What do I do different with my new LC 200 vs my old 100 ?
Submitted: Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 16:19
Member - Willie , Sydney.
I am getting a new 200TD after Christmas and have just had my 100TD detailed so I can get a decent trade in.
I believe little of the stuff I had on it will be transferable to the new car, so I am going to take off a bit of stuff and sell it. I am going to remove and sell the 9000lb Warne, the spare wheel floodlight, the Glind shower, 4 spare
wheels with tyres and my cargo platform where the second row seats were.
I will transfer the HID lights, aerials and UHF, but I think that's about all I can use. I will have to leave diff locks, long range tanks etc on the 100. Bummer.
I doubt if my 6'x4' Rhino racks will fit either.
I can take out the Outback shelves, but I doubt if they will fit the 200 - does anybody know if they do or don't ?
I heard that you cannot fit
seat covers to a 200. Is that true, or an urban myth ? What other problems am I going to experience with the new car ?
Thanks and Happy Christmas
Explorers,
Willie.
Reply By: Falco80 - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 17:09
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 17:09
Willie, when you start to mention things you've had fitted to your 100TD that cannot be swapped over to the 200TD, does it ever make you wonder why bother upgrading at all? I know it is the nature of the beast to spend time and money modifying a vehicle to suit our needs and when there's nothing else to tinker with, we usually sell them and buy another one....and then the process starts all over again. All the accessories we add sure add up in cost over time, and to go through it all again with a new vehicle is daunting and costly.
Surely your Warn winch will be ok, with the right bar? Difflocks and LR tanks are great additions and there's a few grand replacement cost just there. Its a great idea to take off what you can and sell privately, as stealerships tend to prefer vehicles that are as close to stock as possible. They take no notice of accessories and usually take them off anyway. There is no doubt a lot more specific info and knowledgeable people lurking in the 200s section of LCOOL.
Good luck, enjoy your new cruiser!
Dan
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 18:23
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 18:23
Dan
The car is 9 years old and has done 190,000km. I feel it is the right time to sell it and I also hunger for the V8 diesel for towing my heavy van to WA and other spots every year.
My days of going overland off track are pretty
well over, so my need for diff locks and winch are a low priority. I do not want to put a lot of heavy gear onto the new car, as it makes them illegal.
All I will get is a long range
tank, heavy duty springs with a small lift and a
snorkel. I will get an upgrade of the GVM.
LCOOL - I am comfortable on EO and there is quite a few guys on the site have 200s. I will go there if I have - I am registered.
Willie.
Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 00:10
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 00:10
at the present time with the engine faults with the 200 you are better off with your 100 series
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:53
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:53
I believe that any problems with the 200 would have been addressed in the August change in production specs.
I have spoken to mechanics about the engine and they do not share your opinion.
Willie
Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 00:44
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 00:44
they havnt
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 03:00
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 03:00
So Stuart what are the problems that you know of?
Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 08:59
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 08:59
Yes Stuart,
What engine problems do you speak of. I talk to a lot of guys with LC200's on LCOOL and none have had any engine problems.
They do use a bit of oil early in their life and the 6th gear doesn't drop in until over 100kmh unless you have it remapped but the LC100 will never drop into 6th, since you are making a direct comparison.
I had an LC100 and it can't be mentioned on the same page as an LC200, the latter is vastly superior on almost every count and thats saying something as the LC100 was pretty damn good.
Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 17:43
Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 17:43
I happen to know the worksop supervisor for rio
toyota have taken 5 of their motors (4.5 V8) BACK TO FACTORY to solve both fuel and engine failure, including excessive oil consumption.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:55
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:55
Stuart, there may
well be a couple of isolated cases, but at least Toyota is taking steps to correct any faults. Ask a Nissan Patrol owner what Nissan has done to help when their grenade goes up.
I have done about 45,000kms in
mine and half of that was towing a 3500kg Bushtracker.
It has not used excessive oil and is performing superbly.
There will always be a few things that need attention with a mass produced item. I have great faith in the vehicle and my Dealer. I've had an FJ55, an FJ73, 2 troopies and an 80 Series. Toyotas attract the knockers like nothing else and they are usually ALL non owners.
Willie, if you've ordered KDSS you will not need difflocks.
Well done and congratulations. You'll love it.
Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 06:55
Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 06:55
mate of a mate......
