Best Camping Chair

Submitted: Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 17:50
ThreadID: 74698 Views:21319 Replies:12 FollowUps:10
Hi There

We are in the market for new camp chairs - just wondering if anyone has any recommendations for good quality comfy chairs that are reasonably compact and easy to pack.

Thanks heaps

Tars

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:16

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:16
Ranger camping and BCF both have a huge range which you can test drive.There iis one for every pocket and every as*
AnswerID: 396653

Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:22

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:22
Buy the best, buy Coleman! A bit dearer but you will not have to replace it in 12 months.
AnswerID: 396658

Reply By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:40

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 18:40
Yep, the Coleman 5-position chair is a winner!
AnswerID: 396666

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:00

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:00
Yup this one is good!
FollowupID: 665415

Follow Up By: you eat the bear - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:15

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:15
Of course these are al nylon (or equivalent) so despiet being v. comfy yo do have to watch out for sparkes from your campfire.
A canvas cover would be ideal - just adds to the price.
Otherwise I agree Coleman seem to have teh edge in comfort.

Stephen B
FollowupID: 665418

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:16

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:16
True, though I haven't had any campfire problems with mine so far. If a canvas cover is a little expensive, a towel would work just the same (and is also fantastic on the poverty pack seats in the car!).

Because they are padded they do get wet in the rain also- it's a good idea to put them back in the car at night :)
FollowupID: 665429

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:25

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:25
Coleman with the metal arms five position,both my plastic ones broke of at the elbow absolutly no rough treatment.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 396675

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:12

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:12
Hope you claimed the new ones on the 5 year warranty- had the same problem with the first lot at our house and swapped them all over no dramas. The metal arms are much better!
FollowupID: 665428

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:28

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:28
We had the Coleman Jumbo (reclining) chair for a few years. I suspect they are the 5 position ones mentioned by others. Very comfortable and great for lying back and watching the stars at night.

But we got our money's worth. We used the Coleman warranty at least 3 times to replace broken ones. The plastic arm would break back near where it joined the chair. On the plus side, they are very comfortable and the Coleman warranty is good, we never had a problem getting them replaced.

On the downside, it is frustrating when you are miles from anywhere and not planning on returning to 'civilisation' for weeks and a chair breaks.

I must admit though, our chairs get a lot of use. We used to travel about 6 months per year until we rented the house and now travel full time. We paid for two chairs and got close to five years use (though both were replaced, one of them twice, in that time). One is still OK, the other has had bush repairs done to it.

We have now given up on the recliners (though left them in NT for use when back there this winter). We now carry a couple of folding 'lounges' (again Coleman). Big to carry, and pretty expensive, but super comfortable and so far, very durable. Our rational is that the van is home and we all have a lounge at home.

Also carry two Coleman directors chairs, with fold out side tables. Great for meals, happy hours and sitting up, but not for 'lounging' by the fire after dinner.

Coleman are more expensive, but their warranty is good and they deliver on it.

Norm C

AnswerID: 396676

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:30

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:30
Going by Stan's post above, they now make the 'Jumbo' 5 position with metal arms. If so, that would be the go. Looks like he had the same problem as us with the plastic arms.

Norm C
FollowupID: 665422

Follow Up By: katepaul - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 22:46

Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 22:46
hi off the topic 4 a minute do u have photos of your internal configuration of your canopy have seen 1 side we are setting up a camper like this and would appreciate any guidance we can get
ta kate also coleman jumbo chairs are our choice 2
thanks kate
FollowupID: 669244

Reply By: Tadooch - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:52

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:52
These are comfortable and easy to snooze in...

http://www.primusaustralia.com.au/pdf/pg_71_517189_Chair.pdf
AnswerID: 396684

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:56

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 19:56
We had a variety of chairs over many years but nothing has been as comfortable and durable as this type of Coleman. We decided long ago that a crook chair can easily spoil the holiday expereince.
Coleman Quad Deluxe
Ours are an earlier model but the same overall design - I have done the odd minor repair (replacing wire pins at the strut junctions) - the only con is that they fold up a bit longer than most chairs - but they do come in a nice bag ! $100 rrp is a bit steep though - we got them on a special one year at Snowys for around $60 I think.
AnswerID: 396685

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:09

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:09
If you're after comfort, then the Coleman is a good one. Has a nice high back and headrest and well padded. They also make a super-size for XXXLs, good for about 130kg.
Look for one which doesn't have a bar across the front of the seat; the seat should be slung between the side bars - a cross bar digs into your legs after a while. Check the arms for strength. Unreinforced plastic arms will eventually break, usually at the most inconvenient time. If it's adjustable back, check the range of adjustment so that it can support you when eating at the table.
AnswerID: 396688

Reply By: obee1212 - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:19

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 20:19
I just steer away from anything that cuts off the circulation in my legs. The cheap and ugly chairs do that. The wife bought (at ridiculous price) a heavy steel and mimic canvas that I remembered to forget to bring home from tassie lat month.

Owen
AnswerID: 396691

Reply By: swampy66 - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:16

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:16
While I agree with the comments above - the Coleman 5 position chairs are very comfy, they don't fit my definition of 'reasonably compact and easy to pack'.

The missus has one, its the bain of my existence. There is nothing worse than packing up the camper trailer (Jayco Eagle) - then finding the chair was not packed before we lowered the roof.

AnswerID: 396697

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:43

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:43
swampy,

Hide the barst#d when packing up, that"ill fix your problem.
FollowupID: 665437

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:29

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:29
TN Can you please clarify "Hide the barst#d"
Do you mean the chair or the wife?
FollowupID: 665498

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:45

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:45
Dasher i reckon that would be swappy;s call, as for me I'd hide the chair
because I can;t cook and i drink to much.
FollowupID: 665499

Reply By: didiaust - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 06:34

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 06:34
The only sort we consider are ones with bars across the bottom (not legs that can sink directly into the sand) I know Coleman have 1 .
AnswerID: 396720

Reply By: Tars - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 10:07

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 10:07
Thanks everyone. The ones we have at the moment are the Coleman 5 position chairs which I agree are awesome in comfort - just not in the compact packing and take up half the drawer of the camper unfortunately. Those quad fold ones fold up better but my other half who is 6'4" finds the cross bars dig into his legs a bit. Will probably have to toss up between comfort and space LOL.
AnswerID: 396744

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 15:16

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 15:16
I too find it is a big trade off between high price, comfort and large packing size on on hand Vs cheap, easy to pack and back busting on the other.

The style of chair I like is this style - http://www.dmhoutdoors.com/chair_coolum.html. You will note that the seat and back cushions are not connected. Chairs like the Coleman ones tend to roll my pelvis forward. When you sit down, the seat cushion compresses and the backrest pulls on the back of the seat and does not allow it to go down in height like the rest of the seat cushion.

There are a one or two others who manufacture the same style. However few seem prepared to par the extra to get a really comfortable chair so they are harder to source than the Coleman ones. You can find the DMH range of stockists at http://www.dmhoutdoors.com/stockists.html

FollowupID: 665521