowupID: 663360

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 05:33

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 05:33
I wouldn't mind helping out !
AnswerID: 394712

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 07:46

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 07:46
Kim,
I can see the headlines now," Big Game Hunters arrive in the Territory to cull one of the most dangerous animals on the planet "

A local spokesperson has told the camels to spit on the big game hunters.

In retaliation the big game hunters have come back with.
If it moves shoot it and if it doesn't move shoot it in case it does move. Double points will be awarded to those claiming road signs as trophies.
AnswerID: 394722

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 11:03

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 11:03
Feral as in introduced , wild camels ,pigs , foxes , rabbits , cats , water buffalo, ect ect shoot the lot ,
AnswerID: 394752

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:55

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:55
The most disappointing thing about this proposed cull is that the media gives time to any looney greenie dingbat, particularly if they reside overseas, voicing their opinion and recommending tourists don't come to Australia because we are killing camels.

That's why the media is banned from the area and there's even an area of closed airspace.

Personally I'd love to be out there joining in. Get a few .3030 rounds off from my Marlin lever action.

Let me at it....

When we lived in Madang in PNG the street trees in town were infested with fruitbats. Once a year anyone with a shotgun could come into town and everyone blasted away at the dirty little winged rats.

Unfortunately, I was still a redneck then, but not a gun toting one. I missed out.

AnswerID: 394947

Follow Up By: Serendipity (WA) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 00:01

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 00:01
I would be up for a little feral culling as well GB. I have a load of Mauser rounds that have sat around too long.

You only have to see what a herd of feral camels will do to a remote water hole making it unusable for our native wildlife.

FollowupID: 663361

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 17:53

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 17:53
"That's why the media is banned from the area and there's even an area of closed airspace."

Or, perhaps it's to protect the tree (or camel) huggers - perhaps there's a possibility that those doing the culling may not be so, er, 'charitable' as the bull-dozer drivers in Tasmania...! :-)
FollowupID: 663442

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 23:49

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 23:49
Seems this is getting some world-wide coverage!
From newspaper reports I have received from friends in Switzerland, it seems some helpful person from there called Franz Weber wants to save 6000 camels by shipping them to both Saudi Arabia and also to ship some to Bonrook Station near Pine Creek (one of his nature parks, according to Wikipedia), where he also saves brumbies from terrible suffering in the wild.
Sounds fair enough...

AnswerID: 394960

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 23:57

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 23:57
You mean to say a Camel has knocked a Tiger of the front pages of the world wide press?

Unbelievable!!
Also means no wasted newspaper space on that talk fest in Copenhagen either I guess?

FollowupID: 663359

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 21:35

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 21:35
Gday Kim,
Sorry I didnt reply earlier but I was out the back feeding the camels. (with lead)
Poor little buggers were staving!...........any way, how did you go fitting the Latte machine and four poster bed in your camper?

Have a good Xmas too mate.

Hairy
AnswerID: 395211

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 06:32

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 06:32
I stayed at Umuwa in the Anangu Pitjanjatjara Lands for a week in May and did a few day trips. We were told to keep the gate to the compound closed to keep out the donkeys.

There were quite a few herds of donkeys and camels about.

AnswerID: 395237

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 22:38

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 22:38
Nice photos mate! All to common sight though...

FollowupID: 663842

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 08:02

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 08:02
Thanks mate.
Not sure if its an urban myth but we were told the locals don't cull the donkeys because of the religious significance of the cross on their back.
FollowupID: 663867

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:24

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:24
Never heard that one before?
I d say its more to do with they couldnt be bothered.....

FollowupID: 663991