Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 00:21
Skippy In The GU
Has anyone heard any more bad reports on this tyres, I did a search and seen a couple had spilts on the side wall but that could have been a bad batch
I have the older set and have done over 70k's and still have another 10k's on three of them
Cheers Skippy
Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 07:53
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 07:53
Skip,
We use them on our underground utes and have had no problems.
Although the speeds are low the tyres are subjected to constant turning and steep declines, 4wd is used all the time and they also come up top and are used on bitumin, with lots of wind up.
The rocks are shape but that does,t seem to cause problems. The only flats we get are usually from minsup clips. Have had the odd rock bolt that has been run over and come up through the floor of the Toyota's.
Get about 5000 k out of them but that is to be expected, most last between 2500 and 3000 k.
Reply By: Ozrover - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:09
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 10:09
Gerday Skippy.
I've been using the older style of MT/Rs for about ten years on four different 4bys, & couldn't be happier, I usually get about 50-60k out of them on all different types of terrain.
The new MT/Rs with the different tread pattern I'm not so sure about, we had a traveller come through earlier this year with a brand new set & he wasn't happy with them at all, one had to be scrapped with a tear in the shoulder & he was taking it back for a refund.
Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:13
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:13
Hi Ozrover , I am also very happy with the older Wrangler MT/R's
i also like the pay the extra $16 per tyre just in case one gets staked
Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 11:58
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 11:58
I have had
mine for 3 months only done 5000 kms. I have been away on one trip, with lots of rocks, sandy beaches, washout etc all handled with ease.
They still look like new no cuts or chips.
I thought they might be noisy on the tar but I find the noise more than an acceptable.
Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:17
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:17
Hello Phil, I don't mind he noise , a good Stereo gets rid of any noises
Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:39
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:39
Good one Skippy.
Actually I have no need for a stereo I just listen to the wife - Oops I sense another elbow to the ribs coming up.
Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:54
Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:54
Phil do you really listen to your wife ?? LOL
Don't know about you but as a male I can only do one task at a time, so when I'm driving I just drive, music in the back ground is all I want to hear :-)
P.S my partner doesn't read this so I am very safe
Reply By: RobAck - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 17:34
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 17:34
We've been running a test set which have covered over 10000km and they look new. We had them running in the APY lands with plenty of rocky tyre shredding stuff and not a problem
I put 850km on them over the last weekend on a tour to
Beachport and back along the Coorong beaches. Plenty of steep soft dunes and long soft beaches as
well as plenty of rocky stuff. Not a probem
I have a client usiing them on a
mine site and they are changing over from the older version. Like chalk and cheese is the common comment with that being a very positive view of the new one. Not that the old one was a bad tyre though. We work with a tour company in central Australia and they have moved to them with posiive feedback as
well
From my perspective if you spend a lot of time off-road then this is definitely a tyre to consider. but they are noticeably noisy when compared to an AT or LT such as a Bridgestone D694.
RobA
Reply By: Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:51
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 18:51
Sorry Skip , I can not help you yet, I have a new set sitting in the shed waiting to go on before our big trip next year. All I do know is it took a month or more to get hold of them as they had no stock and heaps on back order.
Will watch this thread with intrest to see what everyone else says.
rossco
Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:43
Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:43
Ross,
there is only one Wrangler MTR in
Adelaide at this moment, there are about half a dozen in Victoria but none of the dealers want to pay for the transport here in
Adelaide
there are 2 shipments coming next month and they are nearly all sold
They seem to be very popular , Funny how most tyre dealers I speak to say that the 285 x 75 x 16 is a very odd size .
I only want to buy 2 at this stage so I can do my Xmas journey to Carrajung Victoria
Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:13
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:13
Gday Skip,
I have the new ones fitted and they are much better in sand than the older style, I believe its the side pattern. Havent had any troubles with them yet, but I did get the older style replaced after 38thous K's as they started to crack on the inner walls.
I believe the same as Phil G, it was the lower pressure, corrigations and heat of the Anne Beadell that caused it, not that its a good enough excuse just stating why I believed they did need replacing. I also have the insurance bud Goodyear did it under warranty.
Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:48
Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 08:48
Hi Blaze, thats one good thing about Goodyear tyres and thats the warranty you can buy for the extra $16 per tyre, i have had 2 puntures and got them fixed for free.
I have seen and heard many people staking their Cooper tyres and no insurance to fall back on.
otherwise i might have to get the Cooper STT because it's their strongest tyre