lightforce xgts

Hi all...... (my first time)
I have been told the lightforce XGTs can not be upgraded to HID is this right?? I'm told I can buy 240 HID 35w for $995 a pop..... can I get it any cheaper??
Thanks.

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 19:27

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 19:27
Xgt's converted to HID sell for around $800 on ebay

Try Derek from ABR sidewinder.
Have a good one
AnswerID: 395322

Reply By: iambiscuit - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:30

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:30
Thanks for that..... is there another light that might be better or lower in cost?? I do a heaps of night driving as well as 4wd....
AnswerID: 395332

Reply By: Member -Chops - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:40

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:40
Why anyone would pay this much for driving lights is beyond me. What is it about these lights that makes them "worth" so much? Another case of "High Price, must be the best"?
AnswerID: 395334

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 23:16

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 23:16
Until you see HID spotlights, you wont understand. Halogen do not compare to HID quality. Just like comparing a thermoelectric fridge with a compressor fridge. The price difference is alot, but the overall benefits are worth it. Providing you do drive at night, if not then you shouldnt be replying to this thread.
FollowupID: 663844

Follow Up By: Member -Chops - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:40

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:40
I humbly apologise Kroozer for asking what the value is in spending so much on a pair of lights. In future, I will drive at night more before I post anything relating to lights. I hope your day is a good one.
FollowupID: 663893

Follow Up By: Glenndini - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 12:42

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 12:42
I too, will not give my opinion on the waste of money HID lights might be as I might not drive at night often enough to satisfy kroozer's standards.
FollowupID: 663919

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 13:59

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 13:59
Thats right Glenn. Its just like people who buy M/T tyres, but never leave the bitumen. Waste of money. The poor fella wasnt asking for your opinion anyway, so why offer it? He wants HID advice, so if ya dont use them then dont reply. Simple really.
FollowupID: 663932

Follow Up By: Glenndini - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:32

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:32
He was asking for advice. I didn't see where he specifically asked for yours either.

He was asking about saving money. Two people advised that maybe the best way to make a saving was to consider if HIDs were worth it anyway. all you had to offer was abuse.
FollowupID: 663952

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:36

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:36
He was actually asking about the XGT Lightforce and if it can be converted to HID, and if he could get HID Lightforce cheaper. Not does anyone reckon HID is worth it, he is a smart man and has obviously seen the light. I dont offer abuse mate, i just give it.
FollowupID: 663953

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:42

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:42
I use Roolites which are a cheap copy of the lightforce and seem to work qiute well

Pete
AnswerID: 395335

Reply By: Fatso - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:44

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:44
I drive a bit slower of a night time.
AnswerID: 395336

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:55

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 20:55
I have the XGT's and they are an excellent light in there own right.

The price difference between the XGT and HID is pretty steep and in reality you may only gain a few hundred meters extra over the XGT which pending on the diffuser set up already reaches out about 600 meters plus.

If you need more light then consider additional higher wattage inserts for your main headlights probably still be cheaper overall.

AnswerID: 395338

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:07

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:07
I have them too and you'll never outdrive them, the step to HID is not justified for the money IMHO

FollowupID: 663826

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:11

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:11
Also on the Hwy's the reflective signs reflect back & nearly blind you, so brighter not always better unless out in the scrub.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 663830

Reply By: Member -Hunjy (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:12

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:12
I bought a pair of HID bulbs for the XGT's off ebay for $250.00, they came with full instructions to install them with minimal fuss.
The positive side is the light is white and much brighter and the negative side is that there is a narrow dark stripe in the light beam caused by the shadow of the small rod that comes out of the end of the bulb and then runs parallel to the bulb.

Is it worth it?
Yeah its worth it.

Mal
AnswerID: 395341

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 23:18

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 23:18
Totally agree. For alround better light its probably worth gping with some Hella 4000 spread beams, but i am a Lightforce man so the spot beam does it for me.
FollowupID: 663845

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:18

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 21:18
Lightforce themselves now sell a kit to upgrade some of their halogen lights to HID format....but I think it only applies to the Blitz 240, Striker 170 and the little 140s; not the XGT.

I had a set of XGT which I converted myself to HID (with remote ballast location under bullbar), but they weren't as good as I expected them to be, so I've sold them and gone back to having 4 x 170's....even these are off the rig at present (for the summer)......

I agree with some of the other comments (eg: Bonz)....you'll never "out-drive" a decent set of halogen lights anyway, so why the expense of HIDs so you can see 3 klicks ahead of where you are.....you've got plenty of time (@ 100k/h) to get to where your lights are shining, so can pick-up nasty surprises well in advance.

The one thing I like about having 4 x 170's on the bullbar is that I can angle the 2 outer ones a bit , to give me a much better peripheral view of the roadside, thus showing-up any wildlife that might be thinking of straying into my path.

AnswerID: 395344

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 23:11

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 23:11
The idea of using HID spotlights isnt just about the amount of light , but the fact that it also reduces fatigue. Nothing compares to HID, the price is very well worth it. People spend huge money on all sorts of stuff for there 4wd, so i dont think this should be any different. Try drive all night with halogen and then try it with HID, big difference. Truck drivers can back me up on this. Every truck over this way now has HID Hella 4000s or Lightforce. You can never ever have too much light, its cheap insurance if ya ask me.
AnswerID: 395361

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 23:27

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 23:27
You can convert the other Lightforce lights with a genuine kit from Lightforce. Costs about $410 to convert 2 lights, and you can get the 240 Blitz for about $385 on ebay. Same light output as XGT just different design. Thats the cheaper option for great light, and you will be impressed.
AnswerID: 395362

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 23:51

Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009 at 23:51
Not a huge fan of these lights really because, yes they are pretty bloody good at throwing light out there, but then a bit more reflects back at you and when dropping down to low beam it takes a little while for the eyes to adjust. Sometimes this can be a little hazardous.