Reply By: sdtash - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 17:35
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 17:35
I have a 2007 LC 200 TTD GXL.. I most certainly do have
seat covers on
mine. They just have to be airbag compatable. Spme chaps have wool
seat covers fitted. Enjoy the cruiser when you get it.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 18:24
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 18:24
What makes a
seat cover compatable ?
I would like to get Black Duck canvas ones.
Willie.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 19:11
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 19:11
If they have bags in the back of the seats like commondoors they have to have spaces for the bags to deploy otherwise they are naughty or illegal or both, whatever.
Most reputable seatcover makers will know and fit the correct ones
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:53
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:53
OK Graham, I get the picture now.
Thanks . Willie.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 19:14
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 19:14
Willie, if you have trouble, try Toyota for the
seat covers. I got Toyota canvas ones with my 79 Series. Not air bag compatible (79 Series does not have air bags), but they might have them for the 200.
There are airbags in the side of the seats on the flash 200 Series,
seat covers have to not restrict deployment.
As for GVM, when I got my 79, you had to get this upgrade done before rego to get it certified. Not sure if that is the case. I had an upgrade to 3,700 KG (400kg increase) done by ARB before rego. We use every bit of it when fully loaded and carrying the boat.
You probably won't need it with the twin turbo, but a 3 inch mandrel exhaust and DP chip have turned my 79 into a towing brute.
Norm C
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 21:15
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 21:15
Hi Norm,
I will check with Toyota re the canvas
seat covers for the 200 - thanks.
Can you describe the process wherby you upgraded the GVM before rego. ie did the dealer take it to ARB or what ?
Thanks a lot,
Willie.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 16:48
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 16:48
I ordered the work through ARB, along with their bullbar, warn winch and steps. I then told the dealer ARB needed to do the work prior to rego and dealer made arrangements with ARB to get the vehicle to them and back.
I also had a full canopy made by Roscos at Caboolture (Sunshine Coast). Dealer arranged for the vehicle to be trucked up there for fitting and back again as
well - all at their cost.
As mentioned before, dealer cooperated with Bob Jane on the tyres.
Overall, I got excellent service and cooperation from my dealer (Hinterland Toyota). When I picked up the vehicle, it had the canopy (inc plated ROPS), new tyres (BFG AT), all bar work, winch,
suspension upgrade (inc GVM plating), tow bar,
seat covers, floor mats etc.
I just added 2 x AGMs, isolator, cabling, battery monitor, 2 x fridge slides and fridges, drawer unit (self made), UHF, console (self made) Scan Gauge, roof rack and boat loader and I was about ready to hit the road. I've since put a 100 W solar panel on the roof for when not carrying boat. If carrying boat, panel is easily removed for use on the ground.
Norm C
Reply By: Boobook2 - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 19:39
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 19:39
Willie, congratulations.
If you want, the Warn 9000 and rear diff lock will work fine. The digital traction control on the 200 is pretty dammed good and you would probably never need a diff lock except in sand.
The front diff lock won't fit as it is a bigger diff in the 200 at the front. ( 8 1/2 verses 8 inch).
You can certainly get
seat covers but as previously mentioned they have to be airbag compatible. That means they will split if the
seat airbags go off.
Your outback drawers won't fit. Despite being wider than a 100, the width between rear wheel arches is less at about 960mm. I think you will find the width of your 100 drawers is 1000mm
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 21:23
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 21:23
Boobook2,
I don't want the weight of a winch hanging off the front. I am also changing to a less tough alloy bull bar for this reason.
That is interesting info on the traction control being so good. Even though the rear diff lock will fit, as you say, it might be only a minor advantage and definitely another thing to go wrong - I like to stay close to standard if possible.
Sounds like they beefed up the front diff - good.
I figured the drawers would not fit. I will put an advert on here and flog them. They are a terrific bit of tackle and when I used to do more
camping, I loved them. Now however, in my dotage, I take my Bushtracker with me.
Thanks for the great technical info,
Willie.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 06:12
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 06:12
Sir Willie
' Dotage "....LOL...yer but a babe in the woods :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 08:26
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 08:26
Mate, I got my Seniors Card this week !
Reply By: Marty-VIC - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 21:02
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 21:02
I would be waiting for the new engine. The V8 will be Toyotas shortest lived engine.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 21:25
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 21:25
I waited for the upgraded production which started in August. I am happy to buy one now.
