Tassie fishing license...is this a joke?

Going to Tassie for a month. I'm no keen fisherman, but like an excuse to sit by a river, have a beer and throw in a line now and then.

Looked on the web for a 4 week fishing license...

NSW - $12
VIC - $12
TAS - $51 !!!!!!!!

Am I missing something, they can't be serious.

If I actually caught a fish of the right size it would be more expensive than going to a restaurant.

Mintrax

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 16:55

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 16:55
hi that's a bit over the top

their got more fish down there than we have but they'd rather have your tourist money

the tassie bite

if you want a bite of there fish they want a bite out of you
they must think if your rich enough to travel over to tassie they will hopefully get rich of you
cheers have a good one
AnswerID: 396075

Reply By: PeterInSa - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:06

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:06
Late last year I looked into getting a two month Licence and from memory the only way you could do it was one month times 2. However a yearly licence at pensioner discount from memory also was around $48. Don't quote me on the figures but I think the pricing structure is set up for the locals.

I bought the yearly licence but did not catch any trout but had a great time trying and probably lost about $50 in rigs also.

PS dont need a licence to sea water fish, wife and I had a great time and fish out from St Helens. Will be back next year

AnswerID: 396077

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:32

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:32
I reckon it is worse than that in Tassi....
You need a licence to catch feral fish (trout) that are protected in a World Heritage Area.
There should be a bounty on killing ferals in those areas to give the native fish some chance. They should be wiped out, IMHO.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 396081

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 00:04

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 00:04
Hi Peter

They also have a 'season' with conditions for deer hunting - a declared pest.

Yet they have a duck shooting season for native ducks - in a nature reserve!

A great place to visit all the same.

FollowupID: 664847

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 22:05

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 22:05
Peter what native fish are you talking about?.The only native fish of any consequence are blackfish which only occur in the lowland streams like the mersey. The highlands which has a world class sight fishing only has small galaxids which grow to arround 100mm. The climbing galaxid is doing very well and invading new areas then out competing the other small galaxids.
Get your facts right before making ill informed comments.
If you are taking about the mainland then yes you could have a case, but drought and recovery of natives in most streams have killed off most trout in marginal streams anyway.
And I am not a one eyed fish fisher, I pioneered fly fishing for golden Perch in windermere in the early 90s.
Cheers Peter
FollowupID: 664964

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:51

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:51
Yes I'm in Tassie a the moment for about 3 months.

Not only is it very expensive, but if your partner or kids want to fish occasionally, you have to pay full price for them as well. Some other place ( Qld Impoundments for example) one licence can cover you and partner.

An annual licence is only a bit more expensive than a 28 day licence. I suspect it is a 'sock the tourist' policy. This is a bit unusual for Tassie, which otherwise is very welcoming and well set up for visitors.

We did not get a licence and so far I have only fished from beach and rocks (no licence required). Once we hit the inland areas, I have a decision to make. I suspect I'll pay up for a 28 day licence as I'd like to target some trout.

Tassie Fishing licences info

Norm C

AnswerID: 396084

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 22:37

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 22:37
Hi Norm,
Hope you are having a great trip I am envious.
To get the most from your trip hire a quality guide like Peter Hayes and learn to fly fish. Your only regret will be you did not do it years earlier. Sportsfish Tassie has an excellent forum also.
I really wish I had done more back country bushwalking fishing trips when I was fit enough to do them.
While not an expert on fishing for Tassie trout If you send me an mm I will try and help out as much as I can
Both of you have a great xmas and new year
Tight lines Pete
FollowupID: 664967

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 07:46

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 07:46
Thanks Pete,
I had thought of trying fly fishing with a guide, but had pretty much decided against it, as it would be a 'one off'.

To do any more than the guided trip, I'd have to spend a lot on gear that would rarely get used. We probably won't be back to Tassie (for several years anyway) and any visits to the colder areas that have trout fishing on the mainland will always be in 'short summer bursts'.

We are warm weather creatures and spend all our winters in the far north these days. My blog Norm & Kabby's Travel Adventures - Fishing the NT tells a bit of that story. Heading up there after Tassie to be there before Anzac Day.

Although I'd like to try fly fishing (has always fascinated me), I've resigned myself to the fact it does not suit our lifestyle and budget. I'll be happy and content to try a few lures in the rivers and lakes when we get the chance.

