Submitted: Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:24
ThreadID: 74551 Views:3545 Replies:2 FollowUps:4
Issued by the BUREAU OF METEOROLOGY, DARWIN
at 1038 CST Monday 21 DECEMBER 2009

AREA INVOLVED
Alice Springs District.

RAINFALL SUMMARY
It is currently fine and dry over the Alice Springs district.

WEATHER SUMMARY
Severe Tropical Cyclone "Laurence" off the eastern Pilbara coast is expected to
make landfall in the next day or two. After moving inland, Severe Tropical
Cyclone "Laurence" is expected to only gradually weaken, reaching the southwest
Alice Springs District late Wednesday as a deep tropical low. There is the
potential for widespread moderate falls over much of the Alice Springs District
on Wednesday and Thursday. Dependent on the speed and direction of movement of
ex-Tropical Cyclone "Laurence", locally heavy falls and strong, squally winds
may also develop over the southwest Alice Springs District on Wednesday.

FORECAST for the rest of today and Tuesday
Storms extending down the western border of the Alice Springs district with
isolated falls 15-30mm expected.

OUTLOOK for Wednesday and Thursday
Widespread falls 50-100mm may develop over much of the Alice Springs District as
ex-Tropical Cyclone "Laurence" moves through the far southwest late Wednesday
and into South Australia on Thursday. Locally heavy falls to 150mm possible in
the far southwest near ex-Tropical Cyclone "Laurence". These may lead to
significant stream rises.

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:30

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 12:30
See if you can get them to send a bit down to the Lachlan catchment for us will you?

Wyangala Dam is down to 4.3%
AnswerID: 395929

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 14:13

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 14:13
Gday Doug,
With a bit of luck we might be in for a wet Christmas?

AnswerID: 395942

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 20:27

Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 20:27
Hairy
Don't panic mate..............you'll be right, here's 2 links for your use.

LINK 1

LINK 2

FollowupID: 664675

Follow Up By: handy - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 07:24

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 07:24
wet xmas what a joke, if i know you and greg f it will be wet all right mostly on the inside of your guts lol
FollowupID: 664700

Follow Up By: GregF - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 18:16

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 18:16
Thats abit Harsh Handy,I would probably call that Statement a case of The Pot Calling The Kettle Black. Just had a yarn with the Weather mob, they reckon not much rain in it for us,but nice and cool. Have to wait and see.
But anyhow, you guys down there in the bush, have a Great and Wet xmas.
GregF
FollowupID: 664800

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 10:55

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 10:55
Harsh maybe......but too true.
Have a Great Christmas Handy and say Gday to the bride .

Were off to Wa....Were off to Wa....Were off to Wa....Were off to Wa....Were off to Wa....Were off to Wa....Were off to Wa....Were off to Wa....Were off to Wa....!!!!!! LOL

FollowupID: 664881