HZJ75RP Spindle Bearings

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 12:36
ThreadID: 74569 Views:6461 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
I have a 1997 Landcruiser HZJ75RP.
When I go on a highway trip in 2WD I notice I get grease deposited on the inside of the drivers side front wheel rim. This is leaking from the seal between the free-wheeling hub and the wheel hub.
By my knowledge the only thing directly behind there is wheel bearings.
Do you people think the grease is coming from the wheel bearings ?
Or could this be grease from the steering knuckle hub coming through the spindle ?
To do this the spindle bush would need to have worn as I think that would seal the knuckle to the spindle and CV joint half-shaft.
What are peoples experiences, when they pull apart the steering knuckle, do they find the brass spindle bushes on the inner end of the spindle have worn and need replacing ?
Many thanks in advance for sharing your wisdom !

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 13:32

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 13:32
Inner axle seal that fits inside the housing and the axle passes through it. It is allowing the diff oil to mix with the wheel bearing grease...makes a mess of both the diff oil and cooks the wheel bearings.

Id number 4341D

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 396055

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 13:39

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 13:39
Usually the oil seal on the inside of the axle housing is the culprit. This should keep the diff oil inside the axle housing. It is a very small oil seal and if it wears or fails diff oil then gets into the grease, diluting it. It is this diluted grease that leaks out of the hubs.
AnswerID: 396056

Follow Up By: pdm3006 - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 16:39

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 16:39
Okay.
So it looks like I need to replace the oil seals and overhaul the steering knuckles while I am in there.
I am NOT looking forward to that...
By the way my ute has 406,000km on the clock. I bought it at 390,000 and have no idea regarding service history. So let's assume the steering knuckles have not been done before.
So that I have all the parts I require before I start, my questions are:
* Spindle bush - do these usually wear out and need replacing while overhauling the knuckle ?
* CV joint - as above.
I would buy a kit with all the seals, wipers, wheel bearings, trunnion bearings, etc, but need to know whether you think I should also count on replacing the spindle bushes and CV joints.
Thanks in advance.
Peter.
FollowupID: 664782

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 14:25

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 14:25
Yep, agree with both above. Mine cost me $800 to fix, as i needed new axle because i left it too long and it pitted the surface where the seal sat. Wasnt happy, as i had it inspected 2 weeks prior to that by different mechanic and was told nothing was wrong it was just a minor swivel hub leak which could be fixed in another 1000k's when they serviced it. Never went back to them turkeys.
AnswerID: 396063

Follow Up By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 14:55

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 14:55
Did you think about a Speedy Sleeve on the axle?
It is an extremely thin stainless steel sleeve that is a push fit onto the damaged area. I put one of these on my transfer case output shaft where there was a distinct groove worn and it worked really well.
FollowupID: 664765

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 16:22

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 16:22
Nah never heard of them before, probably could of saved some serious bucks that way. Although the pitting was quite bad.
FollowupID: 664775

Follow Up By: obee1212 - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 20:40

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 20:40
I have used speedy sleeve on a front end engine seal with success. You ge them from bearing suppliers.

owen
FollowupID: 664818

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:08

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:08
I am not sure what you are referring to as a spindle. The axle is supported at the diff end goes through the CV and into the free wheeling hub, here the other end is supported. There is a swivel housing which houses the CV, the outer part of the axle passes through the stub axle that supports the wheel bearings. You would replace the seal of course, and most likely the upper and lower swivel housing bearings - you have to set the preload on these too, the swivel hub felt seals and the hub gaskets. Very important - make sure there is space next to the vehicle to pull out the whole axle, the left one is quite long, you don't need a house wall in the way like I did :)
AnswerID: 396078

Reply By: trackker - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:34

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:34
I agree with all of the above mate, but if it does the inner seal again in a fairly short time frame it can be a bent axle. When you pull it apart, if you find the seal damaged or the tension spring around the seal lip missing it could be just that. Spindal bush can also be the culprit also allowing the axle to wobble a bit too much and stress the seal but very rare unless you have done a lot of kms. I would also advise to replace everything while your there and both sides or you'll be back there in a short while. Been there. Trackker
AnswerID: 396082

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 20:05

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 20:05
G'day pdm. There is a bronze spindle bush that supports the outer shaft of the CV joint. The only way you will know whether the bush or the CV joint require replacement is to dismantle, clean and check them. Make sure the inner oil seal you fit is a genuine one as it is designed to "float" in the centre to allow eccentric movement that occurs when steering. Regards, Bob.

AnswerID: 396107

Follow Up By: pdm3006 - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 21:07

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 21:07
Yes, that is the spindle bush I have been referring to. Do you people usually find this bush is OK or needs replacing ?
I haven't noticed the CV joints clicking but I do need to do a proper test - 4WD slow full-lock turns each way with my head sticking out the window listening for any clicking. I also need to check my front diff oil to see if there is any contamination which would definitely point to the seals being stuffed.
I'll make sure the oil seal is genuine Toyota just in case.
As a matter of interest, what happens if I leave the knuckles too long before overhauling ? Will the CV joints just wear more quickly or are they prone to breaking ? I expect a broken CV joint would be bad ?
Thanks, Peter.
FollowupID: 664831

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 06:35

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 06:35
G'day Peter. The one's I have done to date have had minimal wear in the bush so have not had to replace any. That said your mileage is pretty high so I would be carefully checking after disassembly. Front diff oil normally comes out pretty dirty after 40000kms so that is not a true indication of other wear. Worn steering knuckles?? (bearings) can reflect on tyre wear, steering shimmy/vibration amongst other things. Bob.

FollowupID: 664856

Follow Up By: pdm3006 - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 10:34

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 10:34
Good advice.
However I have changed the front diff oil less than 10,000km ago, so if the axle oil seals are OK I expect the diff oil should still be fairly clean.
How often are you people finding that you need to replace the diff oil seals on solid axle, part time 4WD Landcruisers ?
Mine does about 20% 4WD and 80% 2WD. I like to get out into the Victorian high country as often as I can.
Thanks again.
Peter.
FollowupID: 664878