Exchange tyres at start?

Submitted: Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:31
ThreadID: 74399 Views:5650 Replies:8 FollowUps:40

Related Pages

I have a new 200 series Land Cruiser on order and it has been suggested that we change the new Dunlop Grand Treks ? on the truck to BFG's before getting any mileage up on the Dunlop's.

Does anyone know a tyre dealer around liverpool/Bankstown area that will do an exchange or close to it.

I am told the Dunlop's are similar or more expensive in price.

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:35

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:35
Try Revesby Tyre Centre
1/80 Milperra Rd, Revesby NSW 2212
(02) 9772 4332?

I think they do it.

AnswerID: 395034

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:37

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:37
Could be that BFG AT are cheaper Pling , I know we organized with a tyre dealer to swap for free before picking up the car , whereas Nissan quoted $75 each to do the same thing.
AnswerID: 395035

Reply By: RobAck - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:39

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:39
Why do you need to change over tyres? If you are not planning any remote trips then wear them out. If you are looking at getting a second set of tyres for serious off road work then just change them over as you need. Unless you are always off road

As well you will not get any real money as trade in's regardless of if they are new.

As well why BFG? There are plenty of other tyres, particularly in the AT range that offer improvements in tyre technology over that particular tyre. You have at least two options with Goodyear, two again with Bridgestone, Toyo, Maxi, Mickey Thompson and of course Coopers.

There's nothiing wrong with the original tyres for day to day use and occasional off-road use. Our test LC200 has done plenty of serious work on and off-road using the standard tyres and not a problem for us

RobA
AnswerID: 395036

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:43

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:43
Yep very true

My mate bought a new V8 100 ser and first thing he did was drive it across the Simpson for 18 days.

All original and only got 1 puncture with the Grandtreks.

Never got stuck either

Still hasnt got the red dust out either after 2 1/2 years.

FollowupID: 663453

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 19:51

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 19:51
Hi RobA. The overpriced Grandteks are lucky to run up 30000Klms. The BFG's will double that mileage easily. I think that is a good enough reason to swap early. Exactly what I did with Blairs Tyres. Regards,Bob.
FollowupID: 663461

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:09

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:09
I've just replaced the Grandtrex on my LC200 with Mickeys. In my opinion the Gt's are crap. They stake really easily (I've lost three to sidewall staking) and they were well down at 30,000 kays.

Mostly on good dirt roads or bitumen getting to the 4WD spots. But a lot of the 4WDing was on sharp rock.

The only excuse might be that I go out really heavy at max (upgraded) GVM.

FollowupID: 663464

Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:17

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:17
I would never fit BFG's on a 200 series, to me there are far better tyres to choose from.
FollowupID: 663476

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 22:56

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 22:56
Such as...
FollowupID: 663490

Follow Up By: Mark Howlett - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 22:56

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 22:56
Can only talk from experience but our Prado had BFG A/T on it when we bought it and we did 70,000kms on top of what was already on them. That included 25,000kms fully loaded and towing a Trak Shak. We were happy with handling in all conditions and tyre noise was never an issue. I was pretty happy with them! We now have some new BFG's - why would we bother trying for something 'better'?

Mark.
FollowupID: 663491

Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 10:09

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 10:09
I am not going to get into a tyre argument but there are a few brands I would rate better than BFG A/T. Pirelli Scorpion ATR's for starters, they are a far better all round tyre, if you are going to spend all your time on dirt roads and never drive on the highway then I would not argue against the BFG's.
FollowupID: 663528

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 12:20

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 12:20
Secret mens

Correct me If Im wrong but I thought the original post was asking a question on exchanging tyres not asking for your opinion on tyres!!!!

FollowupID: 663548

Follow Up By: Rut Tearer - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 12:28

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 12:28
Not answering for SMB however I read the question as both Ingo, exchanging tyres because the thought was the Dunlops wouldn't be up to the job, or there were better choices etc. Secondly somebody posted Such As as a response to "Better Choices" hence the answer
FollowupID: 663549

Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 12:31

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 12:31
Ingo, read the other posts matey, there are plenty of opinions on tyres, so was is my opinion questioned and others not? So you stand corrected thankyou.! LOL
FollowupID: 663550

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 12:34

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 12:34
Hello Ingo, This thread contains everybodys opinions on tyres as I read it so I don't understand your point, the question of changing the tyres and what to are all relevant IMO.
FollowupID: 663551

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 12:53

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 12:53
Sorry still dont see where hes asking for an opinion on tyre choice???????

