Scam using PayPal to buy goods

Submitted: Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 13:28
ThreadID: 74391 Views:11147 Replies:17 FollowUps:10

I’d like to pass on a little scam that I’ve been “involved” in over the last few days.

Last week, I advertised our camper-trailer on a commercial RV site. Over the weekend, I received 3 replies, all from people using ‘free’ e-mail accounts (Yahoo and GMail). All the enquiries were worded in a similar vein. This is the first from a punter we’ll call ‘CB’:-

“Hello is the item still for sale? Kindly get back to me with the condition and last price you could go for?”

When I replied that the item was still for sale, and what other information did the prospective buyer want, he replied that they were unable to inspect the item but as long as I could confirm the condition, then all was OK.

“Due to the nature of my job and my location i will not be able to come for inspection am a very busy type as i work long hours everyday,i don't really think i need to come for a look, because i have gone through your advertisement and i am satisfied with it so i will call you when am chanced from work but as of now we can be chatting online or sending emails.
And can you please confirm to me again that the item is very good with no fault?”

Apart from the total lack of any grasp of the use of capital letters, grammar or punctuation, it still sounded a bit ‘suss’. This is a customised camper-trailer with lots of features; certainly more to it than I could put in the ad. The prospective purchaser is also very keen to use PayPal.

“ok no problem i will be paying you $xx,xxx with my PayPal account because it's attached to my bank account and its safe and very secure way to make payment. If my mode of payment is accepted just send me your paypal email address,(Paypal ID) or send me paypal payment request so i can pay in right away. Make sure you get back to me so that i can make the payment. I have a private courier agent that will come for the pick up after payments has been made, so no shipping included.
And if you dont have a paypal account, you can easily go to www.paypal.com.au and sign up. its very easy. i will call you later I await your reply asap.”

Rightly or wrongly, I have a long-term uneasy feeling about PayPal. There are heaps of stories on the net about PayPal making unilateral decisions about peoples’ accounts after disputes and leaving them hung out to dry with little redress. It seems two-way discussion is hard to come by with PayPal.

Anyway, I don’t have a PayPal account (and can’t see myself ever getting one) so I replied that :-
> I'm sorry, but due to the number of scams around, PayPal is NOT an
> acceptable method of payment.
>
> I will accept direct transfer into my bank account, or a Bank Cheque.
> Goods will not be available until all monies are paid.
>
> I hope you understand.

In a delightful moment of irony, I now get my own argument (scams, etc) flung back at me:-
“hi mate am afraid i can only pay you through paypal because i have been scammed before and i realised paypal is the only way of making online payment and you will be secured by them watching your back and stand as a mediator between the two parties”

Yeah, right.

I suggested that seeing he was in the NT, I would be happy to deliver the trailer to him and he could pay in cash when it was delivered – no chance of a scam. That was the last I heard from him.

BUT…
Along come another two punters. One (‘Frank’) didn’t reply when I said I didn’t take PayPal. The next ‘JB’ said he was from the ACT and opened the proceedings with :-
“Hello is it still up for sale?get back to me with last price of it and condition.”

Still no grasp of basic punctuation, etc (am I being too harsh here?). The give-away was that he used exactly the same phone contact number as ‘CB’. Coincidence? I don’t think so.

His reply was also vaguely familiar:-
“ok no problem i will be paying you xx,xxx with my PayPal account because it's attached to my bank account and its safe and very secure way to make payment. If my mode of payment is accepted just send me your paypal email address,(Paypal ID) so i can pay in right away. Make sure you get back to me so that i can make the payment. I have a private courier agent that will come for the pick up after payments has been made, so no shipping included. And if you dont have a paypal account, you can easily go to www.paypal.com.au and sign up. its very easy. i will call you later I await your reply asap.”

This is just about word-for-word, an exact copy of 'CB' e-mail. At this point, I decided to see what would happen if I rung the mobile number that was common to these two eager purchasers. I got Telstra’s ‘Phone Switched Off’. Message, so decided I’d follow it up with another e-mail.

> Hi Joel,
>
> I have a problem with PayPal (no account). I just tried to ring you
> but it seems your phone is turned off. When is a good time to ring?
>

I immediately got an e-mail back:-
yea is thru i lost the phone about 2hrs ago,can you please send your paypal email account to me now so i can made the payment for you today.”