For me I prefer to have decent spotties without them being overly bright.
FollowupID: 663849

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 09:25

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 09:25
I bought some Lightforce 170's that were converted to HID from a well-known seller on ebay. When I installed them onto my car, while the light output was fantastic, the RF noise coming back through the HF made the HF unusable while the lights were on. There was even a whistle coming through the AM broadcast radio.

Tried all sorts of things to get rid of the noise to no avail. Ended up going back to halogen and sold the HID lights locallly. The ebay seller was not very helpful in problem solving either.

Very disappointed with my brief foray into the world of HID.

AnswerID: 395389

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:29

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:29
Do you think maybe the official Lightforce 170 HID upgrade may have been a better choice than the ebay seller? - as in no RF noise

That is the combination I am planning to get for my cruiser.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 664007

Reply By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:12

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:12
Howdy All

I have the 240 blitz mounted on my bull bar which were halogen when i got the car. A few months ago i got the lightforce upgrade kit from a dealer and had an Auto sparkie install them for me.

In my opinion the difference is amazing, not just how much brighter they were but how much more easy on the eyes they are driving at night. Makes a big difference with fatigue because no more squinting after a long night on the road.

I will admit thought the black 'v' lines are quite annoying because the dealer did tell me that the genuine lightforce kits will not have the 'v' but its not stopping me from using them.

I was keen on buying the HID XGT's but for the price i was quoted ($1600) i thought its alot cheaper just to put the kit on the old 240's.

p.s Does anyone know if there is significant amount of difference between the 240 hid's and the xgt hid's?

AnswerID: 395394

Follow Up By: iambiscuit - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:30

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:30
i have been doing nothing but looking at lights...... I hope I've got this right the XGTs cannot be turned into HID with a lightforce upgrade kit but lightforce use the same product they just call it the 240 HID 34w............ same light just one is HID...... stupid I know but i guess they want the money.
FollowupID: 663891

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:44

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:44
So there is really no point spending a small fortune to get the same light then correct??
FollowupID: 663896

Follow Up By: iambiscuit - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:56

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:56
Good point
FollowupID: 663897

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:58

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:58
Yep both correct. Its just that with the Blitz people can unscrew your lens and nick off with them, where as the XGT they cant. XGT have a more stable mounting, but the exact same reflector as the 240 Blitz so exact same light output.
FollowupID: 663898

Reply By: camwill69 - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 11:59

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 11:59
No one has mentioned the advantages of hid with the reduced amp/currant draw. This is the most significant advance/benefit with hid apart from fatigue reduction. A lot less load on the alternator, wiring and battery.

Cam
AnswerID: 395410

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 12:02

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 12:02
Not to mention a longer bulb life, and less heat.
FollowupID: 663909

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 13:12

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 13:12
We could just keep going with this

I spose its all opinion stuff but hid wins hands down in every category
FollowupID: 663924

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:06

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:06
Yeah thats right. They say that it isnt worth the extra money, but all ya gotta do is hit one bull or fall asleep at the wheel. With HID it minimses this, and keeps you feeling fresher longer with less stress on your vehicle charging system, longer globe life and an alround better night driving experience.

I suppose its a bit like comparing the leaf springs on a Old Tojo to KDSS on a 200 series. Yes the leaf springs will do the job, but boy oh boy when you experience the 200 series, you will be speechless. All the flash cars come with HID as standard these days so it obviously and undoubtedly does have advantages.
FollowupID: 663933

Follow Up By: iambiscuit - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:13

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:13
Thanks heaps guys for all your help..... I think I'm swaying towards the 240 HID 35w and maybe if I'm lucky I can find a cheaper price on ebay or somewhere else in Aus.
FollowupID: 663980

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:06

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:06
You should try get the 50w

Supposed to be alot better
FollowupID: 663990

Reply By: ian - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:06

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:06
I don't know if they are a good light. BUT I saw some new ones this year where the corrugations had caused the brackets to snap off. Owner not happy.
I assume they came with the lights.
ian
AnswerID: 395505

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:31

Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 21:31
A while back I good to run a set of lightforce HID lights on the cruiser. The real HIDs not upgrades. They were a lone set from Lightforce for a rally team I was doing recovery for but they crashed before the night driving so we chucked them on the criuser to drive home. They were $2400 a pair so I was a bit nervous. It was raining heavy and windy so hard to see. I flicked the HIDs on and OH MY GOSH if someone had walked across the road 1km in front of me I could have told you what was written on his Tshirt lol. I knew they were good but the difference it made was unbelievable. It was a long drive home and made it so easy driving. I had one idiot who left his lights on high beam but not for long when I gave him a flick. With the true HID there is no black spot in them as with upgrades, not with the ones we used anyway. Reflection from roadsigns was bit of a problem but I can handle that for such comfort in long distance night driving.

Josh
AnswerID: 395516