SMB you stated "I would never fit BFG's on a 200 series, to me there are far better tyres to choose from" you are the only person saying this!
Everyone is entitled to there own opinion sure but the post is regarding a place that will exchange tyres not what tyres are best suited or better choices, besides he's already stated what he's getting!!!!!!!

Just makes me laugh how some people think they know better than everyone else on this site.

FollowupID: 663553

Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:01

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:01
Yeah no worries Ingo have a laugh at my expense, I'm not the only person saying anything,

quote Roback "As well why BFG? There are plenty of other tyres, particularly in the AT range that offer improvements in tyre technology over that particular tyre. You have at least two options with Goodyear, two again with Bridgestone, Toyo, Maxi, Mickey Thompson and of course Coopers. "

End Quote..

Now Ingo I'm a logical person but you are a dead set worry , read the quote above matey, or do I need to read it for you. It says Why BFG blah blah blah. Now it's my turn to laugh, because you obviously can't read..!
FollowupID: 663557

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:04

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:04
Ingo, I think you haven't read this thread properly, SMB is not the only person saying this as you say, never mind Ingo it happens to the best of us. LOL
FollowupID: 663558

Follow Up By: Rut Tearer - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:08

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:08
Hummm Ingo, you made a boo boo..You're as bad as me. ha ha
FollowupID: 663559

Follow Up By: pling - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:47

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:47

Ingo is right!

All I asked in my original thread is, "where can I get an exchange of tyres"

Not what tyre should I use, that is my decision what tyres I wish to use!

I have in the past 25 years tried Pirelli, Bridgestone, Toyo and Coopers - but I wish to fit BFG.

Could "Rut tearer", "Terra Firma", "Secret men's business" please read the original question and post an answer if they know where they can be exchanged.

Thank you.

FollowupID: 663565

Follow Up By: Rut Tearer - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:52

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:52
Pling, Stewart Toyota if you ask nicely.
FollowupID: 663566

Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:58

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:58
Pling, How come RobAck doesn't get a mention? Come on mate , how hard can it be ring your dealer and do some side steps and a dance , or failing that get your missus to do it, I'm sure they'll help you now that your 100% committed to a changeover. Hey where are you heading with the rig?

RobAck replied:
Why do you need to change over tyres? If you are not planning any remote trips then wear them out. If you are looking at getting a second set of tyres for serious off road work then just change them over as you need. Unless you are always off road

As well you will not get any real money as trade in's regardless of if they are new.

As well why BFG? There are plenty of other tyres, particularly in the AT range that offer improvements in tyre technology over that particular tyre. You have at least two options with Goodyear, two again with Bridgestone, Toyo, Maxi, Mickey Thompson and of course Coopers.

There's nothiing wrong with the original tyres for day to day use and occasional off-road use. Our test LC200 has done plenty of serious work on and off-road using the standard tyres and not a problem for us

RobA
FollowupID: 663570

Follow Up By: pling - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:03

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:03
Thanks Rut tearer, I was not aware that Stewart Toyota are tyre dealers.

I am purchasing the 200 from a North side Toyota dealer, and I was not aware they work that close together.

Buy the 200 from one dealer and change the tyres at another.
FollowupID: 663571

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:04

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:04
Hahahahaha

SMB harden up Princess, If It makes you feel better that knowing your not the only one....what ever floats your boat!!

Tell me SMB were you one of those blokes in a group at school that used to get into trouble and then drag all your mates down with you If they didnt get caught.... Betcha were! LOL

All good matey we will move on aye!
FollowupID: 663572

Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:15

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:15
Ingo, Your back.! Took your time pal? I notice you didn't answer my question , but nevermind you were wrong to attack me when RobAck had made the same comments, but don't worry I didn't take it personally. I know your a decent bloke, cough cough..

I never went to school and never got in trouble , however I have a sneaking suspicion about you Ingo that I have passed onto Dave, Let's see where it leads hey. As you the advise king how come you never gave any to Pling? Hummm makes you wonder. All good here, LOL..
FollowupID: 663573

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:35

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:35
Hey Ingo, I'm in bike buying mode at the moment, which Yammy do you have?
FollowupID: 663577

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:44

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:44
Took my time......some of us still actually do have to get some work done whilst you sling your replies back at lightening speed.

Good luck to you with your suspicions and where It leads you & Dave???
However you could be onto something Princess or maybe not! Hummmmmm
Dont know where your gettin your info If you think Im a decent bloke!

Terra Firma, what you looking at buying?

FollowupID: 663578

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:48

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:48
WR450F electric start I'm too old to kick on the big hills nowadays
FollowupID: 663579

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 15:54

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 15:54
Terrafirma,

Mine was a 2000 mod WR400 and I sold her about 3 weeks ago, fantastic bike and yes a bugger to kick start on the side of a hill on a hot day!