How sad (and convenient) about his phone, but he’s still eager to get my PayPal account number even though I’ve just told him I don’t have one! Note his Caps Lock and Shift keys are still broken.

At this stage, I’d had enough, so I rang the ACCC Scam Watch Infoline (1300 302 502) and had a chat with one of their staff.

It turned out that these low lives don’t actually want your car/trailer/caravan/whatever. (I didn’t know this bit)

This is how it works (for those who may not know):

1 You e-mail the prospective buyer your PayPal details for your car/whatever worth (say) $10,000
2 They forge a dummy PayPal website that LOOKS like they’ve paid your asking price ($10000) plus some extra (say another $1000 - see below)
3 They send you an e-mail with the dummy PayPal website link (to show you the $10,000 has been ‘paid’) and tell you to send the extra money (the $1000) via Western Union (or similar) to a courier company ASAP who will then come and pick up the goods. (There is generally an excuse about why they can’t pay the courier)
4 If you do what they ask in step 3, you’re out $1000 as they all then disappear faster than you can say SCAM..
5 There is no ‘courier company’ and there is no $11,000 in your PayPal account.

I approached PayPal about this and their role in a possible fraudulent activity, but as I do not have a PayPal account, they were not interested. I called their help line (somewhere in the Philippines?) and was asked to send all the e-mails to spoof@paypal.com. In the e-mail I pointed out that I didn’t have a PayPal account, but the scammers certainly did. This is the answer I got:-

We want to help you but we're not able to respond directly to emails sent to this address.

If you have a question about your account, please contact us through our website. Here's how:

1. Go to the PayPal website and log in to your account.
2. Click "Contact Us" at the bottom of any page.
3. Click "Contact Customer Service," and ask your question.

One of our Customer Service agents will reply to your question.

We value your business and want to provide you with the best customer care.

PayPal

So, no PayPal account, no help. The address referred to in ‘not able to respond directly to emails sent to this address’ was the one their agent had told me to send everything to.

As usual, Caveat Emptor.

Sorry if this is a bit long but these mongrel bar stools really cheese me off. :-(

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 13:46

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 13:46
G'day Chris, sorry to hear of your unfortunate contact with Paypal, but, with all
respect, they can hardly be held accountable for scams done in their name, & are
unlikely to respond to unregistered users. I have never used them to sell stuff, but use it exclusively for payment for the stuff I buy on eBay (who owns Paypal)
& have never had a problem in over 200 transactions. Obviously there are
those that will try to scam, & you have correctly assessed this lot at this time, so
well done. Anyone buying a high priced item unseen should be treated with suspicion in my book.
cheers...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 394998

Follow Up By: Chris & Sue (Briz Vegas) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:07

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:07
G'day Oldbaz,

I agree - you can't blame PayPal for things beyond their control.

I guess what cheesed me off was that I had described the problem to their agent on the phone, and he had asked me to send them all the details and they would look at it and give me an opinion (scam, fraud, dodgy, etc). The agent knew I was not an account holder. All I got back was what I posted - basically, no account = no help.

I have used e-bay in the past with no problems, but while others may use PayPal (and without any problems), I just can't convince myself to carry out banking-style transactions with an entity that's not a bank and that is the final arbiter of disputes with its customers.

I don't feel the need to bash PayPal; I just choose not to use them. If they are the only payment option, then I look elsewhere.

FollowupID: 663423

Reply By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 13:50

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 13:50
Not good Chris, Mob of dodgy mongrels thats for sure.

A mate of mine has been having the same problem over the last few days with his car thats for sale.

And another mate of mine from Perth was selling his 80 series online and the same thing happened.

Have to be careful done you

AnswerID: 394999

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:04

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:04
A couple of years ago I had the same happen from an ad I had in the EO trader.

So it's not just limited to e-scam and car sites.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 395000

Reply By: Steve Ellis - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:47

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:47
I had a similar thing happen about 4 years ago with a Patrol I tried to sell on EO Trader. Regards Steve Ellis
AnswerID: 395003

Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:51

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:51
We have used paypal for lots of purchases and sales. Not a problem with paypal. maybe the ones on the other end trying it on but not paypal. Excellent service. A bit slow with the exchange rates but that's business.

