New Google Chrome

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 11:29
ThreadID: 74528 Views:3415 Replies:5 FollowUps:17

Firstly Seasons Greeting to all and if driving over the Holiday Brake, drive safely and we all look forward to another great year in 2010 here on EO.

We all know that there are a few good internet browsers. I personally have not used Internet Explorer for a very lot time. Google have updated Google Chrome and it is now ultra fast. So if you are have problems with a slow internet browser, give it a go and see the difference yourself.

Cheers to All.

Who has been here

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 11:55

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 11:55
Mozilla Firefox is even quicker.
AnswerID: 395805

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:00

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:00
Hi Sprint GTO
I personally use both, but now find the New Google Chrome much quicker.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 664430

Reply By: Witi Repartee - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:08

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:08
I agree with your choice of Google Chrome. Frankly internet explorer was like driving an F250 in a supermarket car park. I prefer the layout and features in Chrome over other browsers. I had problems with it and the way initial versions handled PDF file downloads, but the new version has solved that hiccup.
Also..I feel I have experienced fewer "infections" with Chrome than I did with IE. Chrome is now offering a range of add ons etc....if you like your widgets and gadgets etc.
Probably the feature I like best is the way it graphically handles your top favourites etc.
Cheers G

AnswerID: 395807

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:11

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:11
Hi Witi Repartee
Yes agree 100% with what you say. Like I mentioned above, I often use Firefox, but the new Google Chrome for me is much faster.

Cheers and have a Great Christmas.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 664433

Reply By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:24

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:24
My laptop likes it, but old horse-drawn puter slowed to a crawl and I had to remove it.
AnswerID: 395808

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:30

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:30
Hi Royce
Seasons Greetings and all the best for 2010. It is not to late to write to Father Christmas for a new puter. If you have been a good boy all year, you could get a surprise. LOL

Who has been here

FollowupID: 664438

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:34

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:34
Ah thanks Stephen. We are currently living in a portable donga behind my Son's house. In a few months we move this building to our 116acre block and go onto solar power... at that point the desktops will suck too much juice and laptops are the go.

Seasons greetings back to you! Cheers Royce
FollowupID: 664439

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:07

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:07
Hi Royce
All the best with your new home. Sounds like it should be great.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 664449

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:48

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:48
Gday Stephen,

For a minute there I thought you may have found another bait LOLOLOL. Maybe I should put in that, with a Mac with Safari loaded, its way quicker than either of the above mentioned. hehehehe.

Must add I own a PC shop and I'm not a Mac fan before u Windows based owners jump all over me ... :-)

AnswerID: 395814

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:17

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:17
Hi Blaze
The last post went far greater than I ever wanted it to go, and no I was not on a fishing trip. Enough of that for now. I have always used Macs and they were great. The only reason why I crossed over to the dark side, was so I could run Ozi on a laptop in the car. My son uses windows for work, but has an iBook and one of those new iMacs for homes use. He still reckons I am still mad for using Windows. Perhaps when the laptops at hone die one day, I may cross back over to the good side.

Have a great Christmas and regards to your better half.

Seasons Greetings

Who has been here

FollowupID: 664454

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:26

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:26
"Must add I own a PC shop"

Yeah, I also had one of them things back in '82. LOL

The Microbee and BBC didn't even have web browsers in those days!

A few years later I made a comment to a large group of computer experts (real ones) that "the Internet is the greatest time waster I have ever seen". I still stand by that comment today.

Just love it when somebody posts a comment that this is better than that and the basic computer user follows them blindly and installs this "must have" product. When it doesn't work they blame everybody in the industry for producing crap. No offence intended to any posters.

"If it works, don't change it." Same thing goes for web browsers.

Yes I've tried Google Chrome and Firefox and every version of IE. I now use IE8 and it works just fine for me.

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 664458

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:41

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:41
Hi Malcolm
Firstly Seasons Greeting to you and your family. I must agree that the internet is the greatest time waster. There are many times when my better half claims that I spend more time on this site than with her.