Willie.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 22:56
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 22:56
what new engine? The Patrol one??? :-)
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 01:16
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 01:16
Please explain??
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 03:13
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 03:13
Marty-VIC replied:
We have nationwide fleet of 1 ton service vehicles made up of all brands. Mitsi Triton have lowest break down and warranty claims and best fuel consumption. New engine power and torque towing is impressive. They guys now fight to get the Tritons to drive. Triton presently unbeatable for features safety and standard options.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:48
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:48
Marty-VIC
You did not answer the question. After a statement like that, you should give out some facts.
Willie.
Follow Up By: Marty-VIC - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 08:18
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 08:18
The V8 engine is going and reintroducing a 6 cyl.
Sales are poor, mining, goverment authorities and construction companies will not touch the V8. OHS and legal nightmare due to overloading issue of front axle. Bad design all round.
Price wise V8 worst $ ripoff going. I would feel like a mug if paid such a ripoff price for 200 series.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 08:28
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 08:28
Would anybody like to give me some more info on this "overloading issue of front axle".
Thanks Marty,
Willie.
Follow Up By: Member - Wamuranman - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 08:50
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 08:50
Marty,
Aren't you confusing the LC70 series with the LC200 series. The LC70s did not have air bags originally and were not bought by some companies because of this.
The LC200 has about a 3 month wait to get one - how can you say sales are poor. Despite being more expensive the LC200 is outselling the Nissan Patron almost 2 to 1 in Australia.
Methinks your facts and understanding of the issues is a little confused.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 11:13
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 11:13
I don't think he is confusing the 70 Series with the 200 Series at all.
I just think he is confused, full stop!!
First hand owners reporting on this site does not support any of his claims.
The 70 Series is being sold in mega volumes to mining, construction etc and the V8 has been on the market now for about 3 years with no real dramas coming
forth.
The 200 Series also seems to be extraordinarily reliable and sales are by all accounts excellent.
This bloke can't seem to support his claims with any real facts and as most issues of any brand or model are posted and discussed on here as soon as they become apparent then I would suggest this
forum is very
well informed and up to date.
I guess we can expect more of this sort of post as it is school holidays.
Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 12:42
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 12:42
I think Marty thought he was talking about a Nissan 3.0 which has the shortest engine life.
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 17:14
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 17:14
The LC70's come with the option of a 1HZ or the D4D engines.
The 1HZ are a special order and are aimed at mining companies.
We have had a look at the LC70 with the 1HZ as we have to do some mods for Toyota for the mining industry.
This combination is very big in South Africa and with NATO.
There was no mention of dropping the V8 or offering a 6cyl in the 200 series.
I don't think you would be able to get a straight 6 cylinder under the bonnet of the 200 series as the engine bay is to short.
The 200 series and the LC70 had some teething problems in the early days but seem to be sorted now.
Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 07:43
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 07:43
Marty-VIC posted:
......... I would feel like a mug if paid such a ripoff price for 200 series.....
Well Marty-VIC, that would be appropriate since you look like such a mug with that bunch of inaccuracies. LOL.
As olcoolone posted, the 200 bonnet was shortened by 200mm and the 200mm added to the cabin given that there was no straight 6 cyl option. What front end overloading and V8 short lived issues are you referring to? Sounds like you are the only one that knows about these.
And given your lack of record for getting things right I don't think it is an issue.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 13:10
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 13:10
AFAIK the 1hz spec 70 series cant be got in Australia.
Theres no question the v8 ute wouldnt be the mining industries first choice but it has nothing to do with any inherant problems.
its not rocket science that the old 1hz was ideal for mining applications with its low but adequate power and its mechano approach to repairs.
turbos and intercoolers and electrics just add more to go wrong and more complicated fixes in an environment where its not a matter of if but when and also need AFFF fire suppresant inbuilt to be compliant with the turbo.
all of which means nothing to private buyers because they are unlikely to see any of the problems mining vehicles have
Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 13:14
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 13:14
as for front end overloading - this can be an issue in any of the older 70 series. except most people dont care and have no issue
one place i worked had the front tanks blocked off because with the barwork and winch etc a full front tank put the load on the front axle above specs
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:35
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:35
The 1HZ is available on special order, we are doing some work for a dealership who has about 50 of them sitting in their holding yard at the moment waiting for delivery.