They have helped us with some purchases from dodgy sellers. To the point that they have refunded to us the total amounts that we paid including all postage.

Their staff have always been helpful. At least you can talk to them in grammar including and not a broken english. We usually get them in Canada or Australia.

I do not believe Paypal can blamed for your troubles - Sorry about being blunt. You did not use paypal. As you yourself said -0 you do not have a paypal account. Paypal does not use an account system with numbers etc as the banks do so even if you had an account you couldn't have been scammed by passing the account number over. There ain't one (english??).

As far as criticising them for bad english including punctuation, spelling and structure, I think I would lay off that. Lets face it - It's just too hard to do it correctly at 110 Kph on the way to work.

AnswerID: 395004

Follow Up By: Chris & Sue (Briz Vegas) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 17:31

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 17:31
G'day vk1dx,

As I said in my reply to Oldbaz, It's not really a PayPal kicking exercise. It's just that they offered (via their person on the phone) to look at the problem, and then didn't follow through.

"ain't" is a perfectly good old English word. (Even EO's dictionary likes it) :-))

"It's just too hard to do it correctly at 110 Kph on the way to work."
Ain't(!) that the truth!

FollowupID: 663437

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 20:22

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 20:22
I, too, have had nothing but good results when using Paypal. When I'm selling something via ebay, I try to avoid receiving payment vis Paypal as they skim a bit of my sale price for themselves (I know this already and it is as per the agreement).

When I do receive a payment for goods sold, I DO NOT send the package away until I have successfully transfered the funds from my paypal account INTO MY BANK ACCOUNT. Then, and only then, am I 100% satisfied that they payment is finalised.

Ebay and Paypal seem to have now made it virtually impossible to conduct transactions via ebay without using Paypal. This isn't really a problem (in my book), so long as usual due care is taken in completing the transaction.

FollowupID: 663634

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:52

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 14:52
Chris, thanks heaps for the heads up. I think Old Baz nails it though - always be suspicious of someone who wants to buy a high value item without having ever seeing it. He wants you to confirm the condition? You're trying to flog it! That's like signing a blank cheque to a LandRover dealer on the basis that he can tell you the Discover is better than a Patrol! Duh, it's HIS JOB AS A SALESMAN to tell you that (even if you might not agree!).

From what you've said ("3 They send you an e-mail with the dummy PayPal website link (to show you the $10,000 has been ‘paid’)"), the scam could be foiled by obeying the golden rule of signing into online banking/accounts website - NEVER EVER sign in by following a link in an email (especially not from a suspicious person!) - always always type in the site's web address in the location bar (or use one of your bookmarks/favourites) and sign in that way. At best you'll see $11,000 in a bogus site, at worst he'll also get your passwords and next time you log in who knows how much you could have owing to PayPal etc.?!

I was trying to sell an old BMX bicycle a few years back. It was nothing special and I think I was asking about $30 for it. I was emailed by a guy "in the US" who wanted me to send my bank details so he could send $1,000 to cover the price of the bike plus shipping to US and then send him the balance. I thought "What kind of idiot sends $1,000 to a complete stranger for a $30 item in the hope he'll be honest and return the balance?" and "Why would someone in the US want to buy an old bike from Aus and pay for it to be shipped to him - don't they have them over there?!" It was so suspsicious I ignored it and he never contacted me again. I discussed it at the office and everyone else thought it was dodgy too.
AnswerID: 395005

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 16:42

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 16:42
Your Paypal address is usually an email address and they dont need anything else to pay into it.

My kids live in NZ and I send their Xmas money through Paypal

It costs 50c to do it and would cost $22 each thru a bank.

You dont have to buy something to use it either you can send money as a gift.

You can on Ebay put restrictions on who can bid

EG Only from Australia

Must have certain feedback qualifications.

Like NO negative feedback

Put a disclaimer at the bottom like I did when a Nigerian tried me on.

