Navara 2.5td

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 14:27
ThreadID: 74419 Views:5032 Replies:7 FollowUps:6

We are now looking at the new nissan navara as our next tug. It has been an exhausting process with having to reject several different makes/models for various reasons.
So, it will tow 3 ton, take 300kg ball weight but has a small motor.
Does any one out there have 1, uses it for towing and what their experience has been with them - good/bad/indifferent....do they tend to go bang like the 3 litre patrols?

Thank you every one who replied to our previous post on choosing a new tug and thankyou in advance for bearing with us again this time!

cheers, Keith

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 15:43

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 15:43
Keith

gday mate,you can ask that question HERE on this forum.......al good guys and helpful,cheers.
AnswerID: 395150

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 16:37

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 16:37
Hi Keith,

we have one which is a about 2 and 1/2 years old now and it tows our 2 and a half tonne van, carries a tinny on top etc. It is the auto diesel, with a canopy, and is very thirsty when towing - at worst around 23 litres per 100kms into a headwind, although not so bad when not towing- more like 11litres per 100kms. It doesnt seem to have any problem towing the load however we dont travel over 90kph anywhere.

Ours is still under warrantly which runs out next April and we had a very inconvenient breakdown on our trip to the west coast earlier this year when it had to have parts replaced - re the timing chain. Nissan did this under warranty and when I enquired on the Navara forum as to this being experienced by other owners it was most uncommon. So maybe we were just unlucky and bought one which had come off the assembly line late on Friday afternoon or first thing Monday morning. LOL. No problems since that time and we have done another 15,000 or so kms.

We are going to enquire as to the possibility of externding our Nissan warranty by another three years if we are able to do this before the initial 3 year period expires, however arent really expecting to be able to do this because we didnt do it when we bought the vehicle.

There dont seem to be many choices in auto dual cab utes which will tow 3 tonne which is why we chose ours. It is comfortable to travel in and like a car to drive and we have loads of room.

Heather Glyde

Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 395156

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 16:47

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 16:47
G'day Heather, Out of interest, the turning circle of the navara ,has the new model improved? Because the 2004 a mate has and it's a shocker in the bush 3 point turns more like 6 point. He also tows a large van probably close to 2.5 tonne & into the wind it has about the same economy but he has to use 4th gear & very slow up hills (long pulls)
FollowupID: 663593

Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 16:55

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 16:55
Hi Orejap,

The report form my husband is that the turning circle isnt good - a bit like the Queen Mary he reckons! However it is quite a long vehicle so I wouldnt expect it to turn in a flash either!

Heather

FollowupID: 663596

Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 16:41

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 16:41
G/day Keith, A quarry owner in our region bought one in the middle of 2008,

Something flew to bits in the timming chain/gear area last month.

He is not at all happy with it , especially after trading a 4,2 patrol with 300,000 trouble free ks in on it.

cheers Axle.
AnswerID: 395159

Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 16:56

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 16:56
Hi Axle,

that sounds very much like our problem! Maybe it isnt so uncommon after all.

Heather

FollowupID: 663597

Reply By: Injected - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 17:34

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 17:34
Keith,

Where do I start? The paint work is crap, the suspension has to be replaced to carry or tow anything larger than your 6X4 trailer. It will go into limp mode when you dont need it to e.g. overtaking road trains. The clutch can let go at anytime (especially offroading lots). The material on the seats is scratchy, but that can be rectified easily. The diff likes to whine around 80-90,000 Kms, the ABS sensor wires on the rear axle face the front and cop a hiding from rocks, there is not room under bonnet for second battery, resale value not as good as Hilux. They can only be lifted by about 40 mm on the front before the top swing arm hits the ciol bucket, unless you go crazy with the calmini lift.
The earlier models can start to rust from the inside out on the roof.
Underbody bash plates are a must as the radiator and sump hangs low.
Took mine to the cape with camper trailer in tow, drop the revs down below 1800rpm and nothing, have to use low range a lot even when other vehicles were using high range. No breakdowns on the trip though.
If you are a builder around town yeah no probs but anything serious i would probably find the extra cash and get a Hilux.
And yes i do own one D40.
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.
AnswerID: 395163

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 17:47

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 17:47
Injected

Keith was talking about the NEW STR not the D40.
heard there was some of those problems you were talking about but have had none of those dramas with mine (2004 STR),cheers.
FollowupID: 663604

Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 22:03

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 22:03
Hi Mark,

(I think)The STR is a version of the D40. Like a GLX is a version of a 100 series cruiser.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 663839

Follow Up By: Injected - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 08:25

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 08:25
Wilko,
The STR is a Prado of the Landcruisers. Looks similar, has the same name badging, but not quite right.
FollowupID: 663871

Reply By: Wilk0 - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 17:47

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 17:47
Hi Stumbly,

FYI (You prob already know)There are 2 different Navaras with 2.5lt td. The D40 and the D22. The D40 is the newer design with more power and torque.

A shearer mate tows his crutching gear with one and he said its reasonable steady compared to his old ute (2006 hilux intercooled turbo).

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 395167

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 19:11

Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009 at 19:11
Check on the Nissan sit about towball weights as it cant always have 300kg

There is a graph there that tells you about loadings and ballweights

Here it is

http://www.nissan.com.au/webpages/support_templates/grade_comparator/Spec_sheets/NAD0039_A4specs%20April09.pdf
AnswerID: 395180

Reply By: stumbly1 - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:48

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:48
Thanks every one - plenty of food for thought there!

I thought choosing a new tug was going to be easy, but as they say - they don't make 'em like they used to.....

It may come down to not doing a novated lease and keeping my 4.2td Patrol. (I didn't really want to get rid of it but the missus wanted a new tug for her new van)

Thanks again, Keith
AnswerID: 395274