Dualcab ute vs wagon - pros and cons

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 07:24
ThreadID: 74664 Views:12251 Replies:11 FollowUps:9
What are the pros and cons of dualcab utes versus wagon style 4WDs?

Reply By: Wilk0 - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 07:55

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 07:55
Hi Ron N,

I would like to trade my Pajero in on a dual cab. The main reason is I dont have a lot of internal storage area. Id put an aluminium canopy(dust sealed) on a tray back, and have significant more area.

The Pajero is a lot more comfortable to travel in (SWMBO has noticed this).

The rear seats of a dual cab although improving, arent as confortable as the rear seats in a wagon.

I also like not having rear 1/4 panels (on the tray back), They are less likely to get damaged when off road/ off track

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 396492

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 08:05

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 08:05
The back seats in my Dual Cab are very comfortable ;)

FollowupID: 665247

Follow Up By: Luke SA - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:43

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:43
If I had a duel cab the rear seats wouldn't bother me as I wont be sitting in them.....
FollowupID: 665266

Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 12:41

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 12:41
Agreed Sir Kev,

sooner Toyo or Nissan make a full size dual cab the better .

Agreed Luke,

I'd be up the front too but having spent time travelling in the back of mates, They can be woeful.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 665273

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 08:45

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 08:45
Hi Ron,
Firstly pros:

We traded our Pajero in on a dual cab ute so that we could carry the outboard motor, and various fuels for the motor, ute and generator without having the smell of them in the car with us. Also of course because of the safety aspect.

We also wanted a vehicle which could legally tow 3 tonne and the Paj we owned (a late model Auto diesel) didnt do this.

It also has a lot more space and we are able to transport up to three extra passengers if we need to without having to unpack the rear seat and unload some of our gear when we are travelling.

We are also able to carry our tinny on top because we have a canopy and Rhinorack side boat loader.

Being a smaller space it is easier to cool and heat the passenger area than the Pajero. The front two seats are more comfortable than our pajero was to ride in.

Now the cons:

the rear seats arent as comfortable however they arent used by either of us and there are only odd occasions when we carry other passengers, and only for short distances.

We do use more fuel and have to carry extra (40 litres is the norm on trips) because our tank holds a very meagre 80 litres which is nowhere near big enough in our opinion for a vehicle of this type.

I think that just about covers it all for us. Hope this helps you.

Seasons greetings,
Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 396496

Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 08:47

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 08:47
I should also add to the cons:

the rear part and canopy is not dust sealed and we intend trying to fit something to solve this problem before we set out on our next trip to dusty outback roads.

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

FollowupID: 665249

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 21:19

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 21:19
Another canopy con;
Wet weather window fog and mix that with a back window that is covered in dirt you end up with near zero visablity. Canopies are great but there also a pain in the ar*^
FollowupID: 665335

Reply By: Crusader - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 09:03

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 09:03
Rod,
Buy whatever you like best. I've just spent nearly a year - ( that's right - a bit embarrassing to admit and very annoying for everyone around me but .... I took a year near enough ) - trying to answer this very question after deciding my 1HZ powered 80 series wasn't getting me places quickly enough.

I test drove a fair few double cabs, read reviews , joined forums ,searched forums, watched carsales.com and genearlly as I said above annoyed the living bejeez out of anyone I came in contact with.

A few weeks ago almost without warning I found and bought a 100 series TD wagon that was within budget and in great condition and now I sleep.( Please I'm not entering into the Toyota / Nissan thing here at all - each to their own on that matter as far as I'm concerned)

I could and can argue equally persuasively in favour of ,or against, either vehicle configuration. Both have their drawbacks and advantages and there is little or no point in trying to prove comprehensively one is "best".

I love my new vehicle - buy what you like best and make it's advantages work for you and then the drawbacks won't bother you !!! Unfortunately for the people in my world the new vehicle needs new tyres , bullbar , a brake controller and a UHF - I can see where this is going !!!!

PS Don't let the decision process last a year - it's way too long to wait for a new car !!

Cheers and compliments of the Season to you all.
AnswerID: 396500

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 09:06

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 09:06
G'day Ron, it depends on your usage really..I drive a wagon as we usually tour
with four adults & I would never subject anyone to endure the rear seats in a dual cab for thousands of ks. If you need storage capacity the dc obviously has
it...we tow a C/t so dont need extra capacity. If travelling with only 2 a wagon
can be configured to carry a heap of stuff by folding/removing seats. If you go
dc check the rear seat space, the diff between a Tojo & Mazda/Ford is huge,
but then again so is the price...cheers...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 396502

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:13

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:13
Rod,

it'd help to know a bit more of your circumstances. Do you have family. Young? Teenage? Towing and does the caravan/trailer have much/any storage space.
?