Norm C
FollowupID: 665002

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 13:02

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 13:02
Good day Norm,
Mate I thought their would be plenty of salt water fly fishing up north. From what I have been told it is a real buzz, but you would I imagine need 10 weight gear as against 6 weight for trout. Mmmm 8 weight would be a compromise.
Arthurs lake is very good for soft plastics. Drop in for a beer at Miena(great lake) and you should find out what is going on. I was going down in feb but with Sallies illness that will be off.
FollowupID: 665034

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:56

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 17:56
Like so many things these days. Govts. are very switched-on when it comes to gathering revenue. Their biggest arguement for increases in fees etc is USER PAYS. If you don't fish - you don't pay. If you don't drive a car then stamp duty/registrations etc aren't a problem. So it goes on. I suppose that like all 'services' there has to be some form of cost recovery hence fishing licences for recreatioinal fishing, licences for professional fisermen etc.
AnswerID: 396086

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 19:13

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 19:13
Thanks for pointing out the BLEEDING OBVIOUS.

You really are a troll.
FollowupID: 664805

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 19:57

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 19:57
Governments are funded from the public purse. Governments hire Public Servants to do their bidding and to think up all dastardly deeds to suck even more money out of the public purse to justify their existence. Governments and Public Servants Australia wide need a good kick up and a restart from scratch. But alas, it will not happen and we are stuck with them and the likes of....................
FollowupID: 664807

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 20:48

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 20:48
Governments are no different to the other 'tribes' set up to look after the interests of their members to the exclusion and detriment of non members.

The various tribes that will screw the unaffiliated member of the public are:

Unions

Corporations (airlines, banks, supermarkets, car makers, petrol companies etc)

Governments

Professions

And others that don't spring to mind so readily.

The old rule of 'do unto others as you would have them do unto you' is suddenly forgotten in the boardroom, or the parliament (where the politicians and public servants give themselves salaries and superannuation, and perks (perquisites), way beyond the dreams of the ordinary punters.

The people who set the fishing license fees in Tasmania either don't fish, or get complimentary licenses.

The people who set parking fines drive government provided cars, that run on government provided fuel, and park in designated (free) parking places.

Is there a pattern here or am I being paranoid?

FollowupID: 664822

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 20:52

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 20:52
Ahhh Bob...just what we needed...a Conspiracy Theory....hahahahaha

Hope you and yours have a lovely Xmas
FollowupID: 664826

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 21:04

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 21:04
You too Willem

FollowupID: 664828

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 18:11

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 18:11
Perhaps that's an excellent question to pose to the relevant authority/ies in Tassie - just as you've phrased it here: "you can't be serious" (including your comparison to NSW & Vic - let us know what response you get! :-)
AnswerID: 396088

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 19:07

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 19:07
WELCOME TO TASSIE, lived here all my life, and purchased a license every year for ten years and had plenty of bites, but never actually landed a fish. Have since given up on the inland fish and now go for the seafarers.
Totally agree, bloody rip off.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 396090

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 19:28

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 19:28
gday all

NSW.......the revenue state.

the fisheries decided to sting people to go sit on a river bank to have a quiet fish and just to relax...so here is my gripe.

the ones who DONT have to pay are..........

1. aboriginals....................not even starting that argument!
2. minors under 16 years............often at school during the day.
3 pensioners........can fish 24/7.

The poor suckers who have to pay

1. the worker.

now here continues my gripe........i work 5 days a week and dont have all the time in the world to go fishing.(i'm lucky to go fishing once a moth if that)so its up to ones who work to support the other 3 when we want to sit and fish????

AnswerID: 396094

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 21:09

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 21:09
So Mark whats new

The poor, the dole bludger, the pensioner or anyone else you want to throw in that basket don't have enough coin to buy the bait let alone the rest of the paraphernalia required to go fishing. The very rich, well the cost of the licence gets paid out of the change in the ashtray of the Beemer, Merc or whatever their ride is and the money involved wouldn't pay for the removal of the barnacles growing on the propeller of their 15000 mtr yacht.

Just like the taxation system, the worker/middle class man pays because he has enough dough to make him a target (easy target) and the rich can afford a high priced team of accounts to make sure that doesn't happen. The poor, well they don't have enough to to target and anyway the government is too busy supporting them.

This stuff must have quite a bite itself hic

Off my soapbox and back to the fridge

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 664832

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 01:26

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 01:26
I think I like you Pop... a man who thinks....

FollowupID: 664854

Reply By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 20:52

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 20:52
Mintrax
My solution for what it's worth
Go to the liquor store/pub, buy carton of favourite beverage, put in Esky with ice, go to fish and chip shop, buy good feed, go sit by bubbling/babbling stream and enjoy.
Disadvantages....................can't think of any just off the top of my head

Advantages Guaranteed good feed, a few favourite quiet ones, no smelly bait, fish cleaning, lost expensive lures, expensive licence that will not guaranty a fish and best of all when the ranger/fishing busybody comes along tell him to nick off your not fishing.

