To Call Or Not To Call?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:18
ThreadID: 74498 Views:4427 Replies:16 FollowUps:15
At 4-00am this morning, my neighbours car which was parked on the kerb side was smashed into by a BMW 4x4, the Beemer continued onto the footpath, some how drove up over a 50cm Rock Retaining Wall and ended up with the front of the vehicle sitting on top of a 50cm high Underground Power Box, now my neighbours car is a write off, the driver of the Beemer who is a Nigerian and has trouble with speaking English, he gives my neighbour his address and contact details, and shoots through, apparently he just lives around the corner, my neighbour phones the Police and explains what has occured,now this is the interesting bit, he is told that they won't come out because if the driver is drunk he might have trouble claiming insurance from him, my neighbour insists that they come out as his vehicle is demolished and he will use his insurance company to claim damages if need be, Three Hours Later, they arrive on the seen, the story is that the Beemer Driver swerved to miss a CAT, another Two Hours Later, a Tow Truck and the Energex Electricity people turn up to remove the Beemer of the Power Box, this accident happened in a 50kph area lol lol and the BL##DY CAT watched on from across the road.

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:33

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:33
I would call the police, as long as you have the other drivers information you would not loose your no claim bonus or have to pay excess. Besides that, if the guy in the Beemer was over the limit he will not be covered by his insurance and would be out of pocket one Beemer, may make him think twice nest time.

AnswerID: 395598

Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:41

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:41
I bet that buried somewhere way down the bottom of that very faint and fine print there will be a question about reporting the accident to the authorities or the insurance mob etc.

A phone call is cheap and won't hurt. If they refuse try being a little exicited and sound puffed etc as if you have trouble breathing. But dont lie.

If it was someone of note I bet they would have been there yesterday.

Luckily we have not had an accident since August 2nd 1970. Things were different then. They cared and would find time to help.

AnswerID: 395601

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:42

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:42
Yep I would call the wallopers too, they have the info to find out who the driver is and all the details and will file a report that you can use for your insurance.

AnswerID: 395602

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:49

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:49
Laws vary from State-to-State but as I understand you have a legal responsibility to report an accident to the police if there is an injury or if the damage exceeds a certain ($1000?) amount.

The decision of police attendance at the scene is the police decision. You cannot demand it (or anything else) from the police.

AnswerID: 395604

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:03

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:03
they will definitly attend if it involes traffick disruption or injury other wise they may well tell you to come to the station in the morning to put in a report.
But I would definitly have called them in that situation.

also make sure you have recorded the rego number of the vehicle they will often try and give out wrong details and then by the time the vehicle has been removed its all over for you
FollowupID: 664174

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:39

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:39
If you are not satisfied with the situation, get in touch with the Officer in Charge for the Region/Division in which the incident occurred and put the facts. I don't believe that going onto a forum and sprouting on is appropriate and furthermore not the most reliable place to get appropriate and factual advice in relation to this incident. It is a Police related matter.
AnswerID: 395611

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:06

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:06
DIO

I am just stating what happened to my neighbour, I don't believe that I have sprouted on, just when I thought you had Toned Down your Higher Than Mighty Attitude, it appears that I was mistaken.

FollowupID: 664189

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:12

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:12
if your neighbour reported it to the police there should be a copy of the report.

He should ask for a copy of the report as the insurance company has requested it

If the police cannot supply is go to the Ombudsman
FollowupID: 664192

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 18:00

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 18:00
Dio

why do you even bother to log onto here mate...all you seem to do is winge and bitch as to what people write here.
try to enjoy your xmas eh?
FollowupID: 664197

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 18:27

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 18:27
G'day Mark,

Mate, look upon this forum (as regards DIO), that you are doing his family (assuming he has a family) a REALLY HUGE favour, cos while ever he is on here annoying us, he at least must be leaving THEM alone. I'm sure they would be grateful to all of us for entertaining their Dio, eh??!! hahahaha.

Cheers mate...
FollowupID: 664199

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:09

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:09
In Victoria, if there is no injury, it is damage only and both drivers/owners are present and swapping details and there are no obvious breach of road rules etc, the coppers will not attend. It's a civil matter.

FollowupID: 664222

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 10:15

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 10:15
thats not correct Mick. its still a police matter as traffick laws have/could have been broken

thats why you have to report accidents even with minimal damage.