After 3 years+ with a dual cab, we're going back the other way to a wagon for comfort, interior room as we have plenty of storage space in the van. Two early teenage boys who are shooting past me in height and need more legroom.
AnswerID: 396518

Reply By: landseka - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:55

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 11:55
We bought a Triton Dual Cab near on two years ago.

We got out of a 80 series petrol cruiser and now find we have more comfort, for front AND rear passengers. The leg room in the ute is heaps better than the 80 and better than any ute in its class.

We now have the fuel, genny, engel etc stored well away from our noses and, if we were smokers, from cigarettes.

We have more power from the DiD and fuel consumption similar or better than others...8.5 L/100 to 15 - 16 with the 2T van on.

For us..Go the DC.
AnswerID: 396525

Follow Up By: landseka - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:01

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 16:01
Another important feature on the Triton is the electric rear window giving access to the tub from the back seat and allowing long stuff, fishing rods etc to be carried inside.
FollowupID: 665300

Reply By: Fatso - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 12:56

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 12:56
I have had both & now the kids have their own cars we are going to a single cab chassis.
Personally for me the wagon configuration is a waste of money compared to the dualcab.
The only thing a wagon does is buy you status with your piers.
The dualcab is looked down upon by the Chardonnay set, but has so many more practical uses.
As far as comfort goes, it is only something that you get used to. The wifey used to complain about how rough our Hilux 2wd workmate was until we sold the coil sprung 4x4 wagon. We are awaiting the delivery of a new 4x4 & she is now driving the Hilux full time & for some reason, now finds it comfortable.
By the way. We have used the hilux to carry loads about 8 times since selling the wagon & have only needed extra seating capacity once.
Another thing I reckon as well. If you buy a dualcab, don't put one of those fibreglass canopies on it. You might as well stick with a wagon & get the status. Those canopies reduce access to the cargo area & defeat the advantages of a ute.
Best option is a tray with a removable full size box with doors on 2 or 3 sides. You can lift the box off with all your gear intact as a storage place & drop it on a set of castors. Second best option is a soft sided canopy.
You need that side access
AnswerID: 396530

Follow Up By: Crusader - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 14:57

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 14:57
Fatso,

" The only thing a wagon does is buy you status with your piers."

Thats a bit radical don't you think mate.

FollowupID: 665284

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:35

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 15:35
A 4WD wagon is only good to drop the kids at the kindergarden.
have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 396538

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 17:33

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 17:33
Thanks for all the comments.
I should have given a bit more detail. Just the two of us with extra passengers very occasionally. We tow a 2000kg off highway van so looking at 4WD to get off the blacktop onto dirt roads and also into some rougher stuff without the van.
Rod
AnswerID: 396545

Follow Up By: Fatso - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 21:01

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 21:01
Single cab chassis for you Rob.
V8 cruiser is probably around $65,000. Someone can correct that I hope.
3.0L Patrol is probably around $55,000.
3.0L Hilux is under $40,000
2.5L Triton is around mid 30's
Compare those to a wagon.
All have tons of storage space & carry no less than 400kg more than any wagon & will tow your van.
Plus they are a lot less to buy. I am not only unfriendly I also hate wasting money.
Another thing I like about utes is that they have only half the panels of a wagon. Less to wash & less to worry about.
FollowupID: 665332

Reply By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 17:39

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 17:39
Rod N,

You haven't stated your requirements for passengers i.e. do you travel by yourself, you and partner, you, partner and enough kids to field a cricket team? Does your offroading consist of mounting the kerb on occasions at the supermarket or extended trips through the western deserts fully self sufficient?

As an example my son with wife and 3 kids had an 80 series Toyota wagon and traded it on a 100 series that had been converted to a dual cab with drop side tray to which he has added a canvas canopy. He finds this a lot more practical when we go away camping and has the advantage of the same rear seating comfort as a wagon with the practicality of a ute tray.

AnswerID: 396547

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 17:40

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 17:40
beat me by that much...........lol
FollowupID: 665313

Reply By: D200Dug- Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:26

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:26
Fuel Rubbish Dogs and other smelly stuff

I would always go for a ute !!!
AnswerID: 396660