FJ45

Submitted: Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 17:19
ThreadID: 74639 Views:4479 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Ive recently come to a crossroads with my 1981 FJ45. It leaks oil from every seal, is way down on power, suspension is shot and on my last trip to the high country something in the front went and I lost four wheel drive half way up billy goats bluff... I had until last week decided i would sell it and buy a replacement vehicle but now think I will miss it to much if i do... So I have decided to spend a little bit of money on it, get it back up to scratch and use it as a daily driver. My first question would be ... Does anyone know roughly how much a rebuild on the motor would be? Secondly somewhere in melbourne which would be a good place to get the work done? And i guess the same question applies for transfer case/gearbox ...

Any thoughts or advise on the process would be much appreciated.

Brendan

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 17:27

Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 17:27
Hi Breno,
I like your sentiment, and there are times I wish I had kept mine. But mate, I hope you have plenty of them little Aussie $$$$, because I think you are going to need them for the work you are going to do. I have no idea what it's going to cost, but I think you had better brace yourself. All the best with it.
regards,
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 396395

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 18:19

Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 18:19
They are not expensive to rebuild. A company in Perth was offering fully recon 3F with engine balancing for $2500,instal yourself and probably another $1500+ for installation(including stripping and replacing the external engine parts..
That was a couple of years ago ,but I doubt it will be much more than that.
The gearbox cost is nearly all labour and will be $3k if someone instals it for you

Then you suspension will be another$2000 if done correctly,so you are up fo raround $9000

IMO you would just better off spending a bit more and buying a 75 series.
Faster,smoother and quieter with no loss of offroad performance.
It ll will probably be cheaper in the long run
AnswerID: 396398

Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 19:57

Friday, Dec 25, 2009 at 19:57
Hi Brendan
I have a fj45...Rust free and has just been put over the Pit for rego,all the work is done,licenced and tuned up,Has the 2F motor with a 4speed box, 229000 on the clock, it's a tray back and has the sides for the tray, will send you a pick if you send me an email address to send it to, or give me a call on 0438 195 777.

Cheers for now....WilliamH...Bunbury...WA.
AnswerID: 396404

Follow Up By: breno - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 09:18

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 09:18
Hi William.

Thanks for the offer mate but I have a troopy and im pretty keen to stick with the wagon.

breno

FollowupID: 667919

Reply By: balko - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:30

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 07:30
Bite the bullet and get a new one this week with the 50% tax break you wont go wrong. A 81 model just dont cut it as a daily driver (new mod cons). But if you do keep it nothing to fix is cheap. So what ever way you go you will allways wonder what IF . its human nature. I do it every day. Good Luck Tony
AnswerID: 396424

Reply By: DarrynJ - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 09:48

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 09:48
Hi Brendan, the FJ45 would be easy to work on but parts are hard to get now. There's a bloke around the corner from me who drives one and he has two sitting in the paddock for spares. Suspension replacements are still available and last time I looked were under $1000.00. I have a gearbox/transfer case that could fit you ute, depends how yours mounts does it have a cross member under the transfer case with a rubber mount or are there mounts off the side of the bell housing? Mine will fit the latter type. I also have a conversion bell housing for a Holden 253/308 V8, but I don't know how you would go with rego these days.

Regd's Darryn
AnswerID: 396430

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 12:40

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 12:40
Parts are easy to get and also new old stock parts are easy to get, what part do you need????????? look on Ebay for them.

Cheers for now....Williamh...Bunbury...WA
FollowupID: 665272

Reply By: breno - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 09:21

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 09:21
Thansk for the input everyone ... edging closer to a decision. Might be picking up a couple of 45s in pretty good condition to use for parts for not to much. Maybe do only what has to be done, and keep it as a second vehicle.

Breno

AnswerID: 398945