MINI Beachcomber
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 02:19
Member - Doug T (NT)
I doubt if we'll see these here in Australia , but I'm sure they would be popular with the younger beach goers.
Beachcomber
Reply By: Ozhumvee - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 06:52
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 06:52
Wouldn't comply with ADR's for side intrusion so won't happen, wouldn't imagine it would comply anywhere in the developed world for the same reason. The original Moke went for the same reason as did the suzuki sierra and it had doors.
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 06:53
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 06:53
Gday Doug
I don't think it would be good in
Melbourne in winter with doors only on one side.
Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:24
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:24
And good riddance. I am sorry but I cannot endorse more irresponsible driving on beaches. Its killing the life in the sand.
There I have finally bitten the bullet and said it. I remember in the 60's and 70's on Fraser that you could stick you hand in the sand at the waters edge and dig up a worm or pippy for bait. Don't try it now. There isnt much there now anyway, and while you have your head down you may get hit in the derriere by a clown racing up
the beach. Apart from the above I do not drive on beaches anymore. The
old car rusted out and I don't want to ruin this one. Go west
young man.
We need to seriously think about better management otherwise we will all be banned.
Don't want them. We have enough and a car like that may encourage the hoon element. Just keep the beaches attainable for responsible environmentally friendly enjoyment.
I will now put on my flack jacket and helmut and watch out for the bombardment from the hoons.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 13:52
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 13:52
You been watchin' too much TV , It's amazing how minority groups can get people to believe their BS ,
Look at the broader scene, not just a few wheel tracks on Frazer Island , look at the whole coastline of Australia where billions of these microbes live and are part of the food chain.
Get a life ...
Follow Up By: rumpig - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 15:53
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 15:53
your kidding right, you can't be serious???
every time i'm on Fraser i see heaps of people digging up pippies and also worming to get their bait, and yes they get plenty. the last couple of tropical lows that hit that area did more damage in a few days to that beach then thousands of 4wd's would have in the next 10 years.
the lenght of the Fraser coastline has lost metres deep of sand in
places, tell me that doesn't effect "the life in the sand" more then just driving on the top couple of inches does.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 16:09
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 16:09
I did mention since the early 60's and 70's. I gather you don't recall or weren't there then.
As far as the loss of sand is concerned. Thats anatural occurance.
Very rarely watch TV. Its not footy season.
Follow Up By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:16
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:16
I used to see utefulls of pippis being taken from Noosa North Shore and Fraser by the same ethnic group that used to raid the Moreton Bay prawns. All for commercial gain on the black market. Hence the introduction of the 50 pippi bag limit. Pippis have made a comeback since those days.