Smoking fish

Hi every one, I use a smoker to cook my Trout and salmon I wonder if any of you have different ways and Idea's when you use the smoker, I have used Hickory, blue gum, Iron bark, I also have but have not tried Sassafraz, Leatherwood and sandlewood. I also soak the fish fillets in brown sugar and water, the last fish I caught just a couple of days ago I have sealed in a bag of brown sugar and water, i will try that in the next few weeks, I am also interested in other meats, I have tried very thin steak strips marinated in plum sauce, they wern't to bad, I suppose you could call them beef jerky, I would be greatful to hear other members Idea's. and I wish you all a merry merry christmas from uptotenyearsroundoz

Reply By: Welldone WA - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 10:44

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 10:44
I've bought a fish smoker 4 years ago and use it for smoking herring[tommy rough for those of the eastern states persuasion] , shark[in cutlets with the skin on], mulloway and australian salmon [which can be a bit "ordinary" on the tooth but smoking it makes it a whole lot better].
The fish pieces are soaked for at least 2 hours in a sweet brine mixture of equal parts brown sugar:salt:honey added to water.
The best flavour results occur if the fish can be allowed to dry a bit once removed from the brine and before smoking.
So far the best sawdust has been Jarrah , avoid any of the coniferous timbers, Ive tried Huon pine but the resulting smoke was way too resinous and made the fish taste like creosote! Some dry spices can be added to the sawdust for a few extra facets of flavour!

Happy Smoking Christmas One & All

Cheers & Coughs
Welldone
AnswerID: 394742

Reply By: Member - Kiwi_In_Aussie V (NSW - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 10:47

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 10:47
I havent smoked too many trout or salmon (I always get confused when Aussies say 'salmon' do they mean salmon (the pink flesh variety) or do they mean Kahawai? :-)) but have done lots of snapper

What I do is clean and gut the fish and open it up 'like a butterfly' and liberally salt the insides and leave for at least an 1 hour - occassionally I will put a couple in with some brown sugar and salt - but prefer the plain salted version more.

I then smoke using Manuka sawdust - mmmmm

I have also tried - golden syrup, maple syrup but still prefer the plain sea salt and Manuka sawdust

Probably because as a kid I would catch a snapper and smoke it right on the rocks (had alittlem portable smoker (long before they became commercial) while I waited to catch a few more to take home - I reckon that taste has become locked into my memory and nothing else will shift it :-)))
AnswerID: 394744

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 16:34

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 16:34
I smoke trout, salmon, kawahai, when I can get them caught. I even smoke eels, fantastic.
I use the same method as that KIWI. in Aussie.
Brown sugar is to add colour but is not essential, salt is.
I smoke fish in a purpose built fish smoker, a kettle BBQ, a hooded BBQ, but my favourite smoker is an old vertical clothes drying cabinet, get a fire of soggy Kamahi chunks smouldering away nicely, hang the eels by the head or place the butterflied fish on the racks. The aroma tells you when it is ready. For other type smokers Manuka sawdust is good, have used hickory etc, I have experimented with other woods,English oak, other native timbers, the main thing I have found is not to use a wood that the smoke is to pungent.
Depending on the heat a trout around 1.5 -2 kg will take around 20min to smoke, as it is hot smoked it is cooked as well, the smoke adds to the flavour..
I am sure some of the Aussie timbers would be great to, they would need to be will soaked so that they only smoulder.
Now you have got my mouth watering.
Enjoy
FollowupID: 663130

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi_In_Aussie (Wagga - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 22:04

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 22:04
When I loive din NZ I had abeach house up at Langs Beach which many years ago used to be on septic tanks.

Well we eventually got hooked up top the mains sewer and seled the old septic tank access off with concret but retained the outhouse which I turned into one of the best smokehouses ever

The concrete base was the fireplace where the manuka logs/sawdust/branches sat and the outhouse had enough height that I could hang heaps of snapper at the same time - and lets not forget the smoked roe - mmmmmmmmmmmmm

Caught a marlin once and ended up smoking it in the outhouse too

Ahhhhh - now MY mouth is watering
FollowupID: 663183

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 10:51

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 10:51
I use brown sugar and a bit of salt, and marinade the fish for about an hour. If it's hot outside, I put the fish and marinade in a zip-top bag and put back in the fridge.
When in the bush, I've used dry banksia twigs and leaves - they work well and are in plentiful supply around the south and SW WA coast. Some eucalypt wood can exude oils which can spoil the flavour, tho dry WA Karri sawdust works well.
Haven't done it for other meats, only fish. Even "neighbour" fish tastes great after smoking. I give the fish about 8 mins for a hot-smoke, and it's ready to eat hot.
cheers, Gerry

AnswerID: 394746

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 11:00

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 11:00
Smoked chicken is good too.
Beat up chicken thighs with a meat tenderizer, soak for a couple hour in a salt water brine and smoke it.

AnswerID: 394751

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:00

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:00
Not really to do with smoking it yourself; I buy vac packs of smoked chicken from the Woolies or Coles deli. These are smoked breast (no bone) and, being cooked, have a very good shelf life in the fridge, unlike fresh chicken, which is only a few days. I used it sliced up in a stir-fry when camping, works well.
cheers, Gerry

FollowupID: 663092

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:13

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 12:13
Gday Gerry,
Yeah, its good stuff.......and like you said.....it has a much better shelf life than normal chicken.
FollowupID: 663095

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 13:09

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 13:09
When smoking, what actualy cooks the flesh.

Im assuming heat cooks and the smoke adds flavour.

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 394767

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 06:12

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 06:12
Hi Lionel
Fish is usually hotsmoked.
The heat cooks the fish and the smoke adds to the flavour. that is why you have the fish close to the heat source.
Cold smoking is when the fire is away from the food and the smoke is directed from the fire to the meat. As in smoking Ham Bacon etc. Used mainly to preserve.
Back in my deer hunting days to keep venison, even possum we used to liberally rub salt into the meat, or soak in sea water, then hang the meat in the top of the hut chimney for a while, we only used Manuka for firing.
The meat would then keep, just hang it in the shade and the flies weren't a problem, as it was cold smoked it needed cooking before eating.
FollowupID: 663215

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 18:00

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 18:00
Righto you blokes, I am gonna get me a smoker now after reading all that. Always considered it but never got around to it until now. That can be my project over Xmas.

Fred.
AnswerID: 394797

Follow Up By:- Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 22:39

Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 22:39
Google Cob Cooker, they might be multi purpose. Happy Days. Pauper.
FollowupID: 663186

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi_In_Aussie (Wagga - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 10:27

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 10:27
The Cobb does smoked fish very well indeed

I have treid putting damp wood chips on the grey coated hot coals and I have also tried putting damp chips in the moat

The moat was better - chips smoked longer and harder
FollowupID: 663239

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 15:59

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 15:59
Hi again Kiwi.
I didn't know could eat those fish that live in those muddy waters,.
I run a Cobb there, have slow cooked and smoked a small leg of lamb, don't remember the name of the timber, but is was chips off the roots that as coals are ideal for a camp oven, now was that mulga?, biggest problem was controlling the cooking heat.
Soaking to create smoke not heat, I think is most important for success,
It was still very edible any way.
FollowupID: 663279

Reply By: ronnie - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:01

Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 21:01
Try a small full chicken I usually fill the metho container up twice, also flathead fillets very nice.
Ronnie
AnswerID: 394935

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 09:26

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 09:26
Smoking fish?

Seriously, great thread. I have a smoker in the shed (9 gallon keg), reading this lot I think its time to pull it out and have a go.

AnswerID: 394974