Don't know if it is a special thing for mining company's only or if the general public can buy them to.
There may be some ADR's they don't meet and may not be registrable for road use.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 02:52
Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 02:52
v interesting i knew they were4 available elswhere.
im guessing there no cheaper to land here???
the old 79 was last of the old school perfect for mining / comercial use
in 2006 they were the slowest vehicle available brand new and the only diesal without a turbo many examples struggled to top 120kph mostly because of the emission control hoo ha which is shown by the extra stuff arounfd the fuel pump
Follow Up By: Member - Wamuranman - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 07:00
Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 07:00
"slowest vehicle available brand new"...
Surely they were not as slow as the Daewoo Matiz ??
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 13:44
Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 13:44
Im sure that you guys are probably aware that the 80 series are still (or were till very recently) being manufactured?
Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 14:47
Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 14:47
Iwas just guessing with that coment but some of the last and close to new ones I drove were amazingly slow I tried timingone from 80 - 120 and gave up because it wouldnt do it
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:48
Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:48
2008 was the last year for the 80 series being built.
Don't know if they went to the 100 series then or straight to the 200 series.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:01
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:01
Marty-VIC,
mate, you are clueless !!
The V8 is 4 cylinders long.
The 6 cylinder is obviously 6 cylinders long.
The engine bay ain't long enough for 6 cylinders unless you want the 2 extra cylinders in the centre console next to you.
Another knocker who is not an owner.
Reply By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 23:00
Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 23:00
How are you going to trade it in if you have already bought the new 200?
Is it a HDJ100? You will be far better off to sell it private, probably by up to 50%.
Even though the older 4 speed auto TD's are worth a little less than the post 02 models, they are still very popular 2nd hand.
Mine is 04 with 185K on and runs A1. Had an oil sample done again recently and has come up clean again with 8000k's on oil.
Follow Up By: Horacehighroller - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 03:13
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 03:13
I agree with Fisho.
In fact, why don't you list it on here with all the accessories and see what happens? You may save yourself alot of work removing and selling all the extra items. It sounds ike a fully fitted unit to me.
190k is not alot
HZJ 105 n/a auto
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 09:15
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 09:15
I have not ordered the 200 yet. I only had the detailing done on Christmas Eve.
I mainly want the 200 because my Bushtracker weighs 2.3 tons empty - the 100 runs out of puff on the hills.
Everybody says the same though - selling a car like this to a dealer, you get no value for the accessories. So, I either sell it complete or take everything off.
I guess I should put an ad on here, but taking it to a dealer, is the easy way to get an idea of what it's worth. I will have a look on RV Point and see if I can get an idea about it's value there.
My 100 TD is the 4 speed box, but is in great condition mechanically. ARB Northside have serviced it and I have replaced many bits "just in case" ie the injector lines, parts of the front
suspension etc. ARB know they can do anything to my car that they think it requires - without contacting me.
Willie.
Follow Up By: Horacehighroller - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 10:20
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 10:20
I have a suggestion for you Willie.
Check out the 200 at the dealer and figure out what options you want.
Then look for a "no trade-in" price on the internet -there are a number of
places which will give you a good price - but ensure that you list the options you want.
Once you have the best internet price see if a dealer can better it (tell the dealer your son/daughter/mate are buying the old 100.
Then, and only then, ask for a trade-in price for your 100 (son/daughter/mate deal fell through).
This way you get a real figure for your trade-in and can decide if you'll do better selling privately.
(The above buying procedure takes a lot of the footwork and hassle out of dealing with salesmen.)
Good luck.
HZJ 105 n/a auto
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 15:10
Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 15:10
Thanks Peter,
Good advice and I tried - but failed to find quotes for a "no trade-in" price on the internet .
Can you tell me where to find them.
Sorry,
Willie.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:08
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:08
Willie,
have a serious discussion with your Dealer about a price for your 100 Series. They are in strong demand, mainly because of the cost of the 200 Series.
I was in my local dealership last month booking the 200 in for a service and the Dealer Principal asked me if I was going to try towing my van with the trayback (I bought both of them from him).
I said no, because the 200 was just more powerful and more comfortable and that I was going to put the trayback on the market in January. He said they are hard to get and he would like to buy it back from me. We spoke about some accessories that I wanted to keep and he gave me an amount which I reckon was just short of what I would have got privately. No hassles and the money was in the bank the next day.
