The rains are coming - a much needed relief from this heat!

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 00:35
ThreadID: 74524 Views:4105 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
Whilst I was installing a UHF radio for a mate's Prado an approaching rain front was nearing. Days like this i love over a couple of beers and yarns about our 4x4s.

Just think of that GANGgajang song 'Sounds of then', but we don't have sugar cane fields in the Pilbara!

I'm not as experienced as many you are in 4x4 adventures but I do share my thoughts and experiences with others. Hey I've been driving out in remote areas for 4 years now, however I still have much too learn! And my Aboriginal mates taught me invaluable lessons about driving in country and roo shooting!

It's a shame that the majority of 'Grey Nomads' (no offence) don't experience the amazing isolated rains and small fires caused by lightning strikes and that smell of spinifex resin. Wet here, dry over there. I love it! I understand the heat can be unbearable for some but this is the best time to visit! However saying that I have witnessed a greater number of Foreign tourists than previous years. Let's hope they are prepared.

I hope in January I'll visit Karijini NP as the pools and gorges may be awash with fresh water. I am fortunate that I live just a 3 hour drive away.

To all you fellow 4x4 drivers and tourers have a great festive season!

I'm glad I left Melbourne and now call the Pilbara HOME!!!!

enjoy folks

Matthew
Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 02:24

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 02:24
Matthew,

Welcome to W.A. We might be called Sandgropers etc.. however, without us and Q'land Australia would be bankrupt.
The Pilbara and surrounding areas is gods own country!

You watch em bite.

Tony
The rig

AnswerID: 395765

Follow Up By: Member - Clements (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 03:19

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 03:19
Tony!

Cheers for the welcoming

You're spot with WA and Queensland keeping the nation afloat.

Finally up here we are now receiving greater funds for roads/infrastructure and public amenities. 'Bout bloody time!

I only visit Melbourne just for family and maybe for a MCG footy/cricket fix

I work with an Aboriginal elder he also once said

"This is God's Country"

I do plan to stay here for some time

On ya mate.

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 664395

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 03:57

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 03:57
God, we waited months for the rain and im over it already. NOT. Wind is a pain though, bit strong at times. That elder must of thought he was in the Kimberley mate, because, This Is Gods Country. HaHaHa

Like ya say mate, nothing compares to the wet season for sheer beauty. Another months time and back home would just be awesome. Best time for barra, best time for scenery, best time for heading out bush, best time for swimming, best time for beers and watching the storms. Aaahhhhh, this year will be the first year in 26 years i miss the Wet season back up home. Not happy. Cant really call Broomes wet a proper wet season. Not a waterfall for miles, no swimming holes, pretty poor thunderstorms too. Oh well
AnswerID: 395768

Reply By: stumbly1 - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 09:20

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 09:20
G'day Matthew,

I've been on FIFO (yes I know how the locals feel about that!!) for 6 years now in the Pilbara and you hit the nail on the head mate. I have become so acclimatised up here that I can't stand the perth weather any more.
We don't seem to suffer from sunburn as much up here either - must be the pristine environment compared to down there.
I brought the kids and Missus up last August to see Karajini and millstream with a few days at Point Samson to finish off and they finally believed all I had told them about the place, although next time I'll leave it until later in the year to dodge the cold nights.
I also took them to some great water holes that the local Aboriginals from Bellary camp had shown us - lets hope the toursits don't get hold of them eh?

Glad your enjoying it up here and all the best to you and your family.

Cheers, Keith
AnswerID: 395783

Follow Up By: Diesel 'n Dust - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:47

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:47
On ya Keith!

I may have spoken to early as TC Laurence (category 2 currently) has changed course and its forecast track is heading to hit Wallal. As with my experience with TC George, cyclones are extremely unpredictable.

Anyways this is one reason why I love it up here!

Hope too see some more travelers up this way!

Matthew
Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 664443