Tow vehicle Colorado or Navara

Submitted: Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:41
ThreadID: 74705 Views:11291 Replies:13 FollowUps:21
I might have to change my tow vehicle , to pull a 2.4 tonne (tare) Van ... have test driven both the Colorado 3.0 litre t/d auto , and the Navara 2.5 t/d ( I need a dual cab) ,,,, haven't tested a D-Max yet ..... what do readers think ( I like the cabin & layout in Navara , plus it is bigger all over - but Colorado seats are better)

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:58

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 22:58
Dont worry about the Tare Its the Plated ATM you have to worry about.

What is it as that is what defines what can tow it

AnswerID: 396703

Reply By: stumbly1 - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:00

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:00
Hi Lizard,
We are going through the same process as yourself at the moment, so we are no experts.
I have asked about the D40 Navara on 3 forums now and the negative feedback seems to outweigh the positive.
We were about to sign up for a new Navara for towing our van on thursday but I am having serious doubts now - problems with clutches, problems with using WDH's on them, the auto's have problems with the diesel particulate filter causing the engine to go into limp mode, very poor fuel economy when carrying any sort of a load, the list just seems to go on....
Have a look on the Navara forum (not sure how to post link) and complaints corner.com.
A search of this forum will give you some answers too.
The Dmax looks like a good vehicle and I will be going to have a look at them on my days off. The Colarado is very similar but I think the Dmax has better fitments/options etc.
Best of luck and I will post my impression of the Dmax on friday.

Cheers, Keith
AnswerID: 396704

Follow Up By: stumbly1 - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:08

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:08
P.S - A search of the web didn't find any real complaints / faults with the Dmax/Colarado that I could find.
That doesn't mean there isn't any - maybe havn't been around long enough for the faults to show up? But I think tahts a positive compared to all the complaints for the Navara....
FollowupID: 665444

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:11

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:11
There is a guy on this forum that has no end of trouble with a new Colorado and little help from his dealer... Michael
FollowupID: 665445

Follow Up By: Simon C - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:18

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:18
We got 55K out of a Narvara clutch....mixed city and country driving with less than 10% time towing 1500kg........Fairly disapointed in that. Nissan did not want to know about that. Won't be looking at any more for the fleet......
FollowupID: 665446

Follow Up By: stumbly1 - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:54

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:54
yep, found the thread - search shaneo86 in the search box in exploroz forum. lots of trouble with his colorado but it is the only one I can find.
FollowupID: 665450

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:57

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:57
Hopefully Shane's problems are isolated. Do a search on Google to be sure.. Michael.
FollowupID: 665451

Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 08:18

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 08:18
Hi Lizard,

I agree with stumbly about the Navara and the Dmax looks to be a little better in specs for the money but IMHO I believe resale value for the Dmax would be slightly less then the Colorado.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 665461

Follow Up By: Out of here - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 18:43

Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 18:43
The Colorado & D Max may be rated at 3ton towing, but it over calculated in my opinion and from my experience. I tow a boat that would come in around two ton and in my opinion is on the max side of what I would like to tow with this motor. (My Rodeo has the same motor)

There are numerous posts about this on this forum, but in short.

1) The fuel consumption on my last trip to Cooktown jumped to 20ltr per 100k. Hot weather, hills and a wind made for a bad towing conditions. It was a real struggle for the 320k drive. If you are towing heavier than 2ton it would only be worse.
2) You must tow in 4th gear when the going gets tuff or you will do your 5th gear.
3) You will get overheating issues when you climb hill and on a hot day, the owners manual states you can drive a short time at these peak temperatures, but that is not what I would like to do. When the temperature rises you just have to slow down.

All in all they are a good vehicle, but in my opinion not able to tow to the rated maximum towing capacity - 2 ton is about it. 2.5 it will tow but you will be working the car to the max - You will have to service every 5000k.

FollowupID: 666511

Reply By: tagisthename - Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:48

Monday, Dec 28, 2009 at 23:48
I was in the same boat in May of this year had a Nissan 3lt str only done 40k. 5 speed manual...excellent ute...4 years old....Wanted to upgrade
Was about to buy a new STX....but after reading about the problems people had with diffs etc I went shopping..
I ended up with a gls fastback Triton....It is fantastic to drive...Rear room for passengers is Excellent...Towing is a breeze....
Be open minded have a drive of a Tritan..I was so impressed that after allowing 3 friends to drive it around they bought them too....