No harm in asking.
Reply By: Member - Gouger (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 10:37
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 10:37
Good on yer Willie - you will love it. There have been a couple of issues but now rectified - mainly the gear change speed - don't be concerned about some of the knockers - probably can't afford one. Minining companies have a whole selection criteria and having V8's isn't one of them. The TD will hold its value
well - pity about losing some of the good bits off the 100 but what can be reused is covered
well. The 80 and 100's were and still are great cars and don't know why they went to the V8- presumably emmission controls mainly.I regularlary get my 10.3 l/100 on a trip - unfortunately now towing however. The spare grunt you have is amazing !
So just enjoy! Sell your privately if you can as you keep most of the dealers margin and yours is sought after.
Good luck and great times ahead.
Gouger
Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 18:09
Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 18:09
Could you 200 owners please answer the following "
What companies make AT tyres for the 17" LC200 GXL ?
Did you fit an alloy bull bar ? If so, what brand and are you still happy with it. I always bought steel ARB ones and know nothing about alloy models.
Thanks a lot, I am getting plenty of good ideas here.
Willie.
Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 09:15
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 09:15
Willie,
Several company's make AT tyres in 17" now but aren't you ordering a '09 model?? They have 18" standard which I know, seems strange but that is the case.
As for 17" AT tyres in OEM size
Dunlop AT22 as fitted to '07/'08 models, great on road and quiet.
Bridgestone Dueler 694 in exact size, 285/65 R17 but not in light truck unfortunately
Yokohama Geolander ditto for Bridgstone
If you want to go outside the 15mm limit, which, it seems most do, then you can opt for both Mickey Thompson or Cooper in 285/70 R17 in various forms. I don't think BFG do one in 285/17 but a lot use them in 275 width. Anyway, heaps of options.
Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:04
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:04
There are 3 main options for 17" wheels.
1)285 / 65 17 ( original size), not a lot of options here, especially in LT
2)285 / 70 17 about 1 1/2 inch bigger diameter. Will increase fuel consumption by 2 - 3 l/100km and will make it hard to get into 6th when towing.
3)265 /70 17 same diameter as OE tyre. Best for non mud work in my opinion.
Mickey thompson, Coopers etc etc.
Watch the load rating of the tyres. Must be 116 or 1250kg. The Australian version of the BFG 265 / 70 17 AT for example is only 112 rated.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:10
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:10
Willie,
I'll send a list of tyres I have made up to your email address.
Presently I am favouring the Hankook tyres.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:22
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 20:22
Refer to Thread 74460.
And, unless you get a good price for your OEM Dunlops, don't be in a hurry to get rid of them, they are better than you may think.
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:34
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:34
Can't help on the 200 but good luck in any case.
I'm hanging onto my TD100. ;)
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:51
Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:51
How are you doing Richard ? Do you want a front
seat set of Black Duck canvas covers - a bit worn on the drivers side ?
Willie.
Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 16:43
Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 16:43
Willie,
Thanks for the offer.
I've got some lambswool ones that still have a bit of life in them. ;)
Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:38
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:38
Thanks all you who replied to this post.
Yesterday I ordered a silver GXL diesel with KDSS, from a dealer who "believes" I will get it at the end of February.
So now I have a heap of 100 Series parts and accessories to sell. I will put an advert on this site.
Willie
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:42
Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 19:42
The dealer agreed to deliver the car to
ARB, to upgrade the GVM before delivery.
However, Bob Jane wants to charge me $600 to swap the tyres to Cooper ATs or the eqivalent.
Willie
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:17
Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:17
Hi Willie,
Only $600 to swap 17" tyres sounds cheap!!! When I had my GU it cost me that to swap over to 285/75R16 Cooper LT's. However, with my 200 I had to shell out $1,200 - they reckoned the 17" 285/70R17 BFG TA's were heaps more expensive hence the price hike. It looks like 17" tyres are becoming more common these days so hopefully the price has come down.
Good luck with your 200, you won't regret it for a second - except perhaps when checking your bank balance:) Towing your Bushtracker will be that much easier and the standard traction control is almost as good as diff locks. I have had my 200 for 1-1/2 years now and it still amaze me the way it goes off-road and on.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:24
Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:24
Thanks for the info Captain. Maybe they are not taking me for a ride after all.
Willie.