Works for me

AnswerID: 396117

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 21:55

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 21:55
Yeah if you get bleep enough you'd be onto something here Mintrax, darn if youd know the difference..!
FollowupID: 664838

Reply By: rags - Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 21:12

Tuesday, Dec 22, 2009 at 21:12
How is it that i can drive from NSW through Vic and into TAS on my NSW rta issued drivers license get to Tas put my boat in the water and float around on my NSW boat license BUT need a license to FISH ! Thats right user pay.
another reason why state govt should be abolished. A bit like another post here somewhere on explore oz tonight on rego transfer fees variations between states
Russ
AnswerID: 396122

Reply By: Top End Explorer - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 03:32

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 03:32
Ahh The Top End where you can put your boat in the water for nothing, cost nothing to drive it and no license need to fish.

A place where you can fish and drink a beer or 10 while doing it without fear of anyone giving you a ticket.

There is a bleep load of fish up here as well, I love this place.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 396144

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 08:22

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 08:22
Steve,

Because the NT is clever enough to realise that fishing is what brings in HUGE amounts of tourist dollars, so why put people off with ridiculous fishing licences? I forget the exact figures, but I remember seeing a report once that suggested every Barra caught in the NT is worth some $2-300 to the local economy. So, the NT earns plenty of money from the humble Barra, but the clever part is that the money is spread across a range of businesses (such as yourself), rather than some ridiculous grab for money by the Government.

The upside is that locals get to fish for free. I wish I still lived there.

FollowupID: 664859

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:32

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:32
Now Steve, we love the 'Top End' too. Spend 4 or 5 months there each year these days (Dry Season). The liberal view of boating is not all good though.

No boat licence required (so no training in safety or rules of the water)
No boat registration. No complaint financially, but rego numbers are handy sometimes.
No restriction on boating 'under the influence' - drink all you want on the water.

We had a good chuckle with a NT copper earlier this year. He admitted it was lunacy that an untrained person can get in a very powerful boat with family on board, do almost any speed, drink 24 beers and a bottle of rum, somehow find his way back to the ramp and the first time he is breaking the law is when he gets in his car at the boat ramp.

We still love the place, but we are very cautious when other boats are nearby, due to lack of knowledge of rules of the water with some boaters.

Heading back to NT in March.

Norm C
FollowupID: 664910

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 11:18

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 11:18
Your luck your not Tasmanian mate!
Aparently that price is per head.........Thats $102 per Tasmanian

Hahahahahaha

AnswerID: 396171

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 12:43

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 12:43
I realize that I'm in the wrong trade - I should have become a neurologist, get double the amount hehehe providing there are any brains to work on!
FollowupID: 664891

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 15:12

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 15:12
If you think that's bad wait until you try and do something in WA - and don't even think of trying to fish from a boat. If you can't figure out what is actually on your hook at 50m before you pull it up you are in big trouble. The current advisors to the Govt have managed to completely stuff up the professional fishery (to have to stop the cray season due to oversupply and low prices when the whole reason the pots were cut and season slashed anyway was because of so called no crays when all along it was to do with the mighty $ and Govt ego). We've gone past the nanny state and now into the great old Queen Victoria state - though when i was in the NT recently I had to front up with photo ID to buy a carton of Boags (there's that Tassie connection again) so I'm not too sure about their 'freedoms' either. rgds

PS and wait until the extra permits (cash only on site) are ready for the CSR - that will be a whole new ball game out there.
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 396196

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:56

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 16:56
How does that Boag’s ad on the Telly go…….bloke chucks something in the water and pulls something better out.

Well here’s the drill, chuck a stubby in, pull out a dozen, pay for the licence with the money you’ve saved on beer (licence = $1.82 per day) and you’d still be in front………

Enjoy your trip and fish'n

AnswerID: 396210

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 17:03

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 17:03
Could be the answer
FollowupID: 664919

Reply By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 22:26

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 22:26
Yes I was bit shocked on my first visit to tassie but to put it into perpective this is a fortnight of fishing in a world class destination that is the equal to half a tank of fuel or two slabs of beer, get over it. All funds collected by fisheries are spent on the fishery. Eg each year thousands of large brown trout are trapped on the spawning run from great lake and redistbuted to lakes with poor natural requitment. Tassie has thousands of lakes but their fisheries dept knows exactly how many fish to stock for quick growth rates, NSW fisheries have no idea and will heavily stock a lake that is already overstocked(lake Lyal is a good example at the moment)
On my last fishing trip to Tassie I spent $1500 on boat fares, fuel(2000ks) etc so $50 is not a biggie.
If you want value for money for your lic hire a guide for the day and learn how to catch a trout.
AnswerID: 396242