AnswerID: 396709

Follow Up By: stumbly1 - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 00:00

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 00:00
Nice vehicle I agree but he says his van is 2400kg tare, so once loaded up it will be over the Tritons 2500kg towing capacity.(figures obtained via redbook.com)
FollowupID: 665452

Follow Up By: Ino - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 01:32

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 01:32
Maybe you've already considered this - but wouldn't a Tojo be more up your alley for a similar price? Or maybe - they might be more expensive - but you at least know you won't have too many problems with them.

From having to deal with both Holden and Isuzu in a previous life, I stayed well away when it came to making a choice. Ford wasn't even on the radar and Nissan managed to get hoisted by its own petard.

As it stands now - I'm the proud owner of a LC70-series wagon - brand spanking new and I couldn't be happier. Tows the horse float with two large horses in like it isn't there. To give you an idea - still in 4th, on a 16% slope doing 70 up the hill, towing the full float. No mods, no tricks - just the plain vanilla engine.

Still - your choice.

Ino!~
FollowupID: 665455

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 02:00

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 02:00
Auto or manual triton???
FollowupID: 665457

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 00:40

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 00:40
This would be my choice...

Dodge Ram 2009

My mouth drools..........

AnswerID: 396711

Reply By: pjk - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 07:28

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 07:28
I have a d40 kingcab auto and tow a 2100kg tare golf van,loaded up it scales 2500kg the d40 tows it well.I have had no problems with it . Others quote from complaits corner and other sites as negatives but type in other car makes that have been around for a while and you will see the same thing as with the slx,it just proves they all still build lemons.Personaly i think the models you are targeting are both unsuitable as by the time you load the van up you will be close to the max you can tow with that model ,they are only 4 pot motors so at the weight that you want to tow at you will work it to hard.you should go bigger but would have to compomise the type of vehichle I whe'nt the other way and picked a van to suit the motor Good Luck
AnswerID: 396723

Follow Up By: stumbly1 - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:51

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 20:51
Just out of interest, how many km's have you done in the D40? I'm still considering one.....
FollowupID: 665563

Follow Up By: pjk - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 07:31

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 07:31
Stumbly1 The kingcab has 30000klms and about 10000klms towing PK
FollowupID: 665623

Reply By: xcamper - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 07:55

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 07:55
We are going through the same suitable choice of tow vehicle at the present.
We are really leaning toward the Colorado.
The tug has to be an auto, ( I have a left foot problem), and
the Colorado is still 3000 kg towing capacity in the auto version.
The 4x4 LTR TD seems to fit the bill, without any extra modification.
We still have a couple of months before we buy the tug and larger van, so we can look around them all.
pete and doreen
AnswerID: 396727

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 09:49

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 09:49
It can tow 3000kg BUT with a reduced load capacity depending on towball weight
Scroll down on the specs page on Nissans site and the model you are looking at and the figures are there.

I would never expect one to last long towing its max weight.

FollowupID: 665471

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 10:26

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 10:26
I'd be worried about the chassis on the Navara.
LINK 1
LINK 2
For a van that big, I'd want a 6 or 8 cyl TD, and a stronger vehicle with 3500kg towing capacity.
AnswerID: 396749

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:14

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:14
Heartily agree.

Nothing worse than a big van pushing a light tug around and it does happen.

FollowupID: 665496

Reply By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:22

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:22
All this guff about towing specs etc....I suppose if you have a large heavy van (quite frankly I do not want to tow a 2500+ KG van around Aust) you are in a situation you must have a vehicle that is legal to tow such a load. I think, drive a vehicle that suits your needs ie; 80% touring & general driving on black top & non 4 wheel drive work, 20% towing & or 4X4 work. Buy a van that suits the vehicle I cannot see the point in buying a vehicle that does not suit your complete requirements but will tow a 3 tonne van!!! I bought a vehicle that tows my Jayco outback everywhere at the posted speed limit. I dred coming up behind a vehicle towing a large van which is heavier than the towing vehicle travelling at 70K/pH in a 100 zone holding everyone up & blowing heaps of black smoke out the exhaust!!! IMHO. I believe you buy a vehicle that suits your requirements of every day travelling & then go out and buy a van that the vehicle can tow safely & that you are satisfied with. There are good and bad vehicle's in every catorgory it's just that some have a few more hickups than others. I just wonder has anyone on this forum had a mishap (collision) & have been investigated by the police or insurance claim refused due to "alleged" breach of the towing regulations or manufacturers specifications. Obviously don't want specifics just a percentage would be interesting.
AnswerID: 396760

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:19

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:19
Good post OREJAP.
It is a sensible approach that very few use.
FollowupID: 665602