I put

"I dont care if the person you want the present for died helping you

DONT BID because it will be removed"

Seemed to discourage them as does an bleep off scammer

Be careful out there

AnswerID: 395017

Reply By: StormyKnight - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:06

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:06
Thanks Chris for the info.....
AnswerID: 395030

Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:58

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:58
Hi Chris. We advertised our truck on iHub last week and have got the same sort of emails as you. Ray Hadley had a thing on the radio the other day about these low line idiots. I think there is a few people who would love to get their hands on these idiots.
Karen

A copy of the email we received below!

*************Hi mate, so sorry, its a very bad line out here, I may not even hear a thing if i call him,so sorry please bear with me for now and thanks for the quick response,do you have a few more pics you can send to me? I will really appreciate if not, its ok, just want to view as many as can be managed,this is for Dad and i am making it a surprise gift for him, he really needs it on his farm to help with production and transportation, I am sure he will be very happy with it, I am an oceanographer at sea right now,I will make the payments for this through paypal, i cant do bank transfer from here as I dont have internet banking but I have my bank acc on my paypal, if you have a paypal acc already, all i will need is your paypal email address and if not, it is pretty easy to set up at their website, www.paypal.com.au , I will arrange for the pick up and delivery to Dad's farm, as I have a freighter that will do that for a reasonable fee, thanks a a lot and i will be looking forward to your quick reply.

Danny
ps:will you be willing to let me know your selling price??*******************
AnswerID: 395040

Reply By: Holden4th - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 19:47

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 19:47
"the scam could be foiled by obeying the golden rule of signing into online banking/accounts website - NEVER EVER sign in by following a link in an email."

This is the most important piece of advice and I'd like to add an extra. Just ask yourself this question - DO I want to hand over any of my financial/banking details to someone I have never met?

I'm a registered member of Paypal and have used them consistently with no problems. If you want to sell online then I would recommend Ebay. They will protect and support you provided you go through their system. If you are selling they will handle your transaction for you (via Paypal/etc) and will tell you when bona fide funds have been deposited to your account. This will then allow you to ship the goods you have sold. If you veer away from this system then it's your responsibility.
AnswerID: 395047

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 20:33

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 20:33
I recently retired from a major bank after a career of over 38 years.

It always amuses me when people say that they would never hand over their bank account numbers/details to a 3rd party.

For those of us who are older than about 20, you may recall a thing called......wait for it....... a "CHEQUE BOOK"....???

Yes, that little booklet in your briefcase/back pocket/handbag......every one of those little tear-out slips (ie: cheques), has your full account number and BSB details on it and these were freely handed over to anybody who was willing to provide you with goods and/or services in exchange for one of these little babies!!!

So, I have no hesitation in providing my account details to someone who wants to deposit money into my account.

IF, by some means, they manage to withdraw funds from my account (fraudulently), then that is the bank's problem (unless of course I've been stupid enough to give the scam-artist my internet banking log-in number and PIN...... Even then, you will find that you are indemnified for any amount you may lose over a threshold ($50- from memory) unless the bank believes you have been complicit in causing the loss by deliberatley providing your PIN etc to a 3rd party.

FollowupID: 663636

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:12

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:12
hah yes my first Ebay experience was buying a pair of Oakley sunnies and realising they were very evident fakes! It was a mighty rigmarole of paperwork but I did get about 75% of my money back through paypal.

I can't say I entirely trust paypal, especially if buying from overseas in non Aus currency. I was buyin mtb gear from the UK and saw the paypal thing there, I thought "ok I'll use it probably be quicker than doing the credit card (slow dialup)).
Anwyay I calculated what it would cost and how much would be left in my paypal account afterwards, but that extra money I had in the paypal account just plain disappeared! It doesn't annoy me that their exchange rate is a bit different to the actual, and it doesn't annoy me that they might have an additional foreign currency exchange fee, what annoyed me is that they do not state it anywhere and not even on the paypal statement where it shows how much you paid for the item...it doesn't show the extra fee anywhere and I know it dissapeared, it was a significant amount too.... like 5%, so from a $600 order that's like $30 or something.

Anyhow my little rant over, I do use paypal when I have to but I won't use it for buying directly off foreign stores, and even as an ebay seller the fees can be a bit much especailly if you're selling stuff for a bargain price.

But the golden rule for me is probably "run if anyone mentions anything about paying extra and wanting it in return".