I have a friend who is selling a very well kept 05 model WR450F, If your Interested
send me an email and I will pass on his details.

Ingo

FollowupID: 663589

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:45

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:45
Hi Pling,

My tyre dealer said he would give me the same price for my tyres ($200 ea) up to 5,000kms old when I changed the OEM's to BFG's on my 200.

AnswerID: 395037

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 19:47

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 19:47
Captain, I like your signature line and in this case particularly, think it is most appropriate.

Drive to the conditions and most I say MOST tyres including the originals will do a reasonably good job. If the driving is done in extreme conditions then a more suitable tyre may be the go. I have always maintained that the biggest destroyers of tyres is excessive speed and wrong pressures for prevailing road type.

FollowupID: 663460

Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:00

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 20:00
It is your decision what you do with your tyres & if you want to change brands then go for it. I spoke to my dealer about swapping tyres and as soon as the vehicle hit the yard it was down to the Bob Jane Tyre man & new Yoko geo12's were put on & the Bridgestones off. To each his own on tyres, personally I think you are doing the right thing BFG's have had the same pattern in the T/A for over 20 years so they must be doing something right.
AnswerID: 395051

Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:46

Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 21:46
I agree with RobAck. Keep the tyres and use them. You will get more value per dollar that way.

In the meantime get another set of rims and set them up with your off road rubber. Whatever you want. No rush and you have time to look for second hand rims. We found a set on ebay at half the going new rate.

We then saved up and put some Cooper STTs on them. I have an advantage though. I have a 12V ratchet driver (rattle gun type of thingumy) for the wheel nuts from my son. It really makes it easy.

AnswerID: 395077

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 08:41

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 08:41
The only problem I can see with this idea is that Cooper's will not honour any warranty on their tyres unless you can prove you have had a wheel alignment,balance & front end check every time you remove & replace the wheels with the cooper's on. Cooper Tires state that wheel balancing & front end alignments are mandatory every so many thousand Km's otherwise you void your warranty. Don't believe me, read the fine print that comes on the paper work when you purchase Cooper tyres....better still. If you cannot decipher it or you are a little confused take it to a contracts solicitor/barrister & have him or her decipher it.!!! If your vehicle has IFS like I think the new Cruiser has in the front & because it is constant 4 wheel drive you may have to get a four wheel alignment like you must do on monocoque independent suspension vehicles like pajero's when you "swap & change wheels & tyre" also if you decide a "lift" is appropriate like a 40mm suspension lift when you fit good off road suspension components like springs & shockers a four wheel alignment is a must other wise you will scrub out perfectly good tyres in next to no time. I could not be bothered going to all this trouble when I was changing wheels on the Pajero, so I sold the wheels & tyres & bought a set of good tyres that served me very well...BFG T/A. I also had Cooper ST for awhile also a very good tyre IMHO
FollowupID: 663518

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 09:20

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 09:20
All good info.

I am not picking you. Just some info for thought. Contracts, agreements and warranty statements - all understood. As well we all understand. Right guys????

I wonder why the dealer didn't say anything nor ask about a wheel alignment when they put the new STTs on the spare rims and put them on the car. One could say they were negligent and voided their own warranty.Well that's life; go for a "discount" and you get what you paid for. Not a word about it. Hmmm. I must ask the boss where we stand.

You know what its like at those fast food type tyre fitting places. Done - Pay up - Next!!

FollowupID: 663522

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 10:31

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 10:31
Unfortunately a warranty is only as good as when it's tested. Just recently in Australia there was a High court decision in relation to trading practises. Signs which state "No Refunds or No Exchange" are useless to the "seller fella" Many years ago I attempted to gain a refund from a purchase my wife had made for me. The shop assistant refused my request & pointed to a sign "NO REFUNDS" When I asked for the manager who also refused my request I asked the shop assistant did she explain the conditions of the sale at the time of purchase to my wife. She said, "Of course not the sign is quite clear in what it says" I then told her that my wife cannot read or write & could we please have our money back rather than go to the small claims tribunal. I got the refund!!! I am not trying to be a smarty or a know all, it's just with some companies who have the big advertising gimics & brass bands playing & it's sometimes a big con. For years people thought that if you had a warranty claim on a well known tyre, that company would replace the tyre....Customers soon learnt that was not the case....read the fine print they were told...you get "Pro rater wear & tear" So if the tyre is $200 & you have travelled 40,000km you pay $160 for new tyre!!! But if the company wishes to get "fair dinkum" they will revert to the fine print & all the conditions & clauses!!!
FollowupID: 663531

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:16

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 11:16
I think thats fair enough about no compensation for the bit you had fun with. But the wasted bit left over. Get whatever you can and if you are not happy try the small claims court etc etc. But remember if you lose you could end up wearing extra costs. Is it worth it. For a brand new set - too right.

