Dust free pressurised camper box, (KK style) ?

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 21:51
ThreadID: 74657 Views:9262 Replies:9 FollowUps:17

I'm building a custom aluminium box for my tray-back ute and want to be able to provide positive ventilation (because it contains a fridge) without sucking in the dust.

I like the method that the Kimberley Kamper CT's use (i.e. draw in outside air through a filter element and out through another vent) and wanted to do something similar but am having trouble sourcing a suitable filter to mount to a fan assembly. The filter needs to be easily removed fro cleaning.

The 12V fan will be controlled by a thermostat switch so it won't be running all the time.

I thought about calling the KK people but thought that it might be a bit too cheeky.
Cabin-type filters for cars are looking promising so far but would be interested in what others have done.

Can anyone who has done similar to this pass on any recommendations for a suitable filter (washable would be nice)?

thanks,

Rob

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 22:37

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 22:37
The KK filters are a paper filter from a lawnmower. ;) Nothing too secretive there.

AnswerID: 396480

Follow Up By: arjay - Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 22:50

Saturday, Dec 26, 2009 at 22:50
Thanks Andrew, will follow up.

Rob
FollowupID: 665226

Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 13:26

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 13:26
I think they were for a Briggs and Stratton engine - I'll find the manual if you like.

Tim
FollowupID: 665277

Follow Up By: arjay - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:11

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:11
Thanks Tim, I downloaded a catalogue of various mower filters from www.gaspares.com.au last night but haven't seen the same filter yet.
If you can point me to a particular model it would be useful.

Rob
FollowupID: 665288

Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:43

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:43
G'day Rob,

I dug out the Kimberley manual (2005 version) - The paper type filter is a Briggs & Stratton part number 491588. There is also provision for an oiled foam piece, part number 805267 (B&S) or 'Rotary' air filter 19-8480.

Hope this helps - and that they are still available!

Tim
FollowupID: 665293

Follow Up By: arjay - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:14

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:14
Tim,

Thanks again, two of those PN's you quoted are listed in the "mowers-air-bat_1-29.pdf" file I downloaded from the GA Spares website (mentioned above).
This gives me some more pieces to the puzzle.

Thanks for your help!!

Rob
FollowupID: 665305

Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 07:23

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 07:23
Try an electrical wholesaler or radio spares.

Rittal make one for their electrical enclosures that are easy to remove. They make one that the filter sits in an one that the fan sits in.

Rittal link

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 396488

Follow Up By: arjay - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:05

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:05
Thanks RA, looks promising.

Rob
FollowupID: 665285

Reply By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 08:54

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 08:54
You might like to check out Computer parts sellers for 12 v fans 120mm 90mm and 50mm sizes -with and without sponge filter pads ,,

Rgds

Mandrake
AnswerID: 396499

Follow Up By: arjay - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:16

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:16
Mandrake,

Thanks for the pointer, I've used some of these filters with PC's over the years. I thought that they were useful but wondered about their ability to stop dust as compared to 'fluff' etc.
I'll give them a more thorough look.

Rob
FollowupID: 665289

Follow Up By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:20

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:20
My son does PC Case modding - he uses the steel mesh flyscreen cut to size and then the sponge - That seems to work for a PC in an office - But I don't think there's a fliter built that can withstand bulldust and corrugations ...

Rgds

Mandrake
FollowupID: 665291

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 09:22

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 09:22
arjay

we have an aluminium cannopy on the back of our 79 series tray back. Two side doors and a back door all with good seals

for dust control we have a roof mounted scoop that gives the positive pressure when travelling. We run two fridges etc in there and have never had a dust issue at all.........in fact is is squeaky clean of dust always.........and believe me it has been put to the test over as bad as dust country as you will ever get

keeping it simple works...do you really need to go down the path of what you are considering?

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 396507

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:51

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:51
I have seen a similar system employed to keep the engine compartment of a rear engined coach clean.

An air intake was mounted on the roof of the bus right at the front and this was ducted to the engine compartment. No filters just pull in the air where it is clean.

If I am the lead vehicle I keep the vents on the car open all the time except when I encounter oncoming vehicles. Provided I remember to switch the ventilation system to recirculate before the dust arrives and go back to fresh air once it has cleared I have no problems with dust.

FollowupID: 665267

Follow Up By: arjay - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:45

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:45
Bungara,

Thanks for providing me with the benefit of your experience, it helps me to consider if I'm going overboard here.

Your ute is a very nice setup, very professional. By the look of the construction of your 'box' I'll bet that those doors seal very well, so well that hardly any air would be getting by the seals.
I'm just guessing here, but if this is the case it would mean that little air is coming in your roof scoops and therefore little, if any dust.

As you say that you have 2 fridges in there that work well so I can't argue with the facts.
My 'box' is quite a bit smaller than your unit so I wonder how well it will shift the heat from the fridge, especially if the unit is stationary for a day in the sun (wouldn't need filters if I was stationary though).

I also believe that the simpler I make things the more reliable they are.
Maybe I'm creating a mountain out of a mole-hill.

Although not quite the same situation, I also own a dual-cab ute that has a canopy with a rooftop vent. Generally speaking, having the rooftop vent open when travelling will keep out most of the dust fro entering via the tailgate.
After our trip from Vic to the Simpson this year we had to re-think our strategy as anything that was exposed in the back of the ute got dusted and we mostly travelled solo.

thanks again,
Rob
FollowupID: 665294

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:31

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:31
Rob

You are correct in assuming very llittle air comes in...........the movement forward maintains the rammed positive pressure hence no dust.....and yes the seals are very good.

