Picture - Landcruiser towing different make

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 20:22
ThreadID: 74538 Views:6772 Replies:9 FollowUps:19
Hello all.
I have a friend who is a one eyed Landcruiser owner. I would like to get pictures of a Landcruiser, preferably a tray back ute towing other makes of four wheel drives out of a problem. Would prefer a high resolution image as this will form a montage of photos we are putting together for him for Christmas.

Would be happy for the picture to be emailed to me at k.dcoyne(at)gmail.com replace (at) with @

Thanks in advance.

Ken

Reply By: lizard - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:22

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:22
Had a look in my photo's , have none you want , have heaps of Patrols towing Cruisers out though ......
heh heh
AnswerID: 395868

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 16:24

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 16:24
Narr couldn't help you never seen it happen. My mate tells me he has seen plenty of Cruisers towing the Poor Man's Cousin, I didn't ask what the cousin was.?

Till this day I could only speculate, any ideas..?
FollowupID: 664644

Reply By: Voxson - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:07

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:07
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
If these are any good i can email them in 5 megapixel.
A sad and sorry Disco on the road out of Raminginning at the Blythe River (top road in Arnhemland).
AnswerID: 395876

Follow Up By: ctaplin - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:16

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:16
A how many kilometres did you tow that Disco, Voxson?
Not just down to the corner store, wasn't it something like 500km???

FollowupID: 664541

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:32

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:32
Whats the story with that one Vox??

FollowupID: 664549

Follow Up By: Voxson - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:41

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:41
Heya Chris,

From the most North/Eastern point of Arnhemland to Berrimah in Darwin at an average speed 30kmh.
With and average fuel consumption of 17 litres per 100km.
10 creek crossings and three camp nights...

Approx 500kms yes....
FollowupID: 664552

Follow Up By: Voxson - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:55

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:55
Hi John,

Forded a river a little too fast - a bit too deep and sucked the cooling fan into the radiator...
Chewed quite a half radius into the bottom of the radiator and also broke the fan...
He tried all sorts of recovery phone calls on my sat phone and they all said no way......
Including RACV.......
When he said he was in Arnhemland no-one would come get him..

Funny thing was that when we were towing we didnt see another vehicle with whites until we got to Jabiru,,, and the only one troopy we saw along the road was full of black fellas and broken down also,,, we had to get them going too..

If anyone has ever come out of a creek crossing with their front number plate bent full forwards,,, then they have had their fan sucked toward the radiator and maybe been pretty close to a breakdown themselves...

A water crossing bra is good insurance...Even if it looks a bit Nancyish..

FollowupID: 664557

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 23:02

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 23:02
Not a good result.
A friend of mine had the issue of the fan hitting the radiator in his 100 Series during a water crossing so certainly not a problem limited to any one brand.

Cheers mate.

FollowupID: 664559

Follow Up By: Voxson - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 23:24

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 23:24
Yes,, so true,, any car or (truck) lol... hahahahaha,, truck,,, that cracks me up,,, yes any vehicle is a possible fan bender...
FollowupID: 664561

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:25

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:25
Ken65
HA HA HA, mate you are asking for hens teeth, there wont be too many pics of that scenario, unless you can somehow " invert " the pictures, LOL
Cheers Colin.
AnswerID: 395880

Reply By: Member - Gizmo-Tron - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 04:25

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 04:25
Ken

Will this one do

AnswerID: 395898

Follow Up By: Member - Gizmo-Tron - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 04:33

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 04:33
Oops!!

Wrong way round !!
FollowupID: 664576

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 07:32

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 07:32
Searched the archives , and thats the only sort I could come with also Tron.

FollowupID: 664578

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:36

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:36
FollowupID: 664615

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 08:29

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 08:29
This what you are looking for?

AnswerID: 395905

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 10:35

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 10:35
Geoff whats happening in that pic. Is the weight of the jeep resting on the landcruiser?
Jeep appears to be missing a wheel
FollowupID: 664595

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 11:19

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 11:19
Hi Ross,
The whole story,

My mates CJ5 Jeep spat a LH rear wheel bearing on the Cape Development Track on the way south about an hour out of Coen. He'd done the right thing and had all the wheel bearings replaced before the trip but obviously that one wasn't up to scratch!

