Jeep Grand Cherokee or VW Touareg

Submitted: Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 15:41
ThreadID: 74393 Views:5314 Replies:8 FollowUps:18
Just wondering if someone can give some feedback on the Grand Cherokee or Touareg. Have narrowed it down to these two. Looked for something that would seat 4 in comfort and would tow 3.5t. Have done the serious 4wd thing in the past, just now looking for something with a bit of comfort, that will go up the beach occasionally and tow my boat.

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 16:26

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 16:26
Mikey, you may already know but there is a new GC just around the corner. Google 2010 Grand Cherokee.

OT
AnswerID: 395016

Follow Up By: Mikey65 - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 10:00

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 10:00
Yep, Thanks OT.
They are talking late next year if not 2011 release here. All new engine as well, much better fuel economy but am always shy of the 'first' of a new model range.
FollowupID: 663524

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 08:34

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 08:34
Good point, although it looks like the GC will be based on the ML 320 so it's not all new really.

If you are looking at this segment, which I have been doing too then you should throw the Audi Q7 and LR Discovery 4 into the mix. Disco 4 for mine.
FollowupID: 663686

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:29

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:29
For the 'good (and bad) oil' on the VW Touareg check this site. Heaps of info and very knowledgeable people. Majority are in the US but here is also a good following in Australia. LINK Hope you've got plenty of money to maintain and repair. They can be extremely expensive when things go wrong - and they do. Good luck.
AnswerID: 395033

Reply By: Eric Experience - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:00

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:00
Both vehicles have reliability problems. For the same money you could pick up a one year old ml320cdi, more reliable and much cheaper to run. Eric.
AnswerID: 395062

Reply By: Member - RobnJane(VIC) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:02

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:02
Hi Mike,

I envy your predicament, regarding vehicle choice!

As a thought, if I was looking at a vehicle capable of reliably towing 3.5T then I would research the towing attachment points and manufacturers ratings and claims very carefully.

I am not very familiar with either vehicle, however the manner in which some manufacturers/vehicles attach their towbar to the vehicle can be a concern given what an owners expectation may be in regards to on/off road performance, and in your case the upper end of capacity.

Just a thought, and good luck with your choice.

Rob.
RobnJane

AnswerID: 395063

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:09

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:09
Yeah the European cars appeal to the wives who want something different a lot of the time, my wife included however they never consider the maintenance & service costs of the vehicles, only the initial purchase price, which is silly when you think about it. I'm not a fan of American made vehicles, to me the build quality and overall design leaves something to be desired IMO. The Toureg would appeal to me more of these 2, if I couldn't buy a Toyota or something else, with my final comment, being if you can afford the car, make sure you can afford the maintenance bills to!

AnswerID: 395066

Follow Up By: skulldug - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:47

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:47
Buy a Toyota?

I couldn't afford the loss of reputation with my neighbours.

Skull
FollowupID: 663481

Reply By: Secret Mens Business - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:14

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:14
Hey Mikey don't you mean your looking for something with a bit more style, because neither the Cherokee nor the Toureg are more comfortable than a Toyota or Nissan for example. They are perhaps the swishier choice according to some, like a Range Rover is to Toorak for example. I would buy neither, perhaps a Mercedes ML320CDI would be the more logical if your buying swish rather than obviously practical, because to me the Toyota Prado would fit all of the categories above other than swish to some.! LOL
AnswerID: 395070

Follow Up By: Horacehighroller - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:23

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:23
Be very careful regarding towball weight with the Mercedes MLs.

They do not have a proper chassis like the Toyota's and Nissans and have been known to "bend".

HXJ 105 n/a Auto
FollowupID: 663478

Follow Up By: stevie1947 - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:39

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:39
SMB Prado can't tow 3.5 t I think they are only rated 2.5t
FollowupID: 663479

Follow Up By: Mikey65 - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 10:07

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 10:07
Hi Secret Mens Business,
No, not after swish or trying to impress anyone. Have had all my 4wd drive experience in basic units and been most places in them. Just after a bit more comfort now I am doing less serious 4wding. Its all about what you need it for. Jeep would have better offroad capabilities than a ml320 I would have imagined. Havent heard a lot of great thing things either about the v8 td in the cruiser. The choice is pretty narrow, Prado wont even look at towing 3.5t. As i said, its all about requirements and personal preference, not wank value.
Ta
FollowupID: 663527

Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:08

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:08
Hi Mikey, I understand your thinking but I still think you are making the wrong conclusions. Here's how I see for your choices:

1. You mention the GC would have better off road capabilities than a ML320, yes perhaps, but then you mention the V8TD Cruiser and not having heard great things about them, IMO it's a misnoma to mention Grand Cherokee and Landcruiser in the same breath, whether or not you've heard great things is irrelevant, the cruiser is lightyears ahead of the Cherokee and Toureg in things that matter, that is unquestioned reliability and capability, the 2 things you need most.