As for the temperature when being stationary........I lined the interior with an aluminium insulation from Bunnings and we have been able to keep fruit in a open top box on the top shelf (about 350mm clearance from roof) with no problems at all......and we have been in very hot weather at times....it has really surprised us how effective this insulation is

Our previous dual cab that had a canvass canopy with an air vent pocket on both sides at the front so that once again air was rammed in when travelling and worked reasonably well for dust although as we all know the tailgate area allowed some dust in...........This canopy was lined with weld mesh sides and so when stationary we were able to lift up the sides for air flow and maintain security

When I changed to the solid box I was a little concerned about the stationary heat but it has been a non event with with the top shelf above the fridges and the insualtion all round

VKS 1341

FollowupID: 665307

Follow Up By: Fatso - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 21:12

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 21:12
I am interested in your set up Bungarra.
What sort of insulation did you & how did you fix it?
Did you insulate the roof only or the whole canopy?
What type of vents did you use? Are they those marine type with water dispersers?
FollowupID: 665334

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 21:55

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 21:55
Hi Peter

The insulation I used was about 3 or 4mm thick in a sort of cell formation..comes in a roll of about 900 wide I think it was......sorry I cant recall the brand name...but it was readily available from Bunnings.....if you cant find it I will have a look when next in town and tell you the specific details of it...let me know if you wish me to do so

I fixed it all round with a liquid bonding agent..wasnt liquid nails but something similar and fast grab....works a treat

As for the air scoop there is only one in the center of the roof at the front..........very similar to the Police paddy wagons sort of half a football shape and so no water ingress.....once again dont remember the name but can probably check it out if you wish

Graeme
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 665338

Follow Up By: Fatso - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 21:09

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 21:09
Thanks for that Graeme.
I haven't built my box yet & it is great to get a bit of an insight into how others did it & got on. It will have insulation when I build it. Good to see that 4 mm works.
Thanks for starting the thread Arjay
FollowupID: 665432

Reply By: Fatso - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 14:15

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 14:15
G'day Rob.
I am looking at going down a similar path. I am with you on the filter.
A bloke I was talking to this year out at Big Red had a fibreglass canopy & had tried computer fans & found he needed the bigger volumes of radiator fans. He just used the fans to pressurise the box while travelling & had them manually switched from the cabin. The air escaped from any gaps around the doors & in the process kept all those cracks & seals clear of dust as well.
He never had filters on the inlets, but when we talked through ideas he said he would give them a go. He hadn't had much trouble without dust being drawn in so far because he travelled alone in fairly remote locations.
He had met someone who used a heater fan out of a car & said that seemed to work better than his radiator fans.
I love the box idea as well. A lot of people can't get their head around the concept. My plan is to have only 2 doors to help with strength without adding weight & have lifting lugs so I can lift it off with everything inside & put it on castors.
This way I could keep everything packed & ready to go for the next trip & still have a ute to use.
AnswerID: 396535

Follow Up By: arjay - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:06

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:06
Slim,

I am modelling my setup from another bloke's. He has fitted a vent (with fan) on the front the the box but at the bottom, right near the base of the cab (79 series) and an exhaust vent at the back of the box (top).
I think that the air pressure at the front vent while travelling is enough to move air through the box, the only problem being that dust works its way in also.

I want to be able to stop the dust while mobile but also vent the box if req'd when stationary.
If I move the front vent up higher I may be able to virtually eliminate the dust.

As mentioned above in my reply to Bungarra, I also own a dual-cab ute and know about the associated dust problems. I believe that others on this forum have fixed this problem by attaching strips of foam around the tailgate area to help seal the gaps.

This box will be a semi-permanent fixture on the yota as it bolts onto a custom tray. The slide-on camper will be removable.

Rob
FollowupID: 665303

Reply By: arjay - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:27

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:27
Thanks to everyone for your thoughts and suggestions, they will all be used in deciding the final outcome.
I'll let you know how it goes.

Love this forum, so many helpful people.

Rob
AnswerID: 396541

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 21:00

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 21:00
Rob,
I thought about it the same as you and had all sorts of solutions planned for a problem that didn't exist.
If you have a sealed canopy on your traytop with no rear door, you will not have a problem with dust. IMO its only the rear where dust gets sucked in. And with huge side doors, you don't need a rear door - good spot to mount the spares.
Fibreglass canopies on tub utes are a different kettle of fish - poor seals and rear doors allow lots of dust to suck in.
AnswerID: 396564

Reply By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:00

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:00
on my camper (on tray) i used 2 x fans (like in a computer) so when i turn on the ignition they work & have never failed & as a filter all i have used is a air con filter blanket that i blow out/bash/hit/wash/what ever when they need it works well also helps keep the fridge cooler but my unit is sealed well & i have had to fit a pressure relief vale as well as it was not getting any air flow
Vince
AnswerID: 396687

Reply By: kiwicol1 - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 20:01

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 20:01
Hi, Try Donaldson filters they have a unit which has a 12 v fan sucking air into the filter, then into where ever you want it. I have one fitted to the A/C on my bobcat, works a treat. I have also seen them fitted to large coaches pressurising the baggage area under the floor, for when travelling on dirt roads.

Col
AnswerID: 396990

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 22:50

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 22:50
x2 on Donaldson Filtration. They have a range of specialised filtration solutions for this kind of application.
Their staff are also very helpful and knowledgeable.
No connection with them.
FollowupID: 665760

Follow Up By: arjay - Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 12:23

Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 12:23
Thanks Vince, Kiwicol1 & Ross, I will look into these.

Rob
FollowupID: 665979