Freelander 2 Extremely Good!

Submitted: Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 21:04
ThreadID: 74701 Views:5410 Replies:2 FollowUps:5
Hello All,

There hasn't been much Land Rover bashing lately so I thought I would open the valve to let any built up pressure escape. I posted this on the LR forums after my trip today-

Today it was suitably wet so I decided to dish out some more torture to my 08 TD4 Freelander 2. I did the Kowmung fire trail through Dingo Dell and then went on to all the fire trails in the Abercrombie River National Park past Oberon. Lots of very long steep, rocky and greasy tracks with half a dozen creek/river crossings. I must say the car handled it all easily. Around 350kms for the day and only half a tank of diesel, a lot of it crawling in 1st or 2nd. Can't ask for better, the car continues to impress. With 400nm in a feather weight who needs low range?
So far, its done Stockton 6 times, Corner Country, Strezlecki track, Birdsville track, Oodnadatta track, into the Simpson Desert, up Big Red, Old Ghan track, Mt Dare, Flinders Ranges, Kangaroo Island and Lake Eyre near William Creek. Total of 55,000 kms in 15 months without any problems. No rattles or squeaks and drives like a dream.
Its easily the best car I have owned. Thumbs up to Land Rover for this model.

Bring it on :-)

Reply By: Wilk0 - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:26

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:26
Hi Mike,

Congrats on having the only landrover that is any good : ). They do look like a solidly built smaller 4x4 and its good to hear that it is working well for you.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 396698

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:41

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:41
Thanks mate, although I would rather have won the real lottery :-)
FollowupID: 665436

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 00:35

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 00:35
For Mike
When I first saw your thread I bet myself someone would bite.
Have a '99 TD5. Suppose I have spent about $5,000 in the time I have had it, with the main cost just recently being the auto transmission caused by towing a heavy van. Every vehicle that tows heavy vans has problems sooner or later with the auto trans. Holdens and Falcons included.

For Wilko
Every high performance 4WD has some sort of trouble.
Especialy the diesels. have a look at the Tojo, Nissan and Jackaroo sites and also this site.
The only good reliable 4WDs are pre computer. My old series 1 disco had done over 450,000 when number one son took it over with very few problems. God knows how many kays it has done now. Look after the vehicle and it will look after you.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 665453

Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 12:35

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 12:35
Agreed Tony,

I'm keeping my old , but reliable rodeo as long as I can. No computer no electric anything no worries.

I do think that ford has had a good influence on rover though. I do like the new Defender .

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 665502

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 18:33

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 18:33
Ford no more, we are owned by Indian giant Tata now. I've had experience with India...they know how to pack em and stack em as far as transport goes. The new Freelander might be a 10 seater?
FollowupID: 665540

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 06:25

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 06:25
G'day Mike. You may not be aware but 10% of Landrovers built are subcontracted to other manufacturers and built by them. I would say yours has has been built in the Toyota factory in Thailand by the sounds of it. Hang on to it cause it sounds like a good one. All the best for the festive season. Regards,Bob. ROTFLMAO

AnswerID: 396719

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 08:33

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 08:33
Hey Bob,
I did not know that! Lucky it wasn't a Nissan factory. Imagine that, a Toyota where the diesel runs at full Euro strength, is real fun to drive and has not been lashed with the ugly stick. Gold....

FollowupID: 665463