More essential toys for travelling

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:25
ThreadID: 74680 Views:4004 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
Today we entered the bunfight for After Xmas Sales in the northern suburbs of Adelaide...and just a cool 500km round trip. The missus wanted some stuff for the house and so I got some time to be pushed around in the aisles of the shop floorspace.

Minimouse for the Notebook, Gas-fired Soldering Iron, 150watt Can Inverter and 2 x Oricom PMR655UHF Two Way Radios....and a Michael Bublé CD :-)

Went to buy a 18volt Ryobi Rechargeable Angle Grinder from Bunnings. The price looked right until I saw the fine print whch stated that charger and battery was Extra!!!...almost doubling the price and putting it out of my budget for the day. Next time.. Gadget...Next time....:-)

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:57

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 22:57
Hi Willem, must be a thing with Ryobi, I bought a hedge trimmer just before Christmas and same thing, made it more than double the price of other makes, my not wanting to be ripped off attitude made me choose another make, hope it works out OK.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 396575

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 23:20

Sunday, Dec 27, 2009 at 23:20
I just bought an 18volt Bat drill (Ryobi) with a case, 2 batteries and 2 year replacement warranty on the drill from bunnings. More than $40 cheaper than other brands with 2 week replacement and only one year return to agent (8 week turn around) repair only, and with what essentially turns out to be NO warranty (after the 2 weeks) on the batteries. 12 months on the Ryobi.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 396582

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 08:21

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 08:21
G/Day Willem

Michael Bubl'e CD,you have good taste in music, I bought the Cook the same CD for Xmas, now I'm in the good books for a few days lol lol.

AnswerID: 396600

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 10:26

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 10:26
Hiya Daza....LOL

To spell Bublé right.... type Bubl...then hold the Alt key down whilst typing 0233 on the numbers keyboard.... which will give you the....é..............:-)

FollowupID: 665377

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 12:24

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 12:24
Bublé, thanks Willem, never to old to learn hey.

FollowupID: 665383

Reply By: Rangiephil - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 08:50

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 08:50
Bunnings currently have a special on the Ryobi 18V blower with charger and battery for $99.

I have a last gen 18V drill, vacuum, radial arm saw and the batteries are still good after 4+ years. The new generation and old are interchangeable , but the new gen charger is a higher rating and the batteries are stronger. How many brands keep the same battery shape from one gen to the next????

The new blower is cheap insurance in case the old batteries die.

FYI AFAIK the Ryobi 18V is the cheapest battery drill or whatever where the charger has a "float" feature that it automatically cuts down charge on full charge of the battery, so you can leave it on the charger, or if you forget to remove it the batteries are not stuffed. This is the main reason I bought them and they have been great.

While they are initially more expensive , their life is many times that of cheaper stuff because you can continue to get batteries , and the batteries last.

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 396603

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 10:52

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 10:52
"How many brands keep the same battery shape from one gen to the next???? "

DeWalt.

FollowupID: 665489

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 09:23

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 09:23
G'day bloke,

I bought the Ryobi 18 v drill + 2 x batts + angle grinder earlier in 2009 - justified on the basis of "I can then do repairs in the bush". Any reason for a new gizmo is a good reason.

The drill is fine although the clutch settings are pretty bleep weak.
Having 2 x batts is worthwhile IMHO.

However, the angle grinder component is disappointing. It spins at (from memory) 6000 rpm Vs 10,000 for regular angle grinders. in the few jobs I've done it does not even seem like 60 % performance. A gutless wonder. Now the unit is stuffed - a fully charged battery won't kick it over. Rang the guarantee hotline a week before Xmas - 'leave your name & number & we will call you back' said the message. You'll never guess what - oh, hang, you guessed. So I'll try again after 1.1.2010.

BTW, Ryobi is now a Bunnings exclusive. After doing the rounds of the tradies tool shop sales before Xmas 2008, it was the only brand I could find who did a hand held /battery grinder.

RM
AnswerID: 396609

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 10:11

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 10:11
Hi Rick

Thanks for that. Bought a cheap 14volt Ryobi some weeks ago. Might just find some grinding attachments to fit it for bush work :-)

FollowupID: 665373

Reply By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 09:45

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 09:45
I buy my spare Camera batteries from here and have had no problems with them to date - They also stock Battery packs for Cordless Tools - which is the reason for the post ..
As the Camera Batteries are a reasonable price I assume the Cordless tool ones are as well ??

Mandrake
AnswerID: 396614

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 10:12

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 10:12
Thanks for the link, Mandrake. They stock quite a variety of batteries!

FollowupID: 665374

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 13:03

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 13:03
Hi Mandrake

As they say "replacement for -" i read this to mean they are not brand names. Is this correct?

FollowupID: 665384

Follow Up By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 13:34

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 13:34
My batteries for the Camera are branded - Powersmart - Made in China ..

Definitely not Canon batteries .. But at 1/3rd the price and so far exactly the same usage rate charge time etc .. I don't mind at all ..

I haven't bought any other batteries from them so I don't know if the Ryobi , B & D etc are just copies or not ..

I have 3 of their chargers which come with in car cables and they are great ..

Rgds

Mandrake
FollowupID: 665386

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 13:43

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 13:43
Thanks Mandrake; the Old Rooster has recently purchased a Canon SLR.

The best charger we have ever had for AA and AAA batteries is one i got cheap from Hong Kong eBay years ago, complete with mains power and cig plug leads. It has outlasted the brand name chargers, and it discharges as well as charges.

Mh

FollowupID: 665387

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 13:59

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 13:59
And you were doing so well until I read
"and a Michael Bublé CD"....
AnswerID: 396628

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 17:32

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 17:32
By Golly Trucky, are you still around?...:-0 Thought that you may have left this realm............

FollowupID: 665408

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:51

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:51
You can tell when Im really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really bored....

Be in your neck of th woods in Sept for 4 weeks... :)
FollowupID: 665430

Reply By: equinox - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:17

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:17
Fair dinkum Willem,
You're supposed to be watching your weight.

How about a hacksaw blade?

AnswerID: 396654

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:51

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:51
Ah! Alan.......The Chariot is well under GVM and those few toys relate to a coupla kilos only.....

I however, am NOT under GVM, so have to make a better arrangement in the future....!!!....lol

FollowupID: 665414