Half Priced set of Drawers for a new 150 Prado on offer
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 21:38
Best Off Road
This is not a sales pitch, it's a cry for help to do some R&D. We need to develop a unit for the new Prado and I'm seeking help.
Anyone in
Melbourne who has a 150, I'm offereing a fully installed set of Drawers, plus wing panel kit for $550 (normal retail $1100).
There is of course a catch. I'll need you to pop out to our factory in Dandenong for about an hour, then return a week later for about four hours.
You can get me on 9706 6527 BH, or 0411 874 406 any time.
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 23:33
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 23:33
Hi Jim
At that price, I would think that you will get many replies. As they say, first in best dressed.
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 09:59
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 09:59
"first in best dressed."
I've gotta ask, was the pun intended? LOL
Cheers, Brad
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 10:41
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 10:41
Hi Brad
I could have even said its the early bird that gets the worms. LOL
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 00:55
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 00:55
so are you doing wing panels now jimbo
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 06:23
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 06:23
Yes Jim, we are. But it's quite a process to get them perfect. The contours in some vehicles are all over the place and it's a case of measuring, keying the coordinates into the CAD programme, cutting on the CNC, trial fitting and making adjustments, RECAD, fit again etc.
It may sound silly, but if I'm out by 1mm in the wrong spot it can mean the wings are either loose or won't go in. That's why we need a car for about four hours. Simply going to a dealer and taking some measurements won't work.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 07:12
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 07:12
You can have my Patrol Jim, for rough measurements, does that count?
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 10:35
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 10:35
Bonz
Thought you would have upgraded the Patrol to a Defender after seeing how
well they are built.
Murray
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 10:36
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 10:36
Mate, what an education! One can now see how they are so...individual!
Reply By: chisel - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 07:20
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 07:20
Try pradopoint forums if you're in a hurry.
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 07:30
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 07:30
Hi Jim,
never really occurred to me, until now, just how much work is involved keeping up with new models.
Must be a battle constantly having to update spec's as each new model comes on the market then x by the number of various manufacturers.
Just out of curiousity, what 4x4 would be the most common vehicle you build draws for ?
Cheers......Lionel.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 09:13
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 09:13
Lionel,
In the wagon market it's 100 Series by a short half head to GU, then three lengths third to 120 Prado. Troopies, although tailed off last early, put in a withering run getting towards the post, finishing better than anything in the field. GQ's plod along mid field with the current Pajero, 80 Series always near the rear and the 90 Prado should have been scratched before the race.
Dual Cab Utes of all varieties are big with Tradies as
well as Travellers. We also do a lot of work vans eg Hi Ace, Vito, Transporter etc.
Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 09:45
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 09:45
Hi Jim
I have placed it on the Pradopoint.com site for you.
PP-Jim
Derek from ABR
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 09:57
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 09:57
Thanks Derek,
That has saved me time that I don't have to spare. I've been at the factory since 7.30 this morning catching up and if I don't get home soon and take Jenny out for lunch I'm going to end up divorced and without my Admin Manager in one fell swoop.
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:13
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 19:13
Gidday Jim
I’ll have a talk to the Toyota dealerships in Berwick and Frankston (both of which I know) and we’ll see what comes out of that.
Kim
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 20:50
Sunday, Dec 13, 2009 at 20:50
Young Fella,
If you can use your influence to get one of your mates to lend me a car I'll be in your debt.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 11:42
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 11:42
I found a volunteer this morning.
Thanks all for your input.