Thanks for your post though, I did wonder what they were getting at. From it I say always check your paypal account directly to make sure money has gone in, just as you would your bank.
AnswerID: 395054

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 18:31

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 18:31
Sorry but fees are described plainly under Fees from the home page so you cant use not knowing as an excuse.

They normally charge about 2% for them on top of the exchange rate..

Yes log in from your history or favourites rather than from a link the buyer posts as will be a fake for sure

Never trust a link even from this site as you really dont know who you may actually be dealing with.

No offence to anyone but sites do get hacked by experts.
FollowupID: 663615

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:37

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:37
Hi Chris. Many thanks for posting this and enlightening me of this scam. Does make you want to wring a few necks eh!! Cheers and thanks again. Leigh
AnswerID: 395059

Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:40

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:40
We use paypal a lot. We also invested a whol $7 in a device that generates an apparently. The number is synchronised with the its serial number, the time and date that you initiated it and your email and paypal userid. Please please don't ask me how it works I will not even try to explain it. Suffice to say that if you do not have one single bit of that information then you cannot generate the number.

It can be used to log into lots of different sites including paypal and ebay. Our bank has also given us one. So can you imagine the level of security you can get from your password which you "never give to anyone" and this number attached to the end of the password.

Where am I going.Well if they get your id and password they wont have your number will they. They of course may not know youru use it anyway. Its on a subsequent screen to the password. If the site you go to does not ask for the number. Whoops Get out of there yesterday!!!!

Excellent protection hey

AnswerID: 395060

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:48

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:48
I am going bonkers. Errors everywhere.

Missed this bit near the start of para 1. = "generates and appently random number."

Missed this at the end of para 2. the end of the password + " that you wont know until you press the button when entering the password."

Sorry.
FollowupID: 663470

Reply By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:36

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:36
Great idea I have been looking for a way to make some extra cash for Christmas :-)

Sorry Seriously there are some amazing scams out there you wonder if they put that much effort and imagination into a real business if they couldn't make more money legally ?

AnswerID: 395133

Reply By: balko - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 20:06

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 20:06
Had my rig on Ihub for 3 days last week and got swamped with those out at sea scams Sent email back saying hope you drown at sea you scamming pr%$ks. Rang Ihub and told them to get it off the net i will just trade it to save the hassle Cheers TB
AnswerID: 395189

Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 18:08

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 18:08
In the past few weeks i have had the same kind of thing -- been looking for a Prado -- and found one on carpoint 2005 model for 9k Immaculate condition..... I know this is a scam from the start .. so i play along .... emails as follows

Me -- I send off an inquiry asking where the car can be viewed from as i am very interested ---- get an email a few days later ----

First I want to thank you for your question about my 2005 Landcruiser Prado GXL 4x4 Diesel. The vehicle is in perfect condition,with no scratches on it, no damage. It has all the papers and documents. The price is $9,200 including shipping to your address (only in Australia).
The payment will be made through eBay and only after you will receive the vehicle, I will receive the
payment.
If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the
deal through eBay.
I will wait your answer (if you are interested to buy) very soon.

Linda

I email her again asking where is the vehicle located --- as i want to inspect it prior to purchase .... get this reply next day

I'm sorry for my late reply my mother just died and I had to fly to the United Kingdom(I'm originally from here) to help my father arrange the funerals and everything.
The Prado will be shipped from Darwin.It is sealed and ready for shipping
I have a contract with eBay so this deal must go through them. According with eBay you have 15 days from the time you receive the Prado to inspect it and decide if you want to keep it or not.
The Toyota is in great condition,you will not have any problems with it,I don't owe money on it and it has no scratches,dents etc.
It is like new and I never had any mechanical or electrical problems with it.
You will receive the Prado along with all the papers and documents that you need so you will not have any problem when you receive the vehicle to register it in your name.
Like I told you the total price is AU $9200 including
shipping and handling so all you must do is to
confirm eBay the price of $9200.
When eBay announces me that the funds are in
their system I will start shipping the vehicle to your address.
You have 15 days to test my Prado and after the
inspection period in case you don't want to buy it then you will be refunded and I will pay for returns.

PS: If you want to buy it please email me your full name and address for shipping so I can initiate the transaction through eBay. After that they will contact you with all necessary information about this transaction(terms,buyer protection,payment instructions,invoice,etc.)