2. The Cruiser is still king, don't fool yourself into thinking a GC or VW can come along and take that crown with bells and whistles, the Cruiser earned it's reputation over a long period of proving itself time and time again, nobody else has come close to earning that reputation, in reliability and capability.

3. If you prefer the style, comfort features of a GC or Toureg thats ok, it's your choice, it's what makes you happy, but I would buy the Cruiser time and time again, forget the niggly comments you've heard, it's still a Landcruiser and a bloody good one. For towing 3.5 Tonnes, the TD is miles ahead of the other 2 and it has fixed price service levels up until 100,000kms of thereabouts.

In summary I think the Cruiser has suffered from small niggly criticisms but thats to be expected when you are the top selling benchmark, nobody has said yes the Cruiser has been king all these years and now it isn't, their simply saying I don't like this feature or that one, none of them are killers for the cruisers reputation IMO.
FollowupID: 663538

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:34

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:34
As far as motors go Toyato are still catching up, the Touareg V6 3.0 has 176 KWs and 550 NMs, the V10 standard is 235 KWs and 750 NMs the R50 has 258 KWs and 850 NMs. Maybe he is after some decent power.
FollowupID: 663543

Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:55

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:55
yeah right..! The Cruiser has 650NM at 1600Rpm. Thats serious towing power at such low rpm, virtually off idle! Thats decent power by anyones standards matey..!

FollowupID: 663545

Follow Up By: Rut Tearer - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:59

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:59
Isuzumu you should save your post for the Friday funnies, the Toyato as you call it (Toyota) has plenty of low down grunt, scary to some according to my sources. Yeah maybe he needs some decent power, yeah ok whatever you reckon.! LOL
FollowupID: 663546

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 06:20

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 06:20
For give me for spelling Toyo wrong mush have been a bit quick on the keys, anyway did I unset a couple of Toyo owners......now 850 NMs is serious pulling power it's like "now that a knife" Hoges. Oh and nothing goes to wrong with the Toyota's what about the front diff in the 100 series. Plus I believe the org poster was asking about the GC or Touareg. Oh and as you can see it's Touareg not Toureg.
FollowupID: 663678

Follow Up By: Damian007 - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 08:42

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 08:42
I'd like "Horacehighroller" to link me to some proof to show that Nissans Bend.. I've just about had enough of this heresay Crap. Has anyone ever seen any 4wd bend from towing? I haven't. I own a Pajero. There was a story going around where if you snatched a Pajero out of stuck situation, the body stretched. One of the magazines took up the challenge to try and prove the myth and sure enough, just another made up story. As far as the Toyota being the "King" when was the last time you saw a Toyota win the Dakar Rally?

You know, All 4wd's have their strengths and weaknesses, Nissan, unfortunately, has more Weaknesses than strengths, but I have never ever seen one bend. It's like a story I heard a few years back about someone hooking up a winch cable from the front, under the vehicle and hooked it to the Tow Bar and then activated the winch. This supposidly bent the 4wd into a Bananna. Give me a break...
FollowupID: 663687

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:16

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:16
Mikey65, are you serious - you have discounted the cruiser V8 TTD as ".. Havent heard a lot of great thing things either about the v8 td in the cruiser..." yet you are looking at a Grand Cherokee or Touareg???

May I suggest you do some more research on these vehicle from people who actually own them rather than the mostly "my friends brothers dad got one and has ... problem" that tends to abound on this forum.

Ok, I am a bit biased, but even so, with the limited info you have stated about what criteria you want, you seem to be doing yourself a disservice with your current list of contenders.

FollowupID: 663703

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:32

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:32
I can't believe the stuff I read here, he's gotta buy a Touareg because it's got 850NM of torque and when was the last time Toyota won the Dakar rally, plse you guys, you are full of it.

One vehicle has earned a timeless reputation for reliability and capabiliy in this country, and thats Toyota. You'll never see a VW or GC in the middle of the outback, why is that? And the dakar rally is not about standard off the shelf vehicles, what a load of crap.

Toyota sells more vehicles in this country than anyone else, oh and why is that? So Mikey you make up your own mind and buy what pleases you the most, but don't discount Toyota due to the ridiculous comments you read by some of the people in these forums.