I have used IE8 but for me it is very slow.I gave IE the flick and that is why I made the change a few years back to Firefox and Google Chrome. It is always a personal choice, and what works great for one person, may be a nightmare for another.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 664464

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 14:50

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 14:50
Hi Stephen

and Seasons Greetings to you and your family.

"It is always a personal choice, and what works great for one person, may be a nightmare for another. "

That's so true. I personally use Thunderbird for emails and Outlook Express for News Reader. Even though I have Outlook 2007 LOL

In the mid '80s I did an Advance UNIX course at JCU. What did it teach me? This is not an operating system for small business people. Must admit Ubuntu has simplified things a lot since then. With that many various versions, each with their own little quirks, how can one IT person expect to keep up?

I just keep contributing to Uncle Bill's holidays. ;-)

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 664473

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 15:37

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 15:37
Stephen and Glenn, best wishes for Christmas with your good ladies too of course. You may hear that we two are just back home after a High Country trip with some nice crow eater compatriots from Adelaide. You would know some of them even.

Glenn, I have Safari on two Windowz computers here and think it is lightweight. Looks pretty but is like road tyres in a rocky environment.

Malcolm, I got rid of Office 2007 as a bad joke. The Outlook 2007 crashed often and stuffed up. That was the end of Vista and 2007 for me.
FollowupID: 664476

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 15:45

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 15:45
Hi John
Seasons Greeting to you and Heather. It would have been great up in the High Country, and I bet the weather was perfect.

Until we next meet.

Best Regards and all the Best for 2010.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 664477

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 16:01

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 16:01
"The Outlook 2007 crashed often and stuffed up"

Right on the button John.

I never said I used it. That is what Thunderbird is for - been using it for can't remember how long.

Even own a full licence for Office 2007 but continue to use the FREE OpenOffice.org

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 664478

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 16:41

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 16:41
Malcolm, I reckon it used up a lot of my data charges just telling Microsoft about the problem. Perhaps that is an exaggeration, but only just. I had a corporate licence to 2007 - yes a full one and the disk is still on my desk :-(( Not on my laptop though now.

Stephen, we had one evening at the Dargo pub just because of a declared TFBan in the North East, even though we were in Gippsland at that stage. LOL It was fantastic and with great company too. Best wishes to you and yours my friend. The iPod has been functioning over the last week while driving.
FollowupID: 664485

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 09:02

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 09:02
Stephen (Townsville)

I just gave away my Microbee to a neighbour who is a computer techy at the UNI.

They are putting together a room of old computers as a museum.

Yep, and it still worked, and mine was the first one he had seen with a full set of operating disks.

CPM rules.

Still remember logging onto other computers with the old 1200/300 modem to download software.

Cousin still has his portable Osborn.

Memories.
FollowupID: 664585

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 10:41

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 10:41
Oldplodder, a Microbee eh! I had an Apple IIe with 512kb of ram on a card and Z80 card too for running CPM. No hard disk though. I was an early user of the Austpac network with a 300bps modem, 1200 came later, though never a fan of the 1200/75 for simple graphics. Email and bulletin boards weren't common for country users who had difficulty maintaining 300bps ;-(
FollowupID: 664596

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:44

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:44
Hi John,

Best wishes to you and Heather over the festive season. Not sure what problems you guys are having with Office 2007. I have been using it for about 5 months on one of my Toshiba laptops running Win 7, its stable as rock, only issue has been backward compat sending files, but I now save in older versions if I need to send.

Glad u enjoyed the high country mate. I was going to be doing that next April but now I am leading a group up around the upper Broken hill area's, mainly private properties, should come for a drive if you have the time..:-)

FollowupID: 664617

Reply By: garytee - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 10:56

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 10:56
Ditto Blaze.
Camino is quick too [from the Firefox family but on a Mac].
AnswerID: 395920

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 08:08

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 08:08
Chrome is good, but wish there was a mouse gestures plug-in.
FollowupID: 664709