We first started with this idea,

Using a local hardwood log as a skid and with my Landcruiser towing the Jeep by an A-Frame. I can tell you for certain the log idea isn't worth spit. They wear out way too fast.

We then sat down and looked at what we had over a couple of thinking cans. We had the following,

2 cars with towbars,
7 wheels on the road
A bloody big "D" Shackle
A HiLift Jack

So, we inverted the tongue on my Hayman Reece towbar. Dropped the Jeeps' gooseneck onto the top of my goose neck. Dropped the pin from the D Shackle through the holes where the towballs used to be.

We then inverted the shackle and used it as a nut. Just as we'd hooked it all up a bloke stopped to ask if we where OK. In his toolbox he had a nut that fitted the pin out of the shackle so we used his nut rather than the shackle.

Once we turned the whole road train around we did a dead slow tow into Coen with my mate sitting in the Jeep travelling backwards and holding the steering wheel straight.

The first photo I posted is in the camp ground at Coen that night. You'll see the rear wheel off the Jeep sitting on a rack on the cab of the Landcruiser.

We then road freighted the Jeep to Cairns for repairs. To load it we did this:

Put the Landcruiser in neutral and sparked the Jeep up in 4wd. The Jeep then drove onto the truck towing the Landcruiser behind it. Once the Jeep was in the right position we diconnected the Landcruiser.

The Jeep rode to Cairns for repairs and drove back to Newcastle on all 4 wheels!

FollowupID: 664604

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 11:39

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 11:39
Ingenious bit of lateral thinking Geoff, I bet the "thinking cans" made all the difference great story :-)

FollowupID: 664608

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:35

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:35
Hi John,
The "thinking" nearly killed my mate and I.

Everyone that stopped and there where plenty even back in the 80's wanted to have a can and help think it through!

Two blokes in a Landcruiser Table Top like mine pulled up and they where fair dinkum philosophers!

They had an electric start Honda generator in the tray and two Tuckerbox freezers! One of the Tuckerboxes had the thermostat jigged to run as a fridge, the other was still a freezer.

They had the two thermostat's wired to the starter circuit for the generator. As soon as one thermostat required cooling the genny would spark up and run until both the fridge and freezer where down to temperature! Once they where both cold enough the gennie would shut down until the next theremostat called it back into action!

Bloody good setup. A Tuckerbox freezer holds an aweful lot of cans!

FollowupID: 664614

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:53

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:53
The thing that amazed us the most was, we found ALL the bits!

FollowupID: 664618

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 08:54

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 08:54
This one any good?

Sorry wrong way round Hahaha.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 395908

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 09:56

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 09:56
Ken, you KNEW this would happen......

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 395911

Reply By: splits - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 11:16

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 11:16
Ken

I can't help you with any pictures but I can think of one that may have the opposite effect on your mate. Ford ran a TV commercial back in the 70s/80s that showed what I think from memory was a 4wd F100 climbing up a steep unsealed hill with a Cruiser ute mounted sideway across its back. Ford's advertising dept may stilll have a copy of it.
AnswerID: 395921

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 15:34

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 15:34
I think this is what you are looking for..ford vs chev

OBT
FollowupID: 664637

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 15:41

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 15:41
OBT
Now thats funny.
Talk about trying to out do each other.

FollowupID: 664640

Follow Up By: splits - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 19:03

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 19:03
OBT

It is the same type of commercial but not the same cars. That one is American so it looks like Ford Australia made the same thing out here but with local competitor's cars.
FollowupID: 664664

Reply By: ob - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 18:38

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 18:38
Ken I guess by now you are starting to wish you had never asked this bunch of out of work comedians

HAHAHAHAHAH

ob
AnswerID: 395974

Follow Up By: Ken65 - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 19:48

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 19:48
Maybe I should ask for other Four Wheel Drives towing Toyotas out?
Maybe this would of shamed the one eyed Toyota drivers into action.

Thank you all for your offers some I can use and some have generated some good discussion.

Merry Christmas to all.

Ken
FollowupID: 664672