Yes it's all open to opinion and I love it, wouldn't have it any other way, but VW's with 850NM and Dakar rallys you guys really know how to spin the cow crap..! LOL

FollowupID: 663705

Follow Up By: Mikey65 - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:35

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:35
Thanks Captain,
Thats the great thing about these forums, everyone has an opinion.
Its a matter of sorting them out into relevant, biased or just outright blindingly passionate about their own vehicle. All opinions are helpfull. Thanks for your input and I did note your catch phrase was relevant to this post,
"Its not what you drive, but how you drive it!" :)
FollowupID: 663706

Follow Up By: Mikey65 - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:43

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:43
L.O.L Terrafirma, some good points.

Yep, I think most of that 850Nm of torque would be wasted on me.

You are right, it is up to you what you want the vehicle for. I have done the deserts and the muddy treks through the mountains etc. All I want this one for is comfort on the highway, ability to get up the beach and a tow vehicle that will do 3.5t. Am giving the Dakar a miss for the next few years :)

Not ashamed to say 90% of my driving now is on the black stuff, although if I could win the lotto and reverse that I, wouldn't be having this discussion. It would be a cruiser all the way, even if only 50% of my driving was dirt or offroad touring, but its not.
FollowupID: 663709

Follow Up By: Damian007 - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 17:02

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 17:02
The reason I Mentioned the Dakar Rally was not to prove one way or another that a Pajero was any better than any other 4wd. It was just a sidenote really. But as usual, some twirp has to come along and make a big DEAL out of it.

I guess about 70% of my driving is on Bitumin, seeing as that makes a difference to some people. So? If you only drove off road fevery now and then you'd want to make sure you vehicle could handle it without blowing a piston or losing a wheel. (Hmmm, Blowing a piston. Sounds familiar.. Nissan, Maybe?)

Seeing as you like to mention Toyota Reliability can you please mention that reliability to all the people who do indeed have reliability issues with their Toyota's? Namely front Diffs, Transfer cases, you know, where the Oil Drains from one to the other. Just little things, I know. But I know it can ruin a good days outing...

I've had Toyota's, Nissans, Hyundai's and I even owned a Lada once. I currently own a Jeep Cherokee and a Pajero and I like both. They both drive good and they both do what they were designed to do. Just the Pajero does it a little more Comfortably. I've had to replace the Diff Bearings in the Jeep but other than that, the little 2.5ltr Diesel just keeps on going.

So, let the Bashing begin again.. Doesn't worry me much because I actually know what I'm talking about whereas you others don't seem too...

BTW: Some of what's learned from the Dakar Rally actually trickles down into the vehicles that do make it to the showrooms.
FollowupID: 663762

Reply By: 70amcjavelinsst - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 10:16

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 10:16
G'day Mikey,

GO the Jeep. Comfort plus, does great things and you get leather seats to boot.

Check out ausjeepoffroad.com i think thats the site, that will help you out more.

With the GC more limited in aftermarket options and fuel tank size is not much bigger than a budgie smuggler can have its downsides, there are ways to overcome - and anyways, for what you describe you want it for, sounds the go.

More ppl should actually try the Jeep before giving it a kick born from ignorance.

Have a good one

Graeme
AnswerID: 395263

Follow Up By: jabiru340 - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 14:39

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 14:39
Hear hear 70amcjavelinsst. All I ever hear on this site about Jeeps is 99% rubbish from people who have never owned one.

I've had 2 and never had ANY issues with either of them. Jeeps Quadra Drive II is way in front of what a Landcruiser or Nissan has to offer that's why you hear their owners putting airlockers on them.

Jeeps are not expensive to service.

Check out the ausjeepoffroad site you get answers from people who own them not from people who haven't got a clue.

Mikey65 my advice to you is take each vehicle you are considering for test drive.
FollowupID: 663741

Reply By: Member - Greg T (ACT) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 13:34

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 13:34
Mikey,
a mate of mine had a touareg. very capable vehicle.

modifications he only did were dual battery, and chipped the ECU. tyres were cooper h/t.

what surprised me about the touareg is the electronic traction control while engaged in 4wd (with locking centre diff)

He has towed an offroad camper with it through the flinders ranges, the corner country, blue mountians, Brindabella ranges, Ben boyd forrest, Stockton, and Abercrombie River Nat Park, just to name a few.

fuel economy excellent!, power excellent, comfort excellent, bling (if you like that stuff, excellent!

What went wrong with it. wrote it off, went through a river crossing with out checking the depth, no snorkel available for the touareg.

so the only down side i see for the touareg is:
low clearance (compared to cruiser/patrol), but if this is ehat you have broght it down too, its not an issue for you
no snorkel available

AnswerID: 395297