Member - Lionel A (WA)
Allways been partial to the odd slow cooked lamb curry in the
camp oven.
Tried different
recipes and loved them all,
well most of them, not that keen on the ones that blow your head off, kills the taste of the beer......lol.
What I cant figure out is the difference between Coconut Milk and Coconut Cream.
Both, to me, have the same taste, texture and consistancy.
Apart from 'How the Universe was formed' and 'Life after Death' this is the next biggest question that has bothered me for quite some time.
Any curry gurus care to clear this up for me.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 08:44
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 08:44
Coconut milk is the clearish liquid that the tourists drink from a coconut.
Coconut cream is made from the white part of the coconut. The white is scraped and washed in a little
water and squeezed and wrung out till it is creamy and beautiful and puts on weight and did i mention that it is beautiful and puts on weight ..Mix the cream with fish and poach , a little chilli mmmm Ika vuca lolo. One of the best tasting fish meals in Fiji, but not on a menu because it looks terrible.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 08:58
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 08:58
That about sums it up.
It's like comparing skim milk with cream.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:03
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:03
you guys should be on master chef
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:14
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:14
Don't go putting shivers up my spine Richard.
I owned a Restaurant for 7 years, then did a stint as Head Chef at a big Hotel in FNQ. Then returned to Melbourrne for a better lifestyle and the best job I could get was GM for a Yank Restaurant Chain.
Miserable life the Restaurant game; you're generally working when everyone else is enjoying themselves.
Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 15:28
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 15:28
The best and easiest way to make a small fortune out of the restaurant business is to start with a large fortune :-(
A simple but really nice coconut milk dish is fresh fish ( really fresh ) poached in a marinade of lime juice green ginger wine and coconut cream.
If you prefer and the fish is just caught soak the fillets in the lime juice for half an hour then add the ginger wine and coconut milk for another half and eat the fish raw ( rawish anyway the lime acid will have cooked the flesh )
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 18:37
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 18:37
"I owned a Restaurant for 7 years, then did a stint as Head Chef" etc etc
we need a good chef in our fishing club for the annual landowners dinner/bbq that we hold at our cottages.........want a job one night a year?
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 18:39
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 18:39
and why would I be putting shivers up your spine...too hard or it (the show) aint ridgie didge
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 19:01
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 19:01
Never seen the show. The shivers are at the thought of working in that field again.
Reply By: Roughasguts - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 09:41
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 09:41
Then theres Coconut powder!
Which tastes to me the same as the milk or cream.
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 11:06
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 11:06
This is the easiest to take
camping - less weight, no cans - just mix with
water to make the consistency one wants.
Beware! Coconut cream/milk is chockers full of saturated fats! If you've got a heart/cholesterol problem, please consider!
Tastes great tho :-)
Gerry
Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:03
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:03
Just as a side note, traditional curries are spicy and full of flavours but not very hot.
The addition of mind numbing amounts of curry was an british thing as the wanted to kill the taste of the meat than was quite often going off.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:41
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:41
Are you sure? I've eaten genuine home made Indian curries and they make me sweat (and I love hot food). I used to work with an Indian woman who supplied me with her home made condiments to go with a Curry, they would have taken the rust off as mining vehicle.
Tasty, but Johnny Cash was in the dunny with me the next day.
Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 15:22
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 15:22
Yep LOTS of modern Indians are very addicted to chili in their food but the origins of screaming hot curries are with the days of the British Raj.
Also the cooling side dishes now famous were created to put out the chili fires :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 17:47
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 17:47
My brother and I once visited an Indian restaurant where he ordered the hottest chicken vindaloo they had.
During the meal I watched him sweat, watery eyes, running nose and his face turned red. He looked in agony.
When finished he simply said "That was awesome"....????????
Reckon I'd find the odd chain & whip stashed in his bedroom if I looked.....lol.
Also reckon D200 is on the money, no stray cats anywhere near that restaurant....hehehe.
Cheers......Lionel.
Reply By: John and Lynne - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:04
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:04
The canned product we can buy in Australia uses the same terminology we found when living in Indonesia. Coconut milk is the rich milky liquid formed by grating and squeezing fresh mature coconut flesh mixed with hot
water.The first extract is thick coconut milk, the second extract is thin coconut milk. If it is left to stand for a while a rich layer will rise to the top of thick coconut milk - this is coconut cream. Canned coconut milk is generally a mixture of thick and thin coconut milk, depending on quality and price. Yes it is rich in saturated fat although it is a vegetable product but it is so yummy! Eat and enjoy in moderation. Of course, in S E Asia dairy products and meat are not generally used as widely as we use them so the saturated fat in coconut milk is not such an issue.
The clear liquid found in immature coconuts is coconut juice and is sold to tourists as a refreshing drink. Europeans mistakenly often still refer to this liquid as coconut milk.
Dry coconut milk powder is a useful product and gives a good result. You can also easily make coconut milk from desiccated coconut using hot
water and a blender.