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 16:25

Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 16:25
I agree OREJAP - there often seem to be threads on this site about people who have just bought their dream caravan and are then trying to find a car that will (legally) pull it. Seems to me a bit like putting the cart before the horse...
FollowupID: 666496

Reply By: lizard - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:42

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 11:42
Thanks for all the replies , I have already checked the Navara Forum and read the problems with clutch plates (didn't concern me as I want an auto - so the missus can drive it ) my current tug is a 2006 Patrol 4.2 (limited to 2500 kg tow) which I am currently trying to get GCM upgraded - but am looking around 'just in case'. Am a bit shy of the 3.0 litre Patrol ute (3200 tow) and the 79 series is a bit expensive (and plain inside - even the GXL) , the Hilux is only 2250 tow limit , didn't like the Ranger .... no Isuzu dealers near me ... that's why I had sort of narrowed it down to these two . My Van is expected to be 2300-2400 tare , so GVM of 2800 kg ... so for insurance I need 3000 kg ..... I see a lot of Navara's pulling Vans ....
cheers .
AnswerID: 396767

Follow Up By: stevie1947 - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 17:43

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 17:43
Hi Lizard. I'm with u. The Navara is a great car as long as it is used correctly.
Most of the above are Toyota biased types anyway so go with your gut feeling.
FollowupID: 665534

Follow Up By: xcamper - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 18:36

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 18:36
Hi ,
We anticipate our next van to be around 2100 tare,and 180/195 download.
We think the Colorado at 3000 kg capacity should be OK.
All of our thoughts may change if Doreen wants a bigger van, we expect to be living in it fulltime, a much more comfortable travel scenario than our present old 14ft , which we have enjoyed for years, but we are older now, and feel that we should be able to live the "gold/ski" lifestyle. there is so much more of this great land to see .
pete and doreen
FollowupID: 665541

Follow Up By: stumbly1 - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:06

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 22:06
Hi Lizard,

Why is your Patrol limited to 2500kg? I have the same, 4.2TD Patrol and it can tow 3200kg.

Cheers, Keith
FollowupID: 665599

Follow Up By: lizard - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 23:02

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 23:02
Mines a 2005 , 1st registered 2006 4.2 t/d ST Coil Cab ute - 2500kg tow limit on sticker inside door
FollowupID: 665605

Follow Up By: stumbly1 - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 23:04

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 23:04
ah, coily ute - sorry mate, thought you had a wagon.
FollowupID: 665606

Reply By: Mogul - Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:00

Tuesday, Dec 29, 2009 at 21:00
Mazda BT50 ?
AnswerID: 396850

Reply By: stumbly1 - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 00:01

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 00:01
Lizard,

http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/74419/Navara_25td.aspx?ky=stumbly&p=%2fForum%2fDefault.aspx%3fs%3d1%26ky%3dstumbly%26pn%3d1

Here's the answers I got back when I asked about the navara the other day. Some good, some bad....
I'm still considering one, so let me know your thoughts?

Cheers, Keith
AnswerID: 396889

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 22:11

Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 22:11
Lizaard

Manuals are better for towing.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 397126

Reply By: Ken65 - Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 22:05

Saturday, Jan 02, 2010 at 22:05
Hello Lizard...

My reply maybe a little after the others but I will give you my two cents worth. I drive a D40 STX Auto, 100,000 Kilometres. I drive the vehicle every day to work and back. Weekends it tours to Central Queensland, Double Island Point or wherever we decide to go to. We usually tow a Jimboomba camper. I have had this on a weighbridge fully stocked up for a week at the beach. Alcohol, firewood and the unusual provisions to keep the family alive. It weighed 3700 Kilos Combined Gross Mass.

The Good:
Comfortable on the highway.
Great power from the engine when on song.
Good fuel economy towing camper 12-15 litres to 100 kilometres
Room in the cab.

The Bad:
Replacing front rotors and pads every 30'000 - 50'000 kilometres ($400).
Turning lock, makes hard work of shopping centre car parks.
Waiting for the power to happen when taking off from an intersection.
4WD low range engagement, the electrics don't always want to play.
Rust above the windscreen, fixed on Nissan warranty
Paint colours on panels all look a different shade.
Soft springs in the rear, 300 kilograms have the bump rubbers engaged.

I know the weight is nowhere near what you are looking at. However I can say the car has never let me down it has never lacked power in the soft sand or passing triple road trains.

Would I buy another one? Not likely! What would I buy to replace it don't know as the next one will more than likely not be a duel cab.

Hope this helps you in making you decision.

Ken
AnswerID: 397368