Bfg all terrains on the troopy .

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 11:37
ThreadID: 74441 Views:4681 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Bought a set of bfg all terrains for the troopy . I am impressed by the way the sidewalls hold there shape even at 14psi for sand driving . The tyres footprint got noticieably longer but the sidewall stayed relatively the same as when it was at 38 psi . I had bridgestones on before and the bagging of the sidewall was terrible , very easy to stake . Going to fraser on the 4th so i will see how they go .

Reply By: Member - Syd R (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 12:15

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 12:15
Hi I'am with you. Since I changed for Coopers to BFG my problems seem to have gone away!
AnswerID: 395276

Follow Up By: ajd - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 12:34

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 12:34
Driving on Mickey Thompsons at the moment but I reckon the BFG AT's are the best tyre I have ever had.

Also had Cooper ST's but I wont go there.

FollowupID: 663723

Reply By: Wilk0 - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 17:16

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 17:16
Hi Atta Biy Luther,

They are my favorite by a long way I just got a new set on the ute. What size did you fit?

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 395313

Follow Up By: Atta Boy Luther - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 17:34

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 17:34
265/75/r16
FollowupID: 663770

Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:41

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:41
I've been on BFG since 1993. I've had numerous sidewall stakes (though never through the tread), blow outs (which have been repaired) and tread delaminations. So they're not indestructible.
AnswerID: 395397

Follow Up By: Glenndini - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 13:00

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 13:00
I've been on BFG A/T's for about the same amount of time. On my third set now. In that time I haven't even had a flat, never mind a stake, blow out or delamination.
It is now doubt true that you must be giving them a much harder time than me, rogher tracks, more hardcore terrain etc. I do most of my off road on the QLD islands, Moreton, Bribie and Fraser. Mostly sand I guess but still plenty of rough tracks with low air pressure.

It's seems, as has been noted many times, that peoples' experiences with the same tyre can vary wildly. Damn it makes it hard to decide if any brand has any advantages over another.

I want get a set of muddies next so I'll probably stay with BFG. Mind you, they cost more than some others too.

Tyres just go round and round.
FollowupID: 663922

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 17:24

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 17:24
Atta Boy

Love my BFG AT's.. Muddies are top stuff too !

On our recent trip 15,000 km plus Canning and Gibb River road, 1 puncture only, then I plugged it, and drove it home. Pressures 12 front .. 15 rear.. 12 camper, in the Canning and 18,, 20 ,, 16 on the Gibb Easy.....
All too easy, and will not have any other tyre on our 4B.

Servo owner at Marble Bar, claims that Coopers made him a millionaire $$$$$$$

He hates BFG's,... as they seldome schyte themselves, and he cannot make $$$$$ from repairs

I Have to agree !

AnswerID: 395472