I also heard that the so-called "fine print" can be in contravention of the ACCC and thus invalid. So its worth reading carefully if they say no. Especially for new tyres!

Catchya
FollowupID: 663540

Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:00

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:00

They may not have mentioned wheel alignments or warranty
when the STT's were fitted as to my knowledge that series
does not come with warranty

FollowupID: 663556

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:18

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 13:18
Interesting. Worth checking that out. They are only 4 weeks old and have done 1K.

Even if there wasn't any warranty I believe we are still protected buy some "fit for function and performance" basic requirements fom the ACCC or someone. Otherwise they could be considered dangerous and not allowed on the road and things like that let alone even to enter the country.

That is for everything sold across the counter.

Thanks will check it out.
FollowupID: 663560

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 18:59

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 18:59
Came home this afternoon and found 18 replies to this thread.

Unfortunately it degenerated into a seriously off topic slanging match.

Where are the moderators when they are needed

What a waste of time opening all of them
AnswerID: 395178

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 23:31

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 23:31
Graham

Its like starting a conversation at a party. You ask an attractive young woman what she might be doing later in the evening and before you know it the conversation has transmogrified into a discussion across the room about the footy or politics or Coopers v, BFGs

Get over it.
FollowupID: 664059

Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 21:06

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 21:06
Interested to know how you get on pling.
I have heard some stories about not getting much of a trade on the original tyres up this way. Even though when someone goes in to buy tyres that have been traded as new they pay top dollar.
Would be good if you could put up a follow up thread after you do the deal & let us know how you got on.
AnswerID: 395207

Follow Up By: pling - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 21:48

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 21:48
Will do fatso.

I agree with Graham, it seemed to get out of hand with some people wishing to impart their knowledge even though I know what tyres I wanted, just wanted advice where to get them in this area.

The second reply was the only one to give the advice I needed.

Will let you "all" know how I get on when I pick the car up close to christmas.
FollowupID: 663649

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 18:39

Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 18:39
Pling,

Well, how did you go ? I am ordering a 200 in a fortnight and I would like to change the tyres too.

Willie.
FollowupID: 665130

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 19:04

Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 19:04
Hi Mike,
My response might be too late for Pling, but could help you.

On my last two vehicles, I've changed tyres before taking delivery (2005 Hilux and 2008 79 Series). In both cases I rang around a few local tyre places. Both times, Bob Jane came out in front. Both times, they organised the change over with the dealer before I picked up the vehicle.

Don't know if the same will apply in your area, but worth shopping around. About $300 difference in change over between highest and lowest and about $100 difference between two different Bob Janes. Bob Jane Southport won both times.

I'll get in trouble for chat, but thought I'd mention I bought a heap more Mann's lures recently - direct from Mann's in USA. Some of yours are among our favourites. Landed in Oz for about $8.00 per lure.

Norm C
FollowupID: 665131

Follow Up By: pling - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 21:09

Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 21:09

Santa arrived early and I took delivery of the 200 yesterday.

I had ordered a GXL, but they could not deliver one until February, so the company agreed for me to purchase a VX which could be delivered before xmas.

Spoke to the dealer (Truscotts) and they were happy to arrange the tyre change to BFG's with Bob Jane Granville prior to delivery and would come back to me with a price.

When he came back to me he apologized that you can't get BFG's in 18'', which is supplied rim size on the VX and Sahara. (the GXL is supplied with 17'' rims and BFG's are available)

Bob Jane stated they could supply Cooper, Yokahama or Mickey Thomson, but not before February.

I gave up!!!!!!!! and I did not get a price for the changeover. Sorry.

I got on the net and tried to track down some 17'' rims only to find two sets of new 18'' rims for sale.

I am off on holidays so will work out what to do before doing our next trip into the centre.

I was trying to avoid having two sets of rims, but I think that will be the best way out.

Since placing this thread, I have been told all dealers will arrange a changeover of tyres before delivery.

FollowupID: 665147

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:38

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:38
OK, thanks for the info. and enjoy your break.
Willie
FollowupID: 665164

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:42

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:42
Norm, you are a duffer. If you had told me, I would have sent you a bunch of Mann's for nothing. I am surprised they are still selling those Aussie colours in the US. Do you still need some ? Email or message me if you do.

Willie
FollowupID: 665165

Follow Up By: Fatso - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 13:17

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 13:17
Thanks for the response Pling.
Happy travels with the new car mate.
FollowupID: 665198