Smart Chargers

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 12:05
ThreadID: 74646 Views:3609 Replies:4 FollowUps:17
want another around 20amp
what is concenus of which is best...i know its Ctek...but lets also consider value for $$$$

My 10amp Projecta has carked it...PCB is date coded 2007/8/11 and camper was first registered OCT 07....so not very long life at all...we aint even in 2010 yet.

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 12:35

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 12:35
MN1 I reckon the best IS value for money

AnswerID: 396440

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:21

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:21
your right of course....but is it that one or this one
FollowupID: 665264

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 14:30

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 14:30
CTek 25 Amp is an excellent charger. Check them out on EBay, you will save at least $100 on price in most normal places.

Norm C

AnswerID: 396442

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 15:04

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 15:04
Yes I've bought two from this seller, no affiliation etc etc, very prompt delivery etc and far less than retail.
4wdextreme is the seller id
FollowupID: 665201

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 19:36

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 19:36
Agree with this, mine from Ebay seller and very good service.

FollowupID: 665214

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 19:56

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 19:56
Hi Norm

I bought a 7A Jaycar charger on the basis that it also had a 5A power supply. I wanted a return policy, which they supplied.Well it didn't even startup my Autofridge and the charger could JUST maintain the battery. I took it back and they happily refunded my money. I was prepared to look at upgrading to a higher power charger. They have a 25A due in Jan 2010 @ $499. Even the manager agreed that was over the top when I said I could get a 25A CTek on eBay for ~$380.

I looked up 'the' eBay site and saw "Using its SUPPLY mode, the battery charger provides power even without a battery." Now this looks pretty interesting to me. Just wondering if it would run my Autofridge? Any experience with this mode Norm?

Also, I visited SC and saw they had a multi-stage 20A charger for IIRC $199. Thinking value for $$$$ has anybody tried one of these yet?

TIA

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 665218

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 22:12

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 22:12
Malcolm
I use my small 7 amp Ctek in "supply" mode to run the Autofridge 24/7 when the 4wd is in the garage with absolutely zero problems.
I also carry it when travelling to run the fridge when in a van park or anywhere where 240v is available. I bought the 25 amp Ctek purely to charge batteries off the gennie in much less time than the 7 amp one which it does perfectly.
The 25 amp Ctek also has a "supply" mode which will quite happily run the fridge as well.
A 1kva gennie can handle both chargers on at once one running the frig and one charging the battery.
FollowupID: 665221

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 00:13

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 00:13
Thanks for informative answer Peter.

I have a number of batteries which I need to keep in a state of charge. One set is two X 6V 220A wet cell batteries which I have in series making 12V. My solar panels (2 X 90W) don't seem to be able to put that last bit of oomph into them. Also have a couple of deep cycle 120A and the boat batteries to maintain. I think the CTek 25A will do a number of jobs as I rotate it around. The AutoFridge only needs to be run every couple of months.

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 665234

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 00:27

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 00:27
Malcolm,
If your "2 X 90 Watt solar panels don't seem to be able to put that last bit of oomph into them" then you must have something wrong with the solar regulator, because the solar panels will be putting out ~10 Amps.

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 665236

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 19:13

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 19:13
I bought one of the blue case PowerSaver 25A smart chargers a couple of years back - been fine so far, but one think I've noted is...... they don't like really hot weather (possibly when we need them the most) - even though they have a thermo fan inbuilt, if the ambient is up in the very high 30's they will cut off - if you want to be charging batteries in the field when hot, suggest checking the specs to see if something with a high cutout threshhold is available.
AnswerID: 396463

Follow Up By: tagisthename - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 23:10

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 23:10
See my question re:Ctek chargers...
http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/74649/Ctek_ChargersRe_xs_25000_or_xs_15000.aspx?ky=&p=%2fForum%2fDefault.aspx%3fpn%3d1

In looking at chargers this one looks interesting....
http://www.sidewinder.com.au/page62.html

still looking...
FollowupID: 665229

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:25

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:25
Thakns for the replies Guys
looks like another Ctek....probably the 1500 then
AnswerID: 396520

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 17:26

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 17:26
Same as the one I have RQ, if you need something around 20A go for the 25000 I think

FollowupID: 665311

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 17:45

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 17:45
No 1
I could tell you what I think is the best but Im biased .
I could also tell you a price and name but it would be self promotion.
Maybe I should say I need some testing done and sell it at a reduced price and get away with it.
No Ill just shut up even though I have a damn good charger that I think is one of the best and even though you asked its not worth the risk of self promotion moderation.
FollowupID: 665314

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 18:01

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 18:01
Ian you can reply with info etc as a Business Member, you just cant start self promo threads. Go ahead and advise away

FollowupID: 665317

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 18:28

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 18:28
Too late Ian
ordered a 15a ctek after I posted this reply....must visit your site and see what else i need

GB
already have a 2500 ..just needed something to use while everything is idle plus a bit of grunt for extra if needed and for if things go haywire...trying to eliminate murphy's law...can one actually do that?
FollowupID: 665319

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 18:52

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 18:52
I do believe that there is a p[romise that if Murphys law is supplanted it is instantly replaced with O'Leareys Law which states:

MURPHY WAS AN OPTIMIST!

FollowupID: 665321

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 18:59

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 18:59
Yes Ian, as a Business Member, you can answer questions asked and talk about your products and their benefits in that answer, as long as it is relevant to the question. You cannot start a thread that extols the virtues of your products. This is my understanding. It is also the (unmoderated) action of other business members.

Of course, you need to be sensible about you posts, but you are denying yourself an opportunity (which you have paid for) and you are denying the opportunity for others to learn what is available.

Norm C
FollowupID: 665322

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 20:03

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 20:03
Thank you gentlemen for your assistance in this matter but I am coming to the conclusion that Explore Oz is a waste of time as I have witnessed self promotion go unchallenged and I would rather be penalised with a donation to charity than gagged so when my payed term is up I will not be renewing as ther are venues that allow an interaction between business members and general members and moderated with reasonability so I will concentrate my efforts in a direction where information is treated as information regardless as no one is forced to buy off anyone and no one in their right mind should harass anyone with sales crap.
FollowupID: 665328

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:13

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:13
Ian,
I for one understand where your coming from, we will miss your informative posts

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 665342

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:54

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:54
Ahh Ian I am not sure what you mean, I know what Mainey means though. You can converse back and forth in a thread no worries as far as I know, there are others who do this and they work within the rules, I know cause I know the guy personally and have spoken to him about it over a beer. I for one appreciated your input (RMS +/- 10%) in all your posts.

Lets not turn this into a moderation debate as all the posts will go the way of the ModSquad.

Bonz

FollowupID: 665347