We too love to make curries as we travel so we always carry some tinned or powdered coconut milk - a veggie curry is a great way to use up everything before you cross the WA Satae Border! Lynne
Reply By: Roughasguts - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:51
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:51
I have also been reading up on Coconut oil ! as a lotion for my daughters allergy related skin problem.
Thing is they say Virgin Coconut oil will help with lots of health issues and assist with weight loss, stress, and lower cholesterol, but probably used in conjunction with Apple cider vinegar.
Apparently the oil is good and healthy for cooking!!! and tastes great..
In combination with Apple cider vinegar does other things good for your health, might be worth more googling me thinks.
Follow Up By: Fatso - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:20
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:20
You can run your diesel car on coconut oil as
well.
First time I heard about that was in a 4 corners documentary about Bougainville. The locals turned to coconut oil to run cars after an embargo was placed on them & mineral fuel stocks ran out.
Follow Up By: Fatso - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:23
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:23
I also love how the Thais
cook that saffron rice in coconut. Not sure if it is milk or cream, but it is yum & I'm already fat so I don't care.
Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:28
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:28
Yup that's what originally got me looking it up! I wanted to know how many Coconuts per litre I would need. Think the Rev's where good but the tourque was down a bit with Coconut oil.
Oh yeah I think it was 6 Coconuts per litre.
Geez I must be bored again today! I'm testing out the theory of WD 40 easing aches and pains in the joints. So far the bung Elbow is feeling fantastic. But the bad Neck has got some way to go, but it might be easing.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:34
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:34
L,
One other critical rule for a decent Curry; don't put bloody sultanas in it, they belong in children's lunchboxes. It's a crime that ranks along with Pineapple on Pizza and Jam on Roast Turkey.
Follow Up By: howie - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:55
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 14:55
it is criminal. (excerpt from uk site)
How Protesting Fans Have Said “Enough is Enough”
Football has changed drastically over the last few years, and not always for the best. Lee Wagstaff takes a look at the burgeoning Ultra fan culture in England and speaks to the Football Supporters Federation about their role in the changing role of supporters within the game and the issues that they face.
From major issues such as ground redevelopment and foreign takeovers, to trivial matters like Manchester City fans successfully protesting for the removal of sultanas from their Chicken Balti Pies, the number of different football fan groups protesting against something lately has been staggering.
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 17:31
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 17:31
Got to admit, I hate fruit put on real food.
I mean....would you put steak 'an' kidney on your apple strudel.
Fruit belongs on trees and maybe the odd bottle of liqueur....lol.
Cheers......Lionel.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 18:43
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 18:43
anything wrong with chocolate and pale ale?
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 18:59
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 18:59
Probably not No 1 but I prefer my chocolate with a nice coffee and a
well aged port.
Ohh and I agree with the thoughts about the heat in Indian cooking. I know an excellent Indian Resteraunt. The first time I went there I was with a group of about 9 people 2 of whom were literally afraid of Indian food. People ordered a range of dishes but nobody ordered anything hot, so I did.
The food was delicious and even the hot dish I ordered was enjoyed by all.
Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 12:57
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 12:57
coconut in curries is for kids
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 19:41
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 19:41
We've have a bit of fun with curries quite a bit at home - I used to say that if you can eat it, it's not hot enough ! We grow chillies too, but after trying the Habaneros (much like a mouthfull of boiling battery acid) we have toned the
recipes down a bit :-o(........ We buy the spices in bulk at a place in
Adelaide, and grind them up at home as required - cardamom being just about the favourite one. For trips, I make up a ground spice mix and take it with me - we now do the odd curry in the van's Smev oven. Oh yes - you asked about coconut cream /milk etc........ seems to me that the various standard descriptions are all about fat percentage......and, apparently chefs all say that "no fat = no flavour" - there seems to be a lot of variability in the fat strength for the brands that we have tried - milk in one can be as greasy as cream in another - we finally settled on a homebrand cream, and it keeps quite
well in the fridge till the next session. Far as I recall, coconut fat is fully saturated - not a good one to splurge on (sigh).
Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 00:42
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 00:42
Having been born and grown up in the Caribbean (
Trinidad) I have eaten my share of curries which vary considerably as to thier origin. Most curries in Australian restaurants cater to the Europian taste and in my opinion very hard to get a genuine curry .Muzbry is not correct in saying that coconut milk(as sold in Aus.) is what the tourists drink from the coconut.Both coconut milk and coconut cream come from the mature hard white flesh of the coconut as described by John & Lynne.Thai curries use a lot more coconut milk than Indian style curries which rely more on mixed spices. The clear (like
water) juice or
water from the immature(green) coconut is what the tourists are seen to be using to drink and is NOT used in curries but is great with any alcoholic drink.Image Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 11:18
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 11:18
Coconuts are also dangerous! not to eat! but they have killed more people than shark attacks! just by sitting or walking under the trees.
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 20:37
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 20:37
Gday Rambler
I am now sorry that i didn't put enough information in my reply.
We used to live in Fiji and they called the clear juice ,coconut milk, for tourists.
We only had coconut cream made by our house maid Mary.
Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 14:00
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 14:00
Ayam, is the best brand to buy. Some of the others are more water than anything else.