Thank you
Linda

I reply the following day saying this is GREAT -- i am in darwin for the next few months on a work assignment working in the mines , so please tell me where the car is located / or which shipping company it is with and i will go check it out and pay COD after inspection. ( i knew they just plucked the furthest place from me -- they prob done a DNS on my IP address and showed sydney)

i then get this reply following day

This is the second time I tried to sell the car. I almost closed the deal with someone, prepared the car shipping, paid for it, but in the end the deal didn’t succeed as the buyer wasn’t able to pay.
So I ended up with the car unsold and with shipping paid.The car is already sealed in a container.
I paid all the shipping fees from my pocket and when eBay requested the payment to be made, the buyer didn't have the money.
Now I have the car in eBay's hands sealed and it's ready to be delivered to the next buyer.
I priced the car to sell fast as I need to pay for the bills that I mentioned in emails.If I don't pay in time they will charge extra fees for being late.My father can't handle all this,he;s very depressed because of my mother's passing.They had 30 years of marriage and now he feels guilty that he's alive and my mother is dead.You must understand that the terms are closing in on us and we don't have enough money to pay so I really need to sell asap.
I can't drive it anymore as I had a work accident and since then I have hearing problems.So the car is usless for me,I love it but I don't want to hurt someone while driving it just because I can't accept the fact that I have a hearing problem.I'm sorry I didn't mention earlyer but I'm trying to behave normally and it's hard to get used to this situation.People are very judgemental.
As I said you have 15 days of inspection for the time you receive the car and papers,in this time your money will be in ebay's hands.You are free to take the car to a certifed mechanic to make a full inspection.
If you find ANYTHING wrong with it you have the right to send it back and receive a full refund.
I have prearranged the deal with ebay so that there will be no need for me to be there!
You will need to send me your full name, shipping address so I can set up the
transaction with ebay; after that they will contact you with the payment details and you will
make a 4600$ deposit to them; they will secure your money until you receive the car!
In the same day ebay will confirm your deposit, shipping will start and you will receive a
a delivery confirmation from ebay! The car will reach your address in about 2-3 working days,
after that you will have another 15 days for inspection; if unsatisfied with the car you will get a full
refund from eBay, if not, than you'll pay the rest of the balance!
The person that wants to see it, must have a reservation first, made by me, the owner of the car, and also, he will have to pay for packing and unpacking the car, wich is now sealed in a cargo container.If someone decides to see it, let me know!
Also, if by the time you decide to go see the car, someone else decides to pay the deposit to Ebay and book it, than you must know I will not waste the oportunity!
Linda

I once again reply that i am In darwin for a few months -- dont want to car shipped to me when i can just go and pick it up anyway .... never got an email reply back .... but just like to point out they said they have hearing problems ... so you dont feel the need to ring them and chat on the phone!!!

I then sent one to them basically went like this ..

Your are advertising a Car In Australia that does not exists - you say you had to fly back to the UK to take care of a funeral YET your IP ADDRESS shows your in the USA -- as follows

IP : 75.33.38.224 Neighborhood
Host : adsl-75-33-38-224.dsl.bcvloh.sbcglobal.net OK

the Ip was his originating Ip address -- he actually had 2 separate ip addresses with 2 different ISP's - so prob internet cafe or similar -- but shot off an email saying all his details copys of the letters showing full headers and time stamps have been sent to the local authorities in his area ...

Never got a reply

Boc

AnswerID: 395314

Follow Up By: SDG - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 01:38

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 01:38
I have done this style of correspondance with scammers as well. One also for a cruiser in England ready to be shipped.

Problem is, once you reply to one of their emals, you have given them your address which they share among there sister companies. I'm rich from all the lotteries I have won.

On the topic of Pay Pal. If I can't pay through direct deposit, or in person, I don't buy.
FollowupID: 663856

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 00:28

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 00:28
Wow, i find if i cant buy with Paypal i dont buy. Only ever been done once on Ebay, after over 200 items. Paypal coughed straight up with the dough and were more then helpful.

FollowupID: 664387

Reply By: JAZZY - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 17:15

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 17:15
And.............the moral of the story is:

If it appears too good to be true, it probably is.
AnswerID: 395697