Last prang i had involved an unlicensed driver running a red light.
Sure the cops may not have attended but its still a police matter and while it took them ages to get to the report we filled in at the cop shop - they did get to it and the insurance company used there findings to place the blame on the other driver.

i cant say for sure but I assume they also followed up on the unlicensed driver
FollowupID: 664290

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 15:17

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 15:17
You of all people accusing others of "sprouting off inappropriately" DIO
Go and do something worth while and book an old lady for J walking or something.....
ROTFLMAO
FollowupID: 664310

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:48

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:48
Yep, call the police.
If they however have night shift running, and numbers are low, maybe some one can not turn up till day shift has started?
AnswerID: 395612

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:20

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 17:20
I too would have informed the police as soon a possible.
And if the vehicle that the beamer had hit been mine I would have taken photographic evidence at the scene making sure that the vehicle plates were visible. I also would have did my best to obtain the VIN of the beamer as well. This is after I had gained the Drivers license no name and address also.
Give all this info to the Police and get an incident report no.
In these situations one just cannot be too careful.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 395617

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:14

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:14
If the police are reluctant to come out just say that you are going to grab your shotgun and shoot the p***k.

That should motivate them.

AnswerID: 395632

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:54

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:54
Geez G B

This happened in QLD mate, might be ok in the Wild West across the Nullabor, but they would get upset if I waved the Coach Gun in their face, I don't know if I could log on to this Forum in the Clink lol lol.
FollowupID: 664238

Reply By: Damian007 - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:37

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:37
I don't suppose by any chance that the Nigerian offered to give you 65 million dollars if you gave him 10,000 dollars to pay a bribe to the Bank so you could become the next of kin to get the money out of the country?
AnswerID: 395636

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:50

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 19:50
That's how he got the Beemer in the first place!

FollowupID: 664208

Reply By: familyguy - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:38

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:38
Hi everyone

Exact thing happended to me (not my neighbour) but he could drive away. I got the guys details (young fella going too fast) including Rego and his drivers license no.

Claimed through my insurance and because I had the details it didn't matter if he was insured or not they paid the claim and no excess.

AnswerID: 395642

Follow Up By: familyguy - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:45

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:45
Sorry, forgot to mention that I didn't call the police.

If it was a 18 year old white girl would everyone that said they would call the police still do so or would we be still comforting her. Just interested?
FollowupID: 664217

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:12

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:12
You could bet the coppers would be round there quicker if it was an 18 year old girl that needed comforting ;-)

M.

FollowupID: 664224

Follow Up By: rumpig - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:51

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:51
i'd want cops to atend no matter what colour or gender of the driver was, at that time of morning i'd suspect drink driving being the cause, not a cat. i'd hope they loose their license aswell as have to pay for the damage caused.
FollowupID: 664237

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 09:21

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 09:21
We are all better off if drivers like that are prevented from driving
FollowupID: 664280

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 22:52

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 22:52
An interesting point. A friend of mine had a guy back into his 4wd in a car park. No damage was done to his 4wd as the heavy duty rear bar took the hit. Did a fair bit of damage to the other car. They both talked and as there was no damage to my friends car left it at that and the other guy said he would fix his own damage. All seem good. Next day my mate gets a call from the cops saying he needs to come into the station. He gets charged with leaving the scene of an accident without swapping details. He explains what happened and the cop says he will have to take it to court as the other driver said it wasn't his falt. My mate finally got off and the other guy was charged with making a false report but it did cost my mate a bit to defend it. The cops said to him also swap details and notify the cops just to cover yourself. Even if they don't do anything you a covered yourself.
AnswerID: 395656

Reply By: The Landy - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:36

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:36
Swap details, inform the police given the level of damage, and leave it to the insurance companies to sort out. After all that is what you pay them for.

Good weekend to all.....
AnswerID: 395671

Reply By: PradOz - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 10:05

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 10:05
Apparently they will only come out if you mention about the gorgeous blond model banging on the windows with a golf club
AnswerID: 395679

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 10:53

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 10:53
umm, which blonde :-)

pick a number between 1 & 14
(from memory they were all blondish)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 664294

Reply By: cobber - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 17:14

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 17:14
Yep, I agree with Landy comments
AnswerID: 395696

Reply By: Damian007 - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:13

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:13
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 395778

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 16:09

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 16:09
One of the first questions you'll be asked if you make an insurance claim is whether the incident has been reported to the police.

If you have insurance with a reputable company, you will not pay excess or lose No Claim Bonus provided you are not at fault and can give details for the other driver. Your insurance company will then pursue the other driver for recovery of the amount of the claim (repairs etc.) which will normally be paid by his insurance, that is unless he made his insurance void (eg. by driving while drunk) or never had insurance in which cases, your insurance company will extract the funds from him personally (that's part of what you pay them to do).

If he was driving drunk, get the boys in blue to bust him for it, it shouldn't affect your insurance, and his big (uninsured) repair bill might just give him enough incentive not to try and drive home drunk next time... I don't want to be paying for damage caused by another drunk driver through my insurance premiums, do you?